Reno, NV - HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 685 Old 06-25-2004, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SvenTheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to find people in Reno who have attempeted to recieve KOLO-DT in the Reno-Spark area. I have been trying for several months to get the station to lock to no avale. I don't know if the station is having problems or not but thought I would see if anyone else is having problems.

SvenTheGoose
SvenTheGoose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 685 Old 07-13-2004, 12:57 PM
Member
 
JoshG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get KOLO just fine. Their HD feed is nice. Only thing I can't seem to get is FOX.
JoshG is offline  
post #3 of 685 Old 07-13-2004, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SvenTheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you don't mind my asking, what area of town are you in?
SvenTheGoose is offline  
post #4 of 685 Old 07-28-2004, 02:26 PM
Member
 
thescrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sven, I get it fine. I'm down in the Double Diamond area.

WD-73727
Denon 5805
B&W 604 s3 (x2)
B&W LCR600 s3
B&W 602 s3 (x4)
SVS PC-Plus
Denon 3910
JVC HM-DH30000U
thescrub is offline  
post #5 of 685 Old 07-28-2004, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SvenTheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you just using a generic UHF/VHF antenna?
SvenTheGoose is offline  
post #6 of 685 Old 07-30-2004, 08:27 AM
Member
 
thescrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using two antennas linked together. I couldn't get all the channels with a single antenna without a rotor. I have a channel master 4221 pointed at the stations in the north and the Winegard 'Ghost Killer' VHF/UHF Television Antenna pointed at the stations to the south. They are mounted in the attic and i am not using a pre-amp. I used a VHF/UHF Splitter/Combiner from Radio Shack to combine them, the 4221 going to the UHF side. The only station i have any trouble with is KREN 27 because they keep shutting down. When they are up i get them.

WD-73727
Denon 5805
B&W 604 s3 (x2)
B&W LCR600 s3
B&W 602 s3 (x4)
SVS PC-Plus
Denon 3910
JVC HM-DH30000U
thescrub is offline  
post #7 of 685 Old 08-28-2004, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone out there in the Reno, Nevada, North Valleys area (specifically, just off the Red Rock exit) having any luck pulling in channels 2/4/8-DTV/HDTV from Slide Mountain OTA?

With Peavine right in my back yard, it would be nice to know whether it's even possible to get reception before I plunk down money on a big antenna and preamp. Any success/failure stories welcome...

TIA,

Dan

Don't you wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness," but it don't work.
ÂGallagher
danco is offline  
post #8 of 685 Old 08-29-2004, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NVboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by danco
Anyone out there in the Reno, Nevada, North Valleys area (specifically, just off the Red Rock exit) having any luck pulling in channels 2/4/8-DTV/HDTV from Slide Mountain OTA?

With Peavine right in my back yard, it would be nice to know whether it's even possible to get reception before I plunk down money on a big antenna and preamp. Any success/failure stories welcome...

TIA,

Dan

Dan,

It might be to your benefit to start an "unofficial Reno, NV thread." I know a few of my friends have HDTV there, but I doubt they have ever heard of this forum. There may be others out there who do frequent this forum in Reno, but don't have the gumption to create a thread themselves.

Suburbia: where trees are cut down and streets are named after them.
Flickr photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nvsteve/sets/
NVboy is offline  
post #9 of 685 Old 09-01-2004, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you can see the transmitting antenna with a pair of binoculars, you should have no problem. I've emailed the Reno stations before and they seem to be pretty helpful.
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #10 of 685 Old 09-01-2004, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the problem is I can't see the transmitters, not even if the Hubble telescope were sitting in my back yard!

I went to Solid Signal's web site and filled out their help request form. There advice is a Channel Master 3020 with a pre-amp. With the kind of winds we get here, a 15 foot long x 9 foot wide TV antenna wouldn't last a week.

Sigh...

Dan

Don't you wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness," but it don't work.
ÂGallagher
danco is offline  
post #11 of 685 Old 09-02-2004, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since channel 8 is broadcast analog from the same location, you could use that to test with a small antenna to see how well the signal reaches your house before attempting a bigger antenna.
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #12 of 685 Old 09-02-2004, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With my Terk dish wrap-around antenna (I know, I know...), I can get Ch 4 with snow but good sound, Ch 8 with heavy snow and broken-up audio, and Ch 2 not at all. All three of these come up as "No Signal" on the digital channels. Fox I get great, seeing as I'm about a mile north of their tower...

I guess I'll check out garage sales and see if I can come up with an cheap antenna for testing.

I also may drive around the neighborhood looking for antennas, and ask the owners how their reception is...

Dan

Don't you wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness," but it don't work.
ÂGallagher
danco is offline  
post #13 of 685 Old 09-07-2004, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOLO channel 9 is broadcasting with less power than 7 or 13. They have requested from the FCC to broadcast with more power, but things don't look too hopeful. They will also be upgrading their antenna next summer, which should help.
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #14 of 685 Old 09-07-2004, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You may want to look into getting a VHF high band specific antenna, since I assume those are the only channels you are interested in. That way you will have better gain for the given size.
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #15 of 685 Old 09-07-2004, 02:43 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Threads Merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #16 of 685 Old 09-09-2004, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed KTVN to tell them I was having trouble getting their signal. They sent a crew out with portable TV and antenna. They took a look at my setup and suggested some changes. Talks about service.
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #17 of 685 Old 09-11-2004, 07:36 AM
Member
 
jerryhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fallon, NV
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved to Fallon from the Bay area, is what direction are the OTA stations and does anyone think I can pick them up in Fallon, I would be abl to use an outdoor antenna on a high mast and a rotor.
jerryhb is offline  
post #18 of 685 Old 09-11-2004, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jerryhb
I just moved to Fallon from the Bay area, is what direction are the OTA stations and does anyone think I can pick them up in Fallon, I would be abl to use an outdoor antenna on a high mast and a rotor.

A quick check of www.antennaweb.org shows that ABC, NBC, and CBS are to west-southwest (on Slide Mountain between Reno and Carson City). Looks like FOX and PBS have translators to the northeast of Fallon.

Check that site and plug in your real address (I used the Fallon Auto Mall's address, since I knew where they are). It will give you aiming information and antenna size suggestions.

Dan

Don't you wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness," but it don't work.
ÂGallagher
danco is offline  
post #19 of 685 Old 09-12-2004, 10:50 AM
Member
 
jerryhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fallon, NV
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Danco, but I am looking for the HD signals and the local translators I believe are analog only. It appears that Charter will not be getting Fox , TNT, or NBC HD in the near future. I am not a big fan of Direct tv for HD delivery.
jerryhb is offline  
post #20 of 685 Old 09-17-2004, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I turned on my TV this morning to find KRNV-DT (NBC) finally started broadcasting in 1080i.
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #21 of 685 Old 09-28-2004, 11:38 PM
Member
 
jerryhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fallon, NV
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bears post noted KRNV in HD, I sent an email to KRNV and they comfimed the HD OTA and on Charter 784, however Charter knows nothing about this(Both the CSR in WA. and at the local office in Fallon) any body help?
jerryhb is offline  
post #22 of 685 Old 10-03-2004, 12:03 PM
Member
 
BigTVSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Carson City, NV (gave up on SoCal)
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
DTV Reception just north of Carson City

I have a house about 4 miles north of Carson City (Lakeview area). Using an indoor Silver Sensor antenna and an LG LST-3510 receiver, I get good reception of 4 DTV stations:
Channels 2, 5, 8, and 21. When I tried a Radio Shack RS 15-1880 amplified indoor antenna, I only had marginal reception of Channel 2.

Due to my location, I can only receive indirect (multipath) signals, but the LG receiver is very good at dealing with this. What type of equipment and reception do others in this area have?
BigTVSteve is offline  
post #23 of 685 Old 10-04-2004, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BigTVSteve,

I live in about the center of Incline and have a Radio Shack VU-90 XR in my attic and Dish 811. I can only get frequencies 7 and 9 (channels 4 and 2), with occasional dropouts at that. NBC takes a while to lock. I understand the LG is superior to the 811. Do you get any dropouts?
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #24 of 685 Old 10-05-2004, 12:43 AM
Member
 
BigTVSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Carson City, NV (gave up on SoCal)
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
With the Silver Sensor pointed correctly, I have almost no dropouts with the LG LST-3510. It is much better in this regard than the Samsung T151 receiver that I have also used with the exact same antenna setup and wiring at the Carson City house.

I have also tried a Samsung T151 to LG LST-3510 receiver comparison (using the same two receivers) in the San Diego area. The LST-3510 is just much more sensitive and deals with multipath and changing signal level issues much better, too. It does not work very well with a 4x3 format Panasonic HDTV (PT53HX40) that I have in San Diego. The Samsung receiver has much better aspect controls support for the 4x3 display formats in both SD and HD picture modes.

I was thinking of getting a Dish Network subscription with a couple of their 811 receivers, but I am a little nervous about the OTA sensitivity of the 811 and whether or not the Dish Network picture on regular NTSC signals would be satisfactory on a >50 inch diagonal TV.

I recently bought my 3510 receiver at the Best Buy in Carson City; the Reno BB was out of stock on the same unit.
BigTVSteve is offline  
post #25 of 685 Old 10-07-2004, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NV
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
and I'm a D* user (get all three sats through a gap in the trees) and my OTA reception is no LOS w/ Slide (again a gap in the treeline) and get 2-1 at signal level 72, 4-1 at signal level 100 and 8-1 at 100 too. I can move the antenna a few ft one direction or the other (a Schneider model HM15DC) and my reciever (Toshiba DST-3000) will pick up none, one or those three. I'm in close to Slide (about 3.4 miles) so it can be done around here. I'm still trying to get the FOX channel. Any one know when they will start broadcasting HD?
rotohead is offline  
post #26 of 685 Old 10-07-2004, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #27 of 685 Old 10-08-2004, 05:05 PM
Member
 
dsclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Carson, near the cemetary. Using a 3510 (purchased as "open shelf " from CC for $329 last month), I get 2.1 , 4.1 and 8.1.
I wish I could get fox, but even with the analog signal, it looks like a bunch of snow with a hint of signal. Oh, I am using a big 'old roof top antenna.
Watch out for those Dish 811 boxes- I've read LOTS of complaints about them on other forums, very heated.

Also, watch out for VOOM. I had VOOM for 28 days ,last March and never got locals as promised. To this day, I have yet to see my $423 refund for equipment. That's right, I paid $423 for their wretched box, took them up on their written promise of a $ back guarantee and an installer picked up the box last April. Problem is, they won't refund my $! They have told me it's in the mail, it'll be credited to my card,someone will call me back in four days, ...nothing.
Their latest retorts are "We'll expedite this" and "We'll send it up to a higher level". The result? Nothing! Others have had similar problems. Stay away from VOOM!
Yes, I have contacted my credit card. However, they can always tell me to pound sand and eat the charge. Also, they are not going after the $50 charge made to Sears for the installation certificate.
dsclark is offline  
post #28 of 685 Old 10-08-2004, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
the_bear89451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dsclark
[b]Yes, I have contacted my credit card. /B]

It sounds like you did not make a written complaint to your credit card company within the 60 day period. Here is some advice:
Send a certified letter of demand to Voom.
If you do not receive a refund in 30 days file in small claims.
the_bear89451 is offline  
post #29 of 685 Old 10-08-2004, 08:08 PM
Member
 
dsclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Easier said than done. Voom told me that it would take 6-8 weeks to get my $ back. Also, small claims isn't an option, it can't be used for out of state entities.
dsclark is offline  
post #30 of 685 Old 10-09-2004, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NV
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by the_bear89451
Here are some useful links:
......
(won't let me post links until I'm older...)

Thanks for the info. That answered almost all my questions as a fairly new Reno resident. Any idea when Fox and others might be added to the Charter local lineup? Only interested in the local HD as I have a basic analog feed and now am looking for a HD tuner that is QAM capable. Any ideas? Where are these available in Reno/Sparks. Thanks.
rotohead is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off