Huntsville, AL - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2903 Old 04-04-2005, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
manthatsnice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Madison (Wall Triana) and have the Sony KDF42WE655 with built-in tuner. There are no large trees or anything blocking my 1-story house. What HD channels could I expect to receive by installing a simple indoor antenna from BestBuy or Radioshak?

Also, would it be possible to get the same HD quality with the antenna in my attic? (I don't like the look of one in my living room)

Thanks

The BAMA Theatre Build - feedback welcomed encouraged needed badly
manthatsnice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2903 Old 04-05-2005, 06:48 AM
Member
 
odinala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm further north than you, a couple of miles west of Wall Triana in Harvest (but close to Hwy 72). I have a Zenith Silver Sensor on top of my set and get all the local channels to include WAAY (although they're not broadcasting in HD). You can probably get a stronger signal in the attic, it depends on the antenna, the type of roof you have, and the location of the antenna among other things.
odinala is offline  
post #273 of 2903 Old 04-11-2005, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
pacofs7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in southeast Huntsville and am considering the Sony KDF42WE655. I plan on using an antenna to pick up the local HD broadcasts. I currently have comcast analog cable, and was wondering how the 42WE655 does with the SD broadcasts ... is it at least as good as you would get with a standard analog set? TIA
pacofs7 is offline  
post #274 of 2903 Old 04-12-2005, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 2,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by manthatsnice
I live in Madison (Wall Triana) and have the Sony KDF42WE655 with built-in tuner. There are no large trees or anything blocking my 1-story house. What HD channels could I expect to receive by installing a simple indoor antenna from BestBuy or Radioshak?

Also, would it be possible to get the same HD quality with the antenna in my attic? (I don't like the look of one in my living room)

Thanks

Damn the torpedoes, FULL SPEED AHEAD! You should have no problem with indoor equipment, except getting WHDF-D, but they don't broadcast in HD anyway, so it don't matter.

BTW, some news on the WAAY-HD situation and it ain't good. A reliable source says they don't have any of the HD equipment yet, so July doesn't look promising.

Wolfie
Wolfie is offline  
post #275 of 2903 Old 04-17-2005, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
kpfleming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pelham, NY, USA, Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, what a ton of useful info here!

I'm moving to Huntsville in June, will be living at Colonial Village at Research Park (Rime Village Drive and Enterprise Way). Will be in top-floor unit, south exposure, and will have DirecTivo HD for everything non-local. It appears based on my location that I should have zero problems getting all the OTA HD channels, even with a Silver Sensor antenna (given to me by a friend). Is this a valid assumption? If so, that's one less thing I need to worry about!
kpfleming is offline  
post #276 of 2903 Old 04-18-2005, 06:50 AM
Member
 
odinala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kpfleming - That's a good assumption. I live about eight miles further northwest than the location you're referring to and use a Silver Sensor to get all the local digital channels.
odinala is offline  
post #277 of 2903 Old 04-19-2005, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 2,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by kpfleming
Wow, what a ton of useful info here!

I'm moving to Huntsville in June, will be living at Colonial Village at Research Park (Rime Village Drive and Enterprise Way). Will be in top-floor unit, south exposure, and will have DirecTivo HD for everything non-local. It appears based on my location that I should have zero problems getting all the OTA HD channels, even with a Silver Sensor antenna (given to me by a friend). Is this a valid assumption? If so, that's one less thing I need to worry about!

Welcome to Huntsville, kp. You'll love the humidity

Wolfie
Wolfie is offline  
post #278 of 2903 Old 04-20-2005, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
curban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I live in madison off wall triana. I bought a walmart indoor antenna that didnt work well. I bought a UHF only from radioshack that worked better in my test but still not great. I plan on installing something in the attic. I might try the radioshack one in the attic or buy something better. BTW, my house is a big two story. Any recommendations for an attic antenna? Also, I have Coax running to 7 rooms with knology cable running on them, the tv i want to get OTA HD is downstairs so I was thinking of using a diplexer to add the ANT signal to the cable for that tv and then another diplexer to split it at the tv. Will this work, i know it works for satellite but not sure about cabletv. Eventually I may go with DirectTV and then run the OTA ANT into the multiswitch.

Thanks for any help and suggestions
curban is offline  
post #279 of 2903 Old 04-20-2005, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Diplexers degrade signal, I wouldn't recommend it.

If you won't install the antenna outside, I'd put a Channel Master 4228 in the attic, with a direct run of RG6.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #280 of 2903 Old 04-20-2005, 11:30 AM
Newbie
 
curban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still might have to try the diplexers, not sure i can get a cable run to the downstairs from the attic. Will probably try the channelmaster as I have seen some good things about them. Anything else i need other than the antenna? Preamp? Any good places locally to buy the 4228?

thanks again
curban is offline  
post #281 of 2903 Old 04-20-2005, 01:08 PM
Member
 
odinala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curban - Try a Zenith Silver Sensor, can't say enough good things about it. I live off of Wall Triana, but further northwest from you (actually have a Harvest address) and I'm using the Silver Sensor to get all the local digital stations.
odinala is offline  
post #282 of 2903 Old 04-20-2005, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Montezuma58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should be able to pick up the channel master antenna a Mock Electornics. They usually have them in stock. The 4 bay version should work just as well. That's what I use in my attic. I live off of Balch Rd. The loss from the diplexers should not be an issue for your location. I use them and don't have a problem but I'm using satellite. I don't know if the cable frequencies will clash with the OTA frequencies. My gut feeling tells me it will. I'd run another line if possible in your case.

I've used the Silver Sensor. It can pull in all of the stations. But it can be tricky to find a position where it will get all of the station reliably without having to adjust it. If you get one of the Channel Master multi bowtie antennas you can pretty much just point it towards Montesanto Mountain and not have to worry about it.

Brad
Montezuma58 is offline  
post #283 of 2903 Old 04-21-2005, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The 4-bay Channel Master is the 4221 and the 8-bay is the 4228, just in case you need to know.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #284 of 2903 Old 04-24-2005, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like tennesseevalleyhd.net got hacked. By Xtech Inc.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #285 of 2903 Old 04-24-2005, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:


Originally posted by taz291819
Looks like tennesseevalleyhd.net got hacked. By Xtech Inc.

Yep. Just noticed that. I also noticed this website got hacked as well. Here's the pic.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
post #286 of 2903 Old 04-25-2005, 10:48 AM
Member
 
odinala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can still get to the web site through this link http://tennesseevalleyhd.net/index.php
odinala is offline  
post #287 of 2903 Old 04-26-2005, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
RG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Decatur and just switch to PCL (Athens City Cable) for HD and works great with no additional charge for 8 HD channels. BUT, the major Networks are not included so I will be installing antenna for OTA HD. I provide update once I get that up but your inputs should help me then, thx

RTx
RG13 is offline  
post #288 of 2903 Old 05-23-2005, 12:07 PM
Member
 
spaceghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the Lou
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is 5c enabled on the cable boxes?

Know what I say when I say you know what I mean?
spaceghost is offline  
post #289 of 2903 Old 05-28-2005, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
Irishkmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news on waay hd?
Irishkmo is offline  
post #290 of 2903 Old 05-31-2005, 10:51 AM
Member
 
odinala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called the station and they claim they will be broadcasting HD on 1 July.
odinala is offline  
post #291 of 2903 Old 06-05-2005, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
Irishkmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. Lets hope they mean it!
Irishkmo is offline  
post #292 of 2903 Old 06-23-2005, 01:26 AM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Does anyone know if and when the local CableCos will begin to broadcast WAAY after they go HD?

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
post #293 of 2903 Old 06-23-2005, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
RG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have PCL (Athens Cable) in Decatur and it only gives me WXDX (CBS) and and WHNT (FOX). There is no additional charge for these so I am not complaining. Does someone have good info on the LG LST-3510A DVD/HD Receiver? I am not sure if it is providing me all of the HD channels available from PCL. I call them and they sent a technician and he could not help but he did increase the signal level to the unit by removing splitters they had.

RTx
RG13 is offline  
post #294 of 2903 Old 06-23-2005, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Actually, Fox is WZDX and CBS is WHNT. No biggie though.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #295 of 2903 Old 07-01-2005, 10:10 AM
Newbie
 
Irishkmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did waay go hd today? anyone know when comcast will include them on their hd line up?
Irishkmo is offline  
post #296 of 2903 Old 07-05-2005, 06:14 AM
Member
 
odinala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No.
odinala is offline  
post #297 of 2903 Old 07-11-2005, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 2,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11


Wolfie
Wolfie is offline  
post #298 of 2903 Old 07-11-2005, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
brianm0520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys think it would be possible for me to pick up stations from Birmingham? I live near Russellville. The main station I was wanting to receive was channel 26 (WTJP). I attached a picture that shows the stations broadcast range. If you think it's possible, what kind of outdoor antenna would you recommend?
LL
brianm0520 is offline  
post #299 of 2903 Old 07-17-2005, 07:35 AM
Member
 
auburn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If so what do you think of it?

I'm moving to Madison later this month, and I am debating E* vs mediacom (comcast is not available in my neighborhood and knology sucks).

According to a post in another forum, mediacom has more HD channels than E* (Voom not withstanding), including ESPN-2 HD which will be a real boost come football season.

Does anyone know how thier picture quality (both HD and SD) compares with E*?
auburn2 is offline  
post #300 of 2903 Old 07-17-2005, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by auburn2 View Post

If so what do you think of it?

I'm moving to Madison later this month, and I am debating E* vs mediacom (comcast is not available in my neighborhood and knology sucks).

According to a post in another forum, mediacom has more HD channels than E* (Voom not withstanding), including ESPN-2 HD which will be a real boost come football season.

Does anyone know how thier picture quality (both HD and SD) compares with E*?

I'd like to know this as well. Customer service reactions, offerings, prices, etc. A coworker of mine currently has Mediacom, and is seriously giving thought to purchasing a HD display, and he wants to know if it's worth it. He's not interested in the movie channels, just mainly the other channels.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off