Minneapolis, MN - OTA - Page 104 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3091 of 3117 Unread 04-06-2017, 10:01 AM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just noticed GET TV is on 25.6 KJNK this morning. So GET is back for people who like it in the Twin Cities.
robrob10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3092 of 3117 Unread 04-06-2017, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by robrob10 View Post
I just noticed GET TV is on 25.6 KJNK this morning. So GET is back for people who like it in the Twin Cities.
My Sony HDTV just gets a shopping channel on 25.6 but would probably get GET if I did a rescan. My Tivo did get GET on 25.6 but of course no program description, thanks for the heads up
jjeff is offline  
post #3093 of 3117 Unread 04-06-2017, 01:43 PM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I wonder when LIGHT TV from FOX will debut on 9.5 KMSP. It's been awhile since the channel was first announced with a December 2016 target to begin broadcasting. It's active in LA and NY, but nowhere else. Just have to wait and see, if and when it debuts.
robrob10 is offline  
 
post #3094 of 3117 Unread 04-06-2017, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
My Sony HDTV just gets a shopping channel on 25.6 but would probably get GET if I did a rescan.
Since your TV doesnt like direct entry (from your previous posts when a new station is added) the RF station is RF 25.8
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3095 of 3117 Unread 04-06-2017, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Since your TV doesnt like direct entry (from your previous posts when a new station is added) the RF station is RF 25.8
Right you are, on both points
I was wondering what the real channel number might be, somehow you knew it
jjeff is offline  
post #3096 of 3117 Unread 04-06-2017, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Right you are, on both points
I was wondering what the real channel number might be, somehow you knew it
Most stations their RF station starts on X.3 which remaps to X.1

Both DTV America stations do it that way. So when you got a shopping on 25.6 and there is only one shopping station in that much (on 25.4) the above makes sense.

Also rabbitears shows the RF station too

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=Kjnk
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3097 of 3117 Unread 04-06-2017, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Stations here that their RF station follows that example (RF X.3 mapping to X.1, X.4 maps to X.2 and so on)

KTCA
KSTP
WFTC
KMSP
KARE
WUCW
KJNK
KPXM
KMBD
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3098 of 3117 Unread 04-07-2017, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
....

Also rabbitears shows the RF station too

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=Kjnk
What gets me(that word GET again ) is how Trip knows this stuff so quickly but it will take Tivo(or would it be Rovi...) days if not weeks to get it straightened out.......and I'd think Tivo must have at least one person dedicate to channel changes, and Trip does this plus a lot of other things I'd think
jjeff is offline  
post #3099 of 3117 Unread 04-07-2017, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,492
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
I read it here, of course.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3100 of 3117 Unread 04-07-2017, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
What gets me(that word GET again ) is how Trip knows this stuff so quickly but it will take Tivo(or would it be Rovi...) days if not weeks to get it straightened out.......and I'd think Tivo must have at least one person dedicate to channel changes, and Trip does this plus a lot of other things I'd think
The best way to get TiVo to update it is to send in a lineup change.
I know I will do one tonight when I get home from work.

https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3101 of 3117 Unread 04-07-2017, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
I read it here, of course.

- Trip
A man with his finger on the heartbeat of America

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
The best way to get TiVo to update it is to send in a lineup change.
I know I will do one tonight when I get home from work.

https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html
I just did also. Note I wasn't sure what to tell them for the call letters of the channel, I just wrote KJNK/GET TV, hopefully they'll understand it.
jjeff is offline  
post #3102 of 3117 Unread 04-07-2017, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

I just did also. Note I wasn't sure what to tell them for the call letters of the channel, I just wrote KJNK/GET TV, hopefully they'll understand it.
What I usually do is list the callsign and the changes. Something like

'on 4/4 KJNK-DT6 25-6 was added with GetTV' and then sometimes list the other stations in the mix so to make sure they have the right station.
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3103 of 3117 Unread 04-09-2017, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I did send a lineup change to Tivo on Friday. One thing I noticed is DTV America cant even get the call sign right. They have GetTV listed as "KNJK-LD" instead of the correct KJNK
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3104 of 3117 Unread 04-09-2017, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
I did send a lineup change to Tivo on Friday. One thing I noticed is DTV America cant even get the call sign right. They have GetTV listed as "KNJK-LD" instead of the correct KJNK
Where are you seeing KNJK-LD
I see KJNK-LD on my Sony HDTV via PSIP on 25.1 but on 25.6(my Sony straightened itself out by itself) it says KJKN-LD(still wrong I believe) and the same with my Tivo.
Oh I've traded several emails with Tivo about adding GetTV, the latest one said it should......be corrected in 3-5 days.
jjeff is offline  
post #3105 of 3117 Unread 04-09-2017, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Where are you seeing KNJK-LD
I see KJNK-LD on my Sony HDTV via PSIP on 25.1 but on 25.6(my Sony straightened itself out by itself) it says KJKN-LD(still wrong I believe) and the same with my Tivo.
you are correct. I wasnt near the TV when I posted so I tried to remember the wrong callsign

As Teddy Long said on Monday Night Raw last week when Vince him he wasn't the new GM....."MY BAD" (Holla Holla Holla)
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3106 of 3117 Unread 04-09-2017, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
you are correct. I wasnt near the TV when I posted so I tried to remember the wrong callsign

As Teddy Long said on Monday Night Raw last week when Vince him he wasn't the new GM....."MY BAD" (Holla Holla Holla)
No problem, it took me a couple times typing it to get it right, and I was looking right at it! Must be something about the combination of their call letters that are prone to scrambling the letters
jjeff is offline  
post #3107 of 3117 Unread 04-12-2017, 10:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
today I got a notice on my TiVo's that "KJNK-DT6" has been added to the list but there is still no guide info
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3108 of 3117 Unread 04-13-2017, 05:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
today I got a notice on my TiVo's that "KJNK-DT6" has been added to the list but there is still no guide info
+1 on both my Tivos
jjeff is offline  
post #3109 of 3117 Unread 04-13-2017, 03:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Minneapolis, MN

I just checked, too, and I have "Title not available 25-6 KJNK-LD6".
Jim1348 is offline  
post #3110 of 3117 Unread 04-13-2017, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
agus0103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
With the FCC publishing detailed information about the incentive auction and channel repacking process today, here are the required changes to full-power stations within the Minneapolis-St. Paul market:

  • KPXM moves from channel 40 to channel 16 and downgrades from an ERP of 1000 kW to 594 kW
  • KSTC moves from channel 45 to channel 30 and downgrades from an ERP of 1000 kW to 745 kW
  • KSAX in Alexandria moves from channel 42 to channel 24 and downgrades from an ERP of 80 kW to 55.3 kW
  • KCCO in Alexandria leaves channel 7 and begins channel sharing with another station (which one appears to be unknown at this time)


All other full-power stations within the market will keep their present channels and power levels.
agus0103 is offline  
post #3111 of 3117 Unread 04-13-2017, 10:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
KPXM moving to 16 forces 2 stations to move

The EWTN translator on 16 obviously has to move but also WUMN-LD has to move from 17 due to adjacent station. You have to be like 10 miles away to have adjacent stations and thats too far away. Thats why we will have 30-35 occupied. 31 & 33 are on IDS and 30,32,34,35 are at the Telefarm.
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3112 of 3117 Unread 04-13-2017, 10:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3113 of 3117 Unread 04-14-2017, 08:58 AM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like the phase 3 dates are 4/13/2019 to 6/21/2019 for KSTC and KPXM to transition to their new RF channels. So we have 2 years for these stations to comply with the repack.
robrob10 is offline  
post #3114 of 3117 Unread 04-15-2017, 08:50 AM
Member
 
John21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does this mean KPXM will be moving to Shoreview? Or is that never happening?
John21 is offline  
post #3115 of 3117 Unread 04-15-2017, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by John21 View Post
Does this mean KPXM will be moving to Shoreview? Or is that never happening?
they arent moving. The construction permit for that expired I want to say 2 years ago. The only thing they will be doing is changing from RF40 to RF16

edit: yup 2 years ago. Fro the FCC site

Status Date: 04/04/2012
Expiration Date: 04/04/2015

Last edited by unclehonkey; 04-15-2017 at 12:30 PM.
unclehonkey is online now  
post #3116 of 3117 Unread 04-16-2017, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With KPXM and KSTC moving to lower frequencies, will they be easier to pick up? I noticed both are having to reduce power and with KPXM being so far away will that make it harder to receive?
Runch Machine is offline  
post #3117 of 3117 Unread Today, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Gettv 25-6 has guide info as of an update this morning on TiVo

They also deleted the old bogus 23-7 and switched 2-2 from KTCI2SD to KTCIDT2
unclehonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off