Miami / Ft. Lauderdale, FL - HDTV - Page 215 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6421 of 6822 Old 07-18-2009, 04:53 PM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, what Trip said. I intentionally omitted non "Class A" LPTV's and there are quite a few of them.

44 is actually the best channel because when WTCN-CA moves there will be no local adjacent channel occupant so a new station on 44 should have no problem "maximizing" unless a real interference study reveals something else.

The only open question is whether Sunbeam and Post-Newsweek are interested in switching their Miami stations to UHF.
acesk8er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6422 of 6822 Old 07-19-2009, 03:54 PM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little propagation enhancement brought in a couple of digital LPTV's from Miami, WFUN and WHDT. See data in the enclosed ZIP file. Unfortunately WSVN and WPLG are too noisy / weak to decode properly on my OnAir GT receiver. I'll need a monster VHF band opening for those two.

 

TSReader WHDT-LP WFUN-LP 7-19-09.zip 3.205078125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip TSReader WHDT-LP WFUN-LP 7-19-09.zip (3.2 KB, 0 views)
acesk8er is offline  
post #6423 of 6822 Old 07-19-2009, 04:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Awesome!

If you happen to get WSVN/WPLG, post it. I'd be ecstatic to have them and thus complete Miami. W31DC-D is the only station left in West Palm Beach.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6424 of 6822 Old 07-22-2009, 07:17 AM
Member
 
bubbers44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Key Largo, Fl
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live 60 miles south of the WSVN and WPLG transmitters in Key Largo and have not yet gotten either digital channel. I have high gain vhf and uhf attic antennas and a preamp so get 4.1 and 6.1 fine. I was hoping with the boost in power and going to vhf I would be receiving a strong enough signal. I just learned on this thread that power increases are coming so hopefully with their directional antenna system the north and south signals will make it to the Keys.

My thanks to the station engineer that has given us progress reports on what is happening.
bubbers44 is offline  
post #6425 of 6822 Old 07-22-2009, 07:44 AM
Member
 
vikajakub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could not believe my eyes, but HBO added a lot of HD on demand yesterday on Comcast. Movies, series, documentaries etc. all in stunning HD! Finally they listened :-)
vikajakub is offline  
post #6426 of 6822 Old 07-22-2009, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
BDCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikajakub View Post

I could not believe my eyes, but HBO added a lot of HD on demand yesterday on Comcast. Movies, series, documentaries etc. all in stunning HD! Finally they listened :-)

Yep, it seems to be that way across the entire Comcast footprint. Apparently with other suppliers it is hit or miss!

I'm glad that HBO finally came to its senses!

Cheers!
Bryan

If you are interested in Model Railroading check my web site; Alligator Lines!
BDCat is offline  
post #6427 of 6822 Old 07-22-2009, 05:56 PM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was changing channels and when I reached channel 7.1 wsvn the 7.1 info display changed and the channel number switched to 7.3 all by itself the same when I changed the channel instead of 7.2 next the display now shows 7.4
Im also not getting any program info other than dtv air

On numerous occasions wsvn has had similar issues the difference being the channel was 8.3 and 8.4 not what Im getting now which is 7.3 and 7.4

I tried to manually input channel 8 hoping it would correct the problem and all that does is give me analog channel 8 with snow.

Can anyone else confirm this. If you have an ota antenna and or a samsung that would be even better.

I prefer not running the risk of loosing channels by doing any unnecessary rescans

This appears to be an ongoing problem with wsvn.
Why on earth would tv manufactures not include an option to block this musical chairs with channel numbers from happening.

If it did this all by itself shouldnt it fix itself?

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6428 of 6822 Old 07-22-2009, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
97Strat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunrise, FL
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtpsystems View Post

I was changing channels and when I reached channel 7.1 wsvn the 7.1 info display changed and the channel number switched to 7.3 all by itself the same when I changed the channel instead of 7.2 next the display now shows 7.4
Im also not getting any program info other than dtv air

On numerous occasions wsvn has had similar issues the difference being the channel was 8.3 and 8.4 not what Im getting now which is 7.3 and 7.4

I tried to manually input channel 8 hoping it would correct the problem and all that does is give me analog channel 8 with snow.

Can anyone else confirm this. If you have an ota antenna and or a samsung that would be even better.

I prefer not running the risk of loosing channels by doing any unnecessary rescans

This appears to be an ongoing problem with wsvn.
Why on earth would tv manufactures not include an option to block this musical chairs with channel numbers from happening.

If it did this all by itself shouldnt it fix itself?

WSVN-DT's PSIP is fubar once again. That's why your Sammy shows 7-3 and 7-4 with no program info. Mine shows the exact same thing.

Prior to analog death, WSVN broadcast on RF 8, which is why when their PSIP went out back then WSVN-DT displayed 8-1 (or 8-3 on newer Samsung TVs). There was no PSIP info to tell your set you were watching "Channel 7". Now, after the analog death, WSVN's RF is the same as their branded channel, so the main channel number is still 7.

No clue why Samsung TVs show the true RF primary as "-3" rather than "-1" when the PSIP goes out. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable about those things has an explanation.
97Strat is offline  
post #6429 of 6822 Old 07-22-2009, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Because their MPEG-2 Program Number is 3 for 7-1 and 4 for 7-2. I don't have data for WSVN, but let me show you a different example.

http://www.rabbitears.info/screencap.../63154-0_0.htm

That is data for WTVJ. Note how the 6-1 stream is listed as Program 3. Without PSIP, many receivers will show 31-3 for this reason.

The number is arbitrary, though there are reasons for variations. Many stations use Program 3 as their first due to a specific FCC regulation regarding the PIDs (sort of like data addresses) for the various parts of the stream, though there are ways to meet this rule while using Program 1.

I realize that was probably overly confusing. If you really want a good explanation, let me know and I'll try again.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6430 of 6822 Old 07-22-2009, 07:24 PM
Member
 
vtpsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97Strat View Post

WSVN-DT's PSIP is fubar once again. That's why your Sammy shows 7-3 and 7-4 with no program info. Mine shows the exact same thing.

Prior to analog death, WSVN broadcast on RF 8, which is why when their PSIP went out back then WSVN-DT displayed 8-1 (or 8-3 on newer Samsung TVs). There was no PSIP info to tell your set you were watching "Channel 7". Now, after the analog death, WSVN's RF is the same as their branded channel, so the main channel number is still 7.

No clue why Samsung TVs show the true RF primary as "-3" rather than "-1" when the PSIP goes out. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable about those things has an explanation.

Thanks for responding Strat. Good talking to you again, Hope all is well...

Edit: Trip just saw your post thanks. Hope all is well on your end also

Don't stay in bed, unless you can make money in bed. - George Burns
vtpsystems is offline  
post #6431 of 6822 Old 07-23-2009, 05:07 AM
Member
 
WillTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wellington,FL
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you think WSVN will move there weather info to 7.3 now that Estrella TV is coming to 7.2 ?
WillTech is offline  
post #6432 of 6822 Old 07-23-2009, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillTech View Post

Do you think WSVN will move there weather info to 7.3 now that Estrella TV is coming to 7.2 ?

Multicasting is the worst thing that has ever happened to TV. The greedy broadcasters try to cram so much into such a small "space" that EVERYTHING ends up looking like garbage! And there should be a limit to how many foreign language stations can exist in any one market. Ditto for religious stations...I don't have a problem with providing equal access, but things are just ridiculous down here.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #6433 of 6822 Old 07-25-2009, 02:30 AM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Trip, I found a magical spot for WPLG and also got a clean decode of WPXM while I was at it, see enclosed ZIP file.

 

TSReader WPLG WPXM 7-24-09.zip 4.9892578125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip TSReader WPLG WPXM 7-24-09.zip (5.0 KB, 0 views)
acesk8er is offline  
post #6434 of 6822 Old 07-25-2009, 05:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Thanks.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6435 of 6822 Old 07-25-2009, 07:07 AM
Member
 
jstrazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why does the picture quality of Universal Sports (6-3) look so shabby? I know it's broadcast is in 480i, but other 480i channels look far better than that.
jstrazz is offline  
post #6436 of 6822 Old 07-25-2009, 07:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Mostly because it has a lot of motion and is compressed. Usually, subchannels have mostly still video with little motion and can be compressed well, but Universal Sports has a lot of motion and whatnot, so it requires a lot more bandwidth which NBC is likely keeping for 6-1 instead.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6437 of 6822 Old 07-25-2009, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My friend has Comcast internet in Broward but his connection was faster in his old house which was only 2 miles away. He's not sure if its his modem and Comcast isn't going to his house for a few weeks. Can I take my Comcast modem to his house and test the connection? Will my modem work at his house or is it dependent on the local Comcast station that it won't work?
Doom878 is offline  
post #6438 of 6822 Old 07-26-2009, 05:55 AM
Member
 
jstrazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doom878 View Post

My friend has Comcast internet in Broward but his connection was faster in his old house which was only 2 miles away. He's not sure if its his modem and Comcast isn't going to his house for a few weeks. Can I take my Comcast modem to his house and test the connection? Will my modem work at his house or is it dependent on the local Comcast station that it won't work?

Has he tried unplugging the modem for a minute or two and then plugging it back in? If not, he should try that. That's what Comcast has told me to do and it worked fine afterwards. I have similar problems with my wireless router. I unplug and then plug in again and it works fine.
jstrazz is offline  
post #6439 of 6822 Old 07-27-2009, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes he tried that
Doom878 is offline  
post #6440 of 6822 Old 07-31-2009, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
dwaisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, new to the forum.
I have a DB2 antenna from antenna's direct that worked perfectly on my previous address. I moved about 10 block and now I have a building in front of my apartment blocking reception - I get low signal strength to none.
I also have an amplifier, a small little box that has to be connected to a power outlet. What I have noticed over the weeks is that by adjusting the position, (yes the position) of the amplifier I get better reception - still not as much as I'd like to...

Anyone has any ideas about how can I improved reception?
Would a second antenna or amplifier help in any way ?

Thanks in advance...
I'm in North Bay Village - 33141
dwaisman is offline  
post #6441 of 6822 Old 08-07-2009, 07:59 PM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon_77 View Post

WHDH's request for permanent operations on 42 has reached the next step.

AMENDMENT OF SECTION 73.622(I), POST-TRANSITION TABLE OF DTV ALLOTMENTS, TELEVISION BROADCAST STATIONS, BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS. Proposed channel substitution for station WHDH-TV from channel 7 to 42. (Dkt No. RM-11552 09-142 ). Action by: Chief, Video Division, Media Bureau. Adopted: 08/05/2009 by NPRM. (DA No. 09-1770).

Anyone have the inside scoop on whether Sunbeam has any intention of moving WSVN to UHF? (This is for their channel 7 station in Boston.)
acesk8er is offline  
post #6442 of 6822 Old 08-10-2009, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the Miami Herald's Action Line in their local section on Saturday, someone asked why they weren't getting the digital channel for 10. Someone from 10 said to call the station. I don't have it front of me but I believe Action Line has its own forum at the Herald web site so the info should be there.
Doom878 is offline  
post #6443 of 6822 Old 08-10-2009, 07:19 PM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here it is, Google is your friend! ;-)

http://www.miamiherald.com/news/acti...l?storylink=pd
acesk8er is offline  
post #6444 of 6822 Old 08-11-2009, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh I don't need it. I have D* but thanks for posting that.
Doom878 is offline  
post #6445 of 6822 Old 08-13-2009, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
CapeFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like WFOR intends to produce preseason Fins games in HD.

CapeFish

CapeFish is offline  
post #6446 of 6822 Old 08-13-2009, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike4HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapeFish View Post

Looks like WFOR intends to produce preseason Fins games in HD.

That's great news if it happens. I'm still waiting for WFOR to produce their news in HD.
Mike4HDTV is offline  
post #6447 of 6822 Old 08-14-2009, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doom878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully in HD. I hope next year they axe Bolanger and use some of our local talent.
Doom878 is offline  
post #6448 of 6822 Old 08-17-2009, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike4HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Dolphins pregame is in HD on WFOR.
Mike4HDTV is offline  
post #6449 of 6822 Old 08-17-2009, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike4HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Dolphins game is in HD. Very ugly scorebar.
Mike4HDTV is offline  
post #6450 of 6822 Old 08-17-2009, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
CapeFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WFOR scorestrip is minimal. I took this from WXCW in Fort Myers.
LL

CapeFish

CapeFish is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off