Albuquerque, NM - HDTV - Page 244 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7291 of 7467 Old 03-26-2011, 10:13 AM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, stations here have been listed as "coming soon" years now. The only stations in HD are the Infinity owned ones. The Citadel stations probably never will. And I think UNM station is HD too.

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7292 of 7467 Old 03-28-2011, 11:37 PM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That new Comcast cable guide just went live... right in the middle of a DVR show I was watching.

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7293 of 7467 Old 03-31-2011, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Latest news update!!

KYNM-LD has just added a new subchannel called..... Tuff TV on RF ch. 51.2 and remapped to 30.2.

Here's more informations on Tuff TV

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuff_TV

The other news, I just found out K43HW ch. 43 has been granted to flash cut to digital from the FCC.

Enjoying the nice weather today!!

3-31-11

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #7294 of 7467 Old 04-01-2011, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
TUFF has some interesting programming. But also expect lots of infomercials.

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
post #7295 of 7467 Old 04-01-2011, 04:59 PM
Member
 
DebbyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Downtown Duke City (Abq)
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you reporting that Tuff TV will be available over the air on 30.2? I just checked, nothing there -- yet. If it does come to be OTA, I have a friend that will I Spy, which wiki says the play
DebbyS is offline  
post #7296 of 7467 Old 04-01-2011, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They may be fine tuning their own electronic gear, or try rescan. Yes it's a neat channel and by the way they also own Retro TV Network, they have yet come to Albuquerque's TV market....

4-1-11

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #7297 of 7467 Old 04-10-2011, 11:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigglare View Post

Wow I don't know if this is a deal or a ripoff. Radioshack has an HD radio for $39 bucks.

I don't think that's too bad at all. I got my only HD radio when a major online retailer a year or two ago had a 4th of July sale where they were selling the radio and the car mounting kit for $35 with free shipping.

I admit I haven't used my radio much because the current formats do not interest me as alternate talk or sports channels would, but if HD Radio continues not to catch on, I wouldn't have that much invested compared to if I had impulsively purchased those $100+ radios.

BTW, not holding my breath for Citadel to add HD radio. Ibiquity should have just sent hardware to stations who wanted to do HD Radio and then Ibiquity could charge licensing fees to recoup the hardware costs of leased equipment to stations plus give some amount of profit.
sthscan is offline  
post #7298 of 7467 Old 04-18-2011, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigglare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Albuquerque (#44 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A Little off topic. Someone at work today mentioned a new theatre in Rio Rancho that was going to have an IMAX. Googling tonight I found stories that say its a Premiere Cinemas, another says its a Cinemark thats going in at Southern and Unser. I haven't seen anything about IMAX though. Anyone up in RR have any new info since all the news stories are from last summer. I did find an article from June on KRQE that WinRock and Regal signed Deals for their IMAX complex, but I have no faith in that project going through.
bigglare is offline  
post #7299 of 7467 Old 04-29-2011, 08:35 PM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So how much longer do you suppose KASA & KRQE are going to continue airing anamorphic commercials that are clearly supposed to be in widescreen? They do air some widescreen ones so I know they can do it, but how do theses others seem to "slip" through? Spots like that Carls Jr Miss Turkey spot. I know there are a couple more but I just saw that one and it bothered me enough to post, but not to call. ;-)

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7300 of 7467 Old 04-30-2011, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hideftv View Post

So how much longer do you suppose KASA & KRQE are going to continue airing anamorphic commercials that are clearly supposed to be in widescreen? They do air some widescreen ones so I know they can do it, but how do theses others seem to "slip" through? Spots like that Carls Jr Miss Turkey spot. I know there are a couple more but I just saw that one and it bothered me enough to post, but not to call. ;-)

You could either call or email Sean Anker who used to be with KOB and now is with KRQE/KASA and ask. I'm sure he would have an answer for you.

lujan
657 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7301 of 7467 Old 05-30-2011, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

I don't know if it's just my situation but starting yesterday (2/7/11), I can't get 13.1 on my TV connected to Comcast cable directly. I have no cable box on this TV and I tried re-scanning the stations and still no 13.1. I'm getting it fine on my TiVo box connected to Comcast just not on the TV connected directly to the cable. Anyone know if they may have changed something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Yes, according to Comcast, I need some cable boxes even though all of the TVs connected directly to cable have digital tuners. It doesn't make sense to me but I ordered 3 of those boxes (they say about the size of your hand) that I will connect to the cable and TV to see if 13.1 comes back. They say there is no charge for these boxes.

After almost 4 months, I finally got two of those "Digital Transport Adapters" from Comcast. Comcast says 2 are free but I would have to pay for a 3rd. I did a little research on the internet and found that these adapters are only for those TVs that don't have a digital tuner. All of my TVs have a digital tuner so it turns out, I don't need the adapters, right? Should I hang on to them in case I need them in the future? I have been getting 13.1 fine for the last 3 months or so.

lujan
657 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7302 of 7467 Old 05-30-2011, 07:25 PM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those boxes are for "legacy" customers that don't want a cable box but still want to get the basic channel lineup. I have one connected just as a back up to the backup off air tuner I use. Otherwise I never even switch to that input on my TV.

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7303 of 7467 Old 05-31-2011, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hideftv View Post

Those boxes are for "legacy" customers that don't want a cable box but still want to get the basic channel lineup. I have one connected just as a back up to the backup off air tuner I use. Otherwise I never even switch to that input on my TV.

Yes, I have 3 TVs connected to the Comcast cable with no cable box. I'm asking if these adapters are needed with TVs that have digital tuners?

lujan
657 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7304 of 7467 Old 05-31-2011, 04:32 PM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm fairly sure that this adapters don't allow the QAM to pass. You need to bypass those little boxes and go straight into the TV to get the locals.

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7305 of 7467 Old 06-01-2011, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hideftv View Post

I'm fairly sure that this adapters don't allow the QAM to pass. You need to bypass those little boxes and go straight into the TV to get the locals.

Ok, so the boxes go into the closet. Thanks!

lujan
657 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #7306 of 7467 Old 06-09-2011, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DISH has added KWBQ HD and KASY HD to their Albuquerque HD locals package.
sthscan is offline  
post #7307 of 7467 Old 06-09-2011, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthscan View Post
DISH has added KWBQ HD and KASY HD to their Albuquerque HD locals package.
They were uplinked a couple of weeks ago & make available last Wednesday... I haven't spotted any HD yet, but I haven't looked during primetime.
dfergie is offline  
post #7308 of 7467 Old 06-09-2011, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Big woo.

I'll be impressed when they add The MTN.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #7309 of 7467 Old 06-10-2011, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfergie View Post

I haven't spotted any HD yet, but I haven't looked during primetime.

yes, you have to look in primetime to find HD programming. It's too bad that if there is preseason football this year, you'll have to have a backyard dish to watch the Cowboys and Broncos in HD because KASY and KWBQ won't air the games using the clubs' preseason tv network's HD feeds.
sthscan is offline  
post #7310 of 7467 Old 06-10-2011, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthscan View Post

yes, you have to look in primetime to find HD programming. It's too bad that if there is preseason football this year, you'll have to have a backyard dish to watch the Cowboys and Broncos in HD because KASY and KWBQ won't air the games using the clubs' preseason tv network's HD feeds.

I'll wait for them to air on the NFL network(if there is a season)...
dfergie is offline  
post #7311 of 7467 Old 06-17-2011, 11:27 AM
Member
 
vtjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else still have no guide data for the CW and MY on Dish since they added the channels via satellite? Mine just says KWBQ in the guide listings.
vtjman is offline  
post #7312 of 7467 Old 06-17-2011, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigglare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Albuquerque (#44 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still don't either. I have been meaning to do a hard reset on my rcvr though but theres usually something recording.
bigglare is offline  
post #7313 of 7467 Old 06-17-2011, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I submitted it to the DIRT team as I think I have done a reset since they came up...
dfergie is offline  
post #7314 of 7467 Old 06-18-2011, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
ZachS DISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtjman View Post

Anyone else still have no guide data for the CW and MY on Dish since they added the channels via satellite? Mine just says KWBQ in the guide listings.

If this is still happening I can do a Technical Problem Report for you. I would just need you to send me your receiver and smartcard number (R00/S19) and your zip code.

Zach Schultz
DISH Network Customer Service
Tuesday-Saturday 6:00a-2:30p (MST)
ZachS DISH is offline  
post #7315 of 7467 Old 06-22-2011, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
My Guide populated last night... Thanks to the Dirt team!
dfergie is offline  
post #7316 of 7467 Old 07-31-2011, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Boys it's been so long without any local broadcasting news, here in Albuquerque.....

KRTN-LD is added on the list for carrying Me-TV network. We sall see what happens next, but very not likly to happen.

Here's the Me-TV's website......

http://metvnetwork.com/

So called KRTN-LD, still have not yet to carry RTV "Retro TV Network" for amost give or take 2 years now.....

Other news.....

K43HW is back on the air, but still wasting away good RF power by just sending color bar test...

However they just filed to the FCC for flash cut to digital at 15 KW ERP.

That's the news!!

7-31-11

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #7317 of 7467 Old 08-05-2011, 01:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
sthscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Albuquerque (#45 DMA), NM USA
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N5XZS View Post

So called KRTN-LD, still have not yet to carry RTV "Retro TV Network" for amost give or take 2 years now.....

you can watch RTV on KRTN-LD, you just need a satellite dish. I wonder when RTV is going to remove that feed for KRTN since heck will freeze over before KRTN carries RTV.

KWBQ bragging about their coverage of Broncos preseason football. Not holding my breath on Acme figuring out how to do preseason football in HD like what the off-air viewers of NM deserve.
sthscan is offline  
post #7318 of 7467 Old 08-06-2011, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, guess what happen!

KRTN-LD, it's now showing Me-TV and ad color bar for soon to be Jewal TV.

RF channel is 39.1 but remapped to 33.1 and 33.1 and, at the same time KTEL-LD os remapped to 47.1 even though, they are on rf channel 39.4 even though they shoud be ID's as KRTN-LD on pisid information.

8-6-11

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #7319 of 7467 Old 08-11-2011, 05:32 PM
Member
 
hideftv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ABQ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like both CW and My50 are airing Cowboys/Broncos game. CW looks like an anamorphic feed, where My50 is HD. If I cared about either team I would be watching My50!

If it's not HD, it's not TV !! ...or radio!!
hideftv is offline  
post #7320 of 7467 Old 08-11-2011, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by hideftv View Post

Looks like both CW and My50 are airing Cowboys/Broncos game. CW looks like an anamorphic feed, where My50 is HD. If I cared about either team I would be watching My50!

I tuned into the pregame and saw it was HD on My 50 so swapped my timer from the CW to it...
dfergie is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off