Evansville, IN - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 750 Old 09-08-2006, 06:00 AM
Member
 
JBKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Owensboro
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When did you have trouble with WFIE audio? I recorded something OTA Wed night and it played back fine. I don't believe I've watched anything else all week, but I do flip through the OTA digital channels everyday at least briefly, and haven't noticed anything wrong with the audio on any of the Evansville stations.
JBKing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 750 Old 09-08-2006, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
sd72667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yesterday I bought an antenna from Radio Shack so I would have a back up plan when Sigecom begins to screw up, like last Saturdays Notre Dame game on WEHT. All the channels worked fine except WFIE HD. The picture was there, just no audio.
sd72667 is offline  
post #273 of 750 Old 09-14-2006, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
kariato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I receive all the HD channels even KET perfectly except 25.1 which breaks up every second or so. I 'm close to the airport(EVV) might it be the Radar? Using a TERK HDTVLP amplified internal antenna. Any ideas on how to resolve the problem with 25.1?

Thanks in advance
kariato is offline  
post #274 of 750 Old 09-14-2006, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
sd72667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Look at this http://www.checkhd.com/aw/welcome.aspx and see where the towers are in our area. My antenna is this: http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search
I can't get WNIN HD. kariato, you may have to rotate your antenna to get WEHT HD.
sd72667 is offline  
post #275 of 750 Old 09-15-2006, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
kariato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd72667 View Post

Look at this and see where the towers are in our area. My antenna is this: I can't get WNIN HD. kariato, you may have to rotate your antenna to get WEHT HD.

Interesting is that WKOH comes in fine but WEHT does not. I think they have a problem with their Antenna mine is pointed at 190 degrees. Here are the results from :
* yellow - uhf WEVV-DT 44.1 CBS EVANSVILLE IN 192° 11.8 45
* yellow - uhf WFIE-DT 14.1 NBC EVANSVILLE IN 186° 11.7 46
* red - uhf WEHT-DT 25.1 ABC EVANSVILLE IN 197° 13.5 59
* red - vhf WNIN-DT 9.1 PBS EVANSVILLE IN 113° 13.5 12
* red - uhf WTVW-DT 28.1 FOX EVANSVILLE IN 107° 8.0 28
* blue - uhf WKOH-DT 31.1 PBS OWENSBORO KY 147° 17.0 30
kariato is offline  
post #276 of 750 Old 09-15-2006, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
kariato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Call Channel | Service Status City State Country File Number Docket FacilityID ERP DA? HAAT RCAMSL RCAGL Latitude Longitude ASRN Licensee/Permittee

WNIN 12 DT LIC EVANSVILLE IN US BMLEDT-20041112ABH - 67802 30. kW DA 285. m 409. m 255. m N 37 59 1.00 W 87 16 13.00 1231157 TRI-STATE PUBLIC TELEPLEX, INC.
WTVW 28 DT CP EVANSVILLE IN US BPCDT-19991101ACY - 3661 1000. kW DA 273. m 397. m 251. m N 38 1 27.00 W 87 21 43.00 1027511 NEXSTAR BROADCASTING, INC.
WEVV 45 DT CP EVANSVILLE IN US BPCDT-19991101AEQ - 72041 500. kW 288. m 405. m 279. m N 37 53 17.00 W 87 32 37.00 1030890 COMCORP OF INDIANA LICENSE CORP.
WFIE 46 DT LIC EVANSVILLE IN US BLCDT-20050916ACR - 13991 250. kW 310. m 428. m 276. m N 37 53 14.00 W 87 31 7.00 1043106 LIBCO, INC.
WEHT 59 DT LIC EVANSVILLE IN US BLCDT-20011207AAL - 24215 59. kW 301.1 m 419.4 m 278.9 m N 37 51 57.00 W 87 34 4.00 1042028 GILMORE BROADCASTING CORPORATION
kariato is offline  
post #277 of 750 Old 09-19-2006, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
kariato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 14 now broadcasting Video's last night I was watching TV and notice what used to be WFIE-SD is now broadcasting music video. I rather enjoyed it reminded me of when MTV was about music anybody else notice this and is this permenant.
kariato is offline  
post #278 of 750 Old 09-19-2006, 07:29 AM
Member
 
JBKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Owensboro
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was it The Tube? I picked that up one night from Nashville, it was great! Just as you said, like MTV back when they played videos. I'll have to check that out tonight, and I hope it stays on.

Thanks for the headsup.
JBKing is offline  
post #279 of 750 Old 09-20-2006, 05:54 AM
Member
 
JBKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Owensboro
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, it was the Tube, on 14.3. Good addition to have!

http://thetubetvinfo.com/
JBKing is offline  
post #280 of 750 Old 09-20-2006, 06:32 AM
Senior Member
 
sd72667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The more subchannels they add the worse their HD will be.
sd72667 is offline  
post #281 of 750 Old 09-21-2006, 10:29 PM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sd,

They added 14-3 a while back ... it's just The Tube that's new. I haven't noticed much -- if any -- signal degradation on 14-1. Now that the wife and I have the new baby, it's nice to have something besides infomercials and useless crap while we're up with her!!!

jn

ps -- I understand that a lot of Raycom's stations will be or are now carrying The Tube. Way to go, Raycom!!!
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #282 of 750 Old 09-23-2006, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
sd72667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you watch football on WFIE, you will notice how bad it looks. In the HD programming section, there are a lot of posts that explain in detail about sub channels.
sd72667 is offline  
post #283 of 750 Old 09-30-2006, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Byrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alabama vs Florida on Wevv is some of the worst hd I've ever seen. They need to watch their own programs. Maybe then They'll give more bandwidth to hd programming. It's really sad to see what sat and local programmers are doing to hdtv. I wouldn't recommend hd to anyone in it's current state. People just getting into hdtv will never know how good it really use to be. Hd-dvd and Bd-dvd is the only options anymore. Wbko 13 in Bowling Green, Ky is using their subchannels to broadcast Fox and Cw. Three channels where one was meant to be. Sorry everyone for ranting, but I've been waiting for Cbs in hd for years and this is what I end up with.
Byrus is offline  
post #284 of 750 Old 10-01-2006, 05:36 PM
Newbie
 
sknust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WEVV has been extremely choppy for me since it started. I use 2005 MCE and can tune all the other (9, 14, 25) in beautiful HD - but WEVV gets extremely choppy anytime there is any motion. At first I thought is was the WEVV but now I question my setup. Is anyone else experiencing this?

I live in Newburgh and I tune all the digital channels over the air. WEVV has perfect signal strength - better than my 25 but WEVV still it is choppy on both my MCE boxes.
sknust is offline  
post #285 of 750 Old 10-06-2006, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
kariato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using a regular TV and I have notice on occasion the choppiness you describe. Since they are simucasting with MyTSN, I imagine their compression hardware has problems with bandwidth allocation.


Another annoying problem is the SD to HDTV switch overs. Lat weekend on the first broadcast of Saturday Night Live and also Deperate housewives large chunks of the show where upconverted SD rather than the true HDTV feed because somebody in the control room forgot to switch the feed back. Are so few people in Evansville watching these feeds that they don't notice it.
kariato is offline  
post #286 of 750 Old 10-06-2006, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
sd72667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed the Housewives HD problem. I usually call the news dept. to let them know the eng. dept. needs to flip the switch.
sd72667 is offline  
post #287 of 750 Old 10-22-2006, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Ron Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed that some HD programing on WEVV-DT has a very jerky image during on screen motion? It appears that the odd and even fields are reversed or else frames are missing. I see this with two different tuners connected to my tv. My Media Center computer with a digital tuner shows the same problem. All other local digital channels appear normal.

NOTE: I should have read the previous message before I posted this. Restricted bandwidth should show up as a fuzzy image or artifacts during motion or scene changes. Out of order fields or missing frames shouldn't.
Ron Lee is offline  
post #288 of 750 Old 10-23-2006, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, it was very bad during "Jericho" Wednesday, but I don't recall noticing it during "CSI" Thursday. I had the same thought you did, or perhaps it was that deliberate "MTV look", which I hate.
RMP in KY is offline  
post #289 of 750 Old 10-23-2006, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Ron Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMP in KY View Post

Yeah, it was very bad during "Jericho" Wednesday, but I don't recall noticing it during "CSI" Thursday. I had the same thought you did, or perhaps it was that deliberate "MTV look", which I hate.

I too hate the "MTV look". A lot of tv programs and some movies are shot in this style. It was designed for the "MTV generation" which apparently has an attention span of less than one second. If the camera is not constantly moving or a scene lasts longer than 2 seconds they get bored and change the channel.
Ron Lee is offline  
post #290 of 750 Old 10-25-2006, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed the jerky video again tonight during "Jericho". I will send a report to the station.
RMP in KY is offline  
post #291 of 750 Old 11-04-2006, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
carpeaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had any luck getting cablecards from Sigecom? I just got HDTV and am wanting to replace my Series2 TiVo with a Series3 for HD support.
carpeaqua is offline  
post #292 of 750 Old 11-04-2006, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
trido's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Evansville,In
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carpeaqua View Post

Has anyone had any luck getting cablecards from Sigecom? I just got HDTV and am wanting to replace my Series2 TiVo with a Series3 for HD support.

I called just last week to Sigecom just to go over my current bill to see if I can save any money
first thing he asked if any of my HD sets can use cable card?
I said no BUT Sigecom do have them I assume.


Trido

Trido
trido is offline  
post #293 of 750 Old 11-05-2006, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
carpeaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trido View Post

I called just last week to Sigecom just to go over my current bill to see if I can save any money
first thing he asked if any of my HD sets can use cable card?
I said no BUT Sigecom do have them I assume.

That's promising. I may have to dig up the $700 for a Series 3 TiVo before 24 starts (if WTVW gets their stuff in order)
carpeaqua is offline  
post #294 of 750 Old 11-12-2006, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
sd72667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carpeaqua View Post

That's promising. I may have to dig up the $700 for a Series 3 TiVo before 24 starts (if WTVW gets their stuff in order)

WTVW, LOL, they are terrible.
sd72667 is offline  
post #295 of 750 Old 11-17-2006, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
harrijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just purchased a small HDTV for the bedroom with a larger one in the books for a Christmas purchase. I am in Owensboro, in the Ford Ave. area. DishHD is going to be installed this next week with a ViP622 so I will be able to sit in bed and watch some football, but I am really interested in trying to get some OTA HD. I have read this entire thread, and am not really excited about my chances of getting good OTA from Evansville. The current analog from there isn't really anything to call home about. I believe that I am going to try to attic install a Terk HDTVo and see what happens. I have read some good reviews of this antenna, and it seems to have a pretty simple installation. I will post back here when I get some results.
harrijs is offline  
post #296 of 750 Old 11-22-2006, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
craigkoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I work right next to WTVW and noticed some work on the downtown tower today.

They have cleared the parking lot and moved a new microwave transmitter next to the tower. Workers are climbing on the tower now.

I guess this may be a part of the WTVW HD upgrade...
craigkoh is offline  
post #297 of 750 Old 11-22-2006, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
trido's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Evansville,In
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigkoh View Post

I work right next to WTVW and noticed some work on the downtown tower today.

They have cleared the parking lot and moved a new microwave transmitter next to the tower. Workers are climbing on the tower now.

I guess this may be a part of the WTVW HD upgrade...

Well bad news I called my station contact what you saw is the very beginning for hd however they stated yesterday hd wont be on till end of Jan

Well that misses Football how ever we may see 24 in HD next year we hope.

Again I am told HD till end Jan 07

Trido
trido is offline  
post #298 of 750 Old 11-25-2006, 03:09 PM
Member
 
uofl17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone help me pick out an antenna? Also i would like to know if i should get an antenna pre amp.

Here is my antenna web info
Antenna Web Hanson, KY
uofl17 is offline  
post #299 of 750 Old 12-24-2006, 07:40 AM
Member
 
AlanA/V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our full power transmitter is scheduled to be delivered on Dec. 12. The tower crew is scheduled to be here on Dec. 22. IF people show up when they're supposed to we could be broadcasting a full power HD signal by the end of Jan. I say if because we were originally scheduled to be done in the first part of August. Delays by the equipment manufactures and the constant delays of tower crews has been the reason for delays and not lack of desire of money on our part.

Keep watching



Mike Smith

VP/GM

WTVW

477 Carpenter Street

Evansville, In 47708

812-424-7777
AlanA/V is offline  
post #300 of 750 Old 12-28-2006, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
triker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington, Indiana (or near there anyway)
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally purchased an HDTV with an ATSC receiver, and I live along the southern border of Daviess County, Indiana (about 5 miles southwest of Montgomery). I have an all-channel-type antenna sitting atop a 25'-30' mast and Channel Master amplifier of unknown model all circa 1985 (including cabling). I plugged my TV in and it picked up WFIE-DT (14.1, .2, and .3) as well as WTVW-DT (44.1, 44.2), and WUSI (16.1, .2, .3 and .4--although that channel only has a test pattern and an audio feed), as well as WNIN-DT (9.1, .2, .3) and WVUT (22.1, .2, .3). I am occasionally able to pick up 6.1 and 6.2 out of Paducha (I am assuming), though not all the time. I am also able to receive 36.1 which only has a test pattern (color bars) and an audio tone on it. If anyone has any idea where 36.1 originates and what it is, I would love to know. I attempted to pick up WEHT-DT, but I am only able to get an intermittent signal of medium-to-poor quality, no good for a video and/or audio stream. Does anyone know if WEHT still plans to wait until 2009 to increase their power from 59kW? If anyone has any tips for me to increase the number of channels I receive (though I'm not complaining about what I receive now), I would appreciate it! I would like to receive Terre Haute stations (WTHI and WTWO) if possible, but that'll be a long shot for me. I thank you all in advance for your help.
triker is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off