Huntsville, AL - HDTV - Page 100 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 2980 Unread 01-25-2016, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
DaveL8N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
channel 19.3 NEW!!!

I have been noticing a new channel which is 19.3. They have been testing using just a radar image. I contacted 19, they said they are not ready to launch the new channel or info about it. I asked will it be another weather channel, they would not confirm nor deny.
DaveL8N is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 2980 Unread 01-25-2016, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonlowe View Post
I'm having similar problems with WOW. I'm using a cable card with a Ceton card in my WMC computer. USA, Syfy, and others have the copy flag set, which frequently causes havoc with recordings. I also have issues recording Fox 54.1 on cable. I also have a Silicon Dust Home Run OTA 2 output receiver with an indoor antenna that I use for that channel. I separate the OTA channels from the cable in WMC. I found that even with the priority set to use the OTA receiver first in WMC, it still has issues recording Fox, unless I separate the listings. Never had these issues with Knology. I've gotten to the point where I watch USA on my Roku, and Syfy using Playon. Syfy used to have a Roku channel, but not anymore.
I'd go to Dish, but I live in a condo, and we can't put up a dish in common areas, including the roof. My condo faces north and east, so I have nowhere to place a dish in private areas.
If a few more channels become available via streaming on Roku without cable (Sling, or Hulu, etc.), I'll dump WOW cable.
I think if WOW still had BBC America the decision to drop them would have been much harder, but their paltry channel list tied to oh-so-expensive in house hardware rubbed us the wrong way.

If any WOW employees are reading this: your company wants way too much money for your 'Ultra DVR' solution.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is offline  
post #2973 of 2980 Unread 01-25-2016, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveL8N View Post
I have been noticing a new channel which is 19.3. They have been testing using just a radar image. I contacted 19, they said they are not ready to launch the new channel or info about it. I asked will it be another weather channel, they would not confirm nor deny.
The weather radar has been around for a while, but I was told from someone outside the area that it was yanked a few days ago. I guess it's back now? Definitely worth watching to see what they do with it. If they put regular programming on it, it'll probably look pretty crappy. According to RabbitEars they are running 1080i on the main channel and carrying Antenna TV in 720p, which seems like a total waste.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #2974 of 2980 Unread 01-25-2016, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
DaveL8N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
19.3 new channel

The fact that they would not confirm nor deny it was going to be weather makes me think its not going to be weather. She also told me that they were using the radar for testing. Why would you say that if it wasn't intended to be the future use as a weather channel? I do hope we get something a little different than the same old rerun type channels. I wished that 15 would turn up the juice. Everyone here talks about struggling to get 48. I am in Hazel Green in a forest and get 48. I made an antenna from half of an old screen door, a 4x6 treated pine board 3' long and some copper wires. This antenna gets better reception than anything you can buy in a store.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	24010_1285559378083_3588816_n.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	1210218  
Tom Servo likes this.
DaveL8N is offline  
post #2975 of 2980 Unread 01-25-2016, 06:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveL8N View Post
I wished that 15 would turn up the juice.
WHDF is already at the federal limit of 1000 kW.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2976 of 2980 Unread 01-25-2016, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
DaveL8N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
WHDF is already at the federal limit of 1000 kW.

- Trip
thanks Trip for info. I just noticed on TV fool is 15 is 33 miles from my home, so with my antenna facing best direction for other channels, I will have to live without 15 being steady.
DaveL8N is offline  
post #2977 of 2980 Unread 01-25-2016, 07:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 14,976
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
You're welcome.

Also wanted to mention that since WHNT is owned by Tribune, were I a gambling person, I would put money on 19-3 being either This TV or Comet. This TV is owned by Tribune, while Comet is owned by Sinclair who did a reciprocal group deal wherein Sinclair is carrying Antenna in places and Tribune is carrying Comet in places.

Tribune also carries Justice Network and Escape in a few markets, but I suspect we would have heard public announcements by now if it was either of those.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2978 of 2980 Unread 01-26-2016, 10:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
WHNT Weather

Could they be bringing back their 24/7 weather channel since 31 has Weather Nation on 31.2? I remember several years back that they were broadcasting a weather channel on there.
jyarbrough0910 is offline  
post #2979 of 2980 Unread Today, 09:54 AM
Member
 
jonlowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A follow up. Updating the Ceton card with Beta firmware cured the problems. Apparently, an update to the SA/Cisco cable card firmware sent out by WOW! and other cable providers causes analog (!) copy protection flags to be set sometimes on digital channels. Ceton applied for permission to remove the flags from the cable card people, since most of the USA has gone digital, and got it. I applied the firmware yesterday, and it has removed the problems. The Beta firmware is over a year old, and the only issue appears to be a very slow memory leak that will slow the computer over time. I have mine set to restart automatically once per week to solve the problem.

Here is a link to the Greenbutton forum topic that covers the issue. It contains a link to the firmware.

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...101398#p101398

I don't know if there is a similar fix for the HD Homerun Prime, but I'd check if anyone is having the same issues.

Jon

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonlowe View Post
I'm having similar problems with WOW. I'm using a cable card with a Ceton card in my WMC computer. USA, Syfy, and others have the copy flag set, which frequently causes havoc with recordings. I also have issues recording Fox 54.1 on cable. I also have a Silicon Dust Home Run OTA 2 output receiver with an indoor antenna that I use for that channel. I separate the OTA channels from the cable in WMC. I found that even with the priority set to use the OTA receiver first in WMC, it still has issues recording Fox, unless I separate the listings. Never had these issues with Knology. I've gotten to the point where I watch USA on my Roku, and Syfy using Playon. Syfy used to have a Roku channel, but not anymore.
I'd go to Dish, but I live in a condo, and we can't put up a dish in common areas, including the roof. My condo faces north and east, so I have nowhere to place a dish in private areas.
If a few more channels become available via streaming on Roku without cable (Sling, or Hulu, etc.), I'll dump WOW cable.
jonlowe is offline  
post #2980 of 2980 Unread Today, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Servo View Post
The weather radar has been around for a while, but I was told from someone outside the area that it was yanked a few days ago. I guess it's back now? Definitely worth watching to see what they do with it. If they put regular programming on it, it'll probably look pretty crappy. According to RabbitEars they are running 1080i on the main channel and carrying Antenna TV in 720p, which seems like a total waste.
WHNT preempts Antenna TV for ACC sports on the weekends, and some of the CBS network weekend programming runs there as well (Meet the Press, NFL Today) when church services are on the main channel.
Kafei is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off