Albuquerque, NM - HDTV - Page 238 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 7471 Old 08-31-2010, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigglare View Post

I think one of the stations should move into one of the storefronts downtown and put their news set right there with a window onto the street.

yes, that would be interesting. Homeless pushing their shopping cart full of belongings past the studio window, a thief snatching purses or hot-wiring cars parked at the parking meter outside the studio window, or for the 10pm news, early plastered college-aged gals or guys staggering past the studio window to wherever for the rest of the night.

I think in the "reality" show Making News Texas Style, the station had their studios - or at least a satellite studio - in a shopping mall.


re:blgglare post re:kluz hd on DISH - if CW had the world cup (or actually anything in HD other than network programming - hint, hint, ACME) then CW would probably be in HD on DISH Network, too. DISH added a boatload of Univision HD locals just prior to the world cup, presumably so people could watch the univision world cup action in HD. It should be interesting to see if the move continues to be permanent or if DISH will get around to removing them now that the world cup is over.
sthscan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 7471 Old 09-01-2010, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, that would be interesting. Homeless pushing their shopping cart full of belongings past the studio window, a thief snatching purses or hot-wiring cars parked at the parking meter outside the studio window, or for the 10pm news, early plastered college-aged gals or guys staggering past the studio window to wherever for the rest of the night.

I think that's a great idea and a guaranteed ratings booster !
JR
jerrich is offline  
post #7113 of 7471 Old 09-01-2010, 09:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigglare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Albuquerque (#44 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of the locals in San Diego had their news rooms streetside like that. I thought it was neat that you could watch from the sidewalk.
bigglare is offline  
post #7114 of 7471 Old 09-01-2010, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigglare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Albuquerque (#44 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Growing up in Wisconsin, each of the locals in Milwaukee would move their newscasts to the Statefair grounds during the fair each year. That was cool seeing the news filmed live outdoors each day.
bigglare is offline  
post #7115 of 7471 Old 09-03-2010, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigglare View Post

Growing up in Wisconsin, each of the locals in Milwaukee would move their newscasts to the Statefair grounds during the fair each year. That was cool seeing the news filmed live outdoors each day.

KOB used to that until the last 5 or 10 years. It was the highlight of my fair visit to go watch the 6pm newscast in person.

KOAT (I think) also used to take the sat truck in a summer sweeps event and go around the state with one anchor delivering some stories out in the field and the other anchor delivering some stories from the main studio.

With the 2-3 cam production quality of a remote sat truck and the internet connectivity by satellite when in rural areas - great for delivering up-to-the-minute newscast scripts, I'm surprised local stations don't do more summer sweep stunts by going around the state to various places.
sthscan is offline  
post #7116 of 7471 Old 09-06-2010, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Breaking news!!

I just scan in a brand new LD digital station, on real RF channel 51.1 KYNM-LD.

The analog station KYNM-LP is on channel 30.

This station will relay KCHF-DT ch. 11.1 RF ch. 10.1 from Santa Fe, right now they are testing with blank screen with some closed captoning dropouts.

The signal strenth is okay at 78%.

This station run at 15 KW ERP on ch. 51.1

9-6-10

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #7117 of 7471 Old 09-07-2010, 05:22 PM
Newbie
 
lost_mesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the heads up. The signal is at about 75% here in the Jemez Mtns. Much better than their very snowy analog (about P2) signal on channel 30. Not that I need the new channel, living just 4 miles from the KCHF-DT channel 10 tower. Never watch it anyway.
lost_mesa is offline  
post #7118 of 7471 Old 09-09-2010, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigglare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Albuquerque (#44 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm watching Nikita over on KWBQ right now. The sound seems a little out of sync. Not sure if it's from watching it on pc while I'm recording it. Anyone else watching?
bigglare is offline  
post #7119 of 7471 Old 09-10-2010, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I haven't been able to get an OTA signal on KRQE for about a week now and I've called and left a message with the station. I've tried on two different tuners. Anyone else having problems with KRQE?

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7120 of 7471 Old 09-10-2010, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
zooeyglass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I haven't been able to get an OTA signal on KRQE for about a week now and I've called and left a message with the station. I've tried on two different tuners. Anyone else having problems with KRQE?

No problems here.
zooeyglass is offline  
post #7121 of 7471 Old 09-11-2010, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problemo; check your antenna.
JR
jerrich is offline  
post #7122 of 7471 Old 09-11-2010, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrich View Post

No problemo; check your antenna.
JR

If it was the antenna then you would think I wouldn't get any other station as well. Also, my antenna is omni-directional meaning I could turn it 180 degrees and still get at least some of the stations. In fact, I tried it when I first got it. There has been some change with the tower over the summer I suspect that makes the signal hard to get in Four Hills.

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7123 of 7471 Old 09-11-2010, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
zooeyglass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

If it was the antenna then you would think I wouldn't get any other station as well. Also, my antenna is omni-directional meaning I could turn it 180 degrees and still get at least some of the stations. In fact, I tried it when I first got it. There has been some change with the tower over the summer I suspect that makes the signal hard to get in Four Hills.

I am in the Four Hills area as well and have no trouble at all. Signal strength in the 90s.
zooeyglass is offline  
post #7124 of 7471 Old 09-12-2010, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooeyglass View Post

I am in the Four Hills area as well and have no trouble at all. Signal strength in the 90s.

Well then, who knows what it is? Time for a new antenna?

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7125 of 7471 Old 09-12-2010, 09:47 AM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't forget to check you cabling from antenna to TV. That's the one thing most people neglect to inspect. Your antenna could be fine, but with some cable damage... And what about the arms on the antenna? Or the connections on the antenna itself?

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7126 of 7471 Old 09-15-2010, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
ibglowin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lost (Almost), NM
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pre-amp possibly die?
ibglowin is offline  
post #7127 of 7471 Old 09-15-2010, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hideftv View Post

Don't forget to check you cabling from antenna to TV. That's the one thing most people neglect to inspect. Your antenna could be fine, but with some cable damage... And what about the arms on the antenna? Or the connections on the antenna itself?

It's only with KRQE though. I'll check the antenna outside today but wouldn't all the channels be affected?

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7128 of 7471 Old 09-15-2010, 11:32 AM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If one of the arms on the antenna is bent/broken that could affect just 1 channel. Each arm picks up a different wavelength.

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7129 of 7471 Old 09-15-2010, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hideftv View Post

If one of the arms on the antenna is bent/broken that could affect just 1 channel. Each arm picks up a different wavelength.

There are no arms, it looks like a breifcase or small suitcase. Picture attached.
LL

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7130 of 7471 Old 09-16-2010, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It may be location, which is harder to pin down. You may have to walk it around while someone watches 13 for you.
JR
jerrich is offline  
post #7131 of 7471 Old 09-16-2010, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrich View Post

It may be location, which is harder to pin down. You may have to walk it around while someone watches 13 for you.
JR

Yes, I could do that but it's been on the same location for 5 or 6 years. Nothing has changed on my end and I got 13.1 for all of those years. Now I don't get the station and other people are still getting the station near the same area as me and the station says they haven't changed anything either. Fortunately, I can still get it on Comcast cable channel 212.

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7132 of 7471 Old 09-17-2010, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOB has set up a new webcam to allow you to look in on the progress of the new set construction. Apparently it updates about every 10 minutes and the set is scheduled to be unveiled Sept 26th after Sunday Night Football (and we can hope widescreen starts then, also).

http://www.kob.com/article/stories/s1741945.shtml

Poking around the interface, I found an image that seems to explain to me how the green screen is done. It looked like fabric attached to a wood frame, which would explain one way to get the color consistent enough to chromakey to (I thought they would just paint a wall green'ish, but I can see how there may be too many slightly different hues of green over the span of the wall for the chromakey to work well).
sthscan is offline  
post #7133 of 7471 Old 09-18-2010, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I assume the new set will be enabled for HD local news presentation.
fjerina is offline  
post #7134 of 7471 Old 09-20-2010, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjerina View Post

I assume the new set will be enabled for HD local news presentation.

not at first, but eventually according to someone who posted here a page or two back.

BTW, I think KOB is getting a new logo based on the on-air promo for the new set.
sthscan is offline  
post #7135 of 7471 Old 09-22-2010, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrich View Post

It may be location, which is harder to pin down. You may have to walk it around while someone watches 13 for you.
JR

I'm also now having problems with 7 and 13. Do you think it could be a UHF/VHF issue. Didn't 7 and 13 both change to VHF? This antenna I think might be UHF only. I'm going to see if I can dig up the original antenna documentation to see for sure. If so, anyone have a recommendation for a good antenna? I'm in Four Hills so pretty close to the towers.

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7136 of 7471 Old 09-22-2010, 12:00 PM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthscan View Post


not at first, but eventually according to someone who posted here a page or two back.

BTW, I think KOB is getting a new logo based on the on-air promo for the new set.

I saw that. Looks like a red circle with the 4 inside. And they said Sun would be the start.

Lujan, yes 7 & 13 are both VHF, while everyone else is on UHF.

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7137 of 7471 Old 09-22-2010, 06:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
KNMD 9-1 and KCHF 11-1 are also on VHF.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #7138 of 7471 Old 09-23-2010, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I'm also now having problems with 7 and 13. Do you think it could be a UHF/VHF issue. Didn't 7 and 13 both change to VHF? This antenna I think might be UHF only. I'm going to see if I can dig up the original antenna documentation to see for sure. If so, anyone have a recommendation for a good antenna? I'm in Four Hills so pretty close to the towers.

I went to antennaweb.org and typed in my location (my full address) and got the attached results. Anyone in my area (Four Hills) with an antenna that's working and where did you get it?
LL

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7139 of 7471 Old 09-23-2010, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The chief engineer at KNME, Jim Gale, tests antennas and stays current on the best ones. I'll drop him an email if you like for a recommendation.
JR
jerrich is offline  
post #7140 of 7471 Old 09-23-2010, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrich View Post

The chief engineer at KNME, Jim Gale, tests antennas and stays current on the best ones. I'll drop him an email if you like for a recommendation.
JR

Thanks JR!

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off