Miami / Ft. Lauderdale, FL - HDTV - Page 209 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6241 of 6821 Old 04-04-2009, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtpsystems View Post

Anyone else getting 44.1 on ch 9.1 now? I was watching Equus hd on 44.1 whdt and one minute into it my tv redirected all by itself to ch 9.1 and 44.1 is now gone. the info on 9.1 only shows whdt dtv air with no program info. Every day its something else with dtv.

I just noticed it this evening, as you describe. Pretty strange.


_Lazza
Lazza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6242 of 6821 Old 04-05-2009, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, 44.1 is now coming in over 9.1. I suspect that they're still on RF 44 but their PSIP translates to 9.1.

This brings up an interesting issue. I'm not sure what the laws are, but if stations can apparently set their PSIP to whatever pseudo-channel they want for OTA, any station can pop in at a more advantageous "dial position" with computer programming. For instance, if 33.1 didn't feel like being up so high on the "dial", what's to prevent them from resetting their PSIP to, say, channel 3.1? Then they could simply rebrand themselves as Channel 3.
97Strat is offline  
post #6243 of 6821 Old 04-05-2009, 06:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Wow.

Now we just wait for the FCC fine.

The FCC adopted the PSIP spec in full, and it specifies that stations should use their analog channel number. The FCC has let stations specify their physical channel number instead, but those are the only exceptions. I was told KSWB attempted to map to 5-1 rather than 69-1 and was fined.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6244 of 6821 Old 04-05-2009, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Wow.

Now we just wait for the FCC fine.

The FCC adopted the PSIP spec in full, and it specifies that stations should use their analog channel number. The FCC has let stations specify their physical channel number instead, but those are the only exceptions. I was told KSWB attempted to map to 5-1 rather than 69-1 and was fined.

- Trip

Trip, thanks for the explanation with regards to the law. However, the station we've been talking about (44.1 - WHDT Miami) is digital-only. AFAIK, there's never been an analog counterpart.

Would you know what the FCC rules are regarding PSIP for stations that never had an analog counterpart? Is there anything to prevent those stations from mapping to whatever unused pseudo-channel they wanted?
97Strat is offline  
post #6245 of 6821 Old 04-05-2009, 08:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
They map to the physical channel number. Whatever channel number they map to is referred to as their "major channel number."

If they move to a different physical channel, the major channel number should stay the same, so in this case, 44-1.

If WHDT-DT had never been on the air before signing on as DT-42 (as they will in the near future) and thus that major channel number is taken, they map to that station's physical channel number, so they would map to 27-1 in this case.

But the correct mapping at this time is 44-1.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6246 of 6821 Old 04-05-2009, 08:42 PM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this continues what will happen to those that need to add individual channels manually because their sets are not capable of doing a re-scan without loosing the previous scanned channels. Say for example if I wanted to add just channel 10 I couldn't (sometimes you can add the display channel but not always) since to get 10 you have to choose channel 9 which in this case is occupied by whdt.

Im not sure how someone can be watching something in one channel and less than a minute later the tv re directs to another channel and there is nothing you can do about it.

At least with a computers you can prevent the redirects or at least minimize them. About a month ago channel 7.1 and 7.2 were coming in as 8.1 and 8.2

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6247 of 6821 Old 04-06-2009, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

They map to the physical channel number. Whatever channel number they map to is referred to as their "major channel number."

If they move to a different physical channel, the major channel number should stay the same, so in this case, 44-1.

If WHDT-DT had never been on the air before signing on as DT-42 (as they will in the near future) and thus that major channel number is taken, they map to that station's physical channel number, so they would map to 27-1 in this case.

But the correct mapping at this time is 44-1.

- Trip

I would agree, in that I believe their RF channel is 44, so I'm wondering why they've set their PSIP to map to 9.

I'm not sure I understand why they'd go to 42, as that's WXEL-DT's mapped channel number. Also, I'm not sure what 27's got to do with anything, unless you're referring of the station that broadcasts out of Jupiter. 44-1 (currently mapped to 9-1) broadcasts out of Miami.
97Strat is offline  
post #6248 of 6821 Old 04-06-2009, 05:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Wait, I think I mixed stations up here.

Are we talking about WHDT-LD from Miami, or are we talking about WHDT-DT from Stuart? I mixed them up, my mistake (easy enough to do given the proximity). The channel 42 move is for WHDT-DT, which will be buying WXEL's analog equipment it would seem.

WHDT-LD should map to 44-1, end of story there. They're not moving, they have 44-1, no conflicts. They have no claim to channel 9. Given that it's a low-powered station, I'm not sure what the deal is with regard to regulations.

All that stuff I said in previous posts applies to WHDT-DT in Stuart. Sorry.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6249 of 6821 Old 04-06-2009, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtpsystems View Post

If this continues what will happen to those that need to add individual channels manually because their sets are not capable of doing a re-scan without loosing the previous scanned channels. Say for example if I wanted to add just channel 10 I couldn't (sometimes you can add the display channel but not always) since to get 10 you have to choose channel 9 which in this case is occupied by whdt.

Im not sure how someone can be watching something in one channel and less than a minute later the tv re directs to another channel and there is nothing you can do about it.

At least with a computers you can prevent the redirects or at least minimize them. About a month ago channel 7.1 and 7.2 were coming in as 8.1 and 8.2

I still see PSIP being screwed up by some stations. As you've pointed out, WSVN-DT sometimes comes in as 8-1 and WPLG-DT sometimes comes in as 9-1 (both the true RF channel numbers). WPEC-DT also flips to 13-1 (their true RF channel number) once in a while. IIRC, WLRN had this issue a while ago.

I've had the PSIP change right in the middle of a program. All of a sudden, the channel either goes blank (no signal), or automatically switches to the real RF channel. Either way, when I directly key in the true RF channel on the remote, I get the signal. Then, some time later (it could be days later), the mapped channel returns. Wreaks havoc with my "favorites".

It appears that a fair number of stations still have to get their act together regarding PSIP and channel mapping. I find it interesting that these issues still exist this late in the digital game.
97Strat is offline  
post #6250 of 6821 Old 04-06-2009, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Wait, I think I mixed stations up here.

Are we talking about WHDT-LD from Miami, or are we talking about WHDT-DT from Stuart? I mixed them up, my mistake (easy enough to do given the proximity). The channel 42 move is for WHDT-DT, which will be buying WXEL's analog equipment it would seem.

WHDT-LD should map to 44-1, end of story there. They're not moving, they have 44-1, no conflicts. They have no claim to channel 9. Given that it's a low-powered station, I'm not sure what the deal is with regard to regulations.

All that stuff I said in previous posts applies to WHDT-DT in Stuart. Sorry.

- Trip

That explains my confusion.

As of last night, WHDT-LD (RF channel 44-1) was coming in mapped as 9-1. That's the situation I was wondering about.

Regarding WHDT-DT out of Stuart, what will happen to WXEL when WHDT buys the analog equipment? Does WXEL cease to exist at that point?
97Strat is offline  
post #6251 of 6821 Old 04-06-2009, 06:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97Strat View Post

That explains my confusion.

As of last night, WHDT-LD (RF channel 44-1) was coming in mapped as 9-1. That's the situation I was wondering about.

I don't know quite what to say about it. I can't think the FCC's okay with it, but it's a low-powered station so I don't know what the FCC would say.

Quote:


Regarding WHDT-DT out of Stuart, what will happen to WXEL when WHDT buys the analog equipment? Does WXEL cease to exist at that point?

WXEL analog is either going off the air soon or already has. They'll be converting the channel 42 gear to operate digitally, and then signing it on from there. It should theoretically continue mapping to 59-1.

Since WXEL-DT is on channel 27, they'll continue as is, mapping to 42-1.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6252 of 6821 Old 04-10-2009, 03:31 PM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here we go again... Channel 7 transmitting on 8.3 and 8.4

On or about 8:00 PM Feb 27, 2009 WSVN also ran a "false" alert of a Hurricane with over 100 mph winds and a storm surge of 6-8 feet.

Today they reported the temperature as 8 degrees in Florida?!?

I hear WSVN Channel 7 new banner is going to be "Mission Accomplished"

The truth of the matter, however, isn’t that WSVN problems couldn’t be solved it’s that they're not seriously trying. And we’ve developed a culture in which that’s considered ok.

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6253 of 6821 Old 04-10-2009, 09:45 PM
Member
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CBS 4 broadcast the second to the last act of "Flashpoint" tonight in SD, pillarboxed. I've seen this happen before; what causes this?
zorinlynx is offline  
post #6254 of 6821 Old 04-10-2009, 11:54 PM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post

CBS 4 broadcast the second to the last act of "Flashpoint" tonight in SD, pillarboxed. I've seen this happen before; what causes this?

The screw up fairy... Lol

I noticed Friday Night Lights at times Blocky/Pixelated.

I believe just last week cbs or nbc transmitted part of the golf game pillarboxed also.

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6255 of 6821 Old 04-11-2009, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtpsystems View Post

Here we go again... Channel 7 transmitting on 8.3 and 8.4

On or about 8:00 PM Feb 27, 2009 WSVN also ran a "false" alert of a Hurricane with over 100 mph winds and a storm surge of 6-8 feet.

Today they reported the temperature as 8 degrees in Florida?!?

I hear WSVN Channel 7 new banner is going to be "Mission Accomplished"

The truth of the matter, however, isn't that WSVN problems couldn't be solved it's that they're not seriously trying. And we've developed a culture in which that's considered ok.

Looks like WSVN-DT's crack engineering staff has screwed up their PSIP again. They do this every so often.
97Strat is offline  
post #6256 of 6821 Old 04-11-2009, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post

CBS 4 broadcast the second to the last act of "Flashpoint" tonight in SD, pillarboxed. I've seen this happen before; what causes this?

Was this OTA or through a cable/sat system? I was watching Flashpoint last night OTA and don't recall that happening - IIRC the whole show was HD. That said, my attention was split between the TV and talking to other people.
97Strat is offline  
post #6257 of 6821 Old 04-11-2009, 08:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97Strat View Post

Looks like WSVN-DT's crack engineering staff has screwed up their PSIP again. They do this every so often.

I doubt it's the engineering staff's fault. Most of these boxes run on the reliable Windows operating system we all know and love. If it locks up, someone has to mash the reset button and wait for it to come back up, assuming they caught the fact that it's frozen...

- trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6258 of 6821 Old 04-11-2009, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

I doubt it's the engineering staff's fault. Most of these boxes run on the reliable Windows operating system we all know and love. If it locks up, someone has to mash the reset button and wait for it to come back up, assuming they caught the fact that it's frozen...

- trip

Well, that's kind of my point. When the PSIP is fubar for 24 hours or more, you know somebody's asleep at the wheel. And if engineering's not responsible for the PSIP, then who is?

As an aside, why is a major station running Windows? Why not Linux or Unix?
97Strat is offline  
post #6259 of 6821 Old 04-11-2009, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97Strat View Post

As an aside, why is a major station running Windows? Why not Linux or Unix?

You'd be surprised. Most of this gear runs on Windows. It's not like they actively picked Windows or anything.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6260 of 6821 Old 04-13-2009, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike4HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
SOUTHFLORIDA.COM/LIVE on Ch. 39-1 from 5AM - 9AM is in HD. All of their field reports are in HD, just like Ch. 10.

Another source of morning news and entertainment in HD.
Mike4HDTV is offline  
post #6261 of 6821 Old 04-13-2009, 08:57 AM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a miniseries called Il capo dei capi "the boss of bosses" or Corleone on VE me ch 2.3 originally shown in Italy 2007. It is based on Totò Riina from Corleone Sicily and blends in news footage with aftermath of "hits". Every episode is excellent. If you like films like The Godfather you should like this. Its Italian dubbed in Spanish.


Mon 4/13 10:02-11:00pm 2.3 WPBTDT3
Mon 4/13 11:02-12:00am 2.3 WPBTDT3
Tue 4/14 1:02-2:00am 2.3 WPBTDT3
Tue 4/14 2:00-3:00am 2.3 WPBTDT3
Sat 4/18 9:00-10:00pm 2.3 WPBTDT3
Sat 4/18 10:00-11:00pm 2.3 WPBTDT3
Mon 4/20 10:02-11:00pm 2.3 WPBTDT3
Mon 4/20 11:02-12:00am 2.3 WPBTDT3
Tue 4/21 1:02-2:00am 2.3 WPBTDT3
Tue 4/21 2:00-3:00am 2.3 WPBTDT3
Sat 4/25 9:00-10:00pm 2.3 WPBTDT3
Sat 4/25 10:00-11:00pm 2.3 WPBTDT3

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6262 of 6821 Old 04-13-2009, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
No English version ?

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #6263 of 6821 Old 04-13-2009, 10:48 AM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

No English version ?

I wouldn't hold my breath...

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6264 of 6821 Old 04-17-2009, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if anyone mentioned this but 3rd quarter this year Comcast will upgrade to DOCSIS3. I found out while calling about my phone plan as he attempted to cross-sell me on cable.
Doom878 is offline  
post #6265 of 6821 Old 04-17-2009, 11:27 AM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a Channel 39.2 Azteca it indicates Coming Soon.

Issues with WSVN continue... Could it be they're not competent to take effective action...?

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6266 of 6821 Old 04-17-2009, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtpsystems View Post

There's a Channel 39.2 Azteca it indicates Coming Soon.

Issues with WSVN continue... Could it be they're not competent to take effective action...?

WSVN-DT is back on 7-1, but there's no program info. They either don't give a crap (likely) or they're incompetent (also likely). Take your pick - everybody's a winner. Bottom line is that we consumers end up with the short end of the stick as usual.

As for Azteca, it's just one more SD channel that I've just deleted on my channel listing.
97Strat is offline  
post #6267 of 6821 Old 04-20-2009, 08:08 AM
Member
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was driving to Broward this weekend and saw a few new towers going up on the tower farm on county line...

Anyone got links to info as to whose they are and what's going to be transmitting from them? Any new channels coming our way soon?
zorinlynx is offline  
post #6268 of 6821 Old 04-20-2009, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
BDCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom878 View Post

Not sure if anyone mentioned this but 3rd quarter this year Comcast will upgrade to DOCSIS3. I found out while calling about my phone plan as he attempted to cross-sell me on cable.

I have always had a little trouble fully understanding exactly what DOCSIS3 is!

Is this is something that only benefits Internet users or will we mere cable TV subscribers get something out of it as well? Like maybe more HD channels?

Cheers!
Bryan

If you are interested in Model Railroading check my web site; Alligator Lines!
BDCat is offline  
post #6269 of 6821 Old 04-20-2009, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post

I was driving to Broward this weekend and saw a few new towers going up on the tower farm on county line...

Anyone got links to info as to whose they are and what's going to be transmitting from them? Any new channels coming our way soon?

I know WPLG-DT is putting up a new tower, and I think WSVN-DT will also be using it. They're both broadcasting digital on VHF. I think I also heard that WLYF-FM will be using it too.
97Strat is offline  
post #6270 of 6821 Old 04-20-2009, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDCat View Post

I have always had a little trouble fully understanding exactly what DOCSIS3 is!

Is this is something that only benefits Internet users or will we mere cable TV subscribers get something out of it as well? Like maybe more HD channels?

It's basically Data Over Cable: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOCSIS.

I believe DOCSIS 3.0 is the latest, and it supposedly goes up to 50mpbs:
http://www.fiercetelecom.com/story/d...ies/2009-02-16
97Strat is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off