Evansville, IN - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 750 Old 07-09-2009, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Remember, WEHT-DT went from rf59 in the UHF band to rf7 in the VHF band. You will most likely need a small VHF antenna to receive them now. Also, have you rescanned your receiver?
RMP in KY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 750 Old 07-09-2009, 09:52 PM
Newbie
 
jlhfore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I have rescanned. Doesn't the ChannelMaster have VHF also??
jlhfore is offline  
post #723 of 750 Old 07-11-2009, 11:55 PM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to have been away for a while, but I have been reading about your difficulties with getting WEHT (25). Believe me, I'm having trouble as well.

If you are looking for a cheap and easy solution (i.e., the "build your own" antenna), the best route to take on that score is to make your bowties larger (10" per side of the wing instead of 7") and space them 10" apart on whatever board you're using -- you'll need a longer board.

This approach did help somewhat on WEHT (RF channel 7), more so with WNIN (9), and I've also been able to pull down WBKO (13) with a watchable 40-60% signal almost every night for the past several weeks -- and I'm on the SW side of Owensboro!

It has been suggested to me by Trip, and I'm strongly considering this, that I buy an FM trap. This was brought up because there are a significant number of FM radio stations in the 88-90 MHz range in our area (WNIN, WKPB, and others) -- and it's highly possible that their signals are attenuating WEHT's signal to some extent. If we can take that interference out of the equation, I think we'll all have better luck picking it up.

Of course, I would not be surprised in the least if WEHT eventually finds that they have to do what WTVF (5) is now doing in Nashville, and that is build a low-power translator somewhere to cover all of the "holes."
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #724 of 750 Old 07-12-2009, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Ken42303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WEHT doesn't seem too concerned- they didn't respond to my email about difficulty receiving 25 in the Owensboro area after conversion (down grade). Signal was fine before conversion, I've tried inside VHF antenna with no luck- looks like I would have to get an outside VHF to get the signal now... and I'm not going to since all other channels are fine. Their loss- I've started watching channel 14 news.
Ken42303 is offline  
post #725 of 750 Old 07-22-2009, 03:20 AM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brad Byrd was tweeting all day yesterday wanting to know if people could watch WEHT's recently-introduced 9PM newscast on 25.2.

In all honesty, I don't think many people know about it because they can't watch 25 at all if they depend on an antenna.

I think my August poll at the blog will deal with WEHT's signal problems, specifically where (i.e., which counties) viewers are having problems.

Perhaps we could all work together to let the station know what's going on and where they need to fix things. This approach worked for WBKO, but they were proactive in listening to and working with their viewers, something I've not yet noticed out of the folks on Marywood Drive.
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #726 of 750 Old 07-30-2009, 11:57 AM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, folks. The July polls at JDTVB will end at midnight CDT tomorrow night, at which time I will post the following polls - and these questions are only for Evansville market OTA viewers (not those with cable or satellite).

EDIT: I've reworded the question a bit. If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

Can you receive WEHT (News25/RTV25)?

* Yes (no problems)
* Most of the time
* Occasionally
* No

If your answer is "Clearly and all the time," you're finished and will not need to answer the next question.

However, if your answer is "Sometimes, but not always" or "Not at all," please select your location:

* SE Illinois Area #1 (Clay, Wayne, Richland and Lawrence counties)
* SE Illinois Area #2 (Hamilton and Saline counties)
* SE Illinois Area #3 (Edwards, Wabash, White and Gallatin counties)
* SW Indiana Area #1 (Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Knox, Martin and Pike counties)
* SW Indiana Area #2 (Posey, Vanderburgh and Warrick counties)
* SW Indiana Area #3 (Perry and Spencer counties)
* W Kentucky Area #1 (Union, Henderson, Webster and Hopkins counties)
* W Kentucky Area #2 (Daviess, Hancock and McLean counties)
* W Kentucky Area #3 (Ohio and Muhlenberg counties)

I'm planning to submit this poll's results to WEHT at the end of August so they can see where reception problems are. I figure if we get hard numbers to them, they will have to do something. I am not convinced that the new antenna that is being installed will solve all of the issues, so we need to let them know.

Be sure and share this with your friends and neighbors who watch over the air so we can get a good, representative sampling of the viewing area. I'd GREATLY appreciate everyone's help in getting the word out on this.
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #727 of 750 Old 08-23-2009, 10:16 AM
Member
 
bamaweather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Evansville DirecTV folks: Are you receiving WNIN in HD now?
bamaweather is offline  
post #728 of 750 Old 08-28-2009, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saw in the Gleaner yesterday that Marywood Drive at TV25 location would be closed today and Saturday, for public safety related to tower work. Suppose this means they're getting ready to install their permanent channel 7 antenna?
RMP in KY is offline  
post #729 of 750 Old 08-31-2009, 12:32 AM
Senior Member
 
sd72667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Evansville,IN
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaweather View Post

Evansville DirecTV folks: Are you receiving WNIN in HD now?

No, still not HD.
sd72667 is offline  
post #730 of 750 Old 09-04-2009, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was driving down the 41 strip in Henderson today, saw that there is a "Jib Crane" attached to the side of TV25 tower, and the red cylindrical object which I thought was the temporary Ch7 antenna was dangling by cable about half-way down the tower. Looks like they're getting ready to dismount the Ch25 antenna and install the permanent Ch7 antenna.
RMP in KY is offline  
post #731 of 750 Old 09-07-2009, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of yesterday (Sunday) afternoon, the Ch25 antenna was gone from top of tower. The Ch7 temp antenna was not just dangling as I thought earlier but attached to the tower about half-way up, apparently for temporary use?
RMP in KY is offline  
post #732 of 750 Old 09-09-2009, 12:24 AM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know - and this is based on FCC filings, brief chats with people I know, etc. - the antenna they've been using for channel 7 is and always has been on the side. Now that the top one is down, they can put the new one up there. The side-mount job is going to be their backup once the new top antenna is on.

Of course, this was all also supposed to be done by 9/15 from what I had heard ... but unless they are super fast about getting that new stick up there, connected and tested in the next 6 days, they're not going to make it.
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #733 of 750 Old 09-09-2009, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but the ch7 temp antenna was just below the top of the tower. Now, or at least as of last Sunday, it was mounted about 1/3 the way down the tower.
RMP in KY is offline  
post #734 of 750 Old 09-10-2009, 11:38 PM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMP in KY View Post

Yes, but the ch7 temp antenna was just below the top of the tower. Now, or at least as of last Sunday, it was mounted about 1/3 the way down the tower.

Hadn't heard that, but it does make some sense, as they'd need all the clearance they can get to put the new stick up there. Not sure if where it is now is where it will be once it's done. Their engineering guy says they're not releasing any more info until it's done, so all we can do is speculate at this point.
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #735 of 750 Old 09-14-2009, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No apparent change as of Sunday afternoon.
RMP in KY is offline  
post #736 of 750 Old 09-14-2009, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of 4:00 PM this afternoon, big antenna had been lifted to top of tower, but not yet bolted down.
RMP in KY is offline  
post #737 of 750 Old 09-16-2009, 10:45 PM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My understanding is that the antenna is now operational. I've not gotten official word, but a source in the know tells me it's done.

I am not seeing a massive signal strength improvement, but signal stability seems better, so I think it is indeed working.

I'll let you know what I find out for sure.
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #738 of 750 Old 10-22-2009, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
rec630's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have there been any recent changes with channel 14? My parents were able to receive it fine up until a few weeks ago. Reception on the rest of their channels have not changed, but 14 simply doesn't come in strong enough for a lock on their converter box anymore.
rec630 is offline  
post #739 of 750 Old 10-23-2009, 01:39 AM
Member
 
JN_owensboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec630 View Post

Have there been any recent changes with channel 14? My parents were able to receive it fine up until a few weeks ago. Reception on the rest of their channels have not changed, but 14 simply doesn't come in strong enough for a lock on their converter box anymore.

Nothing that I'm aware of, rec. I can check with the folks at 14, but it would be helpful to know where your folks are so they can have something to guide them.

They have gotten FCC approval to raise their signal from 250 kW to (I think) 525 kW, but the last time I talked with folks there, it wasn't in the budget to do so this year because of the economic downturn. I know they are seeking corporate approval to do a few things in 2010 that they had to put aside for that reason, but as yet, I don't know what's in and what's out.
JN_owensboro is offline  
post #740 of 750 Old 03-03-2010, 05:48 PM
Member
 
cosmotravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm in Olney and my neighbor has a couple stacked vhf antennas receiving 7 9 and 14

anyone picking up Evansville tv from 60 miles away?

wondering what kind of antennas, amps, your using?
cosmotravis is offline  
post #741 of 750 Old 03-06-2010, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
deltaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: solano county
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmotravis View Post

i'm in Olney and my neighbor has a couple stacked vhf antennas receiving 7 9 and 14

anyone picking up Evansville tv from 60 miles away?

wondering what kind of antennas, amps, your using?

I'd ask your neighbor. He's probably getting as much as you can expect to get from Olney. You can also ask in the Terre Haute thread, where there's more action than this one, for more ideas. Good Luck.
deltaguy is offline  
post #742 of 750 Old 03-09-2010, 04:51 PM
Member
 
hilltopper06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmotravis View Post

i'm in Olney and my neighbor has a couple stacked vhf antennas receiving 7 9 and 14

anyone picking up Evansville tv from 60 miles away?

wondering what kind of antennas, amps, your using?

I am able to get 7, 9, and 25 from Evansville (also 35 and 31). I am using a mant940 pointed South by Southeast and located at the very southern tip of Muhlenberg County. I am also at the highest point in the county, so take it with a grain of salt. I also receive all channels from Bowling Green (13, 53, 40, 24) and Nashville (2, 4, 5, 8, 17, 28, 30, 50, 58). I would say get whatever you have as high as you can possibly get it. The MANT940 I have comes with a small amp, but it works without it as well. Good luck.

Forgot to add, the tuner you are using has a lot to do with things as well. I was using the tuner built into the set and it worked ok, but I did not get 25 or 44 with it. I then switched to a KWorld ATSC 120 tuner card in a MythTV (Mythbuntu to be specific) setup and get 25 and 44 perfectly. MythTV (in my experience) does a much better job of locking onto an OTA signal.
hilltopper06 is offline  
post #743 of 750 Old 03-12-2010, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
rinardman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northern Wayne Co. IL
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmotravis View Post

i'm in Olney and my neighbor has a couple stacked vhf antennas receiving 7 9 and 14

anyone picking up Evansville tv from 60 miles away?

wondering what kind of antennas, amps, your using?

I'm currently using a Terrestrial Digital DB-8 and Winegard YA 1713 with a Channel Master 7777 pre-amp atop a forty-five foot tower. Will be replacing the DB-8 with a Televes DAT-75 soon.

Have also used a Winegard HD 9095 with good results. About any large, fringe area UHF & VHF antenna will work, just get it as high as possible and point it in the right direction. Use a antenna rotor, and you can turn and get the Terre Haute stations as well.
rinardman is offline  
post #744 of 750 Old 03-18-2010, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
liquid64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm from Owensboro, and recently have started receiving a 9.8 and 9.9. It's nothing but a blank screen when I have checked it. Anyone know if it is part of WNIN?
liquid64 is offline  
post #745 of 750 Old 03-21-2010, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
trido's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Evansville,In
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Confused Direct TV website is showing for EVV locals we need two dishes?
i want to get direct with hd receivers and sd receivers hasnt this two dish changed for us and now it is one 5 lnb dish?

thanks
got my answer wed as we had direct tv installed swm dish 3 lnb one dish for all/

Trido
trido is offline  
post #746 of 750 Old 06-25-2011, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
RMP in KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Morganfield, Kentucky 42437
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What with the change of FOX to WEVV, thought I'd post a comment. I saw in Jake's blog this morning where WEVV has supposedly fired up a new transmitter on rf ch 47. I did a rescan, got nothing on 47, but do show 2 new channels as "DTV" on "45.1" and "45.2", as well as the existing feeds on "44.1" and "44.2" Since WEVV's main signals are actually on rf ch 45, why do the new sigs show up as 45 and not 47? What's going on? Also, is this a permanent transmitter for FOX HD? I was wondering how WEVV was going to manage two HD feeds on the same transmitter.
RMP in KY is offline  
post #747 of 750 Old 07-25-2011, 07:26 PM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquid64 View Post

I'm from Owensboro, and recently have started receiving a 9.8 and 9.9. It's nothing but a blank screen when I have checked it. Anyone know if it is part of WNIN?

That triggered a couple of flags, so I looked it up. Just as I suspected, RabbitEars indicates that WNIN offers Update TV, which uses two subchannels, in this case 9.8 and 9.9. You're not supposed to see those two, but they popped up on your box. It's nothing too unusual.

Now with 100% more Amateur Extra Class privileges!
kc9hzn is offline  
post #748 of 750 Old 07-25-2011, 07:29 PM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
By the way, I got a partial decode of WTVW today, here east of Champaign, IL, on an indoor antenna at ground level, no less. Anyone down there getting anything exotic?

Now with 100% more Amateur Extra Class privileges!
kc9hzn is offline  
post #749 of 750 Old 09-24-2011, 02:59 PM
Member
 
wellspd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Owensboro, Ky
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just FYI, anyone trying to get FOX HD 47.1 through the DirecTV OTA tuner. Since apparently DirecTV will only let you tune channels they've designated for your market area and 47.1 isn't in the list. You can only watch FOX on 44.2 which is SD. My work around was to find another FOX 47 and enter it's zip code as a secondary market. I used 53719 and it works great. Only the prime time program matches up but that's all i care about. Hope this helps someone else looking to DVR FOX HD.
wellspd is offline  
post #750 of 750 Old 08-10-2012, 11:20 AM
Member
 
rdoac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, for information, WEHT and WTVW are going HD this weekend. The 4p newscast on Monday will be broadcast in HD, and hopefully the NFL preseason games over the weekend.
rdoac is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off