Youngstown, OH - HDTV - Page 65 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1921 of 1958 Old 08-18-2013, 02:12 AM
Senior Member
 
salemtubes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Salem, Ohio
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcore Legend View Post

has anyone noticed a considerable framerate issue with WKBN HD and WYFX HD? They both seems to be coming through at an unnatural frame rate.

Yes, both have been horrible.
salemtubes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1922 of 1958 Old 08-18-2013, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The frame rate problem has been more noticeable for me with WYFX SD on WKBN HD2, vs. WKBN HD1. I can't get WYFX-LD over here for obvious reasons.
Inundated is online now  
post #1923 of 1958 Old 08-24-2013, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
seansich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.

I live on the West side of Youngstown right by Lanterman Mill. I have a terrible time picking up Fox HD. Right now I have internal antennas. Neither one seems to work. I know before that the signal used to be iffy, but it has never been this bad. you can help, I would appreciate it.
seansich is offline  
post #1924 of 1958 Old 08-26-2013, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansich View Post

Hello.

I live on the West side of Youngstown right by Lanterman Mill. I have a terrible time picking up Fox HD. Right now I have internal antennas. Neither one seems to work. I know before that the signal used to be iffy, but it has never been this bad. you can help, I would appreciate it.

Is WYFX-LD even on? I thought it was having problems.
Inundated is online now  
post #1925 of 1958 Old 08-26-2013, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
seansich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post

Is WYFX-LD even on? I thought it was having problems.

Well maybe that's why I can't get it in. I am just so frustrated with it. I literally you live 1 and a half miles away from there towers, so there is no reason why I shouldn't be getting the signal. Unless, of course, the station is down.
seansich is offline  
post #1926 of 1958 Old 08-27-2013, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansich View Post

Well maybe that's why I can't get it in. I am just so frustrated with it. I literally you live 1 and a half miles away from there towers, so there is no reason why I shouldn't be getting the signal. Unless, of course, the station is down.

Call up WKBN-TV and ask them (they run WYFX and now also WYTV).
Inundated is online now  
post #1927 of 1958 Old 08-27-2013, 07:32 AM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post

Is WYFX-LD even on? I thought it was having problems.

It's on. I'm 6 miles south of the WKBN tower. Signal strength is about normal for them.
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1928 of 1958 Old 08-27-2013, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vchat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does WYFX-LD transmit off the Y-Town tower farm? For some reason I was under the impression it was in the same place as when it was analog which was somewhere in PA?

Vchat20 is online now  
post #1929 of 1958 Old 08-28-2013, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least one other person told me that WYFX-LD was off. Maybe it's back on again.

Location: FCC data puts it on the WKBN-TV tower.

That's probably the same place WYFX-LP 62 was. You're thinking of WFXI-CA, the "17" part of the old "Fox 17/62", which was licensed to Mercer PA.

That went silent some time back, so the 62 in Youngstown - now converted to digital RF 19 - has been the only signal for a while now.
Inundated is online now  
post #1930 of 1958 Old 09-10-2013, 05:06 PM
Member
 
dsheldon3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Youngstown Westside
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a horrible time getting anything over the air tonight in youngstown.Usually I get all the channels in without any problems but tonight it is hopeless no matter where I put my antenna.
dsheldon3 is offline  
post #1931 of 1958 Old 09-18-2013, 07:43 PM
Member
 
dleising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone having trouble with WYFX-LD? I used to have it on lock until late last week and now I don't get it anymore. I didn't change my antenna setup at all either...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
dleising is offline  
post #1932 of 1958 Old 09-19-2013, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleising View Post

Anyone having trouble with WYFX-LD? I used to have it on lock until late last week and now I don't get it anymore. I didn't change my antenna setup at all either...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free


I'm getting it, but signal is way low like it's on low power or something.
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1933 of 1958 Old 09-22-2013, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was just on zap2it.com looking at TV listings and noticed they have a WKBN 27.3 listing. Currently the program listings for 27.3 is "sign off". Does anyone know anything about this sub-channel or what might air on it? I heard something a while back that LIN Media was planning on putting TheCoolTV on one of their Youngstown O&O stations.

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1934 of 1958 Old 09-23-2013, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
since LIN pulled TheCoolTv from their 4 or 5 stations that they had it on about a month or so ago I doubt they would readd it
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1935 of 1958 Old 09-25-2013, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On both the antenna and on Comcast, WKBN/WYTV/WYFX have been horrible signal wise. Very glitchy, often time with drops.

How is this trio of stations always such a problem?
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1936 of 1958 Old 09-25-2013, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcore Legend View Post

On both the antenna and on Comcast, WKBN/WYTV/WYFX have been horrible signal wise. Very glitchy, often time with drops.

How is this trio of stations always such a problem?
Are you talking about compression artifacts or problems with the microwave link from the studio? Dropouts could also be master control related. When did you first notice the glitchyness?

FYI: WKBN, WYTV and WYFX are all owned by LIN Media, formally owned by New Vision.

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1937 of 1958 Old 09-28-2013, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post

Are you talking about compression artifacts or problems with the microwave link from the studio? Dropouts could also be master control related. When did you first notice the glitchyness?

FYI: WKBN, WYTV and WYFX are all owned by LIN Media, formally owned by New Vision.

There are two things going on here.

1) the FOX sports broadcast (MLB in particular) appear to be in the wrong framerate. The games have a 'film' look to them that did not exist at the beginning of the year nor do they exist on WPGH either.

2) all 3 of these stations, WKBN, WYTV and WYFX are 'glitching' on both Comcast cable and antenna in HD. Tonight, for example, the Ohio State game keeps jumping ahead 2 seconds and does so every few minutes or so. On WKBN or WYFX, you get a 'glitch' look occasionally in the middle-to-top part of the screen as if you were watching it on antenna and your signal was slightly disrupted.

WYFX has been a mess all summer. Luckily, I've been able to get the Pittsburgh feed which has given a better presentation. My favorite was the MLB ASG in which WYFX featured a slow burn of death in which segments of the game were stuck on repeat like a Vine, only to have the quality degrade each time until the whole thing looked like it was melting into lava. That, coupled with these 3 stations continually returning to programming 3 to 7 seconds too late because of either an inability by them to properly pre-program their advertising or a cheap attempt to squeeze more in to make more money...it makes for an unpleasant viewing experience.

Thank goodness for adjacent viewing markets.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1938 of 1958 Old 09-28-2013, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sounds like both problems are related. My understanding is since the frame rate isn't as fast as it should be, the equipment/decoder is probably trying to update/buffer the image to the latest frame every few seconds, resulting in the jump. The glitchy image could also be related. I have to hook up my Youngstown antenna and take a look for myself. I can't get WYFX, so analyzing it on WKBN 27.2 maybe difficult due to the extreme compression.

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1939 of 1958 Old 10-08-2013, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Last Thursday was a real treat. WKBN began showing the Big Bang Theory with only the laugh track for audio. They finally figured it out 3 minutes into the show, only to have intermittent problems through out the broadcast. About 10 minutes in, my wife and I just gave up and waited for it to be on demand the next day. I'm sure WKBN's advertisers would be thrilled to hear viewers are turning off their programming because of bad presentation.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1940 of 1958 Old 10-12-2013, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another great night on WYFX. ALCS Game 1 was full of glitches and repeating frames, missing parts of the action and making the game less enjoyable to watch.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1941 of 1958 Old 10-20-2013, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
OK, I took a look at WYFX on 27.2 yesterday and the picture was shuddering along with some interlacing artifacts. (The movie Holes was on at the time). Have you contacted the station and let them know about the problem?

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1942 of 1958 Old 10-22-2013, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, I have not contacted them which I guess I should fault myself. I would think that over the last month (plus) of it being severely hampered, they would have noticed the problems with their transmission.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1943 of 1958 Old 10-22-2013, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also, I just discovered that there is a WJW translator in Salem that was built/was supposed to be built to boost that signal in the area. Did it ever go on-line? If so, where do you have to be to pick it up?
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1944 of 1958 Old 10-23-2013, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcore Legend View Post

Also, I just discovered that there is a WJW translator in Salem that was built/was supposed to be built to boost that signal in the area. Did it ever go on-line? If so, where do you have to be to pick it up?
WJW translator 1 (RF46)
WJW translator 2 (RF21)

Both these repeaters have been in the FCC's database for a couple years already. To my knowledge, none of them haven't been put on air yet. Likely reason is that WJW is still waiting for FCC approval to move back to pre-transition RF31. If the FCC denies their request to move back, then maybe these repeaters will go on the air.

HD Radio: An Audiophile's Worst Nightmare.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1945 of 1958 Old 10-25-2013, 05:27 PM
Member
 
fmcomputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same problem here for a long time, and I am only 3.0 miles from the station.. Getting very tired of this station.
fmcomputer is offline  
post #1946 of 1958 Old 10-27-2013, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Game 3 of the World Series featured a bunch of visual errors, not to mention the fact that they 're-ran' a commercial break in the middle of the pregame. At least these guys are consistent.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1947 of 1958 Old 01-06-2014, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WYTV was always rock solid when they went to 1000 watts. Now it's breaks up or I can't receive it at all
Has anyone else had any problems?




Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #1948 of 1958 Old 01-08-2014, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solid reception but I'm only 10 miles from all the Youngstown towers. But I'm finding reception of weak DTV signals can either break or be fixed by changing seasons. Even in my house with an indoor antenna on my kitchen TV what was solid in the summer didn't work in the fall. Sometimes for a few months I get a station I never get then when the season changes it gets flaky again.
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1949 of 1958 Old 01-08-2014, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freekick123 View Post

Solid reception but I'm only 10 miles from all the Youngstown towers. But I'm finding reception of weak DTV signals can either break or be fixed by changing seasons. Even in my house with an indoor antenna on my kitchen TV what was solid in the summer didn't work in the fall. Sometimes for a few months I get a station I never get then when the season changes it gets flaky again.



Its always been around 70-75 %.............

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #1950 of 1958 Old 01-15-2014, 01:05 AM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe they reduced their power output.


Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off