New York, NY - Cablevision - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 8712 Old 03-24-2006, 08:31 PM
 
J.H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys is there a SNY HD channel for Cablevision? I know the regular channel is 60 but is there or is there going to be a SNY HD channel? Thanks J.H.
J.H. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: East Meadow, NY
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.H. View Post

Guys is there a SNY HD channel for Cablevision? I know the regular channel is 60 but is there or is there going to be a SNY HD channel? Thanks J.H.

INHD2 and SNY HD will share channel 730. INHD2 will be on except when an HD Met game is on, then INHD2 will be taken off and put back on after the conclusion of the Met game.
Scott G is offline  
post #993 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott G View Post

INHD2 and SNY HD will share channel 730. INHD2 will be on except when an HD Met game is on, then INHD2 will be taken off and put back on after the conclusion of the Met game.

That's awesome. I wish they would do that on 715 instead of a message on the screen all day.
dm145 is offline  
post #994 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidnw View Post

Pretty much thats the way it will work. Honestly I don't think any rsn should have a 24x7 HD feed unless there going to do more than just games in HD. Sadly SNY-HD will be going jsut that but they won't get a 24x7 feed yet MSG & FSNY do. Go figure.


As does YES. Yet, we are still presented with 721 as if it was an HD channel.
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #995 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 06:20 AM
 
J.H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What are they going to do with channel 701 then? INHD 1 I hope? When is this supposed to happen by the way? Also since I have you guys here when in the world are we going to get Discovery-HD? Thanks J.H.
J.H. is offline  
post #996 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
701 has been INHD1 for a while now. The SNY INHD2 thing is supposed to be live by 3/30 I believe. You got me on the Discovery HD thing though...
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #997 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott G View Post

INHD2 and SNY HD will share channel 730. INHD2 will be on except when an HD Met game is on, then INHD2 will be taken off and put back on after the conclusion of the Met game.

That would be awesome as I have been longing for inHD2 for some time now...when will 730 go live?

[EDIT: Scratch that question as it has been answered ^^ ]
BenDover is offline  
post #998 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: East Meadow, NY
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All this information came from a post from a Cablevision employee posted here :

Quote:
INHD2 and SportsNet NY HD Launch
Beginning Thursday, March 30, 2006, INHD2 and SportsNet NY HD, two new high-definition (HD) services, will be available to customers who subscribe to Family Cable and above on channel 730. The channel will also be available to business customers as part of the iO Entertainment and iO Business packages. A HD iO digital converter or a CableCard-equipped digital cable ready HDTV is required to receive channel 730. INHD2 and SportsNet NY HD will be launched over a three-day period; March 28 through March 30.

http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=60570
Scott G is offline  
post #999 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 09:16 AM
 
J.H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry I meant INHD2 thats the better of the two channels. I miss the HD movie trailers. Thabks guys that makes much more sense. No word on Doscovery-HD though huh? J.H.
J.H. is offline  
post #1000 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 11:35 AM
Member
 
bs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Woodlawn (BX) New York
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post

That's awesome. I wish they would do that on 715 instead of a message on the screen all day.

PERFECT Place for Discovery-HD!!!
bs77 is offline  
post #1001 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 11:37 AM
Member
 
bs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Woodlawn (BX) New York
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now all we need is ESPN-2 (lots of HD baseball this year!) and Discovery-HD!!!

If we get this I will NOT leave CV when my Triple Play deal is up in November!!

I PROMISE !!!!!!!!
bs77 is offline  
post #1002 of 8712 Old 03-25-2006, 07:49 PM
Newbie
 
tim**##'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got my 50px60u Friday. My first HD. I am very impressed with it. Fantastic picture quality.

With the new set, I converted from an old S-Def, Direct TV setup on a 32" CRT that I've had forever. I dumped Direct TV and went to Cablevision IO. Got the SA 8300 DVR box. So far, I like it very much. One thing I'm noticing though, is quite a delay in between tuning each channel (i.e., the time it hangs with a black screen after "next channel" is pushed). It seems to only take 2-3 seconds, but that's way longer than my non-HD sets with nonHD/non-DVR boxes take. Is this normal? Anyone else have this issue with the 8300 box? Is there a setting I can tweak to make channel tuning speed increase? Sorry if this has been covered, I did some searching and could not find it dealt with in detail.
tim**## is offline  
post #1003 of 8712 Old 03-26-2006, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
bkazepis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Westchester County NY
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim**## View Post

Finally got my 50px60u Friday. My first HD. I am very impressed with it. Fantastic picture quality.

With the new set, I converted from an old S-Def, Direct TV setup on a 32" CRT that I've had forever. I dumped Direct TV and went to Cablevision IO. Got the SA 8300 DVR box. So far, I like it very much. One thing I'm noticing though, is quite a delay in between tuning each channel (i.e., the time it hangs with a black screen after "next channel" is pushed). It seems to only take 2-3 seconds, but that's way longer than my non-HD sets with nonHD/non-DVR boxes take. Is this normal? Anyone else have this issue with the 8300 box? Is there a setting I can tweak to make channel tuning speed increase? Sorry if this has been covered, I did some searching and could not find it dealt with in detail.

Try setting the SA8300 to fixed 1080i display....no other resolutions...IIRC when I fisrt hooked my SA8300 up to my Toshiba I had some of the same issues and thats how I cleared it up....also once doing so make sure the pic still looks good..... Just go back into set up of the 8300 and choose 1080i as the only resolution that your TV is capable of....

Exitus acta probat...
bkazepis is offline  
post #1004 of 8712 Old 03-26-2006, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Wow,

This thread mirrors the Cablevision thread on sat guys!
Slow channel guy, did you try changing from pass-thru to Fixed?
For your display you should select 720p fixed.
dm145 is offline  
post #1005 of 8712 Old 03-26-2006, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: East Meadow, NY
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the satguys thread on Cablevision is very, very informative because a couple of Cablevision employees hang out there, and give us all the inside information by posting internal memos there. Everyone should join up here :

http://www.satelliteguys.us/forumdisplay.php?f=60
Scott G is offline  
post #1006 of 8712 Old 03-26-2006, 08:41 PM
Member
 
trisdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith View Post

As of 1/6/06 on a Fusion ATSC/QAM Card:

23 - WCBS-HD 2
41 - WNBS-HD 4
52 - WNYW-DTV 5
71 - WABC-HD 7
73 - WABC-DT (Subchannel)
131 - WNET-HD 13
132 - WNET-DT Kids
134 - WNET-DT World
212 - WLIW-HD 21
213 - WLIW-DT Create
840 - Ch.2
841 - Ch.4
842 - Ch.5
843 - Ch.7
844 - Ch.9
845 - Ch.11
846 - Ch.13
847 - Ch.21
848 - Ch.6
849 - Ch.3
920 - News 12
921 - Ch.16
922 - Ch.17
923 - Ch.10
944 - iO Guide
1000 - Color Bars
1001 - Traffic Cam
1002 - Traffic Cam
1003 - Traffic Cam
1004 - Traffic Cam
1005 - Traffic Cam
1006 - Traffic Cam
1007 - Traffic Cam
1008 - Traffic Cam NYC
1009 - Traffic Cam NYC
1010 - Traffic Cam NYC
1011 - Traffic Cam NYC
1012 - Traffic Cam NYC
1040 - OTB / RAI
1072 - MSG
1100 - WPIX-HD 11



Would anyone know the channel layout for brooklyn (11218) ... I have my cable coax hooked straight up to my fusion hdtv 5 gold card... I can't seem to get the local HD channels... are they encrypted?? Do i have to manually set them up? I have no idea, been looking for some answers but couldnt come up with anything.. Any help is greatly appreciated thank you

- tristan
trisdog is offline  
post #1007 of 8712 Old 03-27-2006, 05:44 AM
Member
 
Phreshness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tristan,

After you do a scan of the channels on the Fusion card, you'll get a list of channels that are digital, and look something like 118-1, 118-2, etc. I have a Fusion 3 card and I have to manually check each channel to see if there is an unencrypted network signal. From there you should find the networks listed in your post above.
If you need any more help, feel free to PM me and I'll see if I can help you any further...
Phreshness is offline  
post #1008 of 8712 Old 03-27-2006, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BenDover is offline  
post #1009 of 8712 Old 03-27-2006, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott G View Post

Yes, the satguys thread on Cablevision is very, very informative because a couple of Cablevision employees hang out there, and give us all the inside information by posting internal memos there. Everyone should join up here :

http://www.satelliteguys.us/forumdisplay.php?f=60

If everyone signs up it then becomes a less informative site like this one is slowly becoming!
dm145 is offline  
post #1010 of 8712 Old 03-28-2006, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 4,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
INHD2 is now live on channel 730 on the Norwalk, CT system. It has the description iOHD. Channel 715's description has been changed to YESHD and has the Yes logo. The first SNY Mets game in HD is Monday at 1:00 but so far it is not listed in the guide for channel 730.
RemyM is offline  
post #1011 of 8712 Old 03-28-2006, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Email SNY if you have any questions

Andrew Fegyveresi

Director, Communications

SportsNet New York

afegyveresi@sportsnetny.com

Email Melinda Witmer at TWC Corporate, the SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT & CHIEF PROGRAMMING OFFICER if you want more HD Channels!!!
Melinda.Witmer@twcable.com
AndyHDTV is offline  
post #1012 of 8712 Old 03-29-2006, 06:37 AM
Member
 
Phreshness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RemyM View Post

INHD2 is now live on channel 730 on the Norwalk, CT system. It has the description iOHD. Channel 715's description has been changed to YESHD and has the Yes logo. The first SNY Mets game in HD is Monday at 1:00 but so far it is not listed in the guide for channel 730.

It is up and running in the Bridgeport area too. Watched Twilight Zone, and Houseboat Living... it was GREAT! Hope more channels are added soon!
Phreshness is offline  
post #1013 of 8712 Old 03-29-2006, 08:01 AM
Member
 
BassMiesterNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post

That's awesome. I wish they would do that on 715 instead of a message on the screen all day.

Ditto that !
BassMiesterNJ is offline  
post #1014 of 8712 Old 03-29-2006, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm out on Long Island and checked last night but still nothing.
BenDover is offline  
post #1015 of 8712 Old 03-30-2006, 05:26 AM
Member
 
Brighton Line's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brooklyn had the 730 wihtout IPG entries. This morning the guide data was there for the channel.
Brighton Line is offline  
post #1016 of 8712 Old 03-30-2006, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
INHD2 is now live on 730 on Long Island. Question though, if you look at the interactive program guide, on next Monday, it does not show info for the Mets home opener. Will we have to manually set the DVR recording for the games?
Stoney Jackson is offline  
post #1017 of 8712 Old 03-30-2006, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RemyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 4,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I hope they get they games listed in the guide. Like you said, DVR recording will be a pain without it. They can do it since they had the Islanders listed last week when they were preempting FitTV to show the game. I'll give them until tomorrow to add it, if they haven't by then I will be calling and emailing them.
RemyM is offline  
post #1018 of 8712 Old 03-30-2006, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post

INHD2 is now live on 730 on Long Island. Question though, if you look at the interactive program guide, on next Monday, it does not show info for the Mets home opener. Will we have to manually set the DVR recording for the games?

Yup, saw it this morning; I didn't check for guide info though as I was running out the door...but it will be interesting to see how they are going to handle this since normally it will be iNHD2 with "interruptions" for Mets games; i.e., it isn't going to be showing SNY full time....not sure they will be able to interleave the guide like that...
BenDover is offline  
post #1019 of 8712 Old 03-30-2006, 11:31 AM
Member
 
BassMiesterNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, I now have 730 INHD2 on Cablevision out of Oakland NJ.

I watched an hour of Beavers building dams, lol......................... hopefully the content will be worth while.
BassMiesterNJ is offline  
post #1020 of 8712 Old 03-30-2006, 03:53 PM
Member
 
bs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Woodlawn (BX) New York
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it here in the North Bronx as well... Just wonder why its listed as IOHD and Not INHD2. Most regular HD customers wont even realise they now have INHD2!!

I know they are sharing this channel with SNY-HD But INHD2 still will be on 95% of the time. They should list it as INHD2 and just put the Mets game in the IPG when they are on in HD (81 times this year).

I think this would be the best way to do it for ALL Customers
bs77 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off