Albuquerque, NM - HDTV - Page 255 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #7621 of 7639 Unread 01-18-2017, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I have TiVo DVRs and when this happens TiVo needs to be notified so that they can change something on their end otherwise my Fox station on the TiVo will stop working. I wonder if anyone from KRQE has notified TiVo?
I'm still getting Fox on 2.1 on my TiVo boxes so I guess TiVo hasn't updated the program guide?

lujan
134 Ultra HD
824 HD
19 HD DVD
5 SD
lujan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7622 of 7639 Unread 01-18-2017, 07:40 PM
Member
 
stardude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The big switch happened! I did not rescan today because conditions are not allowing me to pick up all the stations, but I did run through the channels and here are the changes I found (including some changes noted in a couple of previous posts):

2.1 - Telemundo; duplicated on 15.1 and 47.1
2.2 - blank; supposed to be MeTV, which is still on 33.1. Rescan might fix this.
2.3 - H&I; duplicated on 16.3
2.4 (new) - Movies!; duplicated on 16.1. This move was a bit of a surprise.
13.2 - Fox
19.4 (new) - Ion
33.4 (new) - ALB Market; duplicated on 16.2
50.3 (new) - GetTV
50.4 (new) - Cozi

Since Ramar duplicated everything from channels 15 and 16 elsewhere, what will happen to them?
DebbyS likes this.
stardude is offline  
post #7623 of 7639 Unread 01-19-2017, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wow,

That's lots of work for Chief Engineering people to coordinate all these channels!

I am wondering what are they going to do with rf ch. 15 same goes for rf ch. 16?

1-19-17

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is online now  
 
post #7624 of 7639 Unread 01-19-2017, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by stardude View Post
The big switch happened! I did not rescan today because conditions are not allowing me to pick up all the stations, but I did run through the channels and here are the changes I found (including some changes noted in a couple of previous posts):

2.1 - Telemundo; duplicated on 15.1 and 47.1
2.2 - blank; supposed to be MeTV, which is still on 33.1. Rescan might fix this.
2.3 - H&I; duplicated on 16.3
2.4 (new) - Movies!; duplicated on 16.1. This move was a bit of a surprise.
13.2 - Fox
19.4 (new) - Ion
33.4 (new) - ALB Market; duplicated on 16.2
50.3 (new) - GetTV
50.4 (new) - Cozi

Since Ramar duplicated everything from channels 15 and 16 elsewhere, what will happen to them?
After doing another channel scan on my TiVo, it's still reporting 2.1 as Fox so I don't know what I need to do with TiVo. Should I just wait a couple of days?

lujan
134 Ultra HD
824 HD
19 HD DVD
5 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7625 of 7639 Unread 01-19-2017, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
After doing another channel scan on my TiVo, it's still reporting 2.1 as Fox so I don't know what I need to do with TiVo. Should I just wait a couple of days?
you mean it has the wrong guide info?
If so submit a change to Tivo

https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html
unclehonkey is offline  
post #7626 of 7639 Unread 01-19-2017, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
you mean it has the wrong guide info?
If so submit a change to Tivo

https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html
I spoke with a TiVo supervisor and he said he was submitting a lineup change but I don't know why they didn't do this when KASA first notified them because when I called KASA (KRQE) they told me that TiVo had been notified. Who knows, another issue where the right hand doesn't know what the left is doing?

lujan
134 Ultra HD
824 HD
19 HD DVD
5 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7627 of 7639 Unread 01-19-2017, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 60
lineup changes can take 5-7 days

One thing you can do is check the listings at tvguide.com
They use the same listings (Rovi) as Tivo does. Thats how I kept tabs on the lineup changes here in Minneapolis when PBS Kids bumped another PBS sub to a new station.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #7628 of 7639 Unread 01-19-2017, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
lineup changes can take 5-7 days

One thing you can do is check the listings at tvguide.com
They use the same listings (Rovi) as Tivo does. Thats how I kept tabs on the lineup changes here in Minneapolis when PBS Kids bumped another PBS sub to a new station.
Ok thanks! Tvguide.com is still showing 2.1 as Fox.

lujan
134 Ultra HD
824 HD
19 HD DVD
5 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7629 of 7639 Unread 01-19-2017, 03:48 PM
Member
 
DebbyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Downtown Duke City (Abq)
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I note that TitanTV.com has the right info for 2.1, 2.3 and 2.4, but the EPG from the station... not so much. I wrote to the "Heroes & Icons" website after seeing their (eastern time zone) program list, thanked them for the list, and said I was happy they are here now (I didn't mention that so are GetTV and the others like it, good).


They emailed in return a thank you, then asked for H&I's call letters probably to advise viewers (they have some outlets elsewhere in NM, can't recall where, haven't heard of them before). Well, I can't give them that info, but I sent them the TitanTV schedule URL and note there is a "Channel 27" in that URL maybe reflects the "RF" that we see via antenna as channel 4.3.


I do wish that the Spanish station were Azteca, since I can't get channel 35 and it has several shows I'd prefer to watch rather than the boring, generic shows featuring "entertainment" by young, blond, big-breasted women who love to bounce around (mindlessly) and crazy loud men of all ages almost slobbering over their cohosts. Mexico is do much better than that...

Last edited by DebbyS; 01-19-2017 at 04:02 PM.
DebbyS is online now  
post #7630 of 7639 Unread 01-22-2017, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lobosrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 544 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Anyone else wondering why they invested in a 4k tv when sports look like dog**** on TV? Id just like to say a big fu to whatever penny-pincher brought these stations.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
lobosrul is offline  
post #7631 of 7639 Unread 01-22-2017, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by DebbyS View Post
I note that TitanTV.com has the right info for 2.1, 2.3 and 2.4, but the EPG from the station... not so much. I wrote to the "Heroes & Icons" website after seeing their (eastern time zone) program list, thanked them for the list, and said I was happy they are here now (I didn't mention that so are GetTV and the others like it, good).
...
I don't know what the hold up is for TiVo but I called them on Tuesday and then again on Wednesday to tell them about the change from 2.1 to 13.2 and they said they were filling out a lineup change. As of today after doing a "repeated guide setup" again, the change is still not listed on TiVo's guide.

lujan
134 Ultra HD
824 HD
19 HD DVD
5 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7632 of 7639 Unread 01-22-2017, 03:36 PM
Member
 
DebbyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Downtown Duke City (Abq)
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I don't know what the hold up is for TiVo ... As of today after doing a "repeated guide setup" again, the change is still not listed on TiVo's guide.



Can you override TIVO and manually enter recording times and station (by number maybe) until TIVO gets its act together?
DebbyS is online now  
post #7633 of 7639 Unread 01-22-2017, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by DebbyS View Post


Can you override TIVO and manually enter recording times and station (by number maybe) until TIVO gets its act together?
Yes, I have a show to be recorded tomorrow night and I'm going to setup a one-time recording on 13.2 in addition to 2.1 in order to make sure it gets recorded.

lujan
134 Ultra HD
824 HD
19 HD DVD
5 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7634 of 7639 Unread 01-26-2017, 07:16 PM
Member
 
stardude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For some reason, my tuner added a channel 29.1 showing H&I; same as 16.3 and 2.3. I'm guessing this is some kind of glitch while KASA is getting straightened out. Is anyone else picking up channel 29?

Last edited by stardude; 01-26-2017 at 07:19 PM.
stardude is offline  
post #7635 of 7639 Unread 01-27-2017, 03:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 772
I thought that the call letters were staying the same and that KASA was just moving to 13.2. It seems KASA is still at 2.1 and 13.2 is KRQEDT2. All the previous shows on KASA are now on KRQEDT2. At least that's the way it now reads on my TiVo.

lujan
134 Ultra HD
824 HD
19 HD DVD
5 SD
lujan is offline  
post #7636 of 7639 Unread 01-27-2017, 11:32 PM
Member
 
stardude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well, this is a change from what I thought was going to happen:
http://metv.com/albuquerque-tune-in-updates

I guess that 29.1 I found is a permanent thing after all. My tuner says it's physical channel 27, which would make it a sub of KASA mapped to virtual channel 29 and not really KUPT-LD. 29 is the physical channel for the full-power KUPT-TV that transmits out of Hobbs. Weird. I wonder if they'll do the same thing with MeTV: transmit it as a sub of KASA on virtual 15 and call it KTEL. I guess we'll see what else happens in a few days.

Last edited by stardude; 01-28-2017 at 12:08 AM.
stardude is offline  
post #7637 of 7639 Unread 02-01-2017, 09:16 PM
Member
 
stardude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just did a rescan; here's what's new today:
The virtual channels 15.1, 29.1, and 33.1 are all actually subs of KASA. My tuner confirms they are all coming from physical channel 27.
I see no sign of physical channel 15 KTEL-CD. If Ramar shut it down, I won't miss it. I was only occasionally able to pick it up.
KUPT-LD is still alive and kicking, so Movies!, H&I, and ALB Market are still duplicated on two channels.
My tuner added virtual channel 39.1, which is physical channel 39 KRTN-LD, showing MeTV, so that's currently on two channels also.
I'm still getting a virtual 47.1, which now has no signal, and is labeled "KASA SD." That's not true because it's still coming from physical channel 39 KRTN-LD.
Confused yet? You can just ignore all this and check out the current NM channel lineup on this page:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List...#LPTV_stations
I just updated it so that all the information for the Albuquerque metro area is correct. There are now 63 broadcast channels, counting the still-analog KQDF, but not counting 47.1 since it's not showing anything. I don't know much about what is happening in the rest of the state, so if you see any errors for stations outside Albuquerque, please correct them.
DebbyS likes this.

Last edited by stardude; 02-01-2017 at 11:20 PM.
stardude is offline  
post #7638 of 7639 Unread Today, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just wondering if any our local TV broadcast or wanna be TV broadcaster on VHF low band Rf ch. 2 to 6 "54 to 87 MHz" or create new FM radio band "76 to 87.9 MHz?

Keep the tread lively!!

2-19-17

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is online now  
post #7639 of 7639 Unread Today, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
BTW,

KTEL-CD is still on the air on RF ch. 15 showing Movies Net.

2-19-17

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off