Huntsville, AL - HDTV - Page 98 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2015, 04:47 PM
Member
 
lowdown256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you go to the WOW websited (you must allow cookies), click on Huntsville, click on Help & Support, click on Cable TV under Popular Help Topics, then click on Channel Changes and Updates in the left column.


It is buried deep. Most people won't find it. Just as WOW wants it to be.


Something tells me no one's cable bill with the deletion of these and the other channels since WOW took over Knology.
lowdown256 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2015, 07:46 PM
Newbie
 
Erus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowdown256 View Post
WOW encrypts all channels including locals. All subscribers require a DTA or cable box.
So, up until today, that wasn't true. I've been picking up locals using a regular QAM tuner even after the digital conversion. But tonight, I noticed about half my channels weren't working. Did a rescan, and sure enough about half are gone. I've got ABC, NBC and PBS in HD. A couple more (Fox and I forget what else) in SD. Interestingly, there aren't even the hundreds of encrypted channels found like there normally were (that I couldn't tune). Just about 10 or so (including sd/hd duplicates) total, all unencrypted.

Almost feels like they moved to a totally new frequency scheme or something my tuner can't handle.
Erus is offline  
Old 01-16-2015, 09:04 PM
Newbie
 
Erus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erus View Post
So, up until today, that wasn't true. I've been picking up locals using a regular QAM tuner even after the digital conversion. But tonight, I noticed about half my channels weren't working. Did a rescan, and sure enough about half are gone. I've got ABC, NBC and PBS in HD. A couple more (Fox and I forget what else) in SD. Interestingly, there aren't even the hundreds of encrypted channels found like there normally were (that I couldn't tune). Just about 10 or so (including sd/hd duplicates) total, all unencrypted.

Almost feels like they moved to a totally new frequency scheme or something my tuner can't handle.
Something transient must be going on. I now have 363 channels (almost all encrypted), and CBS HD is back. But still missing Fox and CW HD that we'd had before.
Erus is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off