Huntsville, AL - HDTV - Page 100 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 2999 Old 01-25-2016, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
DaveL8N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
channel 19.3 NEW!!!

I have been noticing a new channel which is 19.3. They have been testing using just a radar image. I contacted 19, they said they are not ready to launch the new channel or info about it. I asked will it be another weather channel, they would not confirm nor deny.
DaveL8N is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 2999 Old 01-25-2016, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonlowe View Post
I'm having similar problems with WOW. I'm using a cable card with a Ceton card in my WMC computer. USA, Syfy, and others have the copy flag set, which frequently causes havoc with recordings. I also have issues recording Fox 54.1 on cable. I also have a Silicon Dust Home Run OTA 2 output receiver with an indoor antenna that I use for that channel. I separate the OTA channels from the cable in WMC. I found that even with the priority set to use the OTA receiver first in WMC, it still has issues recording Fox, unless I separate the listings. Never had these issues with Knology. I've gotten to the point where I watch USA on my Roku, and Syfy using Playon. Syfy used to have a Roku channel, but not anymore.
I'd go to Dish, but I live in a condo, and we can't put up a dish in common areas, including the roof. My condo faces north and east, so I have nowhere to place a dish in private areas.
If a few more channels become available via streaming on Roku without cable (Sling, or Hulu, etc.), I'll dump WOW cable.
I think if WOW still had BBC America the decision to drop them would have been much harder, but their paltry channel list tied to oh-so-expensive in house hardware rubbed us the wrong way.

If any WOW employees are reading this: your company wants way too much money for your 'Ultra DVR' solution.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is offline  
post #2973 of 2999 Old 01-25-2016, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveL8N View Post
I have been noticing a new channel which is 19.3. They have been testing using just a radar image. I contacted 19, they said they are not ready to launch the new channel or info about it. I asked will it be another weather channel, they would not confirm nor deny.
The weather radar has been around for a while, but I was told from someone outside the area that it was yanked a few days ago. I guess it's back now? Definitely worth watching to see what they do with it. If they put regular programming on it, it'll probably look pretty crappy. According to RabbitEars they are running 1080i on the main channel and carrying Antenna TV in 720p, which seems like a total waste.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #2974 of 2999 Old 01-25-2016, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
DaveL8N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
19.3 new channel

The fact that they would not confirm nor deny it was going to be weather makes me think its not going to be weather. She also told me that they were using the radar for testing. Why would you say that if it wasn't intended to be the future use as a weather channel? I do hope we get something a little different than the same old rerun type channels. I wished that 15 would turn up the juice. Everyone here talks about struggling to get 48. I am in Hazel Green in a forest and get 48. I made an antenna from half of an old screen door, a 4x6 treated pine board 3' long and some copper wires. This antenna gets better reception than anything you can buy in a store.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	24010_1285559378083_3588816_n.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	1210218  
Tom Servo likes this.
DaveL8N is offline  
post #2975 of 2999 Old 01-25-2016, 06:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 15,166
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveL8N View Post
I wished that 15 would turn up the juice.
WHDF is already at the federal limit of 1000 kW.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2976 of 2999 Old 01-25-2016, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
DaveL8N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
WHDF is already at the federal limit of 1000 kW.

- Trip
thanks Trip for info. I just noticed on TV fool is 15 is 33 miles from my home, so with my antenna facing best direction for other channels, I will have to live without 15 being steady.
DaveL8N is offline  
post #2977 of 2999 Old 01-25-2016, 07:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 15,166
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
You're welcome.

Also wanted to mention that since WHNT is owned by Tribune, were I a gambling person, I would put money on 19-3 being either This TV or Comet. This TV is owned by Tribune, while Comet is owned by Sinclair who did a reciprocal group deal wherein Sinclair is carrying Antenna in places and Tribune is carrying Comet in places.

Tribune also carries Justice Network and Escape in a few markets, but I suspect we would have heard public announcements by now if it was either of those.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2978 of 2999 Old 01-26-2016, 10:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
WHNT Weather

Could they be bringing back their 24/7 weather channel since 31 has Weather Nation on 31.2? I remember several years back that they were broadcasting a weather channel on there.
jyarbrough0910 is offline  
post #2979 of 2999 Old 02-05-2016, 09:54 AM
Member
 
jonlowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A follow up. Updating the Ceton card with Beta firmware cured the problems. Apparently, an update to the SA/Cisco cable card firmware sent out by WOW! and other cable providers causes analog (!) copy protection flags to be set sometimes on digital channels. Ceton applied for permission to remove the flags from the cable card people, since most of the USA has gone digital, and got it. I applied the firmware yesterday, and it has removed the problems. The Beta firmware is over a year old, and the only issue appears to be a very slow memory leak that will slow the computer over time. I have mine set to restart automatically once per week to solve the problem.

Here is a link to the Greenbutton forum topic that covers the issue. It contains a link to the firmware.

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...101398#p101398

I don't know if there is a similar fix for the HD Homerun Prime, but I'd check if anyone is having the same issues.

Jon

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonlowe View Post
I'm having similar problems with WOW. I'm using a cable card with a Ceton card in my WMC computer. USA, Syfy, and others have the copy flag set, which frequently causes havoc with recordings. I also have issues recording Fox 54.1 on cable. I also have a Silicon Dust Home Run OTA 2 output receiver with an indoor antenna that I use for that channel. I separate the OTA channels from the cable in WMC. I found that even with the priority set to use the OTA receiver first in WMC, it still has issues recording Fox, unless I separate the listings. Never had these issues with Knology. I've gotten to the point where I watch USA on my Roku, and Syfy using Playon. Syfy used to have a Roku channel, but not anymore.
I'd go to Dish, but I live in a condo, and we can't put up a dish in common areas, including the roof. My condo faces north and east, so I have nowhere to place a dish in private areas.
If a few more channels become available via streaming on Roku without cable (Sling, or Hulu, etc.), I'll dump WOW cable.
jonlowe is offline  
post #2980 of 2999 Old 02-05-2016, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Servo View Post
The weather radar has been around for a while, but I was told from someone outside the area that it was yanked a few days ago. I guess it's back now? Definitely worth watching to see what they do with it. If they put regular programming on it, it'll probably look pretty crappy. According to RabbitEars they are running 1080i on the main channel and carrying Antenna TV in 720p, which seems like a total waste.
WHNT preempts Antenna TV for ACC sports on the weekends, and some of the CBS network weekend programming runs there as well (Meet the Press, NFL Today) when church services are on the main channel.
Kafei is offline  
post #2981 of 2999 Old 02-06-2016, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kafei View Post
WHNT preempts Antenna TV for ACC sports on the weekends, and some of the CBS network weekend programming runs there as well (Meet the Press, NFL Today) when church services are on the main channel.
You mean Face the Nation (the second half-hour). And I presume the first half-hour of The NFL Today.

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #2982 of 2999 Old 02-06-2016, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
You mean Face the Nation (the second half-hour). And I presume the first half-hour of The NFL Today.
No, they air those programs in their entirety on WHNT-2.

It’s different this week because of Super Bowl pre-game programming, but look at the listings for February 14 and you will see the entire hour of FTN on WHNT-2. I watch it from time to time.

And yeah, I meant Face the Nation instead of Meet the Press. D’oh!

Last edited by Kafei; 02-06-2016 at 01:14 PM.
Kafei is offline  
post #2983 of 2999 Old 02-14-2016, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whnt-dt 19-3

Consider this possibility:

They move Antenna TV to 19-3 @ 480i.
That frees up 19-2 for someone else in the market to share the frequency and take a buyout from the FCC, splitting that big fat federal auction check with the owners of WHNT. (WAFF? WHDF?)

Just spitballin’ here.
Kafei is offline  
post #2984 of 2999 Old 02-15-2016, 08:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Competition with 31-2

I still think it would likely be a 24/7 weather channel to compete with 31-2. I'd read somewhere that the moving of spectrum around in the case of the FCC auction wouldn't likely occur until the end of the decade. It's a bit too early for that. I'm wondering if the FCC won't make a push towards ATSC-3 to free up additional bandwidth. The last auction coincided with the adoption of ATSC in the first place. Could you have an ATSC/ATSC-3 hybrid signal on one channel?
jyarbrough0910 is offline  
post #2985 of 2999 Old 02-24-2016, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Hopefully with Huntsville Utilities and Google's announcement on Monday we will be seeing their TV service in addition to internet.

I am tired of compressed video from Comcast and WOW!.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is offline  
post #2986 of 2999 Old 02-24-2016, 11:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoid View Post
Hopefully with Huntsville Utilities and Google's announcement on Monday we will be seeing their TV service in addition to internet.

I am tired of compressed video from Comcast and WOW!.

Mr Zoid
Depends on where you live..

http://www.al.com/news/huntsville/in...g_to_hunt.html

(emphasis mine)
Quote:
Q: How long will it take to build the network?
A: Huntsville hopes most people in the city limits have service available in four years. Some will have it as soon as summer 2017.
And plans for Madison city haven't even begun yet. They're just now going to meet with Madison city representatives this week.

Don't get me wrong, I'm really SUPER excited. Not many cities in the entire nation have this opportunity, we'll be beating MANY cities to the punch. But now it's a "hurry up and wait" game.

The biggest fear that I have is that it will play to existing monopolies.. I *only* have WOW available on my street, not AT&T, not Comcast, nothing else. If the new plan doesn't bring any competition to individual households that don't currently have it, then I don't see it dropping my rates any. I kind of suspect that while my speeds may increase, my monthly bill will likely NOT go down..

Hopefully I'll be proved wrong.

..dane
audiodane is offline  
post #2987 of 2999 Old 04-22-2016, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WHNT is running a promo saying that AntennaTV is moving to WHNT3 on 25 April.

Nothing stated about WHNT2, but Zap2It’s listings for it next week are full of courtroom-type programming.

Last edited by Kafei; 04-22-2016 at 08:00 PM.
Kafei is offline  
post #2988 of 2999 Old 04-22-2016, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kafei View Post
Nothing stated about WHNT2, but Zap2It’s listings for it next week are full of courtroom-type programming.
The Justice Network?

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #2989 of 2999 Old 04-22-2016, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
The Justice Network?
No, it is mostly HD programming.

Justice for All, Supreme Justice, Access Hollywood, ES.TV, Celebrity Page, Recipe.TV, Judge Faith, America’s Court, The Real, local newscasts, Crime Watch Daily, Inside Edition, Access Hollywood, Celebrity Name Game, Cougar Town, Steve Harvey, Forensic Files, Cheaters.

AFAIAC, it might as well be a 24-hour test pattern. But I am sure some people will like it.
Kafei is offline  
post #2990 of 2999 Old 04-23-2016, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kafei View Post
No, it is mostly HD programming.

Justice for All, Supreme Justice, Access Hollywood, ES.TV, Celebrity Page, Recipe.TV, Judge Faith, America’s Court, The Real, local newscasts, Crime Watch Daily, Inside Edition, Access Hollywood, Celebrity Name Game, Cougar Town, Steve Harvey, Forensic Files, Cheaters.

AFAIAC, it might as well be a 24-hour test pattern. But I am sure some people will like it.
They just put it up on RabbitEars.
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...=48693#station

Could The CW be moving there? Or maybe ABC?

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #2991 of 2999 Old 04-24-2016, 04:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 15,166
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
Could The CW be moving there? Or maybe ABC?
No.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2992 of 2999 Old 04-24-2016, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
No.

- Trip
Just speculating.

BTW, the Calkins-Raycom sale hasn't been filed yet with the FCC. What's taking them?

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #2993 of 2999 Old 04-24-2016, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
RabbitEars is right, it's going to be an "independent" broadcast in HD. See the press release here.

It ought to be interesting to see if 19.1 take a picture quality hit for OTA viewers.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #2994 of 2999 Old 04-24-2016, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
No Interruptions

At least Antenna TV won't have anymore news interruptions. I've been missing the full hour block of Family Ties at 9 pm each night. Also, there won't be anymore college sports interrupting the afternoon programming on the weekend. As for the scheduled line-up WHNT-2, they're going to need better shows between the sports events and news for viewers to stay tuned to that channel. I don't see anything in particular different from the syndicated programming that you see on other networks.
jyarbrough0910 is offline  
post #2995 of 2999 Old 08-25-2016, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see WZDX has a new subchannel tonight: 54.4 - Escape (http://www.escapetv.com/). It seems to have been there since at least August 17th.

Wikipedia says this is going to change to Laff (http://www.laff.com/) in the near future.

Last edited by Kafei; 08-25-2016 at 08:25 PM.
Kafei is offline  
post #2996 of 2999 Old 10-05-2016, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New in Florence

Hey guys,

So I have taken on the project of trying to ditch Directv which I have scaled down to just the locals. I am renting and landlady doesn't really want antenna up in plain view. I tried it with the WA-2608 Antenna and was able to get all three channels I am looking for (NBC, ABC, and CBS) although not all at once. But before I had time to play with it to see if I could, one of my anchor lines got cut and the antenna fell and broke.

So, now I am trying the ClearStream 4 in the attic. I also have the HDHomerun Connect that is hooked up to the router and my Nvidia shield is hardwired to the router. I stream most of my shows but would like to have the local channels for local football games. The goal is to have it all coming into the Nvidia Shield.

So, I have the Clearstream set up in the attic at the highest point where there is a screened vent right at the top where the roof comes to a point. I used the Antenna Pointer app to point it in the direction of the towers (all in Huntsville). The antenna is attached to a 100ft coax that runs out of the vent, along the roof, down the corner of the house and into a vent that leads to the crawlspace. From there it almost reaches where it needs to come back up through the floor. It is attached to another (15ft I think) coax there which goes through the floor to the spare room. In the spare room I have the router, the HDHomerun Connect, and a spare Plasma Samsung TV. The Nvidia is in the next room connected to a 4k Hisense.

So, Using TVFool, I find that Fox, ABC, and CBS are all in the yellow area. NBC is in the red. They are the same distance away and the only thing I can see different is the db level which is in the low 20's for the first three and 8.1 for NBC. Here is the report.

***
EDIT: Well, forum is telling me I can't post a link until I have posted 5 times but I swear I just read a "Read before you post" sticky that said to post the TVFool report in your inital request for help. Maybe it was a different forum. Hopefully you have enough info though without seeing the report.
***

So, I connected the coax coming from the floor to the HDHomerun and ran a scan. It picked up about 8 channels. I attached it a preamp and ran the scan and only received about 3 channels.

So then I tried running it from the preamp to the Hisense in the other room. It picked up the original 8. Only one of the 8 is a local channel, (I think it was 54.1 Fox). So then, out of curiosity, I took the coax coming from the floor and hooked it up to the backup Plasma Samsung. It picked up 17 channels, all the locals except for NBC, in great HD detail.

I have posted this issue in the HDHomerun forum as well. I was just hoping I could get some help here in trying to pull in NBC as well. I have a feeling it is a power issue, according to the db levels from TVFool, and the fact that they are all coming from the same direction which should mean it isn't about repositioning the antenna. However the preamp seems to be having the opposite effect. What I need is to be able to get NBC as well and, hopefully, get them all going to the HDHomerun Connect so they can be seen by the Android App on the Nvidia Shield and I can record programs from there.

But one step at a time, let's see what we can do about getting all channels coming in. Anyone with any advice on that?
aujbman is offline  
post #2997 of 2999 Old 10-25-2016, 11:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aujbman View Post
Hey guys,

So I have taken on the project of trying to ditch Directv which I have scaled down to just the locals. I am renting and landlady doesn't really want antenna up in plain view. I tried it with the WA-2608 Antenna and was able to get all three channels I am looking for (NBC, ABC, and CBS) although not all at once. But before I had time to play with it to see if I could, one of my anchor lines got cut and the antenna fell and broke.

So, now I am trying the ClearStream 4 in the attic. I also have the HDHomerun Connect that is hooked up to the router and my Nvidia shield is hardwired to the router. I stream most of my shows but would like to have the local channels for local football games. The goal is to have it all coming into the Nvidia Shield.

So, I have the Clearstream set up in the attic at the highest point where there is a screened vent right at the top where the roof comes to a point. I used the Antenna Pointer app to point it in the direction of the towers (all in Huntsville). The antenna is attached to a 100ft coax that runs out of the vent, along the roof, down the corner of the house and into a vent that leads to the crawlspace. From there it almost reaches where it needs to come back up through the floor. It is attached to another (15ft I think) coax there which goes through the floor to the spare room. In the spare room I have the router, the HDHomerun Connect, and a spare Plasma Samsung TV. The Nvidia is in the next room connected to a 4k Hisense.

So, Using TVFool, I find that Fox, ABC, and CBS are all in the yellow area. NBC is in the red. They are the same distance away and the only thing I can see different is the db level which is in the low 20's for the first three and 8.1 for NBC. Here is the report.

***
EDIT: Well, forum is telling me I can't post a link until I have posted 5 times but I swear I just read a "Read before you post" sticky that said to post the TVFool report in your inital request for help. Maybe it was a different forum. Hopefully you have enough info though without seeing the report.
***

So, I connected the coax coming from the floor to the HDHomerun and ran a scan. It picked up about 8 channels. I attached it a preamp and ran the scan and only received about 3 channels.

So then I tried running it from the preamp to the Hisense in the other room. It picked up the original 8. Only one of the 8 is a local channel, (I think it was 54.1 Fox). So then, out of curiosity, I took the coax coming from the floor and hooked it up to the backup Plasma Samsung. It picked up 17 channels, all the locals except for NBC, in great HD detail.

I have posted this issue in the HDHomerun forum as well. I was just hoping I could get some help here in trying to pull in NBC as well. I have a feeling it is a power issue, according to the db levels from TVFool, and the fact that they are all coming from the same direction which should mean it isn't about repositioning the antenna. However the preamp seems to be having the opposite effect. What I need is to be able to get NBC as well and, hopefully, get them all going to the HDHomerun Connect so they can be seen by the Android App on the Nvidia Shield and I can record programs from there.

But one step at a time, let's see what we can do about getting all channels coming in. Anyone with any advice on that?
You do have certain legal rights re: an external antenna

https://www.fcc.gov/media/over-air-r...n-devices-rule

How close is your preamp to your antenna? (hopefully it is in the attic near your antenna)

What sort of coax cable are you using? (hopefully it is RG-6)
Kafei is offline  
post #2998 of 2999 Old 11-05-2016, 03:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is WTZT Channel 11 out of Athens having issues? It's come in fine before, but it's been out for me for a while now. It sucks because my only other COZI station is Channel 4 out of Nashville, which is receivable only late at night. Also, did channel 29 out of Decatur change their affiliation? The last time I flipped over there, Retro TV was gone, and it was nothing but religious TV channels for the entire subchannel line-up.
jyarbrough0910 is offline  
post #2999 of 2999 Old 11-05-2016, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyarbrough0910 View Post
Is WTZT Channel 11 out of Athens having issues? It's come in fine before, but it's been out for me for a while now. It sucks because my only other COZI station is Channel 4 out of Nashville, which is receivable only late at night. Also, did channel 29 out of Decatur change their affiliation? The last time I flipped over there, Retro TV was gone, and it was nothing but religious TV channels for the entire subchannel line-up.
A religious group owns WMJN, so they may have dropped the secular programming. It's still listed as Retro TV and Heartland on RabbitEars, though.
Tom Servo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off