Albuquerque, NM - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Albuquerque, NM - HDTV

Local HDTV Info and Reception

petew's Avatar petew
07:37 AM Liked: 50
post #541 of 7485
09-16-2002 | Posts: 2,083
Joined: Oct 2000
toricred and eman6880

Welcome to the forum. If you're not aware of the New Mexico DTV Users Group, check out this thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=119887

Our next meeting is this Thursday at 7:00 at KNME's boardroom on University NE.

Hope to see you there
Pete
jerrich's Avatar jerrich
08:11 AM Liked: 10
post #542 of 7485
09-16-2002 | Posts: 793
Joined: Mar 2001
Quote:


Originally posted by toricred
That's great the right antenna for a low price. Will I need any kind of amplifier up here?

As far as the amplifier, that is probably something you will have to just try and see. You may get by without one if you get properly aimed. Everyone's situation is different, especially in the mountains. JR
PS. I second the recommendation on coming to the meeting at KNME if there is any way you can swing it. They are entertaining and very informative. They are hosted by the station engineer, Jim Gale.
toricred's Avatar toricred
05:29 PM Liked: 10
post #543 of 7485
09-16-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
Any ideas on pointing? I've been using satellite so long, I don't remember how to point an OTA antenna anymore.
petew's Avatar petew
07:56 PM Liked: 50
post #544 of 7485
09-16-2002 | Posts: 2,083
Joined: Oct 2000
Aim it at the Crest. All the transmitters are up there.
toricred's Avatar toricred
08:02 PM Liked: 10
post #545 of 7485
09-16-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
Yes, but should I deal with horizontal or vertical positioning first? With a satellite, you deal with the vertical first and then the horizontal. Will one work better with a UHF antenna?
eman6880's Avatar eman6880
07:52 AM Liked: 10
post #546 of 7485
09-17-2002 | Posts: 79
Joined: Sep 2002
Did anyone experience unclear sound on monday night the 16th. While watching King Of Queens on KRQE hd I had some poping and pretty much constant light hissing. Anyone else getting this problem?
eman6880's Avatar eman6880
07:56 AM Liked: 10
post #547 of 7485
09-17-2002 | Posts: 79
Joined: Sep 2002
Toricred

Just get it as high as you can and level it, facing the sandia crest.
you don't need to worry about the elevation.
fjerina's Avatar fjerina
08:22 AM Liked: 12
post #548 of 7485
09-17-2002 | Posts: 1,452
Joined: Jul 2000
I also heard sound problems on KRQE-DT on Monday night. Sounded a little better while into the "CSI" episode.
jcmartz's Avatar jcmartz
06:15 PM Liked: 10
post #549 of 7485
09-17-2002 | Posts: 88
Joined: Aug 2001
Any of the bigger Radio Shack Antennas will work fine in Los Alamos/White Rock. I've got 2 spare VR-190's if you need an extra, just drop me a note as the e-mail below and I'll give you contact info.

Joe Martz, Los Alamos, jcmartz @ att.net
toricred's Avatar toricred
02:34 PM Liked: 10
post #550 of 7485
09-24-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
Well, my tuner (Samsun SIR-T150) arrived today and I got it hooked up and I see KOAT and KOB. I also see signal from KRQE, but nothing seems to be broadcasting on it right now (2:30 pm). I still don't see KASA, but at the moment my best signal strength is about 50%. I need to work on the aim and replace the old RG-59 cable. The point about removing the splitter really made a difference (it doubled the signal strength). Thanks for all the help.

Any news on when KWBQ and/or KASY will be going digital?
fjerina's Avatar fjerina
03:29 PM Liked: 12
post #551 of 7485
09-24-2002 | Posts: 1,452
Joined: Jul 2000
Last night KRQE played primetime high-def from 7 to 10 pm and it all looked great.

toricred, hope you can get KRQE cause it is playing some of the best high-def right now.

Haven't heard on the other stations.
toricred's Avatar toricred
05:58 PM Liked: 10
post #552 of 7485
09-24-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
It's really weird because I can get the same signal strength for both KRQE and KOAT, but don't get a picture for KRQE at all. Are they broadcasting all the time, or only during prime-time?
eman6880's Avatar eman6880
10:07 PM Liked: 10
post #553 of 7485
09-24-2002 | Posts: 79
Joined: Sep 2002
KRQE is broadcasting pretty much around the clock. Most of the time it is the same as the analog ch. I am not sure if 50% signal strength is enough or not, sometimes my signal on KNME drops to 58% but I seem to get a picture none the less. Good Luck
jerrich's Avatar jerrich
08:29 AM Liked: 10
post #554 of 7485
09-25-2002 | Posts: 793
Joined: Mar 2001
My t150 Samsung also lost KRQE and KASA, ch. 2. It is a mapping issue, since I see good carrier on 16, but cannot get to 16-1. I think I bombed the Sammy by accidentally hitting the channel rescan button, because that seems to be when I lost them. The Sammy customer service guys think it is the PSIP from CBS, but don't know for sure. Station engineers here said nothing has changed on their end, so maybe it's the national feed (?). I asked them to kill the psip locally, momentarily for me, hoping I could re-aquire it but it didn't work. Still no 13 or 2. Drat. JR
fjerina's Avatar fjerina
08:40 AM Liked: 12
post #555 of 7485
09-25-2002 | Posts: 1,452
Joined: Jul 2000
toricred, good luck in getting KRQE. It is one of the better stations right now. You could borrow a different HD tuner from KNME (via Jim Gale) to make sure it is not a tuner problem. Also, I would also suggest possibly using RG6 quad-shielded coax from your antenna to your tuner. Try not to have any obstructions from your antenna to the crest (line-of-sight best). Make sure the antenna is pointed in the right direction to the crest. The inside of the V should be pointing towards the crest. (<< crest)
fjerina's Avatar fjerina
08:41 AM Liked: 12
post #556 of 7485
09-25-2002 | Posts: 1,452
Joined: Jul 2000
Check out this web site. Very interesting. Shows our WB and UPN stations having FCC extensions.

http://www.titantv.com/TTV/RetailZon...asp?pid=zenith
toricred's Avatar toricred
07:25 PM Liked: 10
post #557 of 7485
09-25-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
I'm having the same problem problem that jerrich describes. I don't get either 13 or 2. Samsung says that an engineer will look into it and let me know. The amp helped, but only about 10%. I'm still only getting about 60% signal strength.

jerrich have you downloaded the update for the T150 and installed it? What is it supposed to fix anyway?

Since I live in Los Alamos, borrowing a tuner from KNME is pretty much out of the question. I'm going to try to get my antenna a little more height this weekend (currently it's basically at the height of my single story house looking into the trees and house of my backyard neighbor.
jerrich's Avatar jerrich
08:20 AM Liked: 10
post #558 of 7485
09-26-2002 | Posts: 793
Joined: Mar 2001
I'm now pretty sure that ch 2 is simply off the air. Channel 13 is still a mystery though. In my case it's not a signal strength problem because I get strong carrier on 16. I just saw a new 151 do a channel scan yesterday, and it skipped right over 13 also, just like mine. Frank Lilly at 13 told me that they are using a Tandberg encoder that works just fine with their Panasonic stb, this appears to be just a Samsung anomalie. I will post anything I am able to learn, but right now I'm bumfuzzled why just doing a simple channel scan bombed the Sammy on 13 only. ?? JR
toricred's Avatar toricred
09:19 AM Liked: 10
post #559 of 7485
09-26-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
jerrich,

Have you tried the download for the 150? I've thought about it since I can't tell what version of the firmware I have, but I can't quite bring myself to buy the special serial cable required to upgrade it unless I'm sure it works.
jerrich's Avatar jerrich
06:50 PM Liked: 10
post #560 of 7485
09-26-2002 | Posts: 793
Joined: Mar 2001
Tori, I think you can go into the menu, turn help on, and hit display, and it will tell you the version number of your firmware; mine is 1.8. I guess everyone is now aware that the problem on 13 is FIXED! Yaaa! Frank had to buy a Samsung to duplicate the problem, but it turned out that the Tandberg encoder needed a software reset of the system time, or timing. (I posted this on *************** also) Is everyone happy in Samsung land now? JR
toricred's Avatar toricred
07:31 PM Liked: 10
post #561 of 7485
09-26-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
That's great, but what's up with 2? I still see absolutely no signal from them.
jerrich's Avatar jerrich
08:37 AM Liked: 10
post #562 of 7485
09-27-2002 | Posts: 793
Joined: Mar 2001
I assume that 2 is down for testing, modifications or something similar. They do not broadcast real HD anyway since they are a Fox station; it is just digital SD, 480p. Channel 4 is in the same boat till they get enough money to buy an encoder. They had to rent one to broadcast the winter Olympics, but they looked beautiful. Now if only someone would broadcast HDNET and Discovery HD!! JR
toricred's Avatar toricred
09:13 AM Liked: 10
post #563 of 7485
09-27-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
Even 4 I'm getting pretty bad pixelization. Friends last night was almost totally unwatchable. 13 and 7 seem to be near perfect. Is this normal?
N5XZS's Avatar N5XZS
09:21 AM Liked: 13
post #564 of 7485
09-27-2002 | Posts: 1,176
Joined: Nov 1999
Hello I am back!!

After an amost week of moving in to the new house in 4 Hills!

Here's the reception report by using Terk TV 50 indoor antenna......

Signal report will be in "P" as in picture strenth analog scale 0 as being no picture to P 5 to a very strong clear picture.

Digital signals will be based what my RCA DTC-100 receiver sees in number scale 0 to 100. 0 as in no signal to 100 as in very strong signal.

Analog and Digital......

Ch. 2 "P 4-5"

ch. 4 "P 3-4"

ch. 5 "P 5"

ch. 7 "P 5 with hint of ghosting"

ch. 11 "P 0-1"

ch. 13 "P 5 with hint of ghosting"

ch. 14 "P 5"

ch. 16 digital "76"

ch. 17 "P 0-2"

ch. 19 "P 4-5 with some ghosting"

ch. 21 digital "88 to 90"

ch. 23 "P 4 with very bad ghosting but very strong signal"

ch. 25 "P 4 with hint of ghosting"

ch. 26 digital "50 to lows 60 and sometime worse if dipped below 40 picture starts to break up." Are they running very low power?

ch. 27 digital KASA-DT is still off the air at this time....

ch. 29 digital "Not on the air yet..." KWBQ-DT

ch. 32 "P 3-4"

ch. 35 digital "0 to 28" When will KNME-DT boost their TX power anytime soon?

ch. 41 "P 5"

ch. 42 digital "Not on the air yet..." KLUZ-DT

ch. 45 digital "Not on the air yet" KASY-DT

ch. 48 "P3-4"

ch. 50 "P 5 with some ghosting"

ch. 53 "P 0-2"

ch. 56 "P 3"

ch. 59 "P 0-1"

ch. 61 "P 1-3"

9-27-02
toricred's Avatar toricred
01:18 PM Liked: 10
post #565 of 7485
09-27-2002 | Posts: 33
Joined: Sep 2002
Well, I'm not sure what changed, but it looks like 2 is back on the air and 4 seems to be beaming with more power this afternoon. Hope to see 19 and 50 soon...
N5XZS's Avatar N5XZS
03:29 PM Liked: 13
post #566 of 7485
09-27-2002 | Posts: 1,176
Joined: Nov 1999
Well it's seems that KASA-DT's signal is back on the air and it's around 82.

KOB-DT at one time seems to crank it's transmitter power up and my signal improved to 68 but later went down to very low power in the low 20's somewhat like KNME-DT's signal strenth.

No news on KASY-DT and KWBQ-DT yet.

Any other DTV user in the Four Hill areas?

9-27-02
PONCH0069's Avatar PONCH0069
01:34 PM Liked: 10
post #567 of 7485
09-30-2002 | Posts: 22
Joined: Jul 2002
This is a copy of a letter I received on Sep. 19, 2002 in response to a letter I wrote Hubbart Broadcasting in reference to buying a HDTV encoder:

Dear Mr. James

Mr. Hubbard passed on your letter to me for a response. As you know we are on the air with a digital signal for KOB-TV. KOB does plan in the near future to purchase the equipment to pass on the HDTV signal from NBC. We are also trying to allocate our resources wisely. There are only a few hundred DTV set sold in our market right now and we need to prioritize our capital spending where it is needed most to provide news and the best analog signal to the majority of our viewers. Hopefully we will be up and running on HDTV by 2003.

Sincerely,
Michael Burgess
Vice President/General Manager

Let's keep our fingers crossed, but don't hold your breath!!

David
jerrich's Avatar jerrich
02:05 PM Liked: 10
post #568 of 7485
09-30-2002 | Posts: 793
Joined: Mar 2001
That answer has always struck me as bogus. They could buy the encoder on time and make monthly payments, the same as I did to get my Elite 510. I'm sure my friendly credit union would be happy to loan them the required money, if their credit is any good. JR
N5XZS's Avatar N5XZS
06:12 PM Liked: 13
post #569 of 7485
10-03-2002 | Posts: 1,176
Joined: Nov 1999
The news has been quiet lately and I have noted KNME-DT has not yet boosted it's transmitter power.

Are they having some kind of tech, difficelity or it's the shipment running late or it's too windy on the Crest?

Still no news on KCHF-DT channel 10,KAZQ-DT channel 17,KNAT-DT channel 24,KWBQ-DT channel 29 ,KLUZ-DT channel 42 and KASY-DT channel 45.

BTW, check out the new analog channel 25....

10-3-02
petew's Avatar petew
06:21 PM Liked: 50
post #570 of 7485
10-03-2002 | Posts: 2,083
Joined: Oct 2000
Hi Tim

The transmitter is in boxes on the crest, as of our last meeting. It's been tested at the factory and they're waiting for technicians from Harris to come bolt it together and do final testing and certification. I don't know where they are in the project right now.

Jim is going to line up a tour of the facility on the crest for our NMDTV group when it's operational. I think we'll be able to see some of the other stations too, as well as the KNME analog plant. Should be fun.

later
Pete

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3