Albuquerque, NM - HDTV - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 7467 Old 10-20-2003, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
CBS I think, ABC had the '03 game in HD, FOX did '02 in widescreen crapola. NBC does not participate in expensive sports productions.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 7467 Old 10-21-2003, 05:32 PM
Member
 
jcmartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Alamos, NM, USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Fox 480p widescreen is better than what we had! Thanks KASA! Now, only NBC needs to get off it's duff and support DT here in New Mexico.

Joe M.
jcmartz is offline  
post #813 of 7467 Old 10-21-2003, 05:38 PM
Newbie
 
Zozobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sometime this last weekend I stopped receiveing KRQE-DT. My signal strength is good (88) and it still recognizes the 13-1 designation. However, no picture and no complaint about weak signal.

All other DT channels come in (except 10-1 which is signal strength of 33 but I dont care).

Anyone notice first game of World Series on FOX was 16:9 and second was 4:3 for a while? Anyway 3rd is now back in 16:9.

Also, I keep getting KRQE-DT on channel 80-3 (although sometims its on 50-1). I have a lowpass filter on my input that blocks all channels over 58 so it really is not on channel 80-3. Weird.
Zozobra is offline  
post #814 of 7467 Old 10-23-2003, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hi Zozobra:

Samsung box? I think they have trouble with KRQE sometimes. Maybe someone else will chime in with better info.

KNME sometimes shows up as 80.3 because of the bogus PSIP data that PBS puts on the data stream. KNME has a box on order to strip out the wrong PSIP data and rebuild it correctly.

Joe:
I was browsing around KOB's site the other day (after launching a flame in their direction) and found the following:


.......We will return to full-time HDTV programming for central New Mexico in Summer 2004 with primetime programming and sports from NBC, including the 2004 Summer Olympic Games........

Think it could be true??

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #815 of 7467 Old 10-23-2003, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
What do they mean by "return" to HDTV?

Also, with KASA doing the Series in Widescreen, does this mean they will now broadcast more programmong the same way...Like "24"?

Hint, hint.....

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #816 of 7467 Old 10-23-2003, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
KOB brags that they were the first commercial station carrying HDTV in New Mexico. That only happened because some dedicated engineer BORROWED an encoder to do the winter olympics.

No word on KASA's plans. I sent email to management and engineering asking for more widescreen. No response.... Email addresses are on their web site - keep those emails flowing!

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #817 of 7467 Old 10-24-2003, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


That only happened because some dedicated engineer BORROWED an encoder to do the winter olympics.

I think Jim said that engineer has now moved on and doesn't even work there anymore. Too bad about ch.4. At least 7 and 13 are trying (but 13 sure needs a DD encoder so their audio would match their great video). Jerry
jerrich is offline  
post #818 of 7467 Old 10-28-2003, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I spoke with the programming person at KASA Fox2 today...She said they are now broadcasting Widescreen "High Resolution" TV when available from the network...

You probably saw that "24" was on in Widescreen.

They don't start broadcasting digital until 3PM daily, so no NFL morning game, though she said she would work on it.

Said she had just bought a new analog TV and wanted to know how the world series looked in Widescreen.

If more of these types had HDTV's, I bet there'd be a lot more HD programming available...

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #819 of 7467 Old 10-29-2003, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought 24 looked pretty good and I appreciated the widescreen, but it just whetted my appetite to see it in true HD. Hurry up Fox; and get DD 5.1 also. JR
jerrich is offline  
post #820 of 7467 Old 10-29-2003, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, is FOX broadcasting widescreen 480p material? What other programs on FOX other than 24 is being broadcast in widescreen?
fjerina is offline  
post #821 of 7467 Old 10-29-2003, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N5XZS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FOX does widescreen for NFL on sundays so check it out... 480p is little better then PAL video system "Mainly color spaces" BUT no where near HDTV 1080i quality IMHO....

Can't wait for 720p on FOX to come out sooner the better!!

Have fun!!

10-19-03

"73's N5XZS"
From Timothy C. Johnson
Live Long and Prosper...
N5XZS is online now  
post #822 of 7467 Old 10-29-2003, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Any Comcast subscribers here? You should ask them for KASA. It ain't HD, but it's not KOB KRAP either!!

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #823 of 7467 Old 10-29-2003, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I watched the new Norm McDonald show tonight...the credits said High Definition where available" but not here, not tonight.

As I said last post, I was told KASA would pass on whatever the network sent them in HD, so I don't know what's going on...

Maybe the solar flares...?

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #824 of 7467 Old 10-30-2003, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Was it widescreen? My understanding is that FOX can't send HD out to the affiliates yet.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #825 of 7467 Old 10-30-2003, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Norm was not wide screen. The World Series and 24 were.

It is 480p, not true High def, but what Fox calls "high resolution."

Still looks great, though, compared to SD.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #826 of 7467 Old 12-15-2003, 08:29 AM
Member
 
GarAlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone notice that the CBS HDTV channel has been pulled! I called and they said that the local affiliate made them do it for contract reasons. He said they don't know when it was coming back and no compensation on the HDTV package for the missing channel . Man, they better take care of this before the NFL playoffs!

On the plus side, he did also mention that they would be adding three new HDTV channels next month, although he couldn't tell me what they will be .
GarAlb is offline  
post #827 of 7467 Old 12-15-2003, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
KRQE is screwing up again !!!

All through tonight the control room is not switching back to the high-def mode after their local commercials. This is most irritating. Please, anyone receiving KRQE CBS HD from over-the-air, call the newroom at 243-2285 then extension 240 and ask to be connected to the control room if they don't connect you then ask them to forward a message to them telling them to get on the ball.
fjerina is offline  
post #828 of 7467 Old 12-21-2003, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanHouck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lake Chapala, old Mexico
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm mad as hell! No CBS High Def on Comcast with the playoffs coming. What can we do to raise cain about this?

My HT is an oldie but goodie!
DanHouck is offline  
post #829 of 7467 Old 12-21-2003, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanHouck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lake Chapala, old Mexico
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK people, it appears that good old KQRE is screwing the viewer again. THEY are the reason we lost our comcast HD. Obviously, this group is the logical one to scream bloody murder. I'm here to help out. We have one month to go before the superbowl.

My HT is an oldie but goodie!
DanHouck is offline  
post #830 of 7467 Old 12-21-2003, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I live in the East mountains and can barely see the towers, but I get CBS HD with an OTA tuner just fine.

If Comcast isn't doing CBS HD, get an OTA box...even if you return it after the Super Bowl. Unless you just can't pull in a signal, it's a no-brainer.

Incidentally, I called KRQE today about the Miami/Buffalo game, and was told they forgot to pull the switch, which they then did..

You're welcome...

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #831 of 7467 Old 12-29-2003, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
jeffpyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the response from KRQE to my complaint about the channel being pulled from Comcast's line-up.

Jeff
--------------------------
Comcast was taking the KRQE digital signal without our permission, and
charging customers for that signal. We have agreements with Comcast
and all of the other cable and satellite providers for our analog
signals, which grant concessions from those providers in terms of cash or
"must carry" rights.

Comcast believed that our digital signal was the same as our analog
signal, and that they had rights to that programming. This is not the
case, and as digital develops there may be additional channels available
from KRQE-DT.

Until an agreement is reached with Comcast, our digital and HD signals
are available, for free, on KRQE-DT channel 16.

We hope that an arrangement will be made in the very near future which
will allow us to grant Comcast the rights to KRQE-DT programming.

Thanks for your understanding,
Fred Woskoff

Fred Woskoff
Fred.Woskoff@KRQE.com
jeffpyn is offline  
post #832 of 7467 Old 12-29-2003, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanHouck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lake Chapala, old Mexico
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff, I got much the same from Fred Woskoff. I corresponded back to him and he admitted Comcast's position is based on their contract which requires them to carry ALL KRQE signals.

Don't see any possibililty we'll get the Superbowl in HD except OTA. I'm planning on digging out my SRT150 and hooking it up for that game.

I think this is complete BS. To start with, the DTV signal is Federally mandated and the fact there are two signals right now is only because of the transition period. Content DOES matter and the content is the same. I hope Comcast screws KRQE to the wall for breach of contract. But in the mean time we're screwed.

My HT is an oldie but goodie!
DanHouck is offline  
post #833 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Abq NM
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if this is coming from higher up the food chain, because I just read of a similar situation over on ***************. Another CBS station yanked their digital signal from the cable co. for lack of payment, and claimed it was normal for cable co.s to pay for extra programming. Hmmm.
Anyone in contact with Fred, ask him when they are going to get a DD 5.1 encoder so their audio will match their great video. JR
jerrich is offline  
post #834 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanHouck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lake Chapala, old Mexico
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good question, Jerrich. What I can't figure out is how the stations think they are providing "extra" programming?

My HT is an oldie but goodie!
DanHouck is offline  
post #835 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Fred says Comcast is charging their customers for the signal. From what I've heard, that's not true. If you have limited basic cable you get the local HD broadcasts if you have a TV with a QAM tuner or if you rent the box from Comcast. Digital tier is not required to get the locals, you only need the box.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is offline  
post #836 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Osoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not free. When I signed up for Comcast HD, I had to rent the box (SA3100HD) and that costs me $5 a month more than the regular box.
Osoman is offline  
post #837 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 167
While I don't have a dog in this fight (I get digital OTA), and I do sympathize with those that lost their KRQE HD feed from Comcast, I have to ask why anyone thinks that KRQE should be passing this on the Comcast for free?

While it might help them to get more eyeballs looking at the HD broadcasts (which someday may allow them to charge more for advertising), the amount of money they had to spend to go digital must have been astounding.

And then someone takes that, and uses it to charge more to their subscribers? Sorry, but I don't see KRQE as a villain here.

And in case anyone is confused there is NOTHING in the law that says they had to go HD, only that they had to go digital. We should all be thankful to ANY station that has gone full HD, as they did.

Comcast is using the investment that our local stations have made to provide a competitive advantage over satellite, AND to charge more for it. I fully support KRQE on this.

BGL
BGLeduc is online now  
post #838 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
the q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Collegeville, PA
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD broadcast channels are free with Comcast.

Equipment needed to receive these channels at your home is not free. A modest $5.00/month equipment fee to receive the "free" signals.

Does CBS or your local station get a cut of every OTA HD receiver that is sold?

The Q
the q is offline  
post #839 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanHouck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lake Chapala, old Mexico
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First, going HD is part of going digital and they are required to go digital.

Second, there is NO NEW programming. Only a temporary dual signal until analog is turned off. On that day, will KRQE expect to collect less from Comcast? I seriously doubt it.

Third, for every HD viewer that KRQE might access via OTA, they could probably access 10 times as many via cable because the hookup is simple and cheap.

I paid over $300 for my HD tuner. The standard digital cable box is maybe a $100 item. Seems reasonable to me to charge for the more expensive box. They are adding more HD channels but the box charge will not change. So how are they charging for the channels?

KRQE is being greedy and shortsighted. HD could bring them more viewers and hence more ad revenue. That's where they make their money, not nickel and dimeing the cable companies.

BTW, why hasn't KOAT been similarly stupid? Maybe this is why they are the #1 station in our market and KRQE is a distant third, reduced often to running "paid programming" better known as infomercials.

Sorry, BGL, your argument doesn't wash. KRQE is hurting everyone in our area who wants to advance HDTV.

My HT is an oldie but goodie!
DanHouck is offline  
post #840 of 7467 Old 12-30-2003, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BGLeduc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:


Sorry, BGL, your argument doesn't wash.

Do you work for Comcast or something?

My arguments wash just fine, thanks. They are well reasoned, and accurate. You just don't happen to agree with them.

I suppose I would be pretty pissed if I bought something from someone, only to find out later that one of those items was claimed by its owner to be stolen.

Or, in easier terms to understand, your a kid with a lolly pop, suddenly yanked from your mouth because the rightful owner feels that he was not compensated for it. That would make for one whiny kid, to be sure.

But moving right along, let me make a few more points, before I back out of this. Like I said, I have no dog in this fight. And you are not going to be buying in to any of these facts anyway.

Quote:


First, going HD is part of going digital and they are required to go digital.

Wrong.

There are many formats (I want to say 18, but am not 100% sure of that number) defined for digital transmission. There is nothing that I am aware that compels a station to go HD (720P or 1080i). Don't feel bad. This mistake is made in many A/V publications as well.

Of course, if this is wrong, and all stations ARE required to go HD, someone can chime in and let me know so I can correct my facts. And that will mean that KOB, KASA, UPN, and the WB had best get on the stick.

And, do you think it costs the same to go HD digital as SD digital? If so, why have only 13, 7, and 5 gone HD? They have made a business decision that there will be a payoff for doing so, at some indeterminate point in the future.

Quote:


KRQE is being greedy and shortsighted. HD could bring them more viewers and hence more ad revenue. That's where they make their money, not nickel and dimeing the cable companies.

Well, lets look at if from their point of view. The government puts a gun to their head, saying they must go digital (not HD, as I said before, just digital) by a certain date. They go above and beyond, and go HD.

Are they able to get one penny more in ad revenue to do that? Not today, and not back when they turned on their digital transmitters. They are forced to make the transition before there are any significant numbers of viewers, thus no additional ad dollars. And as you said, thats where the money comes from.

So, whatever that costs, and I would wager its in the 100's of thousands of dollars, if not millions, thats money for which there will be NO payback in the foreseeable future.

Sound like a good way to run a business to you?

Now, I am in agreement with you that they would get more viewers if they made nice with Comcast, but they have made a business decision that they feel is correct for them. And really, how many more viewers? Enough to matter? And really, how many of the viewers are NEW eyeballs? Let me answer that for you. Nada. Zip. Squat.

No one that is not currently a KRQE viewer is going to become a KRQE viewer because they are available in HD on Comcast.

So as an advertiser, does that make you want to pay more for your ads?

Quote:


KRQE is hurting everyone in our area who wants to advance HDTV.

Humm, thats an interesting point of view. One of three stations that have been LEADERS in the digital transition by virtue of going HD long before there were more than a few hunderd viewers, is HURTING the transition?

Lets compare that to what cable in general has done to advance the transition. They have fought tooth and nail to NOT have to carry any digital stations. They fought tooth and nail to NOT support a true plug and play standard.

Only when they started loosing viewership to satellite, along with some much needed bullying from the FCC, did they finally come around.

I challenge you to review ANY article published in any A/V publication over the last several years that talks about the pace of the transition. Virtually ALL of them site the cable industry as the #1 most serious impediment to the digital transition.

To be sure, the broadcasters are also in line for their share of brick bats on the subject, but then again, if someone told me I had to spend millions of dollars for something for which there will be zero ROI in the foreseeable future, then I would probably drag my feet too.

So, its a bad deal for everyone that KRQE and Comcast are not in agreement on what the cost should be for the digital signal. I am sure that they will sort it out sooner or later, and we can get back to more important matters. But in the meantime, you need to really look at the big picture.

HD is a gift from heaven from the broadcasters. They didn't have to do it, but we should be thankful that they did.

BGL
BGLeduc is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off