New York, NY - Cablevision - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 8712 Old 03-24-2005, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this counts for Cablevision NJ, but I'm looking for the QAM clear channel mappings as well if anyone has them.

Thanks,
Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 8712 Old 03-24-2005, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dswenson
...
Apparently cablevision will not post this info on their website, they would rather deceive everyone & have them believe the only way to get digital cable is to pay for the IO package.

...

If you don't pay for the iO digital service (which would include getting at least one box or CableCard), there is a trap on the pole that doesn't let the digital signal through. If you get rid of iO digital they will more than likely reinstall the trap on the pole to prevent the digital signal from getting into your home.

I'm not sure whether they are legally permitted to encrypt the local channels that are available in one's area OTA. As for the premium content, I can't help but wonder why they aren't encrypting except maybe they haven't gotten to it yet Enjoy it while you can...

On another note, anyone else here experiencing frequent breakups/dropouts on the local HD channels like ABCHD, FOXD, NBCHD, etc.?? The other night NBCHD and I think FOXD were unwatchable.
BenDover is offline  
post #93 of 8712 Old 03-24-2005, 10:08 PM
 
J.H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Every once in a while a little red sign comes on the screen and it says something about a "weekly test" and then the sound goes out for a period of time. Usually its a minute or two but its now off 15 minutes and counting. Can anyone explain the hell this is? I was enjoying pulp fiction in HD and the stupid test came on and its annoying! Anyone with CV know what this is? J.H.
J.H. is offline  
post #94 of 8712 Old 03-24-2005, 11:06 PM
 
J.H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Over an hour now! J.H.
J.H. is offline  
post #95 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 03:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Sounds like a weekly EAS test. The FCC requires cablcos, just like broadcasters, to transmit a weekly test on all cable channels except local stations that request that their channels not be interrupted. It should only last about 1 minute tops and if the system malfunctions, it should automatically shutdown after 3 minutes. If it doesn't, then they have a problem. Call your cableco to tell them.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #96 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 04:21 AM
 
J.H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks I gave up and fell asleep but I wanted to wait it out. When i woke up 3 hours later it was ok. Whats EAS? Is like the emergency broadcast thing? Is it supposed to being a warning system? Because there no sound, not a weird sound like to alert you. Thanks again J.H.
J.H. is offline  
post #97 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 05:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:


Originally posted by J.H.
Thanks I gave up and fell asleep but I wanted to wait it out. When i woke up 3 hours later it was ok. Whats EAS? Is like the emergency broadcast thing? Is it supposed to being a warning system? Because there no sound, not a weird sound like to alert you. Thanks again J.H.

EAS is the Emergency Alert System. It replaced the EBS in 1997. EAS uses the same codes that NWS uses in its SAME program so only certain areas need to be alerted and not the whole area. The FCC requires broadcasters and cablecos to randomly test the system weekly.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #98 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 06:18 AM
Member
 
dswenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
--- Channel Listing for Long Island Babylon/Islip Area ---

74.1 WNBC HD
74.2 FOX5 HD
75.1 WNYE
75.2 T
75.3 WLNY
75.4 Spanish
75.5 NJN
80.1 WABC HD
80.2 WLIW
80.3 WLIW Create
80.4 WABC SD
84.1 WCBS SD
84.2 WNBC SD
84.3 FOX5 SD
84.4 WABC SD
84.5 UPN
84.6 WB11
84.7 PBS Thirteen
84.8 WLIW
84.9 Spanish
84.10 ??
100.1 ??
100.2 ~ 100.14 Traffic Cams
101.1 PBS Kids
101.2 Thirteen World
101.3 CBS HD
101.4 PBS HD
101.5 PBS Kids
101.6 Thirteen World
104.1 Racing Stats
107.3 ~ 107.8 MSG
109.3 ~ 109.11 Sports on Demand
112.x ~ 114.x Video on Demand

There are a few duplicate channels, and it's interesting that the SD locals are grouped together at 84.x while the same locals in HD are spread around. Makes it anoying to surf around, wonder if they do it as an incentive to get a cablecard.

Dave
dswenson is offline  
post #99 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
1450kHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Beavercreek, OH (heh heh, you said Beaver)
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by foxeng
EAS is the Emergency Alert System. It replaced the EBS in 1997. EAS uses the same codes that NWS uses in its SAME program so only certain areas need to be alerted and not the whole area.

If the cable company uses their heads. Time-Warner Western Ohio likes to cut in on all my cable channels to tell me about severe thunderstorm warnings three counties and 50 miles away from me.

Apparently the locals forgot to tell TWC not to blank out their channels as well...because one time we actually had legitimate severe weather, a local station that had actually gone live with their weatherguesser and Sooper Dooper Doppler 6000 2X or whatever on the screen actually got blanked out in the middle of their coverage by an alert from the TWC EAS system. Oops.
1450kHz is offline  
post #100 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 06:49 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Threads merged.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #101 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 08:00 AM
Member
 
ripit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dswenson
--- Channel Listing for Long Island Babylon/Islip Area ---

74.1 WNBC HD
74.2 FOX5 HD
75.1 WNYE
75.2 T
75.3 WLNY
75.4 Spanish
75.5 NJN
80.1 WABC HD
80.2 WLIW
80.3 WLIW Create
80.4 WABC SD
84.1 WCBS SD
84.2 WNBC SD
84.3 FOX5 SD
84.4 WABC SD
84.5 UPN
84.6 WB11
84.7 PBS Thirteen
84.8 WLIW
84.9 Spanish
84.10 ??
100.1 ??
100.2 ~ 100.14 Traffic Cams
101.1 PBS Kids
101.2 Thirteen World
101.3 CBS HD
101.4 PBS HD
101.5 PBS Kids
101.6 Thirteen World
104.1 Racing Stats
107.3 ~ 107.8 MSG
109.3 ~ 109.11 Sports on Demand
112.x ~ 114.x Video on Demand

There are a few duplicate channels, and it's interesting that the SD locals are grouped together at 84.x while the same locals in HD are spread around. Makes it anoying to surf around, wonder if they do it as an incentive to get a cablecard.

Dave

Is it possible to get all of these channels by subscribing to just broadcast basic? If so, what do you need to purchase? Can you get these channels if you subscribe to Optimum Online without signing up for any video package?

This seems like a great alternative for people who are too far east on LI to pick OTA from NYC, especially someone who wants V* but can't get locals.
ripit is offline  
post #102 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 09:44 AM
Member
 
dswenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Is it possible to get all of these channels by subscribing to just broadcast basic?" I don't think so, I subscribe to Family cable, broadcast basic & optimum online. If you just get b. basic, I would think they would install a filter which blocks everything above ch 13. Probably same thing if you just get optimum online - put a filter that blocks all tv.
dswenson is offline  
post #103 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 10:33 AM
Member
 
ripit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the Cablevision.com, these are the channels you get with broadcast basic:

Broadcast Basic Channels

ABC HD*
ABC News Now
C-SPAN2
CBS HDTV*
Cablevision Channel Guide
FOX HDTV*
Home Shopping Network
Kids Thirteen
Local Programming
NBC HD*
News 12 Long Island
Public Access
QVC
Shop At Home
Shop NBC
Thirteen HD*
Thirteen World

*These high definition channels require an SA 4200 HD cable box and HD-ready television set.

Available only with a digital cable box.

Looks like many of the channels you listed are on broadcast basic. I think this may have changed recently because I am pretty sure that about 9 mos. ago when I changed my package, all HD channels were only available with the iO package. It looks like now you can sub to broadcast basic and rent an HD box for $14.68 plus $4.95 for the box.

How do you receive the HD channels without a cv box or cablecard?
ripit is offline  
post #104 of 8712 Old 03-25-2005, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC News Now is currently ABC +.

When the heck is cablevision going to add WB or UPN in HD, especially with all Met home games on WB being in HD?
rkunces is offline  
post #105 of 8712 Old 03-26-2005, 12:32 PM
Member
 
NS324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ripit
How do you receive the HD channels without a cv box or cablecard?

I have a couple of LG receivers that have a QAM tuner. With such receivers, one can receive the unencrypted digital channels.

Currently, I am able to receive the following digital channels with these receivers:

- the network broadcasts (ABC-HD, CBS-HD, etc.)
- Universal HD
- MSG HD
- Shop NBC
- traffic cams
- probably one or two others that I am forgetting
NS324 is offline  
post #106 of 8712 Old 03-27-2005, 05:59 PM
Member
 
spike4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the Bronx cablevision qam channels mapped?
thanks
spike4 is offline  
post #107 of 8712 Old 03-30-2005, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
BharatH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by NS324
I have a couple of LG receivers that have a QAM tuner. With such receivers, one can receive the unencrypted digital channels.

Currently, I am able to receive the following digital channels with these receivers:

- the network broadcasts (ABC-HD, CBS-HD, etc.)
- Universal HD
- MSG HD
- Shop NBC
- traffic cams
- probably one or two others that I am forgetting

Can you post the QAM channel mappings
I live in Central NJ and am only able to receive PBS-HD, WLIW-HD, NBC-HD, FOX-HD via the QAM tuner, however i do get CBS-HD and ABC-HD on the cable box (SA-4200HD).

I've scanned quite a few times, but somehow cannot catch CBS and ABC

Bharat
BharatH is offline  
post #108 of 8712 Old 03-31-2005, 11:22 AM
Member
 
NS324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is what I can receive, in ascending channel order:

084-744 Universal HD
089-100 digital channel lineup (Cablevision box #'s)
092-131 Thirteen Kids
092-132 Thirteen World
092-702 WCBS-HD
092-713 Thirteen-HD
092-731 Thirteen Kids
092-732 Thirteen World
094-680 MSG-HD
094-681 "
094-682 "
094-683 "
094-684 "
094-685 "
100-687 Traffic Cams
100-688 "
100-689 "
100-690 "
100-691 "
100-692 "
100-693 "
100-694 "
100-698 "
101-107 ABC News
101-133 WLIW Create
101-707 WABC-HD
101-721 WLIW
103-124 Nick GaS
108-191 Shop NBC
111-704 WNBC-HD
111-705 WNYW-HD

I have never tuned into MSG-HD when they had an HD broadcast, but I suspect that when they do, some of those sub-channels are not present. (When all of those MSG sub-channels are present, all are in SD.)

Are you by any chance using an LG receiver? The LGs are very sensitive with respect to the signal that they receive. I need to attenuate the signal in order to easily tune the digital channels. The attenuation also makes the receiver tune the channels faster. I recently had a 4-way splitter installed upstream of the LG; the reduction in the signal strength allowed the LG to tune the channels much faster, while at the same time it caused my Cablevision DVR to have problems with a couple of HD channels.
NS324 is offline  
post #109 of 8712 Old 03-31-2005, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanC-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Word on the street is that Comcast will be carrying Yes HD...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...22#post5412022

So now both DirecTV and Comcast are in... why no Cablevision .


P4 HTPC, Infocus 4805, nVidia GeForce 6800 pixel mapped, Theater Tek 2.2, Bluegears X-Mystique 7.1 Soundcard, HK AVR-55 A/V receiver.
DanC-P is offline  
post #110 of 8712 Old 03-31-2005, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
BharatH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by NS324
Here is what I can receive, in ascending channel order:

Are you by any chance using an LG receiver? The LGs are very sensitive with respect to the signal that they receive. I need to attenuate the signal in order to easily tune the digital channels. The attenuation also makes the receiver tune the channels faster. I recently had a 4-way splitter installed upstream of the LG; the reduction in the signal strength allowed the LG to tune the channels much faster, while at the same time it caused my Cablevision DVR to have problems with a couple of HD channels.

Thanks for the Info

I could get all the channels except for WCBS. I will try them again tonight.
BTW, I'm using a MyHD MDP-130 tuner card and using a 3-way Monster 5-2Ghz splitter.

Bharat
BharatH is offline  
post #111 of 8712 Old 03-31-2005, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:


Originally posted by DanC-P
Word on the street is that Comcast will be carrying Yes HD...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...22#post5412022

So now both DirecTV and Comcast are in... why no Cablevision .

do you even have to ask, after what happened when YES debuted ?
CV was forced to carry YES after arbitration because the case argued that CV uses it's monopoly powers to prohibit it's customers to Yankees games. Well, we currently have YES on all CV systems, is there truly a compelling reason to force the Dolan's to even try to negotiate with YES to get the HD channel. I'm not holding my breath anytime soon on getting the HD channel, at least not while the current agreement is in place since before last season to have CV carry YES (analog channel).
NorthJersey is offline  
post #112 of 8712 Old 03-31-2005, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by BharatH
Thanks for the Info

I could get all the channels except for WCBS. I will try them again tonight.
BTW, I'm using a MyHD MDP-130 tuner card and using a 3-way Monster 5-2Ghz splitter.

so the -130 picks up Cablevision? I've been wondering about that...guess it's off to buy the -130 and put the -120 up on ebay.
BenDover is offline  
post #113 of 8712 Old 04-01-2005, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanC-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by NorthJersey
do you even have to ask, after what happened when YES debuted ?

Yeah, I know. It just sucks that it now appears that Comcast, DirecTV and TWC (at least in the Albany area, but probably throughout the DMA) will be carrying Yes HD, but not, it appears, Cablevision. I'm a Red Sox fan, but I'd like to watch the enemy in HD (and Bosox vs. Yankess games!).

Dan


P4 HTPC, Infocus 4805, nVidia GeForce 6800 pixel mapped, Theater Tek 2.2, Bluegears X-Mystique 7.1 Soundcard, HK AVR-55 A/V receiver.
DanC-P is offline  
post #114 of 8712 Old 04-01-2005, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
just think, it you lived in the right county in CT and are on the Cablevision system, you'd be able to pick up NESN-HD. Do you think Steinbrenner would be happy that some CV customers can pickup the Red Sox in HD but not his Yanks?
NorthJersey is offline  
post #115 of 8712 Old 04-01-2005, 12:15 PM
Member
 
jedwards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've heard IO is coming to my neighborhood, and I've had it with TWC.

I have grown dependent on the HD-DVR, does anyone know if IO offers a DVR for HD?
If they do, do you know what hardware they use?

Thanks
jedwards is offline  
post #116 of 8712 Old 04-01-2005, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanC-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jedwards
I've heard IO is coming to my neighborhood, and I've had it with TWC.

I have grown dependent on the HD-DVR, does anyone know if IO offers a DVR for HD?
If they do, do you know what hardware they use?

Thanks

Scientific American 8300 HD.


P4 HTPC, Infocus 4805, nVidia GeForce 6800 pixel mapped, Theater Tek 2.2, Bluegears X-Mystique 7.1 Soundcard, HK AVR-55 A/V receiver.
DanC-P is offline  
post #117 of 8712 Old 04-01-2005, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rkunces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by NorthJersey
just think, it you lived in the right county in CT and are on the Cablevision system, you'd be able to pick up NESN-HD. Do you think Steinbrenner would be happy that some CV customers can pickup the Red Sox in HD but not his Yanks?

What towns in Litchfield county have CV as cable providers?
rkunces is offline  
post #118 of 8712 Old 04-01-2005, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
so how many of you are enjoying watching YES-HD on channel 622001 on their SA8300HD box on their Cablevision system, like I am (Morris Co system)




sorry, couldn't resist, especially after all the dumb April fool's jokes, like this forum site closing, or the non-stop fake stories on slashdot all day today
NorthJersey is offline  
post #119 of 8712 Old 04-03-2005, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a petition to try and get Cablevision to add YES-HD. Just created it, hopefully we can get a good number of signatures. Tell people you know.

http://www.**************.com/cvyeshd/petition.html
trekkerj is offline  
post #120 of 8712 Old 04-03-2005, 06:49 PM
Member
 
silroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are we screwed or what ?

Is Cablevision the "worst" of the providers for HD content ? What do we get , like 16 channels ? total BS

man I wish I could get sattelite.... dammit....

Money doesnt make the man !
silroc is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off