Youngstown, OH - HDTV - Page 67 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 1996 Old 11-16-2015, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 65
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 1996 Old 11-17-2015, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Interesting considering WYFX-LD is a low power digital that's not a Class A and will have an unknown history after the spectrum auction.
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1983 of 1996 Old 11-17-2015, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 790 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Why not put LAFF on WKBN 27.3? It would allow more people to watch the network. I wonder if they selected WYFX because it has no additional subchannels or that a .3 sub on WKBN would take away to much bandwidth. I'm also surprised that none of the Youngstown stations have added Me-TV, an extremely popular diginet.

Diginets, however, are limited in Youngstown due to the few stations that are available. Additional subs are used for the major networks that utilize HD, (21.2-CW, 27.2-FOX, 33.2-MyNetTV) thus narrowing down choices or the likelihood of stations picking up a diginet due to bandwidth limitations. Thank goodness that the Cleveland market has a wide selection of digital channels to choose from. If I lived in the Youngstown area, I would ignore the local stations and purposely install a good outdoor antenna that would receive all the Cleveland stations.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
 
post #1984 of 1996 Old 12-02-2015, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I mentioned it in the Cleveland thread....

WBKN added Ion to 27-3 recently
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1985 of 1996 Old 12-02-2015, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 65
rabbitears shows 27-3 for Laff and something else for 27-2 (nothing is listed...just says "soon")
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1986 of 1996 Old 02-11-2016, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Freekick123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GetTV is up on 19.2
Freekick123 is offline  
post #1987 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wkbn

Does anyone know if, when the WKBN transmitter shuts down and WKBN becomes a sub channel of WYTV, will they be using the weaker WYTV transmitter or the stronger WKBN transmitter? Or will the WKBN transmitter be taken out of service completely?

The reason I am asking is WYTV does not reach my area but WKBN currently comes in very strong. It would be a shame to use a weaker transmitter when a stronger one is available.
Mikebab is offline  
post #1988 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 44
The moved WKBN would be on the WYTV facility. The WKBN facility is what sold in the auction.

Now, WYTV will be moving to a different RF channel and would keep their current coverage, but presumably they could apply for a better signal once moved and scoping out the new channel's situation, but we don't know yet what is possible...
Inundated is offline  
post #1989 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikebab View Post
The reason I am asking is WYTV does not reach my area but WKBN currently comes in very strong. It would be a shame to use a weaker transmitter when a stronger one is available.
While WYTV is at 1 million watts (versus WKBN is only 650,000 watts) it is on a tower that is about 1/3 the height of WKBN.
WBKN height-1443 feet
WYTV height-580 feet
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1990 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post
Now, WYTV will be moving to a different RF channel and would keep their current coverage, but presumably they could apply for a better signal once moved and scoping out the new channel's situation, but we don't know yet what is possible...
They wont be upgrading due to WATM Altoona, PA also moving to RF31 (same spot as WYTV will be). In some cases when stations move they will be downgrading their power so they (the FCC) can shoehorn stations together but in this case they are not lowering power.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1991 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
They wont be upgrading due to WATM Altoona, PA also moving to RF31 (same spot as WYTV will be). In some cases when stations move they will be downgrading their power so they (the FCC) can shoehorn stations together but in this case they are not lowering power.
Thanks for the update. I am already resigned to losing WKBN(/WYFX) over here when the WKBN "intellectual property" moves to the WYTV signal...
Inundated is offline  
post #1992 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 07:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the info guys. It's really appreciated. It's kind of what I expected. It was nice receiving WKBN, but that's the way it goes.

I forgot about the difference in the tower height. I did know that at one time.

Thanks again!
Mikebab is offline  
post #1993 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 44
WYTV went from something like 50 kW to a megawatt, but that much lower height makes it a tough catch outside of the Valley.

I suspect that they don't care about out-of-market "bonus" coverage, so don't expect them to do anything. (Even if they could, see above.)
Inundated is offline  
post #1994 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 08:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,377
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Without an interference analysis, it's impossible to know whether or not WYTV could increase its height or not with WATM on 31.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1995 of 1996 Old 04-22-2017, 08:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Without an interference analysis, it's impossible to know whether or not WYTV could increase its height or not with WATM on 31.

- Trip
I should have put out the "bat signal" to get you here, Trip.

I do suspect that WYTV would only even LOOK into a change if it needed to improve in-market coverage.
Inundated is offline  
post #1996 of 1996 Unread Today, 06:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Everyone,

Brand new to the forums, came across this site many times over the years. Just curious if anyone is the Youngstown market has been successful at receiving KDKA out of Pittsburgh? I'm in Mineral Ridge, northwest of Youngstown. Looks to be about 60 miles away and only 1.7db.

My TV Fool: tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3de6a42a7bb5a69 8 (Wouldn't let me make a link because I'm a noobie).

Here's my problem: I don't know if I can get high enough. My second story peak is only about 40 feet.

Looking for setup recommendations if it is possible. If it's a pipe dream, forget it.
pyroman251 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off