Fort Myers, FL - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1116 Old 08-11-2006, 05:47 AM
Member
 
madsop98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI - Comcast in Fort Myers just added MTVHD at channel 209. Just what I always wanted!!!!

Mike
madsop98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1116 Old 08-11-2006, 01:07 PM
Member
 
wj777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did Comcast respond to the old call from the early 80's, I want my MTV? How about the adults in the crowd? If we want our FOX in HD, do you think Comcast will respond sometime in the next 20 years?
wj777 is offline  
post #543 of 1116 Old 08-12-2006, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
bhalbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Charlotte
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wah hooo!!!! I pulled up my HR10-250 guide last night and found a full complement of programming info for WINKDT. What a relief!! I also noticed that the guide info is now showing up on zaptoit, so maybe the two are related. Thanks to everyone that put so much effort into getting this fixed. Let the Fall season begin.
bhalbert is offline  
post #544 of 1116 Old 08-12-2006, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
jjgjr75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by madsop98 View Post

FYI - Comcast in Fort Myers just added MTVHD at channel 209. Just what I always wanted!!!!

Mike

Actually that channel is pretty good sometimes. I watched an unreal performance by Pearl Jam the other day. I noticed it was on about a week ago. That got rid of INHD2 channel 207. I heard there are like 3 other channels getting added real soon and hope one is Fox.
jjgjr75 is offline  
post #545 of 1116 Old 08-12-2006, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bhalbert - I'm off to dial in and reboot. Thanks!

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #546 of 1116 Old 08-12-2006, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, you must not be on DirecTV. My guide still says "Regular Schedule" with no other info.

What's the deal?

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #547 of 1116 Old 08-12-2006, 02:29 PM
Newbie
 
bhalbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Charlotte
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am on Directv. I have two HR10-250s and they are both receiving the guide. The guide is showing two listings for 11-1; one shows "Regular Schedule" and the other shows the correct programming info with the HD designation for those programs broadcast in HD.
bhalbert is offline  
post #548 of 1116 Old 08-12-2006, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I'm confused. Are you saying that one of your HDTivos is getting the guide data and the other one says "regular schedule" or is 11-1 showing "regular schedule" and 11-2 (or something like that) showing the guide data.

I'm not understanding how you can have two listings for 11-1.

Help me.

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #549 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 05:48 AM
Newbie
 
bhalbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Charlotte
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the confusion. Both of my HD Tivos are receiving identical guides. On both units, channel 11-1 is listed twice. The only difference in the duplicate listings is the station identification and the fact that one is providing valid guide info and the other is "Regular Schedule." The channels are displayed as:

11-1 WINKDT (displays valid schedule)

11-1 WINK-HD (displays "Regular Schedule")

I hope this helps.
bhalbert is offline  
post #550 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 06:03 AM
Newbie
 
bhalbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Charlotte
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just for grins, I rescaned for OTA channels and now I have only one guide listing for 11-1. Thankfully, it is the listing with the correct schedule info. The channel and station identifier is:

11-1 WINKDT
bhalbert is offline  
post #551 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
snook789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Naples FL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhalbert View Post

Thanks to everyone that put so much effort into getting this fixed. Let the Fall season begin.

Persistence pays off!!!
snook789 is offline  
post #552 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotcha. I'm gonna rescan and give it a whirl. Thanks.

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #553 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well there it is! I didn't even have to rescan, just went back into my Favorite channels and sure enough, there are two 11-1's. Bizarre, but the new one does have the correct guide info. I'll let out a sigh of relief when I see something in HD on this channel later tonight.

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #554 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
bhalbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Charlotte
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In order to clear the extra 11-1 listing I had to perform a "Clear scanned off-air channels" before rescaning. Wouldn't remove it otherwise. I recorded several HD programs last night using the new guide.
bhalbert is offline  
post #555 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
CapeFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://capefishtv.blogspot.com/2006/...to-launch.html

Does this also mean MyTV 8 is going to be a digital subchannel on WZVN-DT?

CapeFish

CapeFish is offline  
post #556 of 1116 Old 08-13-2006, 04:47 PM
Member
 
dennishp50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I live in Bonita and may need to swap out my antenna for a new one. It was working fine (Audiovox TERK HDTVo mounted to my dish mast) with my two 811 receivers but when I switched to VIP211, I lost WINK and can't lock onto WGCU or FTN. I'm thinking it has something to do with the fact that WINK is a VHF station and the Vip may need a stronger all around signal to function. Other OTA stations come in good on either receiver Sig Strength high 80's low 90's.
Regardless...any suggestions for a decent outside OTA antenna for my area. I'm only wanting the digital stuff straight North of me.

Was thinking of the Radio Shack vu 90XR. If I go with that one do you think I'll need a pre-amp and amp?
dennishp50 is offline  
post #557 of 1116 Old 08-16-2006, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Somewhat off topic, but has anyone in the Ft. Myers area found a local dealer that has good prices on home theater seating (such as the Berkline seats)?

I'll be moving to Ft. Myers toward the end of the year and will be converting a "bonus room" to a home theater.

Ron Jones

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #558 of 1116 Old 08-16-2006, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sparkman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: was Waukegan,Il, now Cookeville, Tn
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post

Somewhat off topic, but has anyone in the Ft. Myers area found a local dealer that has good prices on home theater seating (such as the Berkline seats)?

I'll be moving to Ft. Myers toward the end of the year and will be converting a "bonus room" to a home theater.

Ron Jones

This store is in North Naples, on Rt 41 @ Wiggins Pass. They have stores up in the Chicago area as well. Good selection, not sure on pricing.



http://www.recroomfurniture.com/page..._seating/8.php
Sparkman87 is offline  
post #559 of 1116 Old 08-16-2006, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a great question, Ron. I've always done my own in stalls and bought equipment online. The times I've helped other people buy, I've just gone to Sound Advice on 41 because they carry Denon stuff. Always gotten good service there, but I know as much or more than they do.

Welcome to the area...when you get here!

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #560 of 1116 Old 08-17-2006, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavoM View Post

That's a great question, Ron. I've always done my own in stalls and bought equipment online. The times I've helped other people buy, I've just gone to Sound Advice on 41 because they carry Denon stuff. Always gotten good service there, but I know as much or more than they do.

Welcome to the area...when you get here!

Peace,

DM

We have a house being built at "The Forum in Ft. Myers" (just east of I75 off of Colonial). Although I don't expect it to be finished until after the first of the year, we plan to find a short-term rental somewhere in the Ft. Myers area that we can move into in early December. I would hope to start putting together the HT in the new house sometime next spring. I've had a series of home theaters starting in 1974 (that's not a typo). As for background I'm an electronics engineer. My HT web site is at: www.dtvmax.com

Ron Jones

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #561 of 1116 Old 08-19-2006, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
RDJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cape Coral, FL, US
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having trouble receiving Fox on 36-1? Seems its been down for a couple of days.
RDJR is offline  
post #562 of 1116 Old 08-19-2006, 11:49 AM
Member
 
dennishp50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that I can't pick it up today either. Comes in fine over the Dish local feed. Maybe a storm on the Cape.
dennishp50 is offline  
post #563 of 1116 Old 08-19-2006, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
snaz16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't been able to pick it up on OTA attenna up here in Punta Gorda since the football game Thurs nite. I get it also via my DirTV feed.
To switch gears somewhat, I noticed after resetting my Dtv reciever,that all the local HD channels were showing up ,i.e. 26.1...20.1..etc.,of course the reciever goes searching for a signal,and does not find one. Does that mean the local HD channels are in the offing?
snaz16 is offline  
post #564 of 1116 Old 08-19-2006, 02:59 PM
Member
 
dennishp50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Snaz,

You betcha. All the XX.1 channels are digital broadcasts and will broadcast HD OTA. Letterman, Leno are in HD (and georgeous to view). Check your local listings in the paper and it will show which shows are being broadcast in HD. Even though stations are broadcasting digital...much of their programing is still non-HD. Usually the prime-time stuff is..but not all. So check to make sure.

I'm in the process of getting the necessary gear to put up a bigger antenna.

In Bonita I can't get WINK CBS at all (VHF station and my antenna is more for UHF). So, I'm doing a Wingard antenna on a mast with a pre-amp and I should be good to go on everything that is digital that is North of me.
dennishp50 is offline  
post #565 of 1116 Old 08-19-2006, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Fox OTA feed is back; however, the game is not in HD. Not sure if it is being broadcast in HD though.

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #566 of 1116 Old 08-19-2006, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
RDJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Cape Coral, FL, US
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Davo. I can't figure out why its not in HD here as the game will be shown tomorrow morning on NFL Network in HD with the Bucs announcers, graphics, etc.....
RDJR is offline  
post #567 of 1116 Old 08-19-2006, 07:54 PM
Member
 
wj777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that it was in HD locally in Tampa on OTA channel 8, but I don't believe the FOX 4 local rebroadcast was transmitted in HD.
wj777 is offline  
post #568 of 1116 Old 08-20-2006, 11:11 AM
Member
 
dennishp50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cannot figure that out either...Perhaps Fox thinks if they use HD for the pre-season, they will run out of bandwidth before the season ends

BTW..game looked great on NFL HD..watching Redskins now...I LOVE HD!!!!!
dennishp50 is offline  
post #569 of 1116 Old 08-21-2006, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
rwlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between 20.1 and 20.2, or 36.1 and 36.2? I'm new to this HD/digital TV stuff. Thanks!
rwlade is offline  
post #570 of 1116 Old 08-21-2006, 01:38 PM
Member
 
dennishp50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
20.1 will be broadcast in HD (when they are broadcasting HD- check local listing) 20.2 is a digital signal..but will be Standard definition only. That's the way it's been shaking out. Not sure...can't recall now..but WGCU (PBS) may be different....but basically..the first station that appears will have the HD content when available..the second station listed with the same call letters or number will digital SD only. (I don't watch the PBS channel much and can't remember it's numbers now)

Hope that helps
dennishp50 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off