Baton Rouge, LA - HDTV - Page 96 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2851 of 2956 Old 11-10-2010, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradfordtheguy View Post

Here in Broussard I can catch wafb, wbrz, wvla all at near 100% signals. I've never been able to catch the fox station. I have an RCA ant751 mounted in my attic (about 35ft above street level). It's odd because if I aim the antenna north I can catch Monroe channels pretty good, but can't catch fox out of BR.

That is strange because foxx44 is the strongest signal out of all of the baton rouge stations. Did you try a rescan recently? They come blasting in here in Hammond @ 100% on my dish vip722.
I am about 45-50 miles away from br.
dennispap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2852 of 2956 Old 11-16-2010, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

That is strange because foxx44 is the strongest signal out of all of the baton rouge stations. Did you try a rescan recently? They come blasting in here in Hammond @ 100% on my dish vip722.
I am about 45-50 miles away from br.

I've heard from many people in Lafayette area that say the WGMB is harder to pick up there than WVLA. I find that WGMB has a stronger signal than WVLA in my area. I wonder if there is some extreme null to the west for WGMB or something.
digiblur is offline  
post #2853 of 2956 Old 11-16-2010, 07:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
WGMB's antenna pattern: http://www.rabbitears.info/oddsanden...ion=0&erp=1000

Also bear in mind that WGMB is more than 300 feet lower on the tower than WVLA is.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2854 of 2956 Old 11-20-2010, 07:22 AM
Member
 
bradfordtheguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That makes sense, thanks for the info trip. Rescanned again, still no fox44. We're okay with that though, KADN is good enough. Speaking of those church channels out of Houston, I get them sometimes too. Odd how they blast to the east sometimes. My next project is to set up my inlaws house (in Napoleonville) with an antenna so he can catch the subchannels for WBRZ and WAFB. does anybody know what subchannels are on the New Orleans subchannels? TVfool says I have a good chance of catching NO channels too.
bradfordtheguy is offline  
post #2855 of 2956 Old 11-20-2010, 07:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradfordtheguy View Post

does anybody know what subchannels are on the New Orleans subchannels? TVfool says I have a good chance of catching NO channels too.

From my website:

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=67

Click "Expand/Contract All" and you can see what's going on in New Orleans.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2856 of 2956 Old 11-20-2010, 08:54 AM
Member
 
klandry7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Paincourtville, la
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradfordtheguy View Post

My next project is to set up my inlaws house (in Napoleonville) with an antenna so he can catch the subchannels for WBRZ and WAFB. does anybody know what subchannels are on the New Orleans subchannels? TVfool says I have a good chance of catching NO channels too.

I'm in Paincourtville 5 miles north and get WBRZ and WAFB along with WVLA, WGMB and the NO channels with a CM4228HD pointed east to NO.
Here is my TVfool.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...a362d0914997b8
WWL and WUPL at 60 miles away come in all the time. The rest of the NO stations are 65 miles and have some breakups around noon.
klandry7 is offline  
post #2857 of 2956 Old 12-12-2010, 10:01 PM
Member
 
armchairGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess no one at WVLA noticed Friday that Ellen, Oprah, and ET did not air in HD. Actually, ET did not air in HD 3 times last week. It's not like this is a new problem and I've seen other "HD off" issues on WGMB, KADN and WNTZ.
I've even seen where WVLA has forgotten to turn on the HD during the news.

Tonight WNTZ did not air Fox Primetime Animation Domination in HD, so it was SD Simpsons and new Family Guy for those stuck with that station as a Fox affiliate.

KADN had a NUMBERS episode start out in HD tonight, but then went SD a few minutes in, just like Oprah did on WVLA last week.
2 & 1/2 Men have had 2 & 1/2 years of SD glitches and meltdowns on KADN.

If I thought it was worthy, I'd like to do what those cool folks on the New Orleans forum did to the mighty WWL and fire off an official FCC complaint about an occasional glitch.
armchairGM is offline  
post #2858 of 2956 Old 12-13-2010, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Showing SD content is perfectly fine by law... the station is only required to be digital and on the air.
digiblur is offline  
post #2859 of 2956 Old 12-13-2010, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by armchairGM View Post

I guess no one at WVLA noticed Friday that Ellen, Oprah, and ET did not air in HD. Actually, ET did not air in HD 3 times last week. It's not like this is a new problem and I've seen other "HD off" issues on WGMB, KADN and WNTZ.
I've even seen where WVLA has forgotten to turn on the HD during the news.

Tonight WNTZ did not air Fox Primetime Animation Domination in HD, so it was SD Simpsons and new Family Guy for those stuck with that station as a Fox affiliate.

KADN had a NUMBERS episode start out in HD tonight, but then went SD a few minutes in, just like Oprah did on WVLA last week.
2 & 1/2 Men have had 2 & 1/2 years of SD glitches and meltdowns on KADN.

If I thought it was worthy, I'd like to do what those cool folks on the New Orleans forum did to the mighty WWL and fire off an official FCC complaint about an occasional glitch.

I've found that wvla is the worst out of all of the br and no stations for hd screw ups. You think it is bad now, it was way worse 3-4 years ago. I regularly had to call the station during prime time because a show would start in hd, go to commercial, come back in sd. I would call they would say "really" uh ok,, go flip the switch, and voilla hd. For fun one day, go back a few years here and read all of the "evidently no one at the station watches the channel" posts. One of the station managers voice mail even used to say "if you are calling about the picture aspect please call # etc, etc. The thing that bothers me is during most of the syndicated sd shows (not all)the logo they use has a big 33HD bug. However when the syndicated show is in hd, usually the hd bug ISNT used.
dennispap is offline  
post #2860 of 2956 Old 12-13-2010, 05:09 PM
Member
 
armchairGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

I've found that wvla is the worst out of all of the br and no stations for hd screw ups. You think it is bad now, it was way worse 3-4 years ago. I regularly had to call the station during prime time because a show would start in hd, go to commercial, come back in sd. I would call they would say "really" uh ok,, go flip the switch, and voilla hd. For fun one day, go back a few years here and read all of the "evidently no one at the station watches the channel" posts. One of the station managers voice mail even used to say "if you are calling about the picture aspect please call # etc, etc. The thing that bothers me is during most of the syndicated sd shows (not all)the logo they use has a big 33HD bug. However when the syndicated show is in hd, usually the hd bug ISNT used.

Now the same company has huge HD bugs on KADN & WNTZ.

Today again no Ellen, Oprah or ET in HD on 33.1 WVLA. Guess the 10PM airing on WGMB @10pm won't be in HD either. WVLA also doesn't air the Tonight Show rebroadcast overnights in HD or Poker After Dark that went HD back in January or the Meet The Press rebroadcast.

The HD issues may not be illegal, but they are unprofessional and irritating to viewers.

Over 2 years of HD problems for 2 & 1/2 Men on both KADN and WGMB are way too long to go without being addressed. I don't know the exact date of the launch of that program on KADN but it has been over 2 years for sure and even though the problems are not as bad as a year ago, they still occur on a weekly basis.

Because of these long running problems @ WVLA and the other stations in that companies' cluster, when I received my first ever ratings diary earlier this year, I gave 100% of my NBC HD viewing to KPLC Lake Charles and it was during the Winter Olympics. I look forward to participating in the ratings again in the future and will remember all these problems.

The ratings diary asks what cable or satellite service you have and give many lines to fill in all the OTA stations that your household receives.
They also give you several lines to discuss local television stations and in particular they ask for comments related to local news and information. I filled up every line, praising the best stations in the region and mentioning ongoing technical struggles at others which turn me off as a viewer.
armchairGM is offline  
post #2861 of 2956 Old 12-21-2010, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Savage5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BATON ROUGE!
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Louisiana gets crapped on in every way possible. Thank god for LSU!
Savage5 is offline  
post #2862 of 2956 Old 02-01-2011, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Noticed today on wvla 33, during days of our lives when 33 would run a weather warning across of the top of the screen, the video would be about 3 seconds behind the audio. I dont think this is normal? It happened all of the times that they ran the weather warning.
dennispap is offline  
post #2863 of 2956 Old 02-10-2011, 08:31 PM
Member
 
armchairGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by armchairGM View Post

Now the same company has huge HD bugs on KADN & WNTZ.

Today again no Ellen, Oprah or ET in HD on 33.1 WVLA. Guess the 10PM airing on WGMB @10pm won't be in HD either. WVLA also doesn't air the Tonight Show rebroadcast overnights in HD or Poker After Dark that went HD back in January or the Meet The Press rebroadcast.

The HD issues may not be illegal, but they are unprofessional and irritating to viewers.

Over 2 years of HD problems for 2 & 1/2 Men on both KADN and WGMB are way too long to go without being addressed. I don't know the exact date of the launch of that program on KADN but it has been over 2 years for sure and even though the problems are not as bad as a year ago, they still occur on a weekly basis.

Because of these long running problems @ WVLA and the other stations in that companies' cluster, when I received my first ever ratings diary earlier this year, I gave 100% of my NBC HD viewing to KPLC Lake Charles and it was during the Winter Olympics. I look forward to participating in the ratings again in the future and will remember all these problems.

The ratings diary asks what cable or satellite service you have and give many lines to fill in all the OTA stations that your household receives.
They also give you several lines to discuss local television stations and in particular they ask for comments related to local news and information. I filled up every line, praising the best stations in the region and mentioning ongoing technical struggles at others which turn me off as a viewer.

Last week KLFY Lafayette added ET, Insider, Dr. Phil and Regis & Kelly programs in HD. KLFY had ET in HD while WVLA aired it in SD again.

For reliable HD alternatives to the West,

KATC airs Ellen HD weekdays @9am
Dr. Oz HD @ 11am
and other syndicated HD programs including weekends.

KALB has a very high percentage of their programming airing in HD including
Ellen HD weekdays at 2:30 on 5.1
Oprah HD @ 3:30
armchairGM is offline  
post #2864 of 2956 Old 02-18-2011, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see all of the 33's and 44's are off air ota right now.
dennispap is offline  
post #2865 of 2956 Old 04-04-2011, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This morning pbs 27.1 OTA didnt have any audio only video.
However, 27.2 and 27.3 had both.
Anyone else experience this?
Thanks
dennispap is offline  
post #2866 of 2956 Old 05-22-2011, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On thistv on 33.2 there isnt any audio. is anyone else getting audio??Thanks
dennispap is offline  
post #2867 of 2956 Old 05-22-2011, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Clint S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post
On thistv on 33.2 there isnt any audio. is anyone else getting audio??Thanks
Was that also happening last night (Sunday) or right now? Curious because I recorded SG1 from 8-10pm. I'm on cable so it's a different channel, but FWIW right now I'm hearing audio.

God Bless,
-Clint
Clint S. is offline  
post #2868 of 2956 Old 05-23-2011, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

On thistv on 33.2 there isnt any audio. is anyone else getting audio??Thanks

Working fine here. I did notice the signal level for 33.x is lower than normal though.
digiblur is offline  
post #2869 of 2956 Old 05-23-2011, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still no audio here OTA thru my dish box. I noticed it last night(sunday night) around midnight or so, elvira movie macabre was on without sound.
Sound is fine on 33.1, just none on 33.2.
dennispap is offline  
post #2870 of 2956 Old 06-07-2011, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still no audio here OTA thru my dish box.
Sound is fine on 33.1, just none on 33.2.
dennispap is offline  
post #2871 of 2956 Old 07-13-2011, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still no audio here OTA thru my dish box.
Sound is fine on 33.1, just none on 33.2.
Anyone else getting audio on 33.2 thru dish?
dennispap is offline  
post #2872 of 2956 Old 07-15-2011, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

Still no audio here OTA thru my dish box.
Sound is fine on 33.1, just none on 33.2.
Anyone else getting audio on 33.2 thru dish?

Works fine on my 722k.
digiblur is offline  
post #2873 of 2956 Old 07-18-2011, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

Works fine on my 722k.

I checked the 722 and it has no audio. So 722 no go...722k works fine.
digiblur is offline  
post #2874 of 2956 Old 07-18-2011, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
when i get a chance i am going to hook the antenna straight to the tv just to see. I am sure it will work like that.
dennispap is offline  
post #2875 of 2956 Old 07-21-2011, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just watched my recording and On fox44 tues night i see they forgot to "flip the switch" as the first 1/2 of "Hells Kitchen" was in 4x3 and letter boxed.(Instead of 16x9) The hd commercials were even sd. Come on fox44
dennispap is offline  
post #2876 of 2956 Old 09-12-2011, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I watched some of Anderson on the new Orleans station and it was in HD. Of course on nbc33 WVLA it is in sd
Come on WVLA it is almost 2012 get with it!!!
dennispap is offline  
post #2877 of 2956 Old 09-27-2011, 06:12 PM
Newbie
 
Lafourche Cadet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: just south of Lockport on La.1
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that "BOUNCE TV " is broadcasting on 9.2
Lafourche Cadet is offline  
post #2878 of 2956 Old 09-28-2011, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lafourche Cadet View Post

I see that "BOUNCE TV " is broadcasting on 9.2

Looks like they dropped 9.3 news replay for 9.2. Glad they didn't decide to run another subchannel. I noticed the guide data is there on DishNetwork. Think I'll pass on this channel though looking at the content for the next 9-10 days. Soul Train? Really?
digiblur is offline  
post #2879 of 2956 Old 09-30-2011, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiblur View Post

Looks like they dropped 9.3 news replay for 9.2. Glad they didn't decide to run another subchannel. I noticed the guide data is there on DishNetwork. Think I'll pass on this channel though looking at the content for the next 9-10 days. Soul Train? Really?

Not my cup of tea but i guess they are getting paid to be a bounce affiliate.
dennispap is offline  
post #2880 of 2956 Old 10-09-2011, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow...watching the LSU game on 10/8 on WAFB was absolutely horrible. I was watching via OTA by the way as I prefer to get it from the source. But getting it from the source doesn't mean it is going to look great. I assume they scaled back the the bit rate on the HD stream for the BounceTV garbage. Any up close shots with any type of movement was a sea of blockiness across the screen.

Get your act together WAFB!
digiblur is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off