Miami / Ft. Lauderdale, FL - HDTV - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 108
I watched the first hour in SD widescreen. Don't know what happened after that.
Rudy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 12:12 PM
Member
 
WingFat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Got the antenna installers over right now... I'm getting a Winegard HD9095 which will be mounted over my roof- 2 stories up. The mounting pole is huge!- and it telescopes... Why are they digging a hole in the lawn?.....oh my!


Will report back after installation is finished..
WingFat is offline  
post #393 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Rudy1
I watched the first hour in SD widescreen. Don't know what happened after that.

Hmmm...I had channel 2-3 which had letterboxed, and channel 2-100, which had nothing. Where was the SD widescreen?
aviators99 is offline  
post #394 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 02:57 PM
Member
 
WingFat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ok...

Installation is complete...
Dansco Services of Lake Worth installed a Winegard HD9095 with Winegard amp (19 DB gain). Its mounted on a 35 foot mast anchored in the ground. This thing goes up the back of my house, mounted about 3 feet above my deeply slanting roof.

Reception of OTA analog signals ie Ch 39 is better than cable. (Adelphia of course) Actually as good as satellite.

My Samsung is still enroute from Vanns so I can't really play yet.

I'm assuming that if I receive a low power station like ch59 nicely, I will have no problem with the digital stations?

Jeff
WingFat is offline  
post #395 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:


Originally posted by aviators99


Hmmm...I had channel 2-3 which had letterboxed, and channel 2-100, which had nothing. Where was the SD widescreen?

I don't really know. The INFO banner came up as Channel 2-3 (and 16:9, not Letterbox) when I first turned it on. But I was using my old DTC100, so that may be the reason why I didn't realize it was letterboxed. I haven't used that unit in several months, so it's possible that I made a mistake.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #396 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
jluzbet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Miami
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WSVN-Fox will transmit 480p the superbowl in our area ? Last I heard they were trying hard but nothing confirmed yet...

ÂNothing attempted, nothing achievedÂ
jluzbet is offline  
post #397 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jluzbet
WSVN-Fox will transmit 480p the superbowl in our area ? Last I heard they were trying hard but nothing confirmed yet...

It was since confirmed (in this thread even) that the answer is
no.
aviators99 is offline  
post #398 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there something wrong with my equipment or is American Family not on WPBT-DT?
aviators99 is offline  
post #399 of 6822 Old 01-23-2002, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:


Originally posted by aviators99
Is there something wrong with my equipment or is American Family not on WPBT-DT?

I was only able to catch a few minutes of this, but it was on tonight on WPBT-DT (in DD 2.0). There was a short documentary on following that, then a musical review (in DD 5.1) afterwards. I was busy doing something else so I didn't actually watch the programs, but I did check the HD tuners and the AV receivers for the transmission info.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #400 of 6822 Old 01-24-2002, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
holtwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still can't receive WPBT 2-1 on my Sony SAT-HD100! I scanned for this channel last night during the HighDef programs and it couldn't find it. This was working about a month ago but ever since I started receiving WBZL I can only receive 2-3. This channel however just shows a blank screen during HighDef broadcasts. I am getting signal strength of over 90.

What could be causing this problem? Do I need some kind of filter on my antenna or something? Is anyone else in So Fla able to receive WPBT 2-1 HighDef broadcasts on their HD100? Thanks in advance.

Will
holtwm is offline  
post #401 of 6822 Old 01-24-2002, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by holtwm
I still can't receive WPBT 2-1 on my Sony SAT-HD100! I scanned for this channel last night during the HighDef programs and it couldn't find it. This was working about a month ago but ever since I started receiving WBZL I can only receive 2-3. This channel however just shows a blank screen during HighDef broadcasts. I am getting signal strength of over 90.

What could be causing this problem? Do I need some kind of filter on my antenna or something? Is anyone else in So Fla able to receive WPBT 2-1 HighDef broadcasts on their HD100? Thanks in advance.

Will

I was not receiving it last night either, on my DTC-100. Apparently others were.
aviators99 is offline  
post #402 of 6822 Old 01-24-2002, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still not receiving it tonight with DTC-100 and good signal strength. Neither is Propeller....
aviators99 is offline  
post #403 of 6822 Old 01-24-2002, 07:07 PM
Member
 
gene inger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Thousand Oaks & Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
probably the problem is that anyone re-scanning an HD100 to get all the digital channels, will not get 2.1 unless you scan while an HDTV (rather than 2.3 digital, but not HD) program is on. Surely this is tough unless you check the schedule, or call them to find out when the national feed loop is being carried, or there is a show (such as earlier tonight) in HD. I know it's confusing, both because the HD100 (unlike the integrated sony tuner sets) will only rescan, and can lose a previously scanned channel if not on, and as WPBT is the only local station doing anything approaching multincasting...ie: 2.0, 2.1, 2.3 as they determine...sometimes it's awhile between HD programs, and they have announced some delay in carrying all the national programs...surprised there has not been more complaining about this, as they were doing an awfully lot at the outset. Good luck!

gene
www.ingerletter.com

gene

___________________
www.ingerletter.com
gene inger is offline  
post #404 of 6822 Old 01-26-2002, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
George33027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read somewhere that Fox will transmit 480P wide screen superbowl.

Are you sure south florida will not get the same?
George33027 is offline  
post #405 of 6822 Old 01-26-2002, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I'm sure. That's why I went and bought the Expressvu equipment and hooked it up yesterday. You are welcome to come to my superbowl party, since you live down the road.
aviators99 is offline  
post #406 of 6822 Old 01-26-2002, 03:41 PM
Member
 
online2much's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got done rescanning, and now pick up 2-1 (but it looks like an analog feed....fuzzy and scrolling scan lines?!?!) 2-3 and 2-100. Both 2-3 and 2-100 have some sort of demo loop running...

FYI - I live about 5 miles from the broadcast tower..
online2much is offline  
post #407 of 6822 Old 01-26-2002, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
romy101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Parkland, FL, USA
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How are you sure Fox wil broadcast it in 480p in South Florida? Did someone call and ask? I would not put it past wsvn to be hairbrained and not broadcast0 the feed.

In addition have they ever broadcast anything other than 480i before to give us at least a hint that they know what they are doing? I would hate to tell my friends to come over for the game just to have egg on my face when all I see on my projector is crappy ntsc.
romy101 is offline  
post #408 of 6822 Old 01-26-2002, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I called. I spoke with the chief engineer and others. It will definitely not be broadcast in 480p. I've never heard anyone suggest otherwise.
aviators99 is offline  
post #409 of 6822 Old 01-28-2002, 01:42 PM
Member
 
WingFat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Got my Samsung SIR-T150 today...

I'm speechless...

Just a few programming/Channel questions....

I'm getting a HD loop on PBS while titian.com lists other programming?

WFOR-DT is fine and reprogrammed to channel 4-1

Can't get 19-WBZL-DT... is there a trick to this?

This picture is so fine that I could sit and watch grass grow...

Jeff
WingFat is offline  
post #410 of 6822 Old 01-28-2002, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
jluzbet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Miami
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by WingFat
Got my Samsung SIR-T150 today...


Can't get 19-WBZL-DT... is there a trick to this?


Jeff

WBZL - Is only on air from 5:00-12:00 AM

ÂNothing attempted, nothing achievedÂ
jluzbet is offline  
post #411 of 6822 Old 01-28-2002, 06:13 PM
Member
 
WingFat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thank for the info on the start time for WBZL-DT...

I have another newbie question...

Tonight I'm watching the HD programs on CBS and while they look good, they do not approach the sample programming on PBS this afternoon. I though both are being transmitted at 1080i.

Why did the PBS programming seem better?

Thanks

Jeff
WingFat is offline  
post #412 of 6822 Old 01-28-2002, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviators99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 2,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone interested in coming over to watch the Super Bowl in EDTV via Expressvu on a 50" plasma, send me a PM, so I can gauge interest.

Ron
aviators99 is offline  
post #413 of 6822 Old 01-29-2002, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David McRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Historic College Park In Lake Worth, FL, USA
Posts: 2,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by WingFat
Thank for the info on the start time for WBZL-DT...

I have another newbie question...

Tonight I'm watching the HD programs on CBS and while they look good, they do not approach the sample programming on PBS this afternoon. I though both are being transmitted at 1080i.

Why did the PBS programming seem better?

Thanks

Jeff

You're seeing the difference between film (CBS primetime dramas and sitcoms) and electronic video (PBS demo loop). If you have a chance, see "The Young & the Restless", a CBS soap that's shot on 1080i video.

HiDefDave
 

WPTV/WFLX West Palm Beach, FL

David McRoy is offline  
post #414 of 6822 Old 02-01-2002, 07:37 AM
Member
 
Venkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lake Worth (Hypoluxo and Jog)
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live close to Hypoluxo/Haagen Ranch and am using SIRT 150. I kind of hate looking at WFOR 4:3 broadcast with bars. IS there a way in SIRT150 that will allow me to fill the picture while watching WFOR (4:1) 4:3 digital broadcasts that are not HD.
Venkat is offline  
post #415 of 6822 Old 02-01-2002, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:


Originally posted by Venkat
I live close to Hypoluxo/Haagen Ranch and am using SIRT 150. I kind of hate looking at WFOR 4:3 broadcast with bars. IS there a way in SIRT150 that will allow me to fill the picture while watching WFOR (4:1) 4:3 digital broadcasts that are not HD.

Go into the SETUP menu, select 4:3 instead of 16:9 as your screen format, and then you'll be able to zoom up the upconverted 4:3 broadcasts from WFOR. Just remember to reverse the procedure when you want to watch actual HD programming on WFOR.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #416 of 6822 Old 03-01-2002, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is much easier on the Dish6000, at the press of button you can toggle between Normal and Full Zoom!


Gireesh
_________________________________
Once in a while I feel the need to visit this thread
gireesh is offline  
post #417 of 6822 Old 03-10-2002, 07:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
George33027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is March 2002, and still no information on what is happening to NBC - DT.

I heard that something was going on, and a "hint" of olympics in HD, which turned out to be on HDNET.
But, I know some programming is going on HD, and some is being aired somewhere, but not in So. Florida.

Sooooooooooo,
Does anyone know what the latest excuse is (maybe it is even a reason, but I don't think so)?
George33027 is offline  
post #418 of 6822 Old 03-10-2002, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
mmburke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBC - WTVJ's DTV request is hung up with the FCC. I spoke to an FCC manager in Jan and was told it would be approved in one month. This is probably beaurocratese for 6+ months.
After FCC approval somebody heard it would take WTVJ about a year to be ready for DTV transmission.

Mark
mmburke is offline  
post #419 of 6822 Old 03-10-2002, 09:32 PM
Member
 
pogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Venkat
I live close to Hypoluxo/Haagen Ranch and am using SIRT 150. ... WFOR

Question: Do you see occasional retrace lines when watching WFOR?

How many bars show on the "reception meter" when you watch WFOR?

Are you using a pre-amp in the signal path?

Alan
(@ Gateway and Jog)
pogo is offline  
post #420 of 6822 Old 03-11-2002, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
George33027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is odd.
I remember when WFOR was putting up their antenna, and was waiting for NBC's antenna.
Then there was this FCC application to change channels, which would cause the antenna to be modified because of different frequency. Since the frequencies were so close, I don't buy that too much, but it may be true for high power efficiency and impedance matching.

Anyway, it doesn't appear to take that long, unless they intend to drag their feet.
But, it did take WFOR a good 6 months to go from install antenna to full power.
Question is how long will it take NBC to go from FCC approval to install antenna.

I though I read their goal was May 2002.
George33027 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off