Youngstown, OH - HDTV - Page 66 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1951 of 1980 Old 01-15-2014, 01:05 AM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe they reduced their power output.


Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1952 of 1980 Old 01-15-2014, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe they reduced their power output.


Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #1953 of 1980 Old 07-15-2014, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another bang-up job by WYFX on the MLB All-Star Game. Third year in a row they've had serious signal problems at some point in the broadcast.

I wish someone would buy the FOX affiliate and not try to do this thing on the cheap. The 19.1 channel is so turned down now, I am unable to get my indoor TVs to tune it after it was coming in at full strength 2 months ago. I hope local business stop investing their advertising dollars in this organization.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1954 of 1980 Old 07-17-2014, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I was getting WYFX on WKBN 27.2. Can't get 19.1 over here.
Inundated is offline  
post #1955 of 1980 Old 08-11-2014, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On September 1st, WTOV will be adding Wheeling's FOX affiliate as a subchannel. I get this signal from Steubenville stronger than the spotty Youngstown 19.1.

Hopefully, WTOV provides that sub-channel as a HD signal.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1956 of 1980 Old 08-28-2014, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcore Legend View Post
On September 1st, WTOV will be adding Wheeling's FOX affiliate as a subchannel. I get this signal from Steubenville stronger than the spotty Youngstown 19.1.

Hopefully, WTOV provides that sub-channel as a HD signal.


Fox Ohio Valley (which is a sub channel of WTRF) will be replaced with FOX9, on 9.2. And as soon as all the equipment is installed it will be HD. Hopefully on 9/1, or very soon after that. Both over the air and cable. The equipment has improved to make this possible. Over the air sets will have to re-scan to get this though.

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #1957 of 1980 Old 09-02-2014, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox 9 is in HD OTA 720P but on directv it's standard definition 480I. Looks terrible
7 is still broadcasting fox in standard definition
480i.


Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Tom
firemantom26 is offline  
post #1958 of 1980 Old 09-04-2014, 01:43 AM
Senior Member
 
firemantom26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wintersville Ohio
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Youngstown, OH - HDTV

Update
WTOV FOX 9 is broadcasting SD on Directv. WTRF OTA has removed FOX and has now CBS HD and MyTV and ABC 480i.

Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk

Tom

Last edited by firemantom26; 09-10-2014 at 11:25 AM.
firemantom26 is offline  
post #1959 of 1980 Old 11-12-2014, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Hardcore Legend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just realized that WYFX has been broadcasting with a random black bar at the top of their picture for over a year now. Most TVs you won't notice it on, but comparing pictures of the same broadcasts from two different FOX affiliates clearly shows there is a black mask of about 20 pixels at the top of the screen.
Hardcore Legend is offline  
post #1960 of 1980 Old 11-13-2014, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcore Legend View Post
Just realized that WYFX has been broadcasting with a random black bar at the top of their picture for over a year now. Most TVs you won't notice it on, but comparing pictures of the same broadcasts from two different FOX affiliates clearly shows there is a black mask of about 20 pixels at the top of the screen.
Huh! I had to set my LG to "JUST SCAN" to see it, but it's there. Usually I leave it on "SET BY PROGRAM" to take advantage of AFD.
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1961 of 1980 Old 11-15-2014, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is this on 19.1? Haven't noticed it on 27.2/SD.
Inundated is offline  
post #1962 of 1980 Old 11-24-2014, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcore Legend View Post
Just realized that WYFX has been broadcasting with a random black bar at the top of their picture for over a year now. Most TVs you won't notice it on, but comparing pictures of the same broadcasts from two different FOX affiliates clearly shows there is a black mask of about 20 pixels at the top of the screen.
The image is probably off-centered on that channel. (Shifted downward). I remember WEWS was like that years ago before the transition, but their image was shifted up, revealing a thin black bar on the bottom of my HDTV. The bar was clearly visible even with over-scan enabled and the top of people's heads were being cut off.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1963 of 1980 Old 01-22-2015, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Weird question, but I'm in W. PA and closer to Youngstown, OH than Pittsburgh, PA. I have my indoor antenna pointed towards Youngstown stations and pick up WPGH FOX 53.1. I was under the impresson that was a Pittsburgh broadcast tower. Just wondering how I'm picking it up with a directional antenna. It's not terribly consistant like the other Youngstown stations.
metalsaber is offline  
post #1964 of 1980 Old 01-23-2015, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
Weird question, but I'm in W. PA and closer to Youngstown, OH than Pittsburgh, PA. I have my indoor antenna pointed towards Youngstown stations and pick up WPGH FOX 53.1. I was under the impresson that was a Pittsburgh broadcast tower. Just wondering how I'm picking it up with a directional antenna. It's not terribly consistant like the other Youngstown stations.
You didn't say exactly where in western PA, but WPGH has a pretty strong signal. It's entirely possible you're picking it up off a lobe or the back of the antenna. Even directional antennas can receive off the back if the signal is strong enough.
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1965 of 1980 Old 01-23-2015, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
Weird question, but I'm in W. PA and closer to Youngstown, OH than Pittsburgh, PA. I have my indoor antenna pointed towards Youngstown stations and pick up WPGH FOX 53.1. I was under the impresson that was a Pittsburgh broadcast tower. Just wondering how I'm picking it up with a directional antenna. It's not terribly consistant like the other Youngstown stations.
Go to TVFool.com, type in your address, and see what NM it gives you for WPGH (RF channel 43, virtual 53). I'm curious. Maybe you just live in a good area for WPGH. Here in Akron, I usually see KDKA and WPMY appear before WPGH when tropo is ideal.
Andrew K is offline  
post #1966 of 1980 Old 01-23-2015, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freekick123 View Post
You didn't say exactly where in western PA, but WPGH has a pretty strong signal. It's entirely possible you're picking it up off a lobe or the back of the antenna. Even directional antennas can receive off the back if the signal is strong enough.
Between new castle and slippery rock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
Go to TVFool.com, type in your address, and see what NM it gives you for WPGH (RF channel 43, virtual 53). I'm curious. Maybe you just live in a good area for WPGH. Here in Akron, I usually see KDKA and WPMY appear before WPGH when tropo is ideal.
-11.7
metalsaber is offline  
post #1967 of 1980 Old 01-23-2015, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
Between new castle and slippery rock



-11.7
Apparently the -11.7 noise margin isn't accurate if you're receiving WPGH with an indoor antenna. I didn't see any repeaters for WPGH in the FCC database either. I receive WYTV even with a noise margin of -17.8 according to TVFool.com, but I'm using a highly directional roof-mounted antenna which has enough gain to at least bring in the signals that drop a little bit below a zero noise margin. But I was still surprised to receive WYTV with such a low noise margin. The TVFool results don't always seem that accurate. Signals are unpredictable. Perhaps the signal rays are overlapping as they diffract over the terrain and arrive at your antenna. This website I've found to be very interesting... http://www.hdtvprimer.com/antennas/siting.html
Andrew K is offline  
post #1968 of 1980 Old 01-24-2015, 04:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,901
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 163
So I think I found the right angle for my antenna. It's a very small margin of where it has signal and doesn't. It comes it pretty good. Unfortunately I lost my abc channel reception in order to get fox. Though I watch more fox programs so it's an ok trade off.
metalsaber is offline  
post #1969 of 1980 Old 02-15-2015, 11:27 AM
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if 33.1 changed anything? Out of the blue about a month or so ago I just completely lost the signal to 33.1.. My other locals work just fine and I didn't adjust my antenna or anything..

Thanks
tbird2340 is offline  
post #1970 of 1980 Old 02-15-2015, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbird2340 View Post
Anyone know if 33.1 changed anything? Out of the blue about a month or so ago I just completely lost the signal to 33.1.. My other locals work just fine and I didn't adjust my antenna or anything..

Thanks
Did the signal strength for any of the other channels degrade when you lost WYTV? If so, the balum on the antenna could be bad.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1971 of 1980 Old 02-16-2015, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbird2340 View Post
Anyone know if 33.1 changed anything? Out of the blue about a month or so ago I just completely lost the signal to 33.1.. My other locals work just fine and I didn't adjust my antenna or anything..

Thanks
WYTV 33.1 is just fine here in Akron. Back in the analog days, 33 really didn't make it into Akron like it does now on digital. They actually have a higher power now then when they were on analog.
Andrew K is offline  
post #1972 of 1980 Old 02-16-2015, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
WYTV 33.1 is just fine here in Akron. Back in the analog days, 33 really didn't make it into Akron like it does now on digital. They actually have a higher power now then when they were on analog.
1000kW, the highest (digitally) allowed by the FCC, but I think it's because the WYTV tower is nowhere as tall compared to the other Youngstown stations. If it was close to the same height as WKBN then it would probably come in 24/7 for me. (When using my Y-town antenna, WKBN comes in at roughly 65 -70 percent on my Zenith converter box. WYTV is usually on or right below the decoding threshold.)

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1973 of 1980 Old 02-17-2015, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Andrew K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
1000kW, the highest (digitally) allowed by the FCC, but I think it's because the WYTV tower is nowhere as tall compared to the other Youngstown stations. If it was close to the same height as WKBN then it would probably come in 24/7 for me. (When using my Y-town antenna, WKBN comes in at roughly 65 -70 percent on my Zenith converter box. WYTV is usually on or right below the decoding threshold.)

WYTV has always been the weaker of the 3 main Youngstown TV stations (21, 27, and 33) because of its low tower height. When WYTV was on analog, it only used around 900 kW, but now it uses 1000 kW on digital. The tower height hasn't changed, but the power increase and the fact that digital goes further with less power helps.
Andrew K is offline  
post #1974 of 1980 Old 02-17-2015, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hartville, OH
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question for the Youngstown board.

There are multiple references on Wikipedia about WKBN broadcasting WYFX in HD as well as it's own channel. Though it seems that WYFX is now simulcast in SD. Just wondering when they stopped the HD simulcast? Is there a story as to why they switched to SD? Curious as I'd love to get it in HD as a back up to WJW.
Sock Eating Golden is offline  
post #1975 of 1980 Old 02-18-2015, 01:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
WKBN 27.2 has been in SD since the "home" of Fox Youngstown moved to low-power WYFX-LD/19 in digital/HD.

I have never received WYTV in either analog or digital...

Last edited by Inundated; 02-18-2015 at 01:33 AM.
Inundated is offline  
post #1976 of 1980 Old 02-18-2015, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Before WYFX launched it's digital signal, both WKBN's .1 and .2 subchannels were transmitted in 720. Two 720 subchannels put a strain on the bandwidth and prevented WKBN from broadcasting CBS in 1080.

Last time I watched WKBN, .2 was heavily compressed and letterboxed. I wonder if WKBN will drop WYFX upon picking up a diginet.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1977 of 1980 Old 02-18-2015, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdog 88 View Post
Before WYFX launched it's digital signal, both WKBN's .1 and .2 subchannels were transmitted in 720. Two 720 subchannels put a strain on the bandwidth and prevented WKBN from broadcasting CBS in 1080.

Last time I watched WKBN, .2 was heavily compressed and letterboxed. I wonder if WKBN will drop WYFX upon picking up a diginet.
Or buy new generation encoders that will let them do a 1080 and a 720. Since WYFX-LD has so poor coverage I can't imagine them taking Fox off the "big stick" even if it is SD.
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1978 of 1980 Old 07-28-2015, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New Guy Ignorant of Everything Antenna Related

I jumped on this thread because it seems like everyone was within the general vicinity of my location. I am thinking about putting up an antenna as I have just recently become a cord cutter. The main reason I want to put up an antenna is so that I can receive local Pittsburgh stations so that I can watch the Pittsburgh Steelers' games. That's really all I care about and receiving other stations is not a concern. I have no idea what type of equipment I am looking for or if picking up a signal from Pittsburgh is even a possibility. I am located in Girard, Ohio and hoping that one of you guys could possibly lend me some of your expertise.

Thanks,

Ted
mcctnt2000 is offline  
post #1979 of 1980 Old 07-28-2015, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcctnt2000 View Post
I jumped on this thread because it seems like everyone was within the general vicinity of my location. I am thinking about putting up an antenna as I have just recently become a cord cutter. The main reason I want to put up an antenna is so that I can receive local Pittsburgh stations so that I can watch the Pittsburgh Steelers' games. That's really all I care about and receiving other stations is not a concern. I have no idea what type of equipment I am looking for or if picking up a signal from Pittsburgh is even a possibility. I am located in Girard, Ohio and hoping that one of you guys could possibly lend me some of your expertise.

Thanks,

Ted
According to the TV Fool website, it looks like you will need a very good outdoor antenna mounted high up in order to grab any Pittsburgh stations as their coverage your area is very weak and spotty. Three of those stations (WTRF/7, WPCW/19 & WQED/13) transmit their digital signal on VHF, so the antenna needs to have VHF capabilities in order to receive them. (Which may not be possible at all due to the electrical interference and multipath that plagues that band). As for equipment, RG-6 grade coaxial cable in your setup is recommended to avoid signal loss. Avoid splitters and other devices that will use the antenna as they may degrade signal strength. If you have an HDTV, just connect the antenna to the back of the TV, set the TV to antenna and run a channel scan. If you have an old CRT/tube TV made before 2007, you will need a digital converter box.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1980 of 1980 Old 08-12-2015, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Your #1 target is KDKA/2 (RF 25 I believe).
Inundated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off