Miami / Ft. Lauderdale, FL - HDTV - Page 225 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6721 of 6822 Old 12-24-2010, 07:31 PM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
- WSFL added a sub-channel (39-3 "AntTV", which was showing the same program as 39-4 "ThisTV").
- WPTV and WPXM are transmitting mobility signals. ("WPTV Mobile" is a low-bandwidth version of the main HD channel; WPXM's M/H signal wouldn't decode on the Decontis player.)
- CTN HD TSReader capture is on the West Palm Beach thread.

 

WSFL WPTV WPXM 12-24-10.zip 6.9501953125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip WSFL WPTV WPXM 12-24-10.zip (7.0 KB, 0 views)
acesk8er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6722 of 6822 Old 12-24-2010, 09:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by acesk8er View Post

- WSFL added a sub-channel (39-3 "AntTV", which was showing the same program as 39-4 "ThisTV").
- WPTV and WPXM are transmitting mobility signals. ("WPTV Mobile" is a low-bandwidth version of the main HD channel; WPXM's M/H signal wouldn't decode on the Decontis player.)
- CTN HD TSReader capture is on the West Palm Beach thread.

Thanks! I got the WPB set from the other thread as well.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6723 of 6822 Old 12-27-2010, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
At my old house in TN I was able to pull in the various stations on my pc and get their TSReader info. Not so lucky at this house, it isn't wired for my "needs". Could you also pull the streams for WFOR, WTVJ, and WFLX. Those and WSFL are the major ones I can get. I'm curious if WFOR is sending the full 19.39 mbps for the channel or if they are sending a bunch of null data. The CBS where I cam from only sent a max 15 mbps and it looked terrible. The NBC also had 2 subs and had the same blocky look as WTVJ.

It puzzles me why WSFL is sending so much null when they only give ~7.6 mbps of video to -1 and it looks so crappy. Do they always do that?

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6724 of 6822 Old 12-27-2010, 07:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
I have the other stations on my website from past captures by acesk8er. Click the call sign of the station you want, then click "Technical Data and Screencaps." At the bottom of the listing I have the bitrate data, but you can also click "TSReader Data" and see the raw output. http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=22

WSFL isn't limiting it to 7.6 Mbps. They're using a variable bitrate encoder, and acesk8er just happened to catch it during a scene with little motion that required little bandwidth. That said, the three SD subs certainly aren't helping the HD quality, but it's not quite as bad as it looks.

If the CBS in Miami is like the other CBS O&O stations, it's using a very new variable bitrate encoder that has a very high upper bound on bitrates. Most people I know of who have a CBS O&O claim it to have the best picture quality of any HD they've seen outside of raw network satellite feeds. I have seen some of these stations captured at low-looking bitrates as well, but that definitely does not tell the whole story.

I'm going to guess from your description that you lived in Memphis. (No other NBC in the state has two SD subs. ) NBC is probably worse in Miami since NBC Universal Sports is very bandwidth-intensive compared to This TV on WMC. It may be mitigated if WTVJ has a significantly better encoder than WMC had, but I have no way of knowing that off-hand. WTVJ also has a variable bitrate encoder.

Getting data from WFLX doesn't really help anything. The Fox splicer delivers the exact network feed to all affiliates, unless a local station is bypassing it which I believe to be in violation of their affiliation agreement. It's a variable bitrate feed but should be the same no matter which station you look at.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6725 of 6822 Old 12-27-2010, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep, Memphis it is. I know WMC got a new encoder maybe 2 years ago, and the station engineer said it isn't near as good as the manufacturer claimed it to be on their demo. I politely said "yes I know". Just more of an fyi.

I knew that about FOX, just had a brain fart after a 17 hour drive back from there. During local programming WHBQ upped the bitrate to the 17 mbps range.

To hear that the CBS down here is O&O is music to my ears, I have suffered with low quality CBS for years. Most of our viewing is from CBS and FOX.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6726 of 6822 Old 12-30-2010, 10:53 AM
Member
 
DigitalPlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lighthouse Point, FL
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Antenna TV launching Jan 01, 2011 12AM on subchannel 39-3.
AntTV is currently airing a preview.

http://www.wgnamerica.com/shows/antenna/
DigitalPlayer is offline  
post #6727 of 6822 Old 01-06-2011, 11:44 AM
Member
 
hayt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalPlayer View Post

Antenna TV launching Jan 01, 2011 12AM on subchannel 39-3.
AntTV is currently airing a preview.

http://www.wgnamerica.com/shows/antenna/

Loving AntTv so far! Kinda takes the sting out of losing retrotv to YET ANOTHER latv feed.
Now if I can only get a reliable signal from my17 on 34 I'll be set.
hayt is offline  
post #6728 of 6822 Old 01-11-2011, 04:27 AM
Member
 
King Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: S. FL
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know when Comcast plans to add more HD channels in the North Dade/Aventura area?
King Arthur is offline  
post #6729 of 6822 Old 01-11-2011, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If anyone is interested, I have an owned H20 that I would like to get rid of. $20, nothing wrong with it, just don't have a need for it now that I have moved down here.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6730 of 6822 Old 01-23-2011, 01:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just a note to inform that a Miami / Ft. Lauderdale topic dedicated to Comcast can be found here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=19879189

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #6731 of 6822 Old 01-31-2011, 06:49 PM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Power on VHF helps... A lot!

https://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws...&fac_num=63840

I had to move the antenna around a little bit to find a sweet spot. Previously receiving WSVN here in central Palm Beach was a once or twice a year occurrence.
acesk8er is offline  
post #6732 of 6822 Old 02-01-2011, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Pardon my ignorance, but what does that mean? Did they put in a permit to increase their power, or have they already increased it? Where I'm at I can get 29-1 sometimes sporadic, sometimes perfectly fine. I don't get a blip on 7. Does this mean I have the possibility of picking 7-1 up now?

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6733 of 6822 Old 02-01-2011, 07:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
They were at 60 kW, and now have increased to 158 kW.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6734 of 6822 Old 02-01-2011, 07:33 PM
Member
 
acesk8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


They were at 60 kW, and now have increased to 158 kW.

The higher power helps but so far WSVN 7 isn't as solid as WPLG 10 at my location with an indoor antenna. I still need a little bit of propagation enhancement for 7 to come in solid. I'm pretty sure that reliable reception is/was always possible here with an outdoor antenna.
acesk8er is offline  
post #6735 of 6822 Old 02-01-2011, 07:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Interesting, because I think WPLG is at 127.7 kW, a lower power level.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6736 of 6822 Old 02-08-2011, 10:45 AM
Member
 
hayt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any word on 9.1? Did they ever increase their signal strength?
I still can't pick this up.
Also, whenever I enter 19 my LG tunes to 39.
hayt is offline  
post #6737 of 6822 Old 02-14-2011, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Holy crap WSFL's PQ is awful. The basketball game this weekend looked flat and Smallville was terrible. I'm 18 ft away from our 42" RPTV, my wife and is 12 and she commented on it. Ugh.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6738 of 6822 Old 02-15-2011, 10:50 PM
Member
 
mario315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx6bfast View Post

Holy crap WSFL's PQ is awful. The basketball game this weekend looked flat and Smallville was terrible. I'm 18 ft away from our 42" RPTV, my wife and is 12 and she commented on it. Ugh.

Yep... This happened beginning 1-1-11 when they added yet another sub-channel (39.4) in order to carry Antenna TV on 39.3 in addition to Azteca America (39.2) and This TV (39.4)....

It's absolutely disgusting what they've done to their signal.... How can they call it HD ?.... The basketball games you're talking about look like they're out of focus all the time because of the limited digital bandwidth they assigned to 39.1 cannot handle the fast movements of the sports action...

Check out all their other "HD" shows (syndicated, etc.) and you'll see they look like washed-out SD video.... As far as I'm concerned, we have sadly "lost" a local HD channel here in South Florida (WSFL).... RIP Channel 39 !

(Trip in Virginia should remove WSFL as an HD channel from his list.)
mario315 is offline  
post #6739 of 6822 Old 02-15-2011, 11:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario315 View Post

(Trip in Virginia should remove WSFL as an HD channel from his list.)

It's HD in the sense they're transmitting 1080 lines. How many of those lines you can actually see is another story.

Tribune needs to invest in some new encoders. I have WSFL listed as variable bitrate just because the TSReader capture I have has the HD at such a low bitrate as to be unbelievable if it's not variable. However, it would be the only Tribune station to have a variable bitrate encoder, which makes me skeptical that it actually is variable.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #6740 of 6822 Old 04-06-2011, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The past couple of days I have been losing signal from the HD channels when the storms came rolling through. Up in Memphis it would take storms harder than that to lose HD signal. What should my signal strengths look like down here? I was in the mid to high 90's on the new sat. Here it looks like I average about 95%. Is that good?

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6741 of 6822 Old 04-06-2011, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Grampaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you talking satellite or OTA ?
I have Dish network, and didn't lose the signal yesterday, even with the
front that moved through.

Walt

Growing OLD is mandatory, growing UP is optional.
Grampaw is offline  
post #6742 of 6822 Old 04-06-2011, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My bad, D*.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6743 of 6822 Old 04-19-2011, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to be moving to Coral Springs soon. I would like to know what everything thinks I should get for HDTV service and HSI.

There is Advanced Cable and ATT. No U-verse where I'll be living yet.

I have never dealt with Advance Cable (nor heard of them) but I started reading their reviews and its sounds like they are horrible. I'll be living in a condo so I may or may not be able to have satellite, it depends on the balcony/trees. ATT does offer their fastest DSL 6.0 at my address and its not much money for one year under promo.

What do you think? Is Advance really terrible or have they improved? How is ATT in the Coral Springs area?

"PLEASE HELP STOP HDTV ABUSE! FEED YOUR HDTV AN HD SIGNAL!"
miniz is offline  
post #6744 of 6822 Old 04-19-2011, 08:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
ltownsend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniz View Post

I'm going to be moving to Coral Springs soon. I would like to know what everything thinks I should get for HDTV service and HSI.

There is Advanced Cable and ATT. No U-verse where I'll be living yet.

I have never dealt with Advance Cable (nor heard of them) but I started reading their reviews and its sounds like they are horrible. I'll be living in a condo so I may or may not be able to have satellite, it depends on the balcony/trees. ATT does offer their fastest DSL 6.0 at my address and its not much money for one year under promo.

What do you think? Is Advance really terrible or have they improved? How is ATT in the Coral Springs area?

Good luck with your move and welcome to Coral Springs!

I have Dish Network because I am an advid TV addict, their DVR is really great. Advanced Cable is the oldest cable supplier in Coral Springs and I had them before I went satellite. I wanted more channel choices.

For HSI I have ATT Uverse for both internet and home phones. Speed is really great.

"I shall not commit the fashionable stupidity of regarding everything I cannot explain as a fraud." - C.G.Jung

 

 

ltownsend is offline  
post #6745 of 6822 Old 04-20-2011, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just moved to CS about 6 months ago. We have D* and used the movers connection and for HSI use Advanced. We used Comcast for internet in Memphis and honestly, I miss it. There is one HUGE feature to me that Advanced doesn't have, espn3. I have emailed and no one will respond to my emails. Other than that the service is fine. I work from home and was having multiple drop outs a day and someone came out to fix an issue at the box the next day. Since then no drop outs in 2 weeks. I have the 8 mb package and I was told by the tech 2 weeks ago they are going to roll something like a 10 and 15 mb package soon. When I signed up I got a new customer deal with covered the modem. After 12 months I have to pay a monthly fee for the modem (stupid) or go buy my own.

I've been happy with D*, been with them for 8 years now. If you can and decide to go with D* let me know and we can do the referral thing and save $100 off our bills.

Does ATT have espn3?

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6746 of 6822 Old 04-20-2011, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
ltownsend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx6bfast View Post

I just moved to CS about 6 months ago. We have D* and used the movers connection and for HSI use Advanced. We used Comcast for internet in Memphis and honestly, I miss it. There is one HUGE feature to me that Advanced doesn't have, espn3. I have emailed and no one will respond to my emails. Other than that the service is fine. I work from home and was having multiple drop outs a day and someone came out to fix an issue at the box the next day. Since then no drop outs in 2 weeks. I have the 8 mb package and I was told by the tech 2 weeks ago they are going to roll something like a 10 and 15 mb package soon. When I signed up I got a new customer deal with covered the modem. After 12 months I have to pay a monthly fee for the modem (stupid) or go buy my own.

I've been happy with D*, been with them for 8 years now. If you can and decide to go with D* let me know and we can do the referral thing and save $100 off our bills.

Does ATT have espn3?

Thanks for the offer but I've been with Dish for over 10 years. Although they occasionally PMO with their rate hikes, I will stay put. Their HD offering pared with the best DVR out there is a life necessity for me.

I don't know about ESPN3 with Advanced, I left them a long while ago - Dish has it.

I combined my telecom costs: telephone/long distance & HSI and bundled them with ATT Uverse. So far so good, no loss of connection or dropped calls.

"I shall not commit the fashionable stupidity of regarding everything I cannot explain as a fraud." - C.G.Jung

 

 

ltownsend is offline  
post #6747 of 6822 Old 04-21-2011, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all your replies!

Can anyone comment on ATT DSL (NOT Uverse because I can't get it yet) and Advance Cable HSI? I want to set up an install or self-install for the day after I move in. I need to stay connected.

Are you allowed to buy your own modem with either service and what models do they allow?

"PLEASE HELP STOP HDTV ABUSE! FEED YOUR HDTV AN HD SIGNAL!"
miniz is offline  
post #6748 of 6822 Old 04-22-2011, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniz View Post

Thanks for all your replies!

Can anyone comment on ATT DSL (NOT Uverse because I can't get it yet) and Advance Cable HSI? I want to set up an install or self-install for the day after I move in. I need to stay connected.

Are you allowed to buy your own modem with either service and what models do they allow?

I have Advanced Cable but I think I will be leaving them shortly as ATT DSL have a really good deals going on right now and they offer espn3. Advanced cables doesn't. Advanced Cable has been fine for me, but the lack of espn3 and the fact that I can get faster speeds at a lower cost even after the introductory offer with ATT makes that look more inviting. With my FedEx discount I never paid more than $35/month for HSI with Comcast but of course Comcast doesn't service CS.

My new customer offer from November included the modem, but after 12 months I either have to pay a monthly fee for it (stupid) or buy my own (stupider). It looks like with ATT the $100 charge is a one time upfront charge.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #6749 of 6822 Old 04-23-2011, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know who the DirecTV and Dish Network installers are in the area? How good or bad are they and will they provide a tripod at no cost? It looks like I can (thankfully) put a dish on my balcony (it cannot go on the roof or anywhere else outside) and use either service so I can avoid Advanced Cable.

"PLEASE HELP STOP HDTV ABUSE! FEED YOUR HDTV AN HD SIGNAL!"
miniz is offline  
post #6750 of 6822 Old 04-27-2011, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone? Someone must have had satellite installed in the area.

"PLEASE HELP STOP HDTV ABUSE! FEED YOUR HDTV AN HD SIGNAL!"
miniz is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off