Albuquerque, NM - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 7482 Old 05-12-2003, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get the same problems with ch5, almost wish they'd just hook up their Sencore again and trash the lousy sat. receiver, it's unwatchable. Speaking of which, most of the digital signals I don't bother to watch because they are stupid 4:3 and make everything look fat in Full mode. Since the only people who can see their signal are the ones with digital tvs, why don't they fix their aspect ratios like 13 does with most of their stuff? If they are paying the expense of being on the air, even if they won't transmit HD, they could at least get their picture size right. Enough rant. Jerry
jerrich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 7482 Old 05-12-2003, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:


If they are paying the expense of being on the air, even if they won't transmit HD, they could at least get their picture size right

And just to add my own private gripe to yours, what is the purpose of KASA broadcasting in 1080i? They do everytiing in 4x3 windowboxed into a 16x9 frame. It prevents my box (Sammy 151) for using any of its on-board aspect ration controls.

At least UPN and the WB are in 480, and NOT wasting bandwidth. I can blow those up as needed.

And if KASA wants to do 1080i, I wish they would have had the sense to pass along the 480p Fox WS NASCAR races.

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #723 of 7482 Old 05-12-2003, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Has anyone gotten word out of KASA regarding their plans to pass FOX 480p? I hear it looks good considering it's not HD. As it is, their picture looks like CRAP 24/7. If they'd give us 480p widescreen at least it'd look decent sometimes.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #724 of 7482 Old 05-13-2003, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It prevents my box (Sammy 151) for using any of its on-board aspect ration controls.

Try lying to your Sammy and tell it you have a 4:3 tv; then you should get to use your zoom mode at least. JR
jerrich is offline  
post #725 of 7482 Old 05-13-2003, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:


Try lying to your Sammy and tell it you have a 4:3 tv; then you should get to use your zoom mode at least. JR

But then real 16:9 content would be letterboxed into a 4:3 frame, with black bars top/bottom, which my TV would windowbox into a 16:9 frame with grey bars on the side. Of course, my TV could then stretch the image to fill he screen, but I would be giving up quite a bit of image quality.

Its not a big deal thus far, since I don't spend much time watching non-HD, 4:3 content. I just wish they would do what KOAT (on there SD channel), WB, and UPN are doing, and stick with 480i. The stretch/zoom in the box worked wonderfully with Enterprise, which is letterboxed 1.78 content in a 4:3 frame.

I still don't grasp why KASA has opted to send out all their stuff windowboxed into a 16:9 1080i frame. Perhaps they are planning for the some future developments when Fox finally gets on the HD bandwagon?

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #726 of 7482 Old 05-14-2003, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
As of 7 pm tonight, 5/14, I cannot get KOAT DT. When I do a auto scan of my digital channels on my Dish 6000 it is not coming up. Anyone out there getting it?

Also, I am getting some new digital channels, like 10-01 and 21-01. Nothing coming up though on these.

Also, what is going on with PBS. It is coming up on channel 80-03 for me, as PBS1D.
fjerina is offline  
post #727 of 7482 Old 05-15-2003, 12:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Fjerina,

You may be the first to get VHF digital station KCHF-DT ch. 10!!

As for me I have no way to get KCHF-DT ch. 10 here in Four Hills areas unless I have a outdoor antenna.

KOAT-DT for some reason has been showing ch. 21.1 "EST HDTV primetime" BUT not 21.2 "480i".

So it's might be PSIP issue problem IMHO...

Now the breaking news!!!!

KLUZ-DT has gone on the air in digital on channel 42.1 and my signal strenth is 48 to 54!!

Its looks like it's will be only one channel due to a fact KFTA-LP will not be on digital 42.2 due to channel 14 "PAX soon to be a Futuera" got sold to Univision..... "But then again maybe they will carry it on 42.2"

5-15-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #728 of 7482 Old 05-30-2003, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
FWIW, Titan TV (as of yesterday) did not have a correct listing for KOAT's HD Stanley Cup finals coverage.

I e-mailed the station, and got a very quick reply that, yes, KOAT would be doing the Satnley Cup finals in HD, but with 2.0 sound....starting with Game 3 Tomorrow (I think).

I have been very eager to see what hockey looks like in HD.

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #729 of 7482 Old 06-04-2003, 08:36 PM
Member
 
PONCH0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to watch the NBA finals but the picture keeps breaking up. My STB is pinging in between 73 and 93. All other digital channels are pinging in at 100. Does anyone know if KOAT decided to turn down their power during the NBA finals just to piss me OFF.

Sony 57WV600
Sony STR-DA777ES A/V receiver
Sony DVP-NS755V
Paradigm Studio 60 Front
Paradigm Studio CC Center spk
Niles HD800RP inwallsurrounds
Velodyne VA 1512 sub
Mitsubishi SR-HD400 STB
PONCH0069 is offline  
post #730 of 7482 Old 06-05-2003, 12:19 PM
Member
 
eman6880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I noticed the same problem last saturday when watching the hockey game. My signal was jumping between 100 and 89 I have never had a problem with KOAT before lets hope this is just a temporrary thing.

BTW
Does anyone know if your signal is really high like 100-89 but bouncing around; does that cause picture and sound glitches? My guess is yes although I am still in my rookie year with OTA Digital TV.

Do or do not, there is no try.
eman6880 is offline  
post #731 of 7482 Old 06-05-2003, 10:05 PM
Member
 
PONCH0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As soon as the game was over my STB was pinging KOAT-DT at 100 with no break ups. You got to love it. Who can I send an email to about this problem at KOAT?

Sony 57WV600
Sony STR-DA777ES A/V receiver
Sony DVP-NS755V
Paradigm Studio 60 Front
Paradigm Studio CC Center spk
Niles HD800RP inwallsurrounds
Velodyne VA 1512 sub
Mitsubishi SR-HD400 STB
PONCH0069 is offline  
post #732 of 7482 Old 06-19-2003, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
We,, looks like we are going to have to wait for DD 5.1 sound from our local CBS station. I got this reply from Frank Lilley at KRQE. I wonder if we should have a fund-raiser so we can come up with the $4500 so they can purchase a DD encoder unit.

Fred, I do not have a time line for Dolby Digital 5.1 sound. Our capital budgets were approved before CBS started their rollout of Dolby Digital 5.1 sound. Our priority is to convert our analog studio to digital. As it stands now, Dolby Digital 5.1 sound will be part of our 2004 capital plan.


>>> 06/18/03 05:08PM >>>
Frank, we have our DTV User's Group meeting tomorrow night, Thursday, and I
was wondering if you could give me an update on your plans to upgrade your
digital station here in Albuquerque with a Dolby Digital encoder (so we
could get the network programming in Dolby Digital 5.1 sound). I am
enjoying your CBS programming most every evening from your digital station.
Thanks, Fred Jerina.


Franklin Lilley
Director of Engineering
KRQE-TV
505-767-9400
fjerina is offline  
post #733 of 7482 Old 06-20-2003, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I couple of tidbits that came from the 6/19 DTV User's Group Meeting.

Someone said Comcast is beta testing their high-def digital cable here in Albuquerque. Also, our local PBS station has signed a contract with Comcast for them to carry our local digital high-def PBS station with full-bandwidth over their digital cable. Now when Comcast plans to roll-out their high-def digital cable is the question of the day.
fjerina is offline  
post #734 of 7482 Old 07-08-2003, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just heard the KCHF-DT has just went on the air in digital on channel 10!

I try to pull the signal in but no luck....

Has anyone has better luck tuning in and if so is the station sending in multicasting or just only 480i feed?

This station itself, their programings has much left to be desired if any.

I rather see this station be sold to someone that can do better job and improve the programings by putting movies and lots of sports and more local news at odd hours.

One other thing, they should move their transmitter to Sandia Crest and improve the reception for the Albuquerque metro areas.

BTW, what happen to KOAT-DT? They just dropped channel 21.2 "SDTV Feed" I just wish they would add the local weather channel.

What else is new here anyone?

7-8-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #735 of 7482 Old 07-08-2003, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
I can confirm the loss of KOAT's SD feed. Don't know why.

FWIW, I have e-mailed them a couple times with questions and they are GREAT at responding. Perhaps a note to them asking about the SD channel?

I actually tipped them off to a problem with the NBA and NHL finals, where the picture would momentarily go blurry.

After I e-mailed, they first said they were unaware of the problem. A few hours latter, they e-mailed to say that ABC had just sent them a note advising they change something in software in one of there decoders! They were genuinely appreciative of the tip.

Just got a note this morning after asking why Dinosaur did not start at 5PM. They said they had there HD transmitter off line for a bit due to heat. Once the got some fans back on line, the turned it back on. Unfortunately, that meant the first hour or so of the movie was not broadcast.

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #736 of 7482 Old 07-08-2003, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello BgLeduc,

Strange, I also sent them a E-mail to KOAT-DT of Chief Engineering and they never respond back to me.

Have you try to pull in KCHF-DT channel 10? Just curious....


Thanks for your respond!!


7-8-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #737 of 7482 Old 07-08-2003, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Have not tried KCHF yet. Perhaps this evening.

When I send e-mail to KOAT, I route it through their web site (there is a "Contact Station" link at the top of the page).

When you do that, it opens a form and allows you to choose a category.

They have never gone more than 24 hours for a response; usually a lot less time than that. Frank Liley at 13 has also been outstanding with inquiries. He has had to reboot something at the station on occasion bacause my Sammy lost lock.

As for KOB, well if you can't say anything nice......

FWIW, KOB is the only digital station here that I can not lock onto. Don't know why, perhaps an issue with my Sammy 151, but from my location (Tramway and Academy, just west of Tramway), using an attic mounted RS VHF/UHF antenna, I get everything but them, and most stations are about equal in signal strength too (at least as far as the meter on the Sammy is concerned).

I can pull their normal channel with that antenna (a poor picture with severe ghosting, but I can at least see the picture) but the digital station is AWOL at my location.

Another comment....I am impressed with the PQ on UPN and the WB. Its SD 4:3, but clear as a bell. Star Trek Voyager looks VERY good compared to the normal broadcast (I use cable for locals, who's PQ is not that great.

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #738 of 7482 Old 07-12-2003, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would watch upn and wb if they would do the anamorphic squeez to get the aspect ratio right (my tv locks in full with a 1080i input). Don't care for everyone so fat. JR
jerrich is offline  
post #739 of 7482 Old 07-12-2003, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:


I would watch upn and wb if they would do the anamorphic squeez to get the aspect ratio right (my tv locks in full with a 1080i input). Don't care for everyone so fat. JR

Bummer on that, as the PQ is pretty good. I could cearly determine that none of the gals on Elimidate last night were equipped with factory installed hardware....all were fitted with optional, aftermarket equippment

On the serious side, my Sammy does play pretty well with SD stations. When the programming is straight 4:3, the Sammy adds gray bars to the sides. I prefer that to the almost white bars that my Pioneer uses when I view 4:3 stuff in 4:3 mode. In fact, I never view 4:3 on the Pioneer in 4:3.

And when something is SD 4:3 but letterboxed, the Sammy's Zoom mode blows it up with minimal loss of picture content. FWIW, Enterprise is letterboxed in 1.78:1, and when I zoom, it fills the screen just about perfectly.

I personally wish Fox would NOT send out a 1080i until they have real HD content. 4:3 content with black bars is a highway to screen burn.

As you have said, when my set gets a 1080i, its game over for the TV's stretch modes, and the Sammy will only give me full, or pillarbox.

Send out SD as SD (480i), I say.

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #740 of 7482 Old 07-16-2003, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone noted KOB-DT's PISP has changed from 26.3 to 26.1?

I have a feeling they got some new toys to plug in!!

It's better be satellite HDTV receiver or at least adding second channel. "Weather news update channel"

What happen to KLUZ-DT channel 42 it's looks like they were off the air for past few weeks?

It's looks like K17DD channel 17 "3ABN" is doing the foot draging not moving to channel 39 and holding KAZQ-DT from going on the air in digital or it's just tech, problems on their part?

KOAT-DT for some reason removed 480i SDTV feed on channel 21.2 leaving only 21.1 for EST HDTV feed. "Primetime or any live live feeds only"

I still haven't heard anyones try to pull in KCHF-DT on channel 10, I try but no luck.

That's the news!!

7-16-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #741 of 7482 Old 07-16-2003, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
I did try KCHF-DT on channel 10, but had no joy. I will try the KOB again. Would like to get them, now that they are airing NASCAR, and there normal channel looks horrible via cable.

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #742 of 7482 Old 07-16-2003, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Little update news on KOB-DT,KLUZ-TV and KTFA-LP is off the air working on the towers or upgrading the digital transmitter at this time.

They may be off the air for few hours today as I type away....


BGLeduc,
Thanks for trying to DX KCHF-DT, don't worry about KOB-DT since they are aff the air anyway and hoply they will be back on air later this afternoon.

You might try to rescan since they changed PISP on KOB-DT just in case you can't lock them in.


7-16-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #743 of 7482 Old 07-19-2003, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone able to view 42-1? I can almost see it but it's too pixellated to actually watch. JR
jerrich is offline  
post #744 of 7482 Old 07-19-2003, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yep, I got the samething here on channel 42.1 picture breaking ups due to a Microwave link to transmitter "STL" on the Crest.

They must aim the microwave dish right corectliy on the Crest pointed to the ground station.

As for others news, not much going on right now....

7-19-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #745 of 7482 Old 07-29-2003, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's up with KOAT-DT?

They have been off the air for few days now.....

KLUZ-DT channel 42.1 seems up and running but missing one other channel 42.2 "KTFQ-TV ch. 14 or KTFA-LP ch.48"

Has anyone noted KOB-DT has updated their PISP info?

Used to be ch. 26.3 they changed to 26.1 just hoping they would add HDTV or add the local weather channel.

Any latest news on KNME-DT?

No news on KCHF-DT or KAZQ-DT.......

7-29-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #746 of 7482 Old 08-01-2003, 01:12 PM
Member
 
jcmartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Alamos, NM, USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KRQE power down? Transmitter strength for KRQE-DT is way down up here in Los Alamos. I'm getting about 24/100, and the picture has frequent breakups and drop outs. Anyone else notice this? Trying to detemine if this is weather or a KRQE issue.

Thanks, Joe M.
jcmartz is offline  
post #747 of 7482 Old 08-01-2003, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Hey Joe, Brian L. here.

They are looking good at my location, same signal level that I always get (about 60% on my Sammy, which does not seem to ever show anything higher).

I did not watch for very long, but it looks good at this time.

FWIW, I have had great luck contacting Frank Liley at the station. Always very quick to reply.

Which reminds me that I need to ping him. Every now and then, something happens to their signal which causes my Sammy to pause for a 1/2 minute or so before it locks in. They have had to reboot something at the station in the past to sort that out.

BGL
BGLeduc is offline  
post #748 of 7482 Old 08-05-2003, 07:21 PM
Member
 
jcmartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Alamos, NM, USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brian,

Thanks for the info. Still low on power here in Los Alamos with KRQE (digital 16), and now KOB (digital 26) is completely out as well. Fox (27) and ABC (21) are just fine...

Joe M.
jcmartz is offline  
post #749 of 7482 Old 08-07-2003, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well it's seems KOB-DT's transmitter has been blown out and it may take some time to get back on the air.

E-mail from KOB-DT saying the HDTV NBC feed decoder might be somtime in 2004 at the latest....

Other minor news......

FCC has just made a ruling that LPTV stations will have second channel for digital use.

The LPTV channel assigements has yet to be set up.

I would not be suprised if our local Albuquerque LPTV station will use to digital channel for multicasting or Internet broadband ISP services or even rarer HDTV feeds.

It would be nice to bring A1 network in or bring back MTV2 that used to be on channel 56.

It's very possible to split up 4 or 5 digtial subchannels without degrading the picture quality by depending how good the encoder doing the job.

Let me know what you think it might will happen here in Albuquerque TV market for the LPTV stations?

8-7-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #750 of 7482 Old 08-22-2003, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Great News announced at our DTV User's Group Meeting last night!!!

A Comcast employee at our meeting last night announced that they will be launching in two weeks high-definition capability over Comcast Cable in the Albuquerque area. He said that for only $5 a month HD tuner rental and with a minimum of $9.95 for a basic cable package you will be able to receive in HIGH DEFINITION and DOLBY DIGITAL 5.1 sound our local ABC HD, CBS HD and PBS HD. They will also be carrying FOX digital but they are not transmitting anything in HD right now. Also, our local CBS is not transmitting in DD 5.1 yet. Probably for a higher cost cable package you will be able to receive ESPN HD, SHOWTIME HD, HBO HD and also IN HD 1 and IN HD 2 (new HD stations). They also plan on carrying an ON DEMAND HD pay-per-view station in the future. Also sometime in the Oct/Nov time frame they will be offering a HD PVR for a rental fee. They will be initially providing the Scientific Atlantic 3100 HD tuner box. They ordered around 900 for the launch. I believe this will be a great deal for people out there with HD capable sets but did not want to spend over $300-400 on an over-the-air tuner to be able to receive HD.

This great news will hopefully persuade the people at our local NBC station to setup their station for HD capabilty. I sent out the letter below to the one making this decision for our local KOB station here and I ENCOURAGE all of you to send a similar letter to they, Stanley Hubbard in particular. See below.

Stanley Hubbard
Hubbard Broadcasting
3415 University Avenue
St. Paul, Minn. 55114

Dear Mr. Hubbard,

I have corresponded to you several times about your Albuquerque digital station KOB not transmitting the NBC network programming in high definition. For only a $50,000 investment on your part you could equip the KOB station with an mpeg decoder that would provide high definition capability to the Albuquerque market. You feel there is hardly anyone capable of receiving your digital transmissions to warrant the expenditure. As an interesting note, our local Ultimate Electronic's dealer said they are now selling more HD capable TVs than standard analog ones.

Well, I have some great news for you!!! Our local Comcast cable will, in two weeks, start transmitting our local high definition digital stations to its subscribers. So there will be about 130,000 people able to receive high definition digital programming. Our Comcast is planning on carrying our local ABC HD station, CBS HD station, PBS HD station and the FOX digital station. However, they have no plans on passing your KOB digital station because (as a Comcast employee said to me) it doesn't look good.

And for only for a $5 a month rental fee for the HD tuner anyone in the Albuquerque area can get the high definition digital local stations with just an added monthly basic cable fee. So for a small fee (without having to invest in an over-the-air HD tuner) an Albuquerque resident with a HD capable set will be able to enjoy our various network's programming in high definition.

I would think it would be great to have your digital station also included in the Comcast cable local line-up. I am sure NBC will be offering many more programs in high definition this fall. I would hate to see your station lag behind the other Albuquerque local stations.

Yours truly,

Fred Jerina
fjerina is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off