Baton Rouge, LA - HDTV - Page 92 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 2956 Old 01-13-2010, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clint S. View Post


Does anyone know of a site that lists stations' power output? I seem to remember someone on this thread saying WAFB had only 9kw. But here it says 46kw (ERP)...(5.5kw at the top, but 45kw at the bottom. ??)

You are reading the wrong channel info...the 46KW ERP was for their UHF 46 pre-transition channel...the current VHF 9 is the current one at 5.57KW.
Also look at the HAAT. The UHF 46 was lower on a different tower.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clint S. View Post

WBRZ it says only 30kw! If that ERP data is correct it says WGMB is 1000kw which I guess explains why that's only 1 of 2 I can receive. But the other I can receive is LPB which is only 20kw. Apparently that's due to them being UHF, where WBRZ, and AFB are VHF. But WVLA is UHF and according to that FCC site, 1000kw! So it doesn't make any sense why I can't receive it. There's two areas for "ERP" on each page so maybe I'm not looking at the right ones. But both say "digital".

Again, check the channel listed..and tower location...also the numbers in the FILE No. shows the date of the application, etc (EXAMPLE: BMPCDT-20080619AJK shows 06/19/2008 as the date) In most cases the later date is the correct one...(Evidently WAFB has not gotten their license to cover...or the FCC web page is not updated..which happens sometimes!)
BPTTV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 2956 Old 01-13-2010, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

QAM tuners are for non-encrypted digital cable signals. 8VSB or ATSC receivers are used for OTA reception. I will tell you, it is difficult to find a 1080i/720p standalone receiver at times.

I was also going to mention that if you do have a QAM tuner, you might be surprised to find you might still get the local HD channes over your cable line if you keep the internet. Unless they have changed things, just put a block on the analog channels, but of course YMMV. This would save you from have to mess with an antenna. But the tech in my prefers the antenna method in the first place...getting it from the source without a middle man and it works wonders when the cable is down due to a storm.


And remember your cable system is taking it from MPEG2 over the air to QAM down the cable...so there is conversion (and there is ALWAYS some loss no matter what!)You get the best quality OTA anytime..
BPTTV is offline  
post #2733 of 2956 Old 01-14-2010, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPTTV View Post

And remember your cable system is taking it from MPEG2 over the air to QAM down the cable...so there is conversion (and there is ALWAYS some loss no matter what!)You get the best quality OTA anytime..

Not always. 2 OTA channels here are on their own QAM channels on Cox cable and the bit rates are the same. You can't say that for the others, but the locals seem here seem to run very close to the bit rates they have on OTA. They haven't pushed them to 3 HD channels per QAM on the locals yet, like they have the other HD channels.
digiblur is offline  
post #2734 of 2956 Old 01-15-2010, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone notice WVLA is very low in signal? I noticed on Thursday morning it was 0%...WGMB was still 100%. WVLA was back this morning with only 60% with WGMB still at 100%.
digiblur is offline  
post #2735 of 2956 Old 01-16-2010, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

Anyone notice WVLA is very low in signal? I noticed on Thursday morning it was 0%...WGMB was still 100%. WVLA was back this morning with only 60% with WGMB still at 100%.

It was lower for me also. It was 60-65 while WGMB was still@100
dennispap is offline  
post #2736 of 2956 Old 01-17-2010, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

It was lower for me also. It was 60-65 while WGMB was still@100

Looks like it is back to mid 80's for me.
digiblur is offline  
post #2737 of 2956 Old 01-22-2010, 09:13 PM
Newbie
 
95GTSpeedDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tickfaw LA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, im new here, so if this is not quite the right section; i apologize ahead of time.

I have been looking into antennas for a week now and my head is starting to spin lol

Im located at 70466 in Tickfaw, just off I55.
The closest station is about 40 miles to about 50 miles; and ofcourse 70+ for some others. Baton Rouge and New Orleans are about split on the number of stations.

I am contemplating on 2 "antennas" so i do not have to worry about a motor to spin it to watch another channel from another area.

I can go 20-30ft with a pole if needed.

What antenna/pre amp would you guys recomend?

Thanks!
95GTSpeedDemon is offline  
post #2738 of 2956 Old 01-22-2010, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95GTSpeedDemon View Post

Hey guys, im new here, so if this is not quite the right section; i apologize ahead of time.

I have been looking into antennas for a week now and my head is starting to spin lol

Im located at 70466 in Tickfaw, just off I55.
The closest station is about 40 miles to about 50 miles; and ofcourse 70+ for some others. Baton Rouge and New Orleans are about split on the number of stations.

I am contemplating on 2 "antennas" so i do not have to worry about a motor to spin it to watch another channel from another area.

I can go 20-30ft with a pole if needed.

What antenna/pre amp would you guys recomend?

Thanks!

dennispap should come to your rescue in a bit. He's in Hammond and should be able to tell you what works and doesn't in the area.
digiblur is offline  
post #2739 of 2956 Old 01-24-2010, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95GTSpeedDemon View Post

Hey guys, im new here, so if this is not quite the right section; i apologize ahead of time.

I have been looking into antennas for a week now and my head is starting to spin lol

Im located at 70466 in Tickfaw, just off I55.
The closest station is about 40 miles to about 50 miles; and ofcourse 70+ for some others. Baton Rouge and New Orleans are about split on the number of stations.

I am contemplating on 2 "antennas" so i do not have to worry about a motor to spin it to watch another channel from another area.

I can go 20-30ft with a pole if needed.

What antenna/pre amp would you guys recomend?

Thanks!

I'm not far from you. I live right off of exit 32 (Hammond) about a 1/2 mile west of 55.
I have a cm4228 with a cm7777 amp. It is about 17 feet off of the ground and i dont have any problems with it. I have it aimed to baton rouge and i get all of the big 4 with no problems. LPB/pbs is my weakest signal but it still comes in reliably at about 70% signal. However, i cant pick up the HD cw21 from baton rouge at all, but i do receive their SD signal as a subchannel of fox 44.(The cw is 44.2) I never watch it anyway.
If i spin my antenna towards New orleans, i can get all of the new orleans stations with no problems. Their cw does ota in hd, however their "mynetwork" doesnt broadcast in hd.(Never watch that either)
I do receive the b rouge "mynet" in sd as a subchannel of wafb. It just depends what networks you need the most. I would recommend the cm4228 as others who have it seem to love it also.
Plus, some nights i also pick up some of the lafayette and Lake charles stations. On rare nights i get some of the houston stations. I am real happy with the cm4228/7777
dennispap is offline  
post #2740 of 2956 Old 01-24-2010, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
95GTSpeedDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tickfaw LA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You Dennis, much appreciated.

The cm4228 is $54 from Summit Source, discontinued from solid signal.

Figure there is a better UHF antenna out there; may not be needed though?

I planned to go 20-30ft if needed, running a cable system to make it easy to get it out the wind when needed.

I thought about 2 antennas, one pointing to BR and the other to NO so i did not have to turn the antenna to pick up other channels.

*Edit*
I found Channel Master 4228HD 8-bay HDTV/UHF TV Antenna (4228-HD)
$ 49.99
In Stock
Channel Master

&

Channel Master CM 4228 8-Bay Bowtie UHF TV Antenna (CM4228)
$ 54.99
Discontinued (Not Available)
Channel Master

any difference between the two?
Solid Signal was the site, btw.
95GTSpeedDemon is offline  
post #2741 of 2956 Old 01-24-2010, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The older CM4228 works better on VHF-Hi. The new one does not. WAFB is on channel 9 and WBRZ is channel 13.
digiblur is offline  
post #2742 of 2956 Old 01-24-2010, 09:28 PM
Member
 
klandry7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paincourtville, la
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

The older CM4228 works better on VHF-Hi. The new one does not. WAFB is on channel 9 and WBRZ is channel 13.

I have the new CM4228HD and pick up WAFB and WBRZ fine 25 miles away pointed to New Orleans I bought one for a friend and it picks up those 45 miles away pointed to Baton Rouge with a just a converter box and no amp.
klandry7 is offline  
post #2743 of 2956 Old 01-25-2010, 06:43 PM
Member
 
sjso395's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Paulina, La (40 miles West of New Orleans)
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ditto on the 4228/7777 set up. Have had it for about 3 years now. I'm probably ~50+ miles from all antenna and get 80-100% on everything.

I didnt see anything above about you finding the pre-amp. Make SURE you get the pre-amp
sjso395 is offline  
post #2744 of 2956 Old 01-25-2010, 06:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

The older CM4228 works better on VHF-Hi. The new one does not. WAFB is on channel 9 and WBRZ is channel 13.

I thought this was the case, too. But a recent test (link) showed that the 4228HD may be able to hold its own in the VHF-high band. The test compares it to a Winegard 76098P high gain VHF-hi + UHF antenna on chs 7-13.
arxaw is offline  
post #2745 of 2956 Old 01-25-2010, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice to see that.. thanks for the link.
digiblur is offline  
post #2746 of 2956 Old 02-03-2010, 09:13 AM
Member
 
all2neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else have Eatel's Fiber Edge TV service? I moved to Ascension parish in November and OMG, the locals look almost as good as OTA and way better than anything Cox has put out. It's a shame that some of my neighbors i've seen have Cox trucks in their driveway, I'm assuming they don't know what they are missing but fiber to the home really rocks! Hardly any pixelation issues! However, I must say, their DVR sucks very bad, I ended up buying a TIVO and their on-demand is somewhat limited.
all2neat is offline  
post #2747 of 2956 Old 02-03-2010, 09:14 AM
Member
 
bigzeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by all2neat View Post

Does anyone else have Eatel's Fiber Edge TV service? I moved to Ascension parish in November and OMG, the locals look almost as good as OTA and way better than anything Cox has put out. It's a shame that some of my neighbors i've seen have Cox trucks in their driveway, I'm assuming they don't know what they are missing but fiber to the home really rocks! Hardly any pixelation issues! However, I must say, their DVR sucks very bad, I ended up buying a TIVO and their on-demand is somewhat limited.

What kind of ping times do you get on your internet? My parents have Eatel and I can't stand the latency. If yours is good, I may have them come check out the connection.
bigzeto is offline  
post #2748 of 2956 Old 02-03-2010, 11:06 AM
Member
 
all2neat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigzeto View Post

What kind of ping times do you get on your internet? My parents have Eatel and I can't stand the latency. If yours is good, I may have them come check out the connection.

Depends where to, but very good usually, i can ping servers in Houston and Dallas usually under 40ms.. When I play games online my ping is usually under 50 typically, I don't even notice any lag... If your parents have lag issues with them they should call eatel up and get a support ticket.
all2neat is offline  
post #2749 of 2956 Old 02-03-2010, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by all2neat View Post

Does anyone else have Eatel's Fiber Edge TV service? I moved to Ascension parish in November and OMG, the locals look almost as good as OTA and way better than anything Cox has put out. It's a shame that some of my neighbors i've seen have Cox trucks in their driveway, I'm assuming they don't know what they are missing but fiber to the home really rocks! Hardly any pixelation issues! However, I must say, their DVR sucks very bad, I ended up buying a TIVO and their on-demand is somewhat limited.

Actually the locals on Cox are running at just about the same bandwidth as their OTA. Even WGMB and WBRL HD each have a 40 megabit carrier to themselves and OTA tops at 18 or so. I've ran them side by side before on a PC and couldn't tell the difference except for the delay between the two of course.

What internet speeds do they offer?
digiblur is offline  
post #2750 of 2956 Old 02-04-2010, 02:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clint S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
FYI, Eatel's FiberEdge services are still only available in "select areas of Ascension and Livingston Parishes".

"Sorry, but based on your phone number our FiberEdge Digital Services are not scheduled to become available in your area."

It's been that way for years. Why do they avoid EBR parish?

God Bless,
-Clint
Clint S. is offline  
post #2751 of 2956 Old 02-04-2010, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I noticed WLVA 33 ota is coming in here @ 95% now even in the rain.
They must have fixed the ota problems.as it had been coming in in the high 60's low 70's.
dennispap is offline  
post #2752 of 2956 Old 02-04-2010, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

I noticed WLVA 33 ota is coming in here @ 95% now even in the rain.
They must have fixed the ota problems.as it had been coming in in the high 60's low 70's.

Nice catch. WGMB is rocking between 96 and 97 (usually 100 on most days). WVLA is a solid 100% here. I haven't seen that in a LONG time.
digiblur is offline  
post #2753 of 2956 Old 02-05-2010, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
FOX44CE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: KWKT-TV/KYLE-TV - Waco - Bryan/CS, Texas
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

Nice catch. WGMB is rocking between 96 and 97 (usually 100 on most days). WVLA is a solid 100% here. I haven't seen that in a LONG time.

WGMB and WVLA both suffered damage during the hurricane that only recently reared it's ugly haed.
Our consulting engineers have been on site analyzing the issues and made temporary repairs.
Tower crews are being lined up to make permanent repairs to the waveguide and transmission line flanges that have been leakin moisture into the system.
FOX44CE is offline  
post #2754 of 2956 Old 02-05-2010, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the update FOX44CE.
Here in Hammond (about 40-50 miles east of Baton Rouge) I am getting WVLA NBC33 @ 95% and now WGMB FOX44 @ 83% thru my Dish network receiver.
Usually Fox44 is @ 98-100 so their signal is lower for now. When the permanent repairs are done i figure FOX 44 will go back to its full power.
dennispap is offline  
post #2755 of 2956 Old 02-07-2010, 12:07 AM
Member
 
JoshTemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gonzales, LA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by all2neat View Post

Does anyone else have Eatel's Fiber Edge TV service? I moved to Ascension parish in November and OMG, the locals look almost as good as OTA and way better than anything Cox has put out. It's a shame that some of my neighbors i've seen have Cox trucks in their driveway, I'm assuming they don't know what they are missing but fiber to the home really rocks! Hardly any pixelation issues! However, I must say, their DVR sucks very bad, I ended up buying a TIVO and their on-demand is somewhat limited.

What is EATEL's QAM lineup?
JoshTemp is offline  
post #2756 of 2956 Old 02-09-2010, 12:03 PM
Member
 
klandry7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paincourtville, la
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshTemp View Post

What is EATEL's QAM lineup?

They are probably like AT&T and don't use QAM at all. They probably require a receiver for each TV to convert their encrypted IP video coming through their phone lines.
klandry7 is offline  
post #2757 of 2956 Old 02-15-2010, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had 2 timers for fox44 for sunday night @ 6pm and 6:30pm and both didnt record due to No signal. Fox 44 is still off of the air for me now, but i am getting nbc33@ 95% and all other ota stations so i dont think it is my antenna.
Anyone else getting fox44 OTA?
dennispap is offline  
post #2758 of 2956 Old 02-15-2010, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

I had 2 timers for fox44 for sunday night @ 6pm and 6:30pm and both didnt record due to No signal. Fox 44 is still off of the air for me now, but i am getting nbc33@ 95% and all other ota stations so i dont think it is my antenna.
Anyone else getting fox44 OTA?

I forgot to post yesterday...sorry. I noticed my two timers for FOX44 didn't fire on Saturday night due to no signal.
digiblur is offline  
post #2759 of 2956 Old 02-15-2010, 10:24 AM
Member
 
klandry7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paincourtville, la
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

I forgot to post yesterday...sorry. I noticed my two timers for FOX44 didn't fire on Saturday night due to no signal.

It is being carried in SD on 33.2 instead of THIS-TV . That is how Charter is picking it up for Assumption parish.
klandry7 is offline  
post #2760 of 2956 Old 02-15-2010, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by klandry7 View Post

It is being carried in SD on 33.2 instead of THIS-TV . That is how Charter is picking it up for Assumption parish.

Which I'll pass on since I'm not watching HD programs in SD. Thanks for the info.
digiblur is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off