New York, NY - Cablevision - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 8712 Old 02-14-2005, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Jithtproject's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken H
AVS HDTV Moderator

{If you're going to use their CableCARD, what difference does their hardware make?

Also, I would check about the cost of a CableCARD vs. a CV supplied STB. Usually they are about the same rental cost per month, but a CableCARD doesn't have the interactive on screen display or PPV.}

I meant that I am going to use cablecards for 2 TVs but I still have one where I can't use a cable card. For that do I have choice for any CV receivers? I checked rental fee for cablecard: it is about $1.29/month.
& you are right it doesn't have interactive feature, that is exactly what I want because of my kids.
Thanks for input.

JHT
Jithtproject is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 8712 Old 02-15-2005, 11:45 AM
Newbie
 
bpitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bronx, NY
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have info regarding the dvi output on the cablevision box? I don't know off hand which model I have but it is the SA HD Box without the dvr function. I was told by a CV tech that the dvi output on some HD boxes is not active. Is this true and how do I know if it is active on my box without buying an expensive dvi cable?

Currently I have the HD Box signal going to my LCD via component and would like to know if dvi is worth it (I've heard mix reviews).
bpitt is offline  
post #63 of 8712 Old 02-17-2005, 05:09 AM
Member
 
gzabar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over at the IO Digital cable forum on Yahoo groups, there's been some talk about new HD channels coming in the next few weeks. Has anyone heard anything? I believe the last channel we got was ABC-HD, and that was quite some time ago (it may have been ESPN-HD, but I think that was earlier).
gzabar is offline  
post #64 of 8712 Old 02-17-2005, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: East Meadow, NY
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing new is coming. This is all talk started by someone who was told by a field tech that new channels were coming. Take it from me, these techs no nothing about future programming. There is absolutely nothing to this story.
Scott G is offline  
post #65 of 8712 Old 02-17-2005, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanC-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone comment on the quality of the image on the Science Fiction channel? Is that one of CV's lousy analog channels? Thanks! Dan


P4 HTPC, Infocus 4805, nVidia GeForce 6800 pixel mapped, Theater Tek 2.2, Bluegears X-Mystique 7.1 Soundcard, HK AVR-55 A/V receiver.
DanC-P is offline  
post #66 of 8712 Old 02-18-2005, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanC-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently there was an analog to digital switch on some Cablevision channels last night -- any comments? I'm a customer-to-be...


P4 HTPC, Infocus 4805, nVidia GeForce 6800 pixel mapped, Theater Tek 2.2, Bluegears X-Mystique 7.1 Soundcard, HK AVR-55 A/V receiver.
DanC-P is offline  
post #67 of 8712 Old 02-18-2005, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: East Meadow, NY
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by DanC-P
Apparently there was an analog to digital switch on some Cablevision channels last night -- any comments? I'm a customer-to-be...

It was not changed to all digital in all areas. Here on Long Island we still have lots of analogs.
Scott G is offline  
post #68 of 8712 Old 02-18-2005, 08:10 AM
Member
 
chris523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you tell if it was switched? Would the channel numbers be different?

Thanks,
-Chris
chris523 is offline  
post #69 of 8712 Old 02-22-2005, 07:23 PM
Newbie
 
Gene Rogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Malvere, NY
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dswenson
George - I agree! I subscribe to basic cable - no IO or digital STB and in another post I mentioned having to surf through the 100 digital channels my tv (Aquos LC-32GD6U w/ QAM) found after auto-scanning. Most are blank with the TV showing a NO Broadcast message. Some are video on demand channels showing the occasional good movie and some are hard porn. That's right, in the free & clear. I confirmed this with a Cablevision tech who called me back after my call to customer service. His answer to the unwanted porn? 1. Delete the channels in TV's setup menu. This is only a partial solution since they still show up in the guide. They just don't come around when surfing with the + / - buttons. Wrong answer. 2. His second idea to stop the porn was for me to start RENTING a cablecard. Why should I have to pay a $35 install fee & another $1.25 a month to stop unwanted porn? I know, I know free porn. But there are young kids in the house. Had they been around the day we first saw it... oh boy! Besides, without the cablecard I am getting about a dozzen digital channels, and many are HD. I just don't have any guide data or program info.

Dave

Are you recieving the HD MSG (Ch 720) and Fox SportsNY (Ch 725) channels without using either a cable card or digital cable box?
Gene Rogers is offline  
post #70 of 8712 Old 03-05-2005, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 48
BPitt: yes the dvi output is activated. I tried it as soon as I could and the picture was a little better than component. However, the DVI output disables all other outputs. When I wanted to listen to the digital music channel, I had to leave the tv on. As soon as I shut the tv, I lost the signal. I went back to component cables. There is supposed to be a patch for this from SI or CV.. I'm going to leave the dvi port free for my future dvd/dvi player.

taxman48 is offline  
post #71 of 8712 Old 03-05-2005, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:


Originally posted by chris523
How do you tell if it was switched? Would the channel numbers be different?

Thanks,
-Chris

They would be channels above 100
dm145 is offline  
post #72 of 8712 Old 03-07-2005, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyword or news about Cablevision adding any new hd channels now that voom is doomed? Maybe seeing TNT make its way from voom to cablevision? Or any OTA channels ie. WPIX, WWOR in HD coming?
rkunces is offline  
post #73 of 8712 Old 03-09-2005, 06:19 AM
Member
 
dswenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gene,

I'm getting MSG in SD on channels 107.2, 107.3, 107.4, 107.5, 107.6 and 107.7 Most of the time they carry the same feed but one evening each was a different camera angle from a Knicks game at the Garden. This is through the aquos' built in tuner. I do not have a cablecard or STB. Have not found FoxSportsNY.

Dave
dswenson is offline  
post #74 of 8712 Old 03-09-2005, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats the msg game director feature.
rkunces is offline  
post #75 of 8712 Old 03-21-2005, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gary cornell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I called Cablevision got the standard "we don't have info on that yet".
gary cornell is offline  
post #76 of 8712 Old 03-21-2005, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I doubt it will ever be on Cablevision. Pay back is a bitch.
dm145 is offline  
post #77 of 8712 Old 03-21-2005, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, Cablevision is earning plenty of new enemies everyday. We're forgetting now the NFL has it in for them along with thousands of TWC customers and the Mets. Don't expect the NFL network in HD or SD for that matter to be on Cablevision either along with HDNet. It sure is great to be a Cablevision customer.
rkunces is offline  
post #78 of 8712 Old 03-21-2005, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PDPnNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Passaic, NJ
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CableVision's business relation has to be the worse I've seen (with customers and with other business). In order for CableVision to get anything done, it takes an act of God
PDPnNJ is offline  
post #79 of 8712 Old 03-21-2005, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by PDPnNJ
CableVision's business relation has to be the worse I've seen (with customers and with other businesses). In order for CableVision to get anything done, it takes an act of God

And boy has Cablevision really worn out their welcome. Just look at MSG now and look at who's playing there.
rkunces is offline  
post #80 of 8712 Old 03-21-2005, 10:18 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Threads Merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #81 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 06:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
rsprance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi,

Does anyone have any news on Cablevision's Long Island io service adding any new HD channels in the future?

I am impressed with their lineup so far, so i know beggars can't be choosers, but I would love to see them add Discovery HD, HDNet and especially INHD2 since they already have INHD1.

And if no one is sure, is there a specific forum related to io when I can get more information?

thanks,

Rob
rsprance is offline  
post #82 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 06:58 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Threads merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #83 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Metro NY
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone hear anything on the cablevision HD front?
Altho I m enjoying more HD then I did with Dish network, we are still missing HDNet and Discovery HD. In addition, INHD1 sucks, certainly compared to INHD2's lineup (concerts and such). INHD1 has been nothing but cage fighting (which is ok, but not every nite, all nite).
Anyone in the know or hear any rumors lately?

BOYCOTT BEST BUY IN WEST PATERSON, NJ !!!!
mboy is offline  
post #84 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 11:16 AM
Member
 
ripit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mboy
...INHD1 sucks, certainly compared to INHD2's lineup......

I totally agree with this statement. Doesn't make any sense to me why they seem to put a ton over really good content on INHD2, while most of what is on INHD1 is pure garbage, IMO.

From what I hear, now that CV has the 4 major networks in HD don't expect to see any new HD channels for a while. If they would add DHDT and INHD2, I would almost consider cancelling Voom and going with CV exclusively.
ripit is offline  
post #85 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
DevOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York City Metro Area
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Cablevision have any digital channels in clear QAM?
DevOne is offline  
post #86 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Metro NY
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why was this moved?

BOYCOTT BEST BUY IN WEST PATERSON, NJ !!!!
mboy is offline  
post #87 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
George Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This should have been posted in the New York, NY - Cablevision thread and not in a national programing topic thread.
It might be merged again.

Cablevision headends differ in what they offer in HD to some extent.
I have the Tarrytown headend.
Here is the CV offerings in my area
http://www.io.tv/index.jhtml;jsessio...=hdtv_channels
As far as rumors, yes, more offerings, but no time frame. They are tied up in a family feud and West Side property acquition.

Westchester Cablevision Optimum, i/o customer. They just called a while ago and tried to sell me voice service. I told them NO, just a company cell phone.
George

Views expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of my employer or its parent company.
George Thompson is offline  
post #88 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ripit
I totally agree with this statement. Doesn't make any sense to me why they seem to put a ton over really good content on INHD2, while most of what is on INHD1 is pure garbage, IMO.

From what I hear, now that CV has the 4 major networks in HD don't expect to see any new HD channels for a while. If they would add DHDT and INHD2, I would almost consider cancelling Voom and going with CV exclusively.

Discovery is still not on Cablevision nor is INHD and won't be for awhile. UPN and WB still have yet to be added now that they are broadcasting in HD on their own. I see plenty of crappy On Demand channels added but zero HD.
rkunces is offline  
post #89 of 8712 Old 03-23-2005, 07:02 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Threads merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #90 of 8712 Old 03-24-2005, 09:06 AM
Member
 
dswenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by DevOne
Does Cablevision have any digital channels in clear QAM?

Yes they do. I have an Aquos LC-32GD6U which has internal QAM tuner. I am not using a cablecard.

I'm getting 15 - 20 digital channels... CBS, NBC, FOX, ABC, I think WPIX, PBS HD, and more. When I have time I plan on re-scanning & then I will make a list of what's there. Apparently cablevision will not post this info on their website, they would rather deceive everyone & have them believe the only way to get digital cable is to pay for the IO package. A customer service rep even insisted that was the only way to get it. Damm outright liars!

Also, almost any evening I can tune in to someone else's video on demand... It's in the clear, as is the occasional XXX porn. When I complained about it they said to stop it I should rent a cablecard and pay $35 for installation & $1.25 per month. Any lawyers here think this is wrong?

Dave
dswenson is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off