New York, NY - Cablevision - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 8729 Old 10-04-2004, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone on the cablevision forum at yahoo said it would probably be 8 weeks still for the DVRs. Does your contact still say October?
trekkerj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 8729 Old 11-30-2004, 03:32 PM
Member
 
mell02000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
voom vs cablevision in NY

I have Cablevision and was thinking about going Voom. I noticed Voom does not have Fox nor MSG in HD. Is there any other reason I should just stay with cablevision or should I make the leap? After switching have any of you had any regrets with going with Voom?
mell02000 is offline  
post #33 of 8729 Old 01-05-2005, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ADGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Voom has no local HD channels. Neither does it have a DVR. I don't know why anyone would chose Voom over Cablevision.
ADGrant is offline  
post #34 of 8729 Old 01-07-2005, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Cleanmaxx Brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am planning on getting the Sony 70XBR950 and will probably use Cablevision. (I like all the Voom channels though!) My question is can I use the cable card slot in the TV as apposed to a set top box? I NEVER use any of the iO features now...like the on demand and any of the interactive stuff. I was reading that the picture quality is always better using the tuner inside the tv.

Brian - 2003 Frontier SC CC LB Truck Of The Month 7/03!
www.pbase.com/cleanmaxx_brian/ My picture page...click here!!!
www.jbl.com/car/featured/installs/sentra.asp My 91 Nissan SE-R show car...click here!!!
http://www.pbase.com/cleanmaxx_brian/image/36342780/original.jpg
Cleanmaxx Brian is offline  
post #35 of 8729 Old 01-08-2005, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 82
lots of complaints on the Yahoo cablevision forum for the new box. I'm in no rush for it.. I'll wait till they get the kinks out of it..

taxman48 is offline  
post #36 of 8729 Old 01-13-2005, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lexa695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Somewhere in New York
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have the HD DVR/Tuner? I was wondering how the HDMI or DVI were working. Also, how does HD look. I have seen HD on Directv and it looked great. I had to switch from DTV due to trees blocking the HD birds. One more thing. How is the UI for the SD DVR. Is it like Tivo's?

OK, so why *again* do we need a bigger one?
lexa695 is offline  
post #37 of 8729 Old 01-14-2005, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Thinking about getting IO with HD. What STB are they installing these days?
dm145 is online now  
post #38 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the impending loss of voom will cablevision finally start to pay attention to its millions of cable subscribers for a change? Will cablevision finally add TNT or Discovery or HDnet or HDNet movies and INHD 2? Its amamzing how once again the cable subscribers of cablevision have been screwed once again into having not recieved any new hd channels for quite sometime that are not local channels. Still no UPN or WB though.
Will cablevision finally put some time and effort into they millions of metropolitan customers who have been with their lackluster service for over a decade now? Me being one I ofcourse say no they won't change but I never give this company the benefit of the doubt considering how they ruined tv and the knicks and rangers.

I just need some reassurance if things will start to change.
rkunces is offline  
post #39 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I like how you can be "screwed" by not getting new HD channels from your cable company.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #40 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 03:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not to mention that your "impending loss of Voom" is still hardly a done deal.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #41 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Voom may not be a done deal but the fact of the matter is cablevision puts more time and effort into the thousands of customers they have with voom and not the millions they have with cablevision.

Compared to the progress Time Warner has made on the other parts of the metropolitan area its pathetic what cablevision is putting out in terms of hd and i don't think anyone knows what plans cablevision has in store for the future.

Hell Cablevision didn't even have any sports pakcages available in my area till this october of 04 where they offered nba league pass.
rkunces is offline  
post #42 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rkunces

Hell Cablevision didn't even have any sports pakcages available in my area till this october of 04 where they offered nba league pass.

It sounds to me that they're improving the service in your area

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #43 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Walter your sig speaks for my argument.
rkunces is offline  
post #44 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
mstahlkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Dolan's appear to have the opposite of the Midas touch. Everything they touch turns to lead.

I suppose your only hope is that they get a reasonable sale price for it, and then reinvest that money wisely. But if history is any indicator, I wouldn't count on it.
mstahlkr is offline  
post #45 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 05:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fredfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Antonio TX 78251
Posts: 49,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Dolans duking it out over Voom
Father and son Cablevision bosses split on booting unprofitable satellite TV venture
BY HARRY BERKOWITZ Newsday STAFF WRITER
Charles and James Dolan, the father and son who control Cablevision Systems Corp., appear headed for an unprecedented showdown over whether to abandon their ailing Voom satellite TV venture.

Charles Dolan, the Cablevision chairman and founder, apparently wants to keep the nationwide satellite service that was launched in October 2003 alive even though it is losing hundreds of millions of dollars and attracting few subscribers.

James Dolan, chief executive of the New York metro area's biggest cable TV service, who has promised investors that Cablevision would stop going off on costly tangents as it has repeatedly in the past, apparently wants to end the all-but-failed experiment. That means dropping Voom and possibly selling its sole satellite.

The Cablevision board of directors was reportedly taking up the issue Tuesday in the face of complaints from analysts and investors that Voom, which had only 26,000 customers as of Sept. 30, threatens to continue to drain company profits and hold down the stock price.

"It would be very difficult for the independent directors to approve additional spending for Voom," said Craig Moffett, an analyst for the investment firm Sanford C. Bernstein & Co. "At the same time, it would take something close to a boardroom coup for Chuck Dolan to force out the independent directors in order to renew investment in Voom. In this environment of corporate governance, that's an awfully hard scenario to imagine."

That seemed to threaten a stalemate unless Charles Dolan bowed to his son's view.

"Despite public sentiment, the company still does not appear to have decided the ultimate outcome, with the board seemingly divided, though tilted slightly in favor of selling or shutting it down," UBS investment analyst Aryeh Bourkoff told investors, adding that "dissension could lead to a public battle." The board meeting was first reported Tuesday in the Wall Street Journal.
more here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=497937
or here:
http://www.newsday.com/business/ny-b...-leadheadlines
fredfa is offline  
post #46 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
beatles6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are you complaining about? Cablevision has MSG HD, Fox Sports NY HD, The Movie Channel HD, STARZ HD, Cinemax HD non of which are available on TWC. Between the Knicks, Mets, Rangers & Devils (if they ever play again) you receive far more live HD sports broadcasts then we do with TWC.
beatles6 is offline  
post #47 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In order to get TMC Starz Cinemax I would have to upgrade my service to the premium service of cableivision. No a la carte. Mets will be with TWC after this season. No rangers, devils, or islanders this season so whats thie use. TWC had HDNet and HDNet movies which cablevision does not have. Im not sure if TWC has TNT but theres another non cablevision item. as well.
rkunces is offline  
post #48 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rkunces
Walter your sig speaks for my argument.

I understand your pain. But you're not alone. Look this other similar thread about Comcast: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=497755

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #49 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no i understand its just very irritating when its sister company is making leaps and bounds with hd channels being added while i've been emailing and calling for them to add these channels for years now.
rkunces is offline  
post #50 of 8729 Old 01-18-2005, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone heard of any plan that cablevision might have for its hd programming?
rkunces is offline  
post #51 of 8729 Old 01-19-2005, 11:26 AM
Member
 
ylomnstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to get Cablevision because my directv HD channels don't work in the summer due to my neighboors tree. When the leaves bloom, I'm screwed, and I have nowhere else to put the dish. Plus the glitches when it rains or snows sucks. SO...Cablevision offers some decent plans now. Are the HD channels as good as directv? Eventhough directv HD channels seem to have sound hicups sometimes, and sometimes the timing from voice to picture is off.

I have a widescreen TV and i know the non-hd channels on directv dont look that good, but they are watchable. will they look worse with cablevision since they are not digital? Thanks..

Rob
ylomnstr is offline  
post #52 of 8729 Old 01-20-2005, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ADGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the Cablevision HD channels are better than DirectTVs.
ADGrant is offline  
post #53 of 8729 Old 01-20-2005, 11:16 AM
Member
 
ylomnstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about their non HD channels? I hear they look really bad, much worse than directv's non HD channels. Any truth to that?
ylomnstr is offline  
post #54 of 8729 Old 01-24-2005, 11:03 AM
Member
 
dswenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone found a channel listing for Cablevision's digital channels? Not the IO chanels, but ones like 79.1 (NBC), 79.2 (FOX) etc. I have a Sharp Aquos with ATSC/QAM tuners built in and subscribe to Cablevision's basic family cable package. After having the TV scan for digital channels, my TV channel guide shows 20 - 30 channels but most have no broadcast which makes surfing using the channel up/down buttons very tedious. I can go into channel setup & delete them but it would be easier havng a listing. Also I have not found CBS but I can switch to my atic antenna and get CBS HD that way.

Cablevision's customer service was no help as they INSISTED that it is impossible to view any digital cable without subscribing to IO. Even after telling them that I could see the above mentioned channels she said that was impossible. OK.

I do NOT have a CableCard inserted and realize I will not get things like Discovery HD, but by law don't they have to provide any broadcast channels I get with basic package in HD as well?

Dave
dswenson is offline  
post #55 of 8729 Old 02-06-2005, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
paris401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i got io hd, projecting with a 7205 onto a 115'' clearpix screen- i notice on live sports (basketball/.football), on quick pans, the picture goes out of focus... is this just a quirk on my unit, or is it not totally perfected yet??

thanks
paris401 is offline  
post #56 of 8729 Old 02-13-2005, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Jithtproject's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After I received a letter from dish about $2 increase. & getting tired of 811 problems, called Cablevision yesterday for switch. Do they have any good hardware? I couldn't find anything on their site. And I am also planning to use their cable cards. Much cheaper than cableboxes or dish recievers.

JHT
Jithtproject is offline  
post #57 of 8729 Old 02-13-2005, 08:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by Jithtproject
.....called Cablevision yesterday for switch. Do they have any good hardware? I couldn't find anything on their site. And I am also planning to use their cable cards. Much cheaper than cableboxes or dish recievers.

If you're going to use their CableCARD, what difference does their hardware make?

Also, I would check about the cost of a CableCARD vs. a CV supplied STB. Usually they are about the same rental cost per month, but a CableCARD doesn't have the interactive on screen display or PPV.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #58 of 8729 Old 02-14-2005, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
George Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of us don't want interactive or PPV. I give CV enough as it is for Broadband/Cable. No More!
Why would I want to help pay for the Dolans dreams of fantasy anyway? Air rights to a railroad yard on the West Side indeed, to stifle competition.
GT

Views expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of my employer or its parent company.
George Thompson is offline  
post #59 of 8729 Old 02-14-2005, 09:25 AM
Member
 
dswenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
George - I agree! I subscribe to basic cable - no IO or digital STB and in another post I mentioned having to surf through the 100 digital channels my tv (Aquos LC-32GD6U w/ QAM) found after auto-scanning. Most are blank with the TV showing a NO Broadcast message. Some are video on demand channels showing the occasional good movie and some are hard porn. That's right, in the free & clear. I confirmed this with a Cablevision tech who called me back after my call to customer service. His answer to the unwanted porn? 1. Delete the channels in TV's setup menu. This is only a partial solution since they still show up in the guide. They just don't come around when surfing with the + / - buttons. Wrong answer. 2. His second idea to stop the porn was for me to start RENTING a cablecard. Why should I have to pay a $35 install fee & another $1.25 a month to stop unwanted porn? I know, I know free porn. But there are young kids in the house. Had they been around the day we first saw it... oh boy! Besides, without the cablecard I am getting about a dozzen digital channels, and many are HD. I just don't have any guide data or program info.

Dave
dswenson is offline  
post #60 of 8729 Old 02-14-2005, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Jithtproject's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken H
AVS HDTV Moderator

{If you're going to use their CableCARD, what difference does their hardware make?

Also, I would check about the cost of a CableCARD vs. a CV supplied STB. Usually they are about the same rental cost per month, but a CableCARD doesn't have the interactive on screen display or PPV.}

I meant that I am going to use cablecards for 2 TVs but I still have one where I can't use a cable card. For that do I have choice for any CV receivers? I checked rental fee for cablecard: it is about $1.29/month.
& you are right it doesn't have interactive feature, that is exactly what I want because of my kids.
Thanks for input.

JHT
Jithtproject is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off