Baton Rouge, LA - HDTV - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 2960 Old 09-16-2005, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
j-bo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Deep Bayou Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WAFB???? I haven't had WAFB for 2 days now. Signal has gone down to 22. Anyone else getting OTA?

The Truth IS out there!
j-bo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 2960 Old 09-16-2005, 08:22 AM
Member
 
carwashguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sulphur, LA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-bo View Post

WAFB???? I haven't had WAFB for 2 days now. Signal has gone down to 22. Anyone else getting OTA?

I have not checked today, but I was getting it last night at 86.
carwashguy is offline  
post #153 of 2960 Old 09-16-2005, 09:57 PM
Member
 
FSOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-bo View Post

Guess if we weren't so cheap, we'd just get cable and have our local HD channels that way eh?

But then my HDTivo isn't quite as useful.
FSOne is offline  
post #154 of 2960 Old 09-17-2005, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-bo View Post

Guess if we weren't so cheap, we'd just get cable and have our local HD channels that way eh?

It's only about $13 a month....
digiblur is offline  
post #155 of 2960 Old 09-17-2005, 10:50 PM
Member
 
LazyDaveD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got home from work and pressed the guide on my dvr, and there it was. I'm pretty pumped because I can watch NASCAR in HD tomorrow now. Also looking forward to more NBA games in HD.
LazyDaveD is offline  
post #156 of 2960 Old 09-18-2005, 09:38 AM
Member
 
LazyDaveD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never chimed in on this post before, so it's nice to be able to speak with locals. Jay Leno, Conan, and Letterman have not been in HD the last couple of weeks(I still haven't seen Letterman in HD). I use Cox, and was wondering if that was the issue, or if the stations aren't broadcasting them in HD for what ever reason.

Also wanted to give a heads up to anyone who has HD threw Cox, that TNT was added yesterday.
LazyDaveD is offline  
post #157 of 2960 Old 09-18-2005, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be great if cox adds it to Alexandria.
lolowar is offline  
post #158 of 2960 Old 09-18-2005, 06:24 PM
Member
 
overworked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BR
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyDaveD View Post

I've never chimed in on this post before, so it's nice to be able to speak with locals. Jay Leno, Conan, and Letterman have not been in HD the last couple of weeks(I still haven't seen Letterman in HD). I use Cox, and was wondering if that was the issue, or if the stations aren't broadcasting them in HD for what ever reason.

Also wanted to give a heads up to anyone who has HD threw Cox, that TNT was added yesterday.

WVLA's HD IRD was fried for a while. NBC finally figured out what was broke and sent a replacement, it was installed Friday.
overworked is offline  
post #159 of 2960 Old 09-19-2005, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
jfklennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Overworked, any idea's on when tower work will resume?

Scan not a friend with a microscopic glass. you know his faults, let his foibles pass.
jfklennon is offline  
post #160 of 2960 Old 09-19-2005, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyDaveD View Post

Got home from work and pressed the guide on my dvr, and there it was. I'm pretty pumped because I can watch NASCAR in HD tomorrow now. Also looking forward to more NBA games in HD.

Now if Cox would only pickup HDNet and HDNetMovies then I might switch, I'd miss my Voom channels but I'd be okay with the trade.

One of my main reasons for staying on DishNet was TNTHD, love the Nascar on TNT and love the Nascar on HDNet.
digiblur is offline  
post #161 of 2960 Old 09-19-2005, 06:37 PM
Member
 
overworked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BR
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfklennon View Post

Overworked, any idea's on when tower work will resume?


Unfortunately, No.
overworked is offline  
post #162 of 2960 Old 09-19-2005, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfklennon View Post

Overworked, any idea's on when tower work will resume?

Rita is coming now
digiblur is offline  
post #163 of 2960 Old 09-20-2005, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bdm72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-bo View Post

WAFB???? I haven't had WAFB for 2 days now. Signal has gone down to 22. Anyone else getting OTA?

For the first time ever I wasn't able to get OTA reception on either ABC or CBS last night (Sept. 19th)...therefore no HD MNF. I typically get blazing strong signal from both those channels. Any new info on that front?
bdm72 is offline  
post #164 of 2960 Old 09-20-2005, 03:07 PM
Member
 
carwashguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sulphur, LA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdm72 View Post

For the first time ever I wasn't able to get OTA reception on either ABC or CBS last night (Sept. 19th)...therefore no HD MNF. I typically get blazing strong signal from both those channels. Any new info on that front?

i didnt check cbs, but i had ABC OTA all night watching the saints in hd. my signal was 93 and i live in denham springs
carwashguy is offline  
post #165 of 2960 Old 09-21-2005, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
j-bo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Deep Bayou Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just got back WAFB last night, Sept. 20th. I always had a signal, although it dropped to 22 for a day or so, but went back up to 51, but I didn't ever pick it up when I scanned for it. I rescanned yesterday with a signal of 51 (yes, I can manipulate the antenna to get a strong 75 or more when I have to) and all is good for now. Channel 9-4 the tube, when I turn to that station, shows a "no signal" in the top left hand corner.

I always was getting ABC, never went out for me.

What is some of ya'lls set ups?

I HATE Charter, and refuse to get service from them again. Besides that, where I live (town of Livingston), they didnt' have HD anyways. I tried for COX, but they dont service our area, although a neighbors kid said they now have COX, will have to check that out.

I used to have D*tv. Was tired of their outages and run around and high cost.

Was thinking of getting dishnet, but again, where I live, I don't qualify for the locals. I am really looking to get FOX and NBC in HD, just doesn't look like it will happen with OTA for a long time, and there is no other way for me to get those in HD.

j-bo

The Truth IS out there!
j-bo is offline  
post #166 of 2960 Old 09-21-2005, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-bo View Post

I just got back WAFB last night, Sept. 20th. I always had a signal, although it dropped to 22 for a day or so, but went back up to 51, but I didn't ever pick it up when I scanned for it. I rescanned yesterday with a signal of 51 (yes, I can manipulate the antenna to get a strong 75 or more when I have to) and all is good for now. Channel 9-4 the tube, when I turn to that station, shows a "no signal" in the top left hand corner.

I always was getting ABC, never went out for me.

What is some of ya'lls set ups?

I HATE Charter, and refuse to get service from them again. Besides that, where I live (town of Livingston), they didnt' have HD anyways. I tried for COX, but they dont service our area, although a neighbors kid said they now have COX, will have to check that out.

I used to have D*tv. Was tired of their outages and run around and high cost.

Was thinking of getting dishnet, but again, where I live, I don't qualify for the locals. I am really looking to get FOX and NBC in HD, just doesn't look like it will happen with OTA for a long time, and there is no other way for me to get those in HD.

j-bo


WAFB is still all there....



I have a HTPC with a MyHD-130 card for DVR'ing the QAM locals on COX plus it is tied into my CM4228 antenna. The 57 inch Hitachi also has a built in QAM tuner which is used for watching other programs while the HTPC is recording things. The HTPC is also used for playing back HD material from other internet obtained TS files. I only subscribe to basic cable and internet from Cox.

I also have a Dishnet 811 HD receiver but I do not use the OTA digital receiver in this box since I already have two others. I only subscribe to the HDPak and Voom Pak from Dishnet for $20 a month. I don't have any other packages since I don't need them. If Cox offered a package to get the HD channels without having to purchase expanded basic then I'd jump on it. But they don't...so their loss, I'll stick with DishNet. I'm actually glad I've gone this way due to the few extended cable outages we've still had HDTV via DishNet.

One Fortec Ultra Lifetime with a 36" motorized KU Band dish for FTA channels and feeds.

One XBox with XBox Media Center for all of my other audio and video needs.

Did I ever say toys for the TV are addicting?
digiblur is offline  
post #167 of 2960 Old 09-22-2005, 07:59 AM
Member
 
bushfilm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bayou State
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just my two cents, but I worked for WVLA at one time and I have never seen a cheaper bunch of people operate a TV station, I think they bitched about having to buy toilet paper for the restrooms! All the while the CEO, Mr. Galloway from Lafayette is flying his private jet to his mansion in Naples, Fla. although now I understand that he has purchased another mansion in Spain. So, if you want to know why nothing good is happening on that channel, consider the rising cost of jet fuel. Enough said.
bushfilm is offline  
post #168 of 2960 Old 09-22-2005, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jfklennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just posted by bushfilm: 'I think they bitched about having to buy toilet paper for the restrooms!' Wow!!! That one brought back memories, They bitched about the same thing when I worked for them, all those years ago...

Scan not a friend with a microscopic glass. you know his faults, let his foibles pass.
jfklennon is offline  
post #169 of 2960 Old 09-22-2005, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfklennon View Post

Just posted by bushfilm: 'I think they bitched about having to buy toilet paper for the restrooms!' Wow!!! That one brought back memories, They bitched about the same thing when I worked for them, all those years ago...

As you walk out of the office for the day you check your email......

"Bill, it is your turn this week to buy the TP or else"
digiblur is offline  
post #170 of 2960 Old 09-26-2005, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
j-bo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Deep Bayou Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay...

I am still at a loss here on WAFB. I have had no problems before, but as you can see by my prior posts, the signal has degraded once before, came back fine, now it is messed up again. I can only get it at 44 MAX (used to get when tuned right 74 or so), but it jumps all over the place from 27-44 strength, also sometimes it will sit on 30. I checked the other channels strengths and they are all fine, and they only jump a number (1 or 2 in strength) every now and then.

I rechecked the antenna about a gazillion times. I rechecked the wiring. I even went out and bought a new STB to see if maybe my tuner was going south. That didn't help either, just confirmed SOMETHING is going on with their OTA signal.

Unless I am just missing something obvious. Anyone???

The Truth IS out there!
j-bo is offline  
post #171 of 2960 Old 09-26-2005, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
j-bo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Deep Bayou Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just for giggles, I relooked at the CEA site. It didn't even show WVLA as a digital station with my zip. I put in a BR zip and it shows up. WEIRD.

I did notice this channel though, although live date is TBD.

WBTR-DT 19 IND BATON ROUGE LA TBD 317° 3.9 19

Anyone know when that station will be up?

I have bets it will be before fox and nbc! hehe.

The Truth IS out there!
j-bo is offline  
post #172 of 2960 Old 09-28-2005, 06:21 AM
Member
 
BMoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I experience trouble with WAFB's signal when it's windy or breezy outside. I don't know why that would affect it, but their signal was jumping around and I couldn't watch the NE-PIT game in HD Sunday because of it. Monday it was fine.

I've noticed other times that I have problems with it when it's windy. Makes no sense to me, but take it for what it's worth.
BMoney is offline  
post #173 of 2960 Old 09-28-2005, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
j-bo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Deep Bayou Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow. what a few days makes. Now WAFB is pumping out a strong signal! Around 95 for me now, and I never got it above 75 before. Smokin!

Oct. 31... FOX and NBC eh?

The Truth IS out there!
j-bo is offline  
post #174 of 2960 Old 09-28-2005, 08:00 AM
Member
 
scolainsola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-bo View Post

Oct. 31... FOX and NBC eh?

Hell I would take sometime before next football season! It is evident they don't care to broadcast OTA HD. Hopefully they will accept my waiver from D* so I can at least watch HD programming (not holding breath).

Anyone have luck with this??
scolainsola is offline  
post #175 of 2960 Old 09-28-2005, 09:50 AM
Member
 
carwashguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sulphur, LA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scolainsola View Post

Hell I would take sometime before next football season! It is evident they don't care to broadcast OTA HD. Hopefully they will accept my waiver from D* so I can at least watch HD programming (not holding breath).

Anyone have luck with this??

I got my denied postcard back from D* last week. I don't understand why we cant get distant network HD for NBC and FOX. Im going to try and call these people, doubt it will help, but it sucks not getting the FOX NFL games in HD.
carwashguy is offline  
post #176 of 2960 Old 09-30-2005, 01:41 PM
Member
 
overworked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BR
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
overworked is offline  
post #177 of 2960 Old 09-30-2005, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
jfklennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey overworked: uh, nevermind.

Scan not a friend with a microscopic glass. you know his faults, let his foibles pass.
jfklennon is offline  
post #178 of 2960 Old 09-30-2005, 05:34 PM
Member
 
overworked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BR
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WGMB goes down tomorrow (Sat) morning. WVLA goes down Sunday at 12:30p.
Cox and Direct will not be affected. WGMB programming will be broadcast on WB21 for the most part and WVLA will be broadcast on Z19 while it is down.

Hmmmm, don't remember if anyone had picked this weekend. Oh well, everybody has their ideas on why the delays, perhaps after its done I'll be allowed to elaborate on that subject, but then again, nobody will believe it anyway
overworked is offline  
post #179 of 2960 Old 10-01-2005, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jfklennon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe. confirmed, WGMB off-air as of 8:00 this am.

Scan not a friend with a microscopic glass. you know his faults, let his foibles pass.
jfklennon is offline  
post #180 of 2960 Old 10-01-2005, 07:32 AM
Member
 
overworked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BR
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has begun
overworked is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off