Minneapolis, MN - OTA - Page 100 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 24Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Trip over at rabbitears must have some inside info

He shows PBS Kids on RF34 and the WX moving to RF23 (essentially eliminating the 2nd MN channel)
http://rabbitears.info/market.php?re...=68594#station
http://rabbitears.info/market.php?re...n=ktci#station
unclehonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 53
one more note....with TPT Kids going on 2-4 it should have immediate cable coverage on the major systems around here
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2973 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 03:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 648 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Trip over at rabbitears must have some inside info

He shows PBS Kids on RF34 and the WX moving to RF23 (essentially eliminating the 2nd MN channel)
http://rabbitears.info/market.php?re...=68594#station
http://rabbitears.info/market.php?re...n=ktci#station
And I was just thinking this weekend of deleting that second MN channel from my Tivos and TVs.....glad I didn't.
Oh and after repointing my attic antenna just a tad I now get the 43s just fine, 80 on my signal strength. I was watching them quite a bit this past weekend, 43.1 and 43.4 the most and I have to say they are pretty nice to have for free Amazing how just moving the antenna only a couple degrees went from nothing on the 43s to 80% signal strength. I really have to get my 8-bay out of my attic, the trusses are causing havoc with multipath, now I'm starting to get breakups on 5.1 Time for a tripod on the roof, I really dislike putting the antenna out in the elements as leaving it in the attic it basically look like new even after decades but multipath is really killing me! I'm sure it would be much better if I the antenna were pointed through the gable end but unfortunately that's 90 degrees the wrong way
Another option I was thinking about was somehow hanging a mast under my 2' overhang as that direction points due North which is where the telefarm is, just not sure how I'd attach the mast to the soffit.......probably best to just bite the bullet and anchor a decent sized tripod to the roof which would be ~10' higher than the soffit anyway.
The thing that slays me about my reception is it can be great one day on all channels and then breaking up on several the next, with no real change in rain, wind, trees, etc. just the flakiness of our TV system
jjeff is offline  
post #2974 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
MGOMRJSURF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
MGOMRJSURF is online now  
post #2975 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 04:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 15,172
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Trip over at rabbitears must have some inside info
Yep. It's called "a guess."

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2976 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGOMRJSURF View Post
which I ALREADY posted 3 posts previously
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2977 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 10:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Yep. It's called "a guess."

- Trip
Hopefully you are right. I really dont want them to put it on RF34 (taking bandwidth away from PBS) when they have room on RF23
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2978 of 2981 Old 11-28-2016, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
The thing that slays me about my reception is it can be great one day on all channels and then breaking up on several the next, with no real change in rain, wind, trees, etc. just the flakiness of our TV system
I agree
The 43's can be anywhere between 0 signal and 75+ (Tivo Series 3) depending on time of day
Lately the 2's (the ones on RF34) seem to be real flaky. Use to be rock solid 95+ but in the last month or so its been all over the board. Down to 55-60 all the way up to 100 with no change in weather.
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2979 of 2981 Old Today, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Well after a fresh scan today I noticed we have a new station. KJNK-DT5 (25-5). Too bad its just infomercials every time I turn it on.
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2980 of 2981 Old Today, 08:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,154
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 648 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Not sure who's using PSIP, I don't but my mother does on her older Vizio TV. I recently did a rescan for her to get the 43s and other newer channels but noticed neither 43, nor the UNI channel nor the other Spanish HD channel had anything on PSIP, nothing not even current program, just blank
I thought it was a law that all OTA channels provide at least 12hrs of PSIP, or at least something.......anyone else using PSIP and notice this?
Note she has a larger outdoor antenna and I was watching the 43s for quite some time, everything seemed perfect, then she came home and they all started breaking up like crazy.....damn digital system we have
jjeff is offline  
post #2981 of 2981 Old Today, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Low power stations are not required to transmit guide data. Full power stations are required.
unclehonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off