Fort Myers, FL - HDTV - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1116 Old 11-22-2006, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Pontiaction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Sparkman. I did see the lineup at Comcast's website, however they don't even list the CBS and FOX affiliates in HD which I know are available here, so I thought I would double-check. Some of the other TV listing sites out there report Universal HD in this area on channel 208, not sure where that is coming from.

Hopefully Universal HD will be one of those new networks added! Looks like I won't have HD 'till January anyway...
Pontiaction is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1116 Old 11-22-2006, 03:09 PM
Member
 
wj777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparkman87 View Post

No UHD right now.

go to comcast.com and search for channel lineup and it gives you a list of all the channels.

There is the 4 major nets, PBS, ESPN & ESPN2, Discovery HD,IHND, MHD, The 4 movie channels, I can't remeber them all. Comcast is said to be adding 4 more networks by January & UHD is supposed to be one of them.

Much joy if true - just for BSG and Firefly if nothing else. I can hear the song now.... you can't take the sky from me.
wj777 is offline  
post #633 of 1116 Old 12-04-2006, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TV Trey View Post

Does anyone know if WINK has plans to multicast? For the past couple of weeks the picture quality seems to indicate a reduction in bandwidth, especially in fast moving and or dark scenes. Has anyone else noticed this.

The SEC football game (Arkansas/Florida) on WINK on Saturday had a lot of macroblocking during fast motion scenes. I recorded part of it OTA on my OnAir GT USB tuner. Bandwidth was slightly less than 15Mbps. This tells me they are planning to multicast. Probably the WeatherNow product which is CBS' version of NBC's WeatherPlus.
paule123 is offline  
post #634 of 1116 Old 12-04-2006, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
TV Trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sebring, Fl
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paule123 View Post

The SEC football game (Arkansas/Florida) on WINK on Saturday had a lot of macroblocking during fast motion scenes. I recorded part of it OTA on my OnAir GT USB tuner. Bandwidth was slightly less than 15Mbps. This tells me they are planning to multicast. Probably the WeatherNow product which is CBS' version of NBC's WeatherPlus.

Thank you for your reply. This also tells me that WINK didn't spend too much money on their HD encoder,because 15Mbps on a MV500 Harmonic should still look pretty good. They probably got one of the first generation Harris flexicoders at a bargain basement price.
TV Trey is offline  
post #635 of 1116 Old 12-05-2006, 06:52 PM
Member
 
Brett_FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone having trouble pulling in WINK-HD tonight? I am not able to get anything at all but WBBH is coming in at full signal strength.
Brett_FL is offline  
post #636 of 1116 Old 12-05-2006, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett_FL View Post

Is anyone having trouble pulling in WINK-HD tonight? I am not able to get anything at all but WBBH is coming in at full signal strength.

Seems like their DT is off the air. I'm getting everything else but WINK here in Bonita. They just had to screw up Victoria's Secret in HD tonight !!

Edit: Oh well I'm not missing much. Looks like WINK decided to show "Holiday on Ice" instead of half-naked model babes.

Edit: WINK-DT back on the air shortly before 11:00pm
paule123 is offline  
post #637 of 1116 Old 12-06-2006, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you read this thread thoroughly, you'll discover how "stellar" I think WINK is. I still don't get why they don't use the center channel for audio on most of their DD 5.1 broadcasts.

In other news, I have a new contact at NBC2 and I asked her to do some research on why Jeopardy and Wheel are advertised as being in HD, but are not broadcast in HD. Here's the response she got from their technical peeps:

Quote:


Both Wheel and Jeopardy are being produced in HDTV, but we need a few more pieces of equipment installed (very expensive equipment) and technical reconfiguring to be able to record and playback the shows in HD. With the network programs, since it is a live feed we can pass through the HD signal without an issue. So to review.pass through - yes and it's a good thing; record and playback - can't do it - wish we could - hopefully in the not too distant future. At this time very few programs (Wheel & Jeopardy being the two major programs) are produced in high definition.

I suspected this, but just wanted to confirm.

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #638 of 1116 Old 12-06-2006, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like WINK-DT is off the air again as of 11:38pm. I was picking it up earlier tonight watching CSI.
paule123 is offline  
post #639 of 1116 Old 12-06-2006, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavoM View Post

If you read this thread thoroughly, you'll discover how "stellar" I think WINK is.

I emailed WINK engineering about the bandwidth issue (why am I seeing something around 15Mbps and macroblocking when I should see something north of 18Mbps and no macroblocking). The response was that WINK is giving us full bandwidth, i.e., not messing with anything, and the problems I see are network related, bad cameras at the venue, etc. Uh huh.

Meanwhile, I recorded a bit of CSI tonight from WINK and got slightly less than 15Mbps. A fellow AVSer in Las Vegas gets upwards of 18Mbps when recording CSI from his local CBS affiliate.

The ES PID info in WINK's transport stream shows a bitrate of 15.000 Mbps. Another interesting data point, but still not conclusive since the ES PID info can be incorrect.

Hell, I knew there was something wrong with WINK last year when I was down here watching the Steelers playoff game on CBS and saw the macroblocking. I knew something wasn't right. WINK blamed Comcast for that one. There was no OTA to compare to, so I couldn't argue.
paule123 is offline  
post #640 of 1116 Old 12-07-2006, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WINK-DT not on the air during the day or something? I'm not picking it up as of 4:20pm today.
paule123 is offline  
post #641 of 1116 Old 12-08-2006, 04:42 AM
Senior Member
 
TV Trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sebring, Fl
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
paule123-- Both Tampa and Orlando CBS affiliates have better quality than WINK and they both have the Weather Now channel.
TV Trey is offline  
post #642 of 1116 Old 12-08-2006, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
cellogig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New HDTV with Tuner. What channels in the Fort myers area are HDTV. I was able to find Fox on channel 234, PBS on Channel 115 and NBC on channel 78 which was converted to channel 1.1. Where is CBS and ABC.

I really do not want to wait for comcast's HDTV box. I know i do not need it if i am able to obtain 3 HDTV channels by just hooking up my cable line directly into the TV.

Thank you
cellogig is offline  
post #643 of 1116 Old 12-08-2006, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cellogig View Post

New HDTV with Tuner. What channels in the Fort myers area are HDTV. I was able to find Fox on channel 234, PBS on Channel 115 and NBC on channel 78 which was converted to channel 1.1. Where is CBS and ABC.

I really do not want to wait for comcast's HDTV box. I know i do not need it if i am able to obtain 3 HDTV channels by just hooking up my cable line directly into the TV.

Thank you

Funny you should mention that. I've only been down here about a week and
Comcast seemed to change the QAM channels from one day to the next (maybe they do it often, I don't know) My laptop QAM tuner has one set of channel numbers, but my LG HDTV QAM tuner has another slightly different set.


I am getting:
1-1 NBC
78-2 ABC
100-3 Fox
115-7 CBS
109-1 NBC Weather Plus
115-3 PBS HD

I also got Fox on 234, can't remember when or on what tuner...

Make sure you scan at least 2 or 3 times, for some reason the QAM channels are flaky that way and you tend to get more channels the more you scan. They are also very sensitive to signal level. I had to put an amplifier in to get the QAM channels reliably on my LG HDTV.

If you want to get ESPN or Discovery HD or some of the other HD channels, those are scrambled and you'll have to get a cable box or a CableCard for your TV if it is so equipped.
paule123 is offline  
post #644 of 1116 Old 12-08-2006, 11:56 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TV Trey View Post

paule123-- Both Tampa and Orlando CBS affiliates have better quality than WINK and they both have the Weather Now channel.

Considering that they have cut 5Mbps out of the Tampa CBS Signal, it would be virtually impossible for WINK to have worse quality than Tampa.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #645 of 1116 Old 12-09-2006, 03:31 AM
Senior Member
 
TV Trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sebring, Fl
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

Considering that they have cut 5Mbps out of the Tampa CBS Signal, it would be virtually impossible for WINK to have worse quality than Tampa.

Assuming both stations were using the same equipment, your statement would be correct. However, as i mentioned earlier, all MPEG 2 HD encoders are not created equally and to use bitrate alone to judge quality is a mistake.
TV Trey is offline  
post #646 of 1116 Old 12-09-2006, 01:57 PM
Newbie
 
cellogig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paule123 View Post

Funny you should mention that. I've only been down here about a week and
Comcast seemed to change the QAM channels from one day to the next (maybe they do it often, I don't know) My laptop QAM tuner has one set of channel numbers, but my LG HDTV QAM tuner has another slightly different set.


I am getting:
1-1 NBC
78-2 ABC
100-3 Fox
115-7 CBS
109-1 NBC Weather Plus
115-3 PBS HD

I also got Fox on 234, can't remember when or on what tuner...

Make sure you scan at least 2 or 3 times, for some reason the QAM channels are flaky that way and you tend to get more channels the more you scan. They are also very sensitive to signal level. I had to put an amplifier in to get the QAM channels reliably on my LG HDTV.

If you want to get ESPN or Discovery HD or some of the other HD channels, those are scrambled and you'll have to get a cable box or a CableCard for your TV if it is so equipped.

What kind of amplifer did you use to boost the signal.

When i get PBS on 115 the TV is not allowing me to go pass it into 115-7 for CBS. The TV only allows me 115 and no other channels or numbers after that. The next group of channels i get allow channels with -, then a number. Also 78 gave me NBC which converted to 1-1 but will not allow me to get 78-2 for ABC. Will an amp improve this?

Once again thank you
cellogig is offline  
post #647 of 1116 Old 12-09-2006, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
jjgjr75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wj777 View Post

Much joy if true - just for BSG and Firefly if nothing else. I can hear the song now.... you can't take the sky from me.

Do we have a browncoat in the house? I think that is greatest show ever made. I am not a huge sci-fi fan either.
jjgjr75 is offline  
post #648 of 1116 Old 12-09-2006, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cellogig View Post

What kind of amplifer did you use to boost the signal.

When i get PBS on 115 the TV is not allowing me to go pass it into 115-7 for CBS. The TV only allows me 115 and no other channels or numbers after that. The next group of channels i get allow channels with -, then a number. Also 78 gave me NBC which converted to 1-1 but will not allow me to get 78-2 for ABC. Will an amp improve this?

Once again thank you

This is the amp I have:
http://www.smarthome.com/7771.html

There are others on that site with 4 outputs if you need them, etc.

It's hard to say if an amp will help. QAM is weird. On my LGTV certain black screen QAM channels used to reboot the TV and erase my TV's channel memory. I'd have to be careful not to tune to the "QAM channels of death"

Try disconnecting all the other TVs in the house and connect your HDTV directly to the cable feed into the house. See if you get more channels. If you do, then an amp should help.
paule123 is offline  
post #649 of 1116 Old 12-09-2006, 08:58 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TV Trey View Post

Assuming both stations were using the same equipment, your statement would be correct. However, as i mentioned earlier, all MPEG 2 HD encoders are not created equally and to use bitrate alone to judge quality is a mistake.

Yes and if you knew the crap WTSP is using, you'd know that there is no way even a first generation MPEG2 HD encoder could look as bad as what they are broadcasting - when they don't forget to go to HD - or drop it to SD so they can run crawls promoting their news.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #650 of 1116 Old 12-10-2006, 02:44 AM
Member
 
capecoralbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My channel line up is different from paule123 Here's what I get.
nbc cable: 202-107 ...........rabbit ears: 20-1
pbs 210-108............ 30-1
pbs 203-108............ 30-2
fox 115-1 ........... 36-1
cbs 205-108 .......... 11-1
wb/cw --------- ........... 46-1
abc 207-107 .......... 26-1
tnt 92-2 (last week this was 92-1)
discovery 19-1

Does anyone else in Cape Coral on Comcast/timewarner have more signals? If so please post them. Thanks
capecoralbill is offline  
post #651 of 1116 Old 12-10-2006, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Macroblocking all over the place on the Miami/New England game on WINK-HD OTA. Aaaaargh.
paule123 is offline  
post #652 of 1116 Old 12-10-2006, 02:17 PM
Member
 
wj777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjgjr75 View Post

Do we have a browncoat in the house? I think that is greatest show ever made. I am not a huge sci-fi fan either.

Yes indeed, browncoat present and accounted for.
wj777 is offline  
post #653 of 1116 Old 12-10-2006, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cellogig View Post

New HDTV with Tuner. What channels in the Fort myers area are HDTV. I was able to find Fox on channel 234, PBS on Channel 115 and NBC on channel 78 which was converted to channel 1.1. Where is CBS and ABC.

I really do not want to wait for comcast's HDTV box. I know i do not need it if i am able to obtain 3 HDTV channels by just hooking up my cable line directly into the TV.

Thank you

Hey cellogig,
I turned on my HDTV today and it remapped some QAM channels and I lost ABC on 78-2. Comcast Bonita Springs.
paule123 is offline  
post #654 of 1116 Old 12-11-2006, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
TV Trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sebring, Fl
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

Yes and if you knew the crap WTSP is using, you'd know that there is no way even a first generation MPEG2 HD encoder could look as bad as what they are broadcasting - when they don't forget to go to HD - or drop it to SD so they can run crawls promoting their news.

Since Sue quit WTSP and they no longer have to pay her that huge salary, one would think they could do better.
TV Trey is offline  
post #655 of 1116 Old 12-11-2006, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Macroblocking all over the place on the Miami/New England game on WINK-HD OTA. Aaaaargh.

paulie123 - Can you confirm no center channel audio on network broadcasts on WINK-HD in your set up?

Do you cable guys get center channel audio on WINK-HD?

Peace,

DM
DavoM is offline  
post #656 of 1116 Old 12-11-2006, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavoM View Post

paulie123 - Can you confirm no center channel audio on network broadcasts on WINK-HD in your set up?

Do you cable guys get center channel audio on WINK-HD?

Peace,

DM

DavoM, can't confirm since I don't have a surround sound set up here...
paule123 is offline  
post #657 of 1116 Old 12-11-2006, 03:10 PM
Newbie
 
cellogig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paule123 View Post

Hey cellogig,
I turned on my HDTV today and it remapped some QAM channels and I lost ABC on 78-2. Comcast Bonita Springs.


Did you try to locate it again. I have not been at home to try what you suggested. This week i work in the evenings and will not be able to try until next week. thank you for the update.
cellogig is offline  
post #658 of 1116 Old 12-11-2006, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cellogig View Post

Did you try to locate it again. I have not been at home to try what you suggested. This week i work in the evenings and will not be able to try until next week. thank you for the update.

I'm back "up north" in Cleveland now. I won't have a chance to check it until I get back down there next month.
paule123 is offline  
post #659 of 1116 Old 12-12-2006, 01:51 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TV Trey View Post

Since Sue quit WTSP and they no longer have to pay her that huge salary, one would think they could do better.

I don't think Sue had a huge salary, but she married well

You are also assuming the people at WTSP care - which if you watch for just one evening you often will find multiple mistakes and would blow that theory.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #660 of 1116 Old 12-12-2006, 02:35 AM
Senior Member
 
TV Trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sebring, Fl
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DavoM, Last night on Miami CSI i had center channel audio during the show. However the center channel would be gone during commercials both network and local. I checked out WKMG out of Orlando and they had CC audio all the time. Hope this helps.
Trey
TV Trey is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off