Albuquerque, NM - HDTV - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Vergilium...

Does Comcast give you locals in HD?

I can't get cable up here in the East Mountains, but I have friends who are interested but not very technically savvy.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Vergiliusm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CBS, ABC, & PBS
Vergiliusm is offline  
post #783 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
jeffpyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my comcast HD cable box on Saturday. I watch the end of a football game in HD. The picture had few artifacts but in general both the sound and picture where great.

The all HD channel "inhd" is great for showing off. Inhd was broadcasting a teaser advertising greatly increasing their HD content in Sept.

The local hd channels are great even when the shows are not broadcast in HD, I can now watch the local stations without ghosting...

Does anyone of a website that list all available HD programs?

Jeff
jeffpyn is offline  
post #784 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Vergiliusm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go here.

You sign up for a free account and they'll give you the HD available in your area.

Edit: It doesn't look like they list HD cable on their grid layout yet, so try here instead.

DJ
Vergiliusm is offline  
post #785 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
jeffpyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vergiliusm

thanks for the info..

Jeff
jeffpyn is offline  
post #786 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 06:48 PM
Member
 
GarAlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vergiliusm and jeffpyn,

Thanks for the heads up on Comcast's change on the installation requirement. I went down to the Comcast location at Smith's on Coors and Central and picked up a box today(Sunday)! It looks great onESPN, InHD, and CBS, but I'm getting heavy pixelization on ABC and PBS. Are you guy's having the same problem? I hope it's fixed in time for the MNF game tomorrow night (Go Giants!).

Thanks again!
GarAlb is offline  
post #787 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 06:51 PM
Member
 
GarAlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any word on Comcast adding FOX or prodding KOB to finally go HD?
GarAlb is offline  
post #788 of 7482 Old 09-14-2003, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Both stations are foot dragging about upgrading to widescreen "FOX 480p" and HDTV "NBC 1080i".

Today I noted KASA-DT DID not go to widescreen on OTA just up converting to 1080i 16:9 with 4:3 inside. "Black bar on left and right side of your 16:9 TV screen!!"

It may not be be ready till next year at least.

Not much else going on other than watching the ESPN-HD on Directv.



9-14-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #789 of 7482 Old 09-15-2003, 01:33 PM
Member
 
PONCH0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone let me know what kind of video connections the cable boxes have to connect to your hdtv's.

Sony 57WV600
Sony STR-DA777ES A/V receiver
Sony DVP-NS755V
Paradigm Studio 60 Front
Paradigm Studio CC Center spk
Niles HD800RP inwallsurrounds
Velodyne VA 1512 sub
Mitsubishi SR-HD400 STB
PONCH0069 is offline  
post #790 of 7482 Old 09-15-2003, 02:07 PM
Member
 
Osoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 3100HD has component video, an S-video out, digital audio out, regular stereo audio out, NTSC video out, cable out and cable in, and a IR connection (probably for operating your VCR).
Osoman is offline  
post #791 of 7482 Old 09-15-2003, 07:21 PM
Newbie
 
jeffpyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PBS has been working great for me.

The sound and picture have been spotty on ABS. Hopefully the signal will clear up for MMF.

Jeff
jeffpyn is offline  
post #792 of 7482 Old 09-16-2003, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Vergiliusm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really like that INHD channel. There is some great undersea demo stuff and last night I watched Full Metal Jacket. It wasn't as stunning as some other movies I've watched probably due to the film itself and the way it was shot, but it was light years ahead of the DVD(framing issues aside).

I briefly compared the quality of PBS between the 3100HD and my Samsung SIR-T151. I didn't really notice any difference which suprised me since I figured the compression of the cable system might roll-off some high frequency detail.

Since the other local channels aren't broadcasting any HD anyways, I think I'll sell the Samsung. Anyone want to get a 151 for cheap?

DJ
Vergiliusm is offline  
post #793 of 7482 Old 09-16-2003, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The guy from Comcast at our last NMDTV meeting said they would not be adding any compression.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #794 of 7482 Old 09-16-2003, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Does WB or UPN have any HD in Albuquerque?

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #795 of 7482 Old 09-16-2003, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Not at the moment. ABC, PBS, and CBS are it.

For reasons I can't fathom, Fox is sending out a 1080i signal, but is just upconverting SD 4:3 sstuff. Since they are sending out a 16:9 singnal, I wish they would pass along Fox WS stuff, even of it is not true HD.

BGL
BGLeduc is online now  
post #796 of 7482 Old 09-16-2003, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks, BG

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #797 of 7482 Old 09-17-2003, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Osoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I now have Comcast HDTV. I have a question about INHD. Both of them look superb but, since I'm a little hard of hearing, I like to use close captions. I can't get CC to work on INHD1 or 2. Tried various combinations of CC using the 3100HD remote. Tried using the 3100HD's CC with my TV 's(Sony KV36XBR450) CC. Nothing works.

Any ideas.

Phil
Osoman is offline  
post #798 of 7482 Old 09-29-2003, 07:53 PM
Member
 
jcmartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Alamos, NM, USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been 2 months since I had a usable DTV signal from KRQE in Los Alamos. Every other DTV station from ABQ comes in strong (ABC, PBS, UPN, Fox, several of the independents); I just can't get KRQE (Digital Channel 16) on either of my Hughes E86 boxes. Each gives about 15/100 signal strength (most others are 100/100). I sent a note last month to Frank Lilley, he said no problems on his end. Can someone in Los Alamos comment whether/not they're also having problems? Perhaps some weird construction on the crest put something in between Los Alamos and the KRQE transmitter? Any thoughts? As I'm having problems on 2 different boxes, I'm inclined to say if the problem is on my end, it's a strange one indeed that would only effect KRQE (cabling? Antenna?). To recap, one day (late July) KRQE was 100/100, the next it was 15/100 on both boxes.

Thanks, Joe M.
jcmartz is offline  
post #799 of 7482 Old 09-29-2003, 07:53 PM
Member
 
jcmartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Alamos, NM, USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(duplicate post deleted)
jcmartz is offline  
post #800 of 7482 Old 09-29-2003, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Jcmartz,

KAZQ-DT "REL" on channel 17 may be causing some QRM "Man Made interferences " to KRQE-DT's signal.

KAZQ-DT just went on the air for about a week now and seems to have some kind of digital audio problems. "No Sounds"

They also launched analog low powered channel 36 which is not very clean signal and no audio as well.

Other QRM may be local in your area or it's somthing else.

For me I am getting the KRQE-DT just fine and as well for the rest of the local stations save for KNAT-DT "TBN REL" "Running very low power at 600 watts ERP"

Anyway btw, have you pick up digial channel 10 KCHF-DT "REL" by any chances since you more closer to the transmitter's location just south of your location? "So Called No Name Mountain"

It's just for my DXing research fun!

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #801 of 7482 Old 09-30-2003, 08:37 PM
Member
 
jcmartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Alamos, NM, USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tim,

Tried a couple of things today, they helped. Given possible QRM from 17, I moved the antenna around on the roof and found that the signal on 16 was exceptionally sensitive to position and aiming. A change of as little as 2 degrees in my directional antenna gave 4 to 5x changes in received signal intensity. I relocated the antenna, pointed it carefully, and now I'm getting KRQE marginally (58/100). Frank Lilley has said they have a blown amp out for repair, and that they're currently at 76% power, so that's good news for me. When they're back to 100%, I should have a decent signal.

I do get channel 10 (35/100) and my Hughes boxes are able to lock on this (few dropouts/minute at this level).

Thanks for the help and suggestions,

Joe M.
jcmartz is offline  
post #802 of 7482 Old 10-01-2003, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I just spoke to an engineer at the Albuquerque NBC station, KOBTV. The engineering department has been debating with the corporate leadership about when to upgrade to HD on KOB-DT. Their website still indicates no plans to do this; however, expect it to happen around May 2004.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #803 of 7482 Old 10-01-2003, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I feel next May 2004 is still too far off for our local to upgrade to high-def. I encourage all of you to send a letter to the station owner, Stanley Hubbard, and their attorneys (at end of letter). The following is a letter I sent last August to them. Go for it. Letters WORK.

Stanley Hubbard
Hubbard Broadcasting
3415 University Avenue
St. Paul, Minn. 55114

Dear Mr. Hubbard,

I have corresponded to you several times about your Albuquerque digital station KOB not transmitting the NBC network programming in high definition. For only a $50,000 investment on your part you could equip the KOB station with an mpeg decoder that would provide high definition capability to the Albuquerque market. You feel there is hardly anyone capable of receiving your digital transmissions to warrant the expenditure. As an interesting note, our local Ultimate Electronic's dealer said they are now selling more HD capable TVs than standard analog ones.

Well, I have some great news for you!!! Our local Comcast cable will, in two weeks, start transmitting our local high definition digital stations to its subscribers. So there will be about 130,000 people able to receive high definition digital programming. Our Comcast is planning on carrying our local ABC HD station, CBS HD station, PBS HD station and the FOX digital station. However, they have no plans on passing your KOB digital station because (as a Comcast employee said to me) it doesn't look good.

And for only for a $5 a month rental fee for the HD tuner anyone in the Albuquerque area can get the high definition digital local stations with just an added monthly basic cable fee. So for a small fee (without having to invest in an over-the-air HD tuner) an Albuquerque resident with a HD capable set will be able to enjoy our various network's programming in high definition.

I would think it would be great to have your digital station also included in the Comcast cable local line-up. I am sure NBC will be offering many more programs in high definition this fall. I would hate to see your station lag behind the other Albuquerque local stations.


Yours truly,

Fred Jerina

cc:
Leonard, Street and Deinard
150 South Fifth Street
Suite 2300
fjerina is offline  
post #804 of 7482 Old 10-02-2003, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The sound for CSI tonight, Thursday, Oct. 2, was distorted, sounded jerky. Did anyone else notice it?
fjerina is offline  
post #805 of 7482 Old 10-09-2003, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone cares for an ISF calibration, esp. on a Pioneer rptv, send me a pm as soon as possible. Dave Levy is coming to town later this month and is going to go through my 510. Thanks, Jerry
jerrich is offline  
post #806 of 7482 Old 10-11-2003, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Breaking News!!

KOAT-DT is showing our first local HDTV programing on Balloon Feasta and it's taped at night and looked raw feeds and unedited, to me with no ads at it all.

Can't tell if is 720p or 1080i format.

It's looked they stop sending HDTV feed as I typed.... 3:50pm "Might show more later"

It's now back to upconverted 480i feed of ABC's football covereges.

So keep eye on the channel tonight if they will send any more local HDTV feeds.

10-11-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is offline  
post #807 of 7482 Old 10-14-2003, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
UPN will start showing Star Trek Enterprise in HD starting Oct. 15. Isn't our local UPN station refusing to go HD??? If so, what a bummer.
fjerina is offline  
post #808 of 7482 Old 10-14-2003, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD?? I'd be happy(er) if they would even go STEREO! JR
jerrich is offline  
post #809 of 7482 Old 10-19-2003, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 48
KASA FOX 2 is doing the World Series in widescreen. The picture varies from pretty good to amazingly bad. Some of their cameras are terrible, with massive amounts of edge enhancement. Garbage in, garbage out.

THANKS KASA!! Looking forward to HD next year.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #810 of 7482 Old 10-19-2003, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
What network is covering this season's Super Bowl?

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off