Huntsville, AL - HDTV - Page 94 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 2903 Old 01-08-2012, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
re_nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hornfeck View Post

I can't find a true definition of Signal Quality vs Signal Strength...

I think the following gives a good overview of SS vs. SNQ for the HDHR:

http://www.silicondust.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4474
re_nelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 2903 Old 01-08-2012, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It’s nice to see that Madison County residents are seeing an increased signal from WAFF. But the two of you who have posted were already getting 90+ percent signals.

Out on the fringe, it’s still a rock solid 6.1 dB, which translates to 22% on my signal checker.

I was aware that some sort of physical work was being done on the broadcasting antenna in latter December or early January, but I don’t have any specific details.
Kafei is offline  
post #2793 of 2903 Old 01-08-2012, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I feel for folks farther out and the quality of the reception you may/may not be getting. I wasn't bragging about MY signal, just offering it as a relative point. For years (2003-2006) I was tuning HDTV on my Samsung TS-160 and never got anything greater than a 77% for WAFF on it's signal meter. Then DirecTV offered me an HR-20 and that had its values in the low 80's on the same antenna distribution (from my attic). The point I'm making is there has been a recent shift in the direction of goodness at WAFF. If ours locally is better this should indicate an upward trend for those farther out. Also, that none of these manufacturers use any kind of absolute scale - unlike the last poster who has a dB (measured) signal.

BTW I have an ATi HDTV-Wonder, AVerMedia Duet, Hauppauge HVR-1600, ATi 650 USB Combo, and a HDHomeRun for a total of 7 tuners acorss 5 assemblies and 4 manufacturers - they all report differently and depending on the software/drivers I may or may not get anything more than a bar graph indication... is that strength, quality, or? Again, it's just a relative point, not meaning to brag. Besides, at 9.8 miles from the towers in Monrovia and the years of tweaking I should be getting an excellent signal!
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #2794 of 2903 Old 01-09-2012, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, as for the recent shift in the direction of goodness... I’ve seen seasonal atmospheric conditions cause greater shifts.

As for my signal checker: it reports both signal strength and signal quality. The bar on the application changes color according to signal quality, with red being bad, green being good and blue being the best (verging on being too strong).

To save you from having to page back, and to illustrate what I am saying about the color changes:



The software itself can be downloaded from here; but I am told it will not work with other manufacturer’s cards. The name of the app itself is TuneFinder.exe.
Kafei is offline  
post #2795 of 2903 Old 01-10-2012, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
aclark440's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have Uverse in the Huntsville / Madison area? If so, how does it compare to DirecTV in terms of picture quality. My father in law in Dallas swears by it, but I'm not seeing the reviews to back it up.
aclark440 is offline  
post #2796 of 2903 Old 01-10-2012, 02:16 PM
Newbie
 
DaveL8N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aclark440 View Post

Anybody have Uverse in the Huntsville / Madison area? If so, how does it compare to DirecTV in terms of picture quality. My father in law in Dallas swears by it, but I'm not seeing the reviews to back it up.

Anything to do with AT&T I stay away from. AT&T is Uverse. That company is Satan!! Example: my 70 year old mother had their phone service at her store (landline). They made her sign a 3 year contract. After signing they raised price. After 3 years she left them. They sent her a bill for $800 saying that since she didnt send letter in writing they renewed her contract without her consent. Since they renewed the contract and she left them, they felt she owed them $800 for leaving. She did not owe for calls made, past bills etc, just $800 simply because she left them. They continue to harass her 2 years later. And have marked her credit with this. AT&T is Satan!!
DaveL8N is offline  
post #2797 of 2903 Old 01-18-2012, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ran TuneFinder and got a steady 14-15 dB signal from WAFF (55% red bar - good enough for stuttering audio).

A quick look at William Hepburn's Worldwide Tropospheric Ducting Forecasts revealed the reason why.



It looks like the atmosphere will be very, very favorable for dxing this weekend.
Kafei is offline  
post #2798 of 2903 Old 01-27-2012, 11:11 PM
Newbie
 
gotermite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does 48.3 ever broadcast a program? What is the purpose of an empty channel?
gotermite is offline  
post #2799 of 2903 Old 02-09-2012, 10:18 AM
Member
 
burdellgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NASA TV is going HD. I wonder which (if any) local cable systems will carry this upgrade?

http://blog.al.com/space-news/2012/0...his_month.html
burdellgp is offline  
post #2800 of 2903 Old 02-25-2012, 06:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
taz291819:

I just got updated TSReader data from WHDF (and the other Huntsville stations) and I wanted to let you know that your TSID is wrong. It is currently set as 1 when it should be 67 (0x0043).

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2801 of 2903 Old 02-28-2012, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

taz291819:

I just got updated TSReader data from WHDF (and the other Huntsville stations) and I wanted to let you know that your TSID is wrong. It is currently set as 1 when it should be 67 (0x0043).

- Trip

Good eyes Trip. Our PSIP generator was acting up, so we went back to letting the encoder do a "static" psip, while still allowing the PSIP generator to update the EPG.

I'll let our CE know.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #2802 of 2903 Old 03-01-2012, 09:03 AM
Member
 
leww37334's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't been here for a while, but I do have a question. I live about 3 miles north of the TN AL border and I want to try to get Nashville OTA. I have a channel master 4228 antenna. It will get channel 2 on a good day but not much else. Does anyone have a suggestion for a good antenna that might bring in 4 and 5?
leww37334 is offline  
post #2803 of 2903 Old 03-02-2012, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leww37334 View Post

I haven't been here for a while, but I do have a question. I live about 3 miles north of the TN AL border and I want to try to get Nashville OTA. I have a channel master 4228 antenna. It will get channel 2 on a good day but not much else. Does anyone have a suggestion for a good antenna that might bring in 4 and 5?

I think WTVF is still on the VHF band. They have a permit to move to frequency 25, but as whether they will ever actually move there... your guess is as good as mine.

WSMV is firmly rooted in VHF-HI on frequency 10.

You will need something that gets both the UHF and VHF bands for the Nashville market. That's something that not a lot of people here in Huntsville UHF Land may have experience with.
Kafei is offline  
post #2804 of 2903 Old 03-04-2012, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Did other providers' guide data show Great Performances: Phantom of the Opera for PBS tonight?

We have DirecTV and my wife set to record. It is APTV fundraising though. I'm kind of miffed. Just wondering if it is D*'s fault.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
post #2805 of 2903 Old 03-04-2012, 08:30 PM
Member
 
burdellgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TiVo also showed "Great Performances". APTV.org shows diffierent programming for 6-10pm tonight though. They have an ad on the main page for the "Great Performances" episode for Wednesday, March 7, at 7pm (TiVo also shows this).

PBS stations tend to change programming with little or no notice during fund raising.
burdellgp is offline  
post #2806 of 2903 Old 03-20-2012, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
jnporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I'm not picking up FOX54 HD at channel 905 anymore. Anybody know whats up? I haven't re-scanned yet because it takes my set forever. Thanks.

jnporter
jnporter is offline  
post #2807 of 2903 Old 03-30-2012, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
larrylwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Section, Al (near Scottsboro)
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anybody using Tvio to record shows OTA be aware ALL the stations are reporting the wrong date. Most are 1 day behind and some years behind. So season passes set for first run won't record. I called Tivo, they verified and sent it in. It will take a week to fix.
larrylwill is offline  
post #2808 of 2903 Old 04-06-2012, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
scodishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok... i m new to dropping cable and going to digital antenna..... i bought an antenna to supplement my ROKU so i can get local broadcasts.....PROBLEM is the signal always cuts in and out. I cant watch a single show without it freezing up every few minutes..... any ideas what I should do?
scodishman is offline  
post #2809 of 2903 Old 04-06-2012, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
dss102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your signal is too weak.

If you use an outdoor ant, adjust its direction. If you use an indoor ant, change its location and direction (to face tv stations), and most likely you need an amp.
dss102 is offline  
post #2810 of 2903 Old 04-06-2012, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scodishman View Post

ok... i m new to dropping cable and going to digital antenna..... i bought an antenna to supplement my ROKU so i can get local broadcasts.....PROBLEM is the signal always cuts in and out. I cant watch a single show without it freezing up every few minutes..... any ideas what I should do?

Where are you, and what kind of antenna do you have?

Even if it's an indoor antenna, it's all about height height height! Get it up over everything in the room, or in the attic if possible. Depending on where you live, you might need an outdoor antenna, or a good antenna in the attic.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #2811 of 2903 Old 04-09-2012, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to TV Fool, Section AL is LOS with most of the Huntsville transmitters.

Could it be a case of too much signal? Those NM numbers are up into the 40s and 50s at 15' altitude.
Kafei is offline  
post #2812 of 2903 Old 04-13-2012, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
smintn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lewisburg, Tn
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What a pleasant surprise when I came home today there was a new station on my cm7000pal.

It was 54-3 out of with METV it looks very promising watching MASH right now, also caught a little bit of the Rifleman
smintn is offline  
post #2813 of 2903 Old 04-15-2012, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Kafei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smintn View Post

What a pleasant surprise when I came home today there was a new station on my cm7000pal.

It was 54-3 out of with METV it looks very promising watching MASH right now, also caught a little bit of the Rifleman

That’s nice to have now that summer reruns are coming up.

MeTV is the network tag for TitanTV listings, BTW.
Kafei is offline  
post #2814 of 2903 Old 04-17-2012, 04:15 PM
Member
 
TheJERK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just installed a Double Bay Gray Hoverman Antenna in my attic. I live in the middle of Decatur, AL. and it picks up Huntsville stations great. Here is what I get and my televisions reported signal strengths.

channel 11 = 66 to 69
channel 15 = 81 to 87
channel 19 = 93 to 100
channel 25 = 75 to 75
channel 31 = 93 to 100
channel 48 = 93 to 94
channel 51 = 84 to 87
channel 54 = 93 to 100
TheJERK is offline  
post #2815 of 2903 Old 04-28-2012, 01:42 PM
Member
 
RustyBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest Alabama
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I reside in N. Florence. What antenna/amp combination would I need to pull in stations approximately 70 miles away ? I have a tower of approximately 35 ft.

Also, who in this area installs antennas ?
RustyBob is offline  
post #2816 of 2903 Old 04-28-2012, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyBob View Post

Hello. I reside in N. Florence. What antenna/amp combination would I need to pull in stations approximately 70 miles away ? I have a tower of approximately 35 ft.

Also, who in this area installs antennas ?

My parents live in Kendale Gardens, and I put up a Channel Master CM4228 with a Channel Master preamp for them. It was about 40 feet up, and picked up everything.

I also tried out an Antennas Direct XG91 (I think that's the model), and it worked fine also.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #2817 of 2903 Old 06-11-2012, 09:36 AM
Member
 
jared52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Knology internet service only and I just use an antenna for TV viewing. The other day I hooked up the coax cable from my modem to my TV and did a scan just for kicks and giggles. I was surprised to find lots of channels via clearQAM that were available on my TV. Granted most were shopping and music but also the locals and a couple of old movie channels (based on about 2 min of watching). So my inevitable questions is, would it be legal/ethical to connect my TV permanently to the coax (via a splitter of some type) to watch those channels? If so, what kind of splitter and would I be able to get guide data via my soon to be delivered TiVo Premiere?
jared52 is offline  
post #2818 of 2903 Old 06-11-2012, 11:20 AM
Member
 
burdellgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TiVo is not going to be able to record clear QAM channels. The primary reason is that the cable providers do not report the channel mappings and change them at will (and without warning), so there is no way for a TiVo to know that WHNT-HD is on physical channel 83 program ID 17 (for example). There have been requests over the years for TiVo to provide some manual way to handle the channel mappings, but since cable companies have reduced (or removed) clear QAM channels, TiVo has never supported it. The only way to record from digital cable with a TiVo is with a CableCard (which the cable company will not provide without paying for some level of cable service).
burdellgp is offline  
post #2819 of 2903 Old 06-11-2012, 11:23 AM
Member
 
jared52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, thank you. That may eliminate my desire, but what about the legality of it and the type of splitter if it's legal to use those channels?
jared52 is offline  
post #2820 of 2903 Old 06-11-2012, 01:25 PM
Member
 
burdellgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't believe there is anything illegal about it (if they don't want you to see something, then it is up to them to block it from your wire). Any regular cable splitter should work; it may need to handle up to 1000 MHz frequencies (don't know for sure).
burdellgp is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off