Minneapolis, MN - OTA - Page 23 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 88Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 3166 Old 04-12-2010, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It should also mean that the My29 programming will get distribution in north-central MN when KMSP's translators in Little Falls, Brainerd, Wadena, and Hackensack are converted to digital, assuming they receive the KMSP signal over-the-air.
Jon Ellis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 3166 Old 04-15-2010, 06:15 AM
Member
 
kamot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

KARE has applied to increase power from 21.7 kW to 45.3 kW.

- Trip

Anyone have any idea when KARE11 will be increasing power?
kamot is offline  
post #663 of 3166 Old 04-15-2010, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
TCDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamot View Post

Anyone have any idea when KARE11 will be increasing power?

I'd be interested in any new details about this as well.
TCDTV is offline  
 
post #664 of 3166 Old 04-24-2010, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,075
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 770 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Hope this is OK to post this in this thread, it's something we used to do on the old HDTV site. Anyway for anyone looking for a great deal on a OTA digital TV(great for the upcoming storm season) Office Depot has 2 on sale for as cheap as I've seen.
#1 a 7" LCD AC/DC Batt powered for $39.99 regularly $79.99 (Prism brand)
#2 a 3.5" LCD regularly $79.99 for $19.99 (I don't know how they can even make the tuner for that).
According to this coming Sunday's ad, Supplies are limited so I'll probably try and be at the store first thing Sunday(ad is for 4/25-5/1).
Sure wish their was as many Office Depots as Office Maxs in our town. OMs seem to be on every corner while ODs are rather sparse. Good luck! BTW they also have some decent prices on TDK(Memorex) DVD media(Rs, RWs and DLs).
This is not SPAM, just seemed like a good deal to me.
jjeff is offline  
post #665 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 06:00 AM
Newbie
 
MarkJ40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has TPT made another change? Now, on both my HDTV and my DVR I cannot get to 2.1 directly but can find it on 34.1. I had experienced that for some time on my DVR (a Magnavox 2160) but now face it on my receiver as well.
MarkJ40 is offline  
post #666 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkJ40 View Post

Has TPT made another change? Now, on both my HDTV and my DVR I cannot get to 2.1 directly but can find it on 34.1. I had experienced that for some time on my DVR (a Magnavox 2160) but now face it on my receiver as well.

I just looked at the data for them and everything looks right (2.1 tpt 2), perhaps they made a change to their PSIP generator. I would unhook the antenna cable from the tuners, do a full rescan (no channels should be found.) then hook the cable back up and another full rescan to detect the channels. This way it clears the old history of the mappings out from the boxes.

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
post #667 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
MarkJ40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, gjvrieze! That brought the channels back.
MarkJ40 is offline  
post #668 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
TCDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

#1 a 7" LCD AC/DC Batt powered for $39.99 regularly $79.99 (Prism brand)
#2 a 3.5" LCD regularly $79.99 for $19.99

FWIW, I got the 7" one last year for around $90. It's a re-branded Haier model, Thankfully I didn't get to try it out during severe weather last year, but in playing around with a Silver Sensor coupled to a pair of rabbit ears in the basement I was eventually able to pull in the major stations with it. The tuner isn't too bad, but it's not on par with the latest tuners that were present in the CECBs last year. Right now we've got it hooked up to a Zenith CECB in the den via RCA cables for use as a small background TV while getting work done.

I can't comment on the 3.5" one, but if the site reviews are worth anything, it sounds like it doesn't get very good reception. Still might be worth the $20 to try it out though...
TCDTV is offline  
post #669 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,075
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 770 Post(s)
Liked: 268
I bought one of each but won't be able to play with them until next week.
While I was there I noticed a BR player for $49.99 after $50 instant rebate.
I had to drive 25 miles(to Minnetonka) to get a new one(actually 2), since Eagan only had the display with no remote. The cheapest BR I've ever seen was a $89 Magnavox black Friday special at W/M. This one seems better build quality than the Maggy, it's a Element which I believe Circuit City sold before they tanked.
Speaking of tanking I wonder how much longer O.D. will be around, very quiet and several stores have closed in MSP Great bargains though
jjeff is offline  
post #670 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 997
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What is O.D.?
Jim1348 is offline  
post #671 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
zryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Paul MN
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Office Depot

"The satisfaction of a great price will be overshadowed by the bitterness of poor quality."

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO Abear
You still measure your TV in "inches"? Thats so cute! :D
zryder is offline  
post #672 of 3166 Old 04-25-2010, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,075
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 770 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Yes Office Depot, oh and for anyone interested in a few AVS reviews(including mine) on the O.D. portable TVs check out this thread.
jjeff is offline  
post #673 of 3166 Old 04-30-2010, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
TCDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found this thread indicating the last four episodes of King of the Hill that were never aired are going to run in syndication this next week. Searching my Tivo reveals that there are indeed four episodes airing next week with a 2010 production date.

The last season of King of the Hill was produced in widescreen HD, but I don't think WFTC is able to air HD syndicated programming in HD, so expect windowboxing, letterboxing or cropping, depending on if you watch 29-1 or 29-2. Either way, I thought I'd post this since I would never have known about it if I hadn't stumbled on the Tivo thread about it and I thought there may be some fans of the show in the area who would like to see these unaired episodes OTA..

The last new episodes air M-Th (May 3-6)at 11:30pm on WFTC.
TCDTV is offline  
post #674 of 3166 Old 04-30-2010, 12:07 PM
Member
 
w0en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Cruising OTA last night looking for TPT radar on 2.4 I stumbled on EWTN now on digital RF16.1-.5 (which was already set up for previous channel 17 on RF16 before they went to RF23) running 5 subchannels of the same show. Checking it's former spot on analog 19 or 25 (don't remember where it was) it was off the air. Signal is much stronger off the IDS down here than before, it was snowy or not at all before even with a 91XG and a CM777 preamp.
w0en is offline  
post #675 of 3166 Old 04-30-2010, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,495
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
w0en:

What are on the various subs for K19ER-D?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #676 of 3166 Old 04-30-2010, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
As of when I was down there last weekend, they were all carrying EWTN. Someone told me they once saw all of them carrying EWTN's espanol service at one point, too, so they're probably still getting ready for multicasting.

Also, K25IA apparently fixed their audio so it can be heard on regular converter boxes.
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #677 of 3166 Old 05-01-2010, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,075
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 770 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ellis View Post


Also, K25IA apparently fixed their audio so it can be heard on regular converter boxes.

Well I went to check your statement on my CM-7000 CECB and '05 Panasonic LCD that both got no audio on the 25's. Very odd findings....
On my CM everything seems OK, audio on all the 25's(.1-.5) and EWTN on all the 16s(.1-.4).
On my Panny LCD things got weirder on the 25s(.1, .2) I got EWTN and on the 16s(.1, .2) I also got EWTN. I tried several rescans on the Panny but could NOT get the normal 25s(music video channel, religious, kids programming, etc.) only what should show up on 16.3 and 16.4 which is a duplicate of EWTN.
Luckily we rarely watch any of the 25s and never on the Panny. Sounds like the 25s are doing something funny with PSIP that the older Panny doesn't like.
jjeff is offline  
post #678 of 3166 Old 05-03-2010, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I must've been using a different receiver this time than in the past and forgotten. When I got audio I was using an Insignia box; in the past I may have used a Digital Stream box (which has already bitten the dust).
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #679 of 3166 Old 05-09-2010, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Doc Sief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Eagan, MN, southern suburb of St. Paul, 16mi from TV Towers
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamot View Post

Anyone have any idea when KARE11 will be increasing power?

Morning of May 11 KARE 11 (gee, now I get why they pick that date) will be broadcasting at Maximum allowed power 67% higher than its current ERP. So if you use to get old Analog KARE 11, you should be able to get KARE 11DTV!
Those of us with indoor antenna that use to lose the signal when we closed our drapes will be HAPPY. Now to see if it makes a big difference next thunderstorm
Doc Sief is offline  
post #680 of 3166 Old 05-09-2010, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,075
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 770 Post(s)
Liked: 268
I'll let you know if it makes a difference.
I've been unable to get 11.1/2 to stick at my mothers house in Eagan(indoor antenna) and I've also been unable to get 11.1/2 on my little 7" portable in Burnsville.
Both places I get all the other locals, just not the 11's. Thanks for the heads-up.
jjeff is offline  
post #681 of 3166 Old 05-09-2010, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
TCDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Sief View Post

Morning of May 11 KARE 11 [snip] will be broadcasting at Maximum allowed power 67% higher than its current ERP.

Thanks for the heads-up! I happened to have a mishap with the indoor antenna in my bedroom this morning and spent most of the day before and after our family's Mothers Day activities trying to dial in both 9 and 11 at the same time again. Increased power on 11 should definitely spare me such a hassle in the future.
TCDTV is offline  
post #682 of 3166 Old 05-10-2010, 02:55 AM
Member
 
kamot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for info Doc. Now maybe I can get 11.1 without all the pixelating and loss of signal.
kamot is offline  
post #683 of 3166 Old 05-11-2010, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
TCDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't noticed anything too dramatic with KARE's power increase yet. After fiddling with the Rabbit ears on my Terk HDTVi I did find it a bit easier to pull in both 9 and 11 at the same time , and to do so with a different orientation and length of the poles. I can't be certain until some time (and weather changes) go by, but at least for today the signal strength as reported by my TV and Tivo do seem at least a touch higher and a little more stable for 11.
TCDTV is offline  
post #684 of 3166 Old 05-12-2010, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,075
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 770 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Well I now get 11.1/2 just fine with my portable in Burnsville. In fact it even says Good for signal strength.
I'll update this post next time I get to Eagan.
Thanks KARE!
jjeff is offline  
post #685 of 3166 Old 05-15-2010, 03:00 AM
Member
 
kamot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got pixelating and loss of signal again last night (Friday) on 11.1.

Bummer....
kamot is offline  
post #686 of 3166 Old 05-15-2010, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
gregma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am hearing tons of very short audio dropouts (random clicks every few seconds) on KARE 11.1. This is occurring on Cable and OTA. I am working with one of their engineers, but he's not really taking my issue seriously because he's getting no other reports. I also seen brief picture freeze from time to time. I don't think this is a signal issue as it only seems to be affecting 11.1. Anyone else experiencing this?
gregma is offline  
post #687 of 3166 Old 05-16-2010, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
TCDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregma View Post

seen brief picture freeze from time to time. I don't think this is a signal issue as it only seems to be affecting 11.1. Anyone else experiencing this?

We had the picture freeze on two different TVs/Tivos during 30 Rock this past Thursday night -- ironically at 11 minutes into the show. On my Tivo, the picture froze but the audio continued and then after a few seconds the video sped up to catch up with the audio and the audio became somewhat distorted in the process. Everything was fine after that. I just checked the recording and it still does the same thing at 11 minutes in.

The only other time I experienced a similar problem with 11 recently was in a commercial break during the Betty White SNL episode when I lost all sound but the picture kept going. I turned captioning on and watched a bit of Weekend Update that way after the break, but eventually I tried rewinding a bit on the Tivo and then sound returned and I was able to go back to the beginning of Update and watch it and the rest of the show normally.

Whatever problems there are in 11's broadcast feed seemed to be rare and transitory on my end, so I didn't find them worth mentioning until I saw your post.
TCDTV is offline  
post #688 of 3166 Old 05-16-2010, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,075
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 770 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCDTV View Post


The only other time I experienced a similar problem with 11 recently was in a commercial break during the Betty White SNL episode when I lost all sound but the picture kept going. I turned captioning on and watched a bit of Weekend Update that way after the break, but eventually I tried rewinding a bit on the Tivo and then sound returned and I was able to go back to the beginning of Update and watch it and the rest of the show normally.

I've also had this happen on a couple occasions with my Tivo. I think it's more of a Tivo/HDD issue than a station issue. I also watched that SNL with no sound problems at all.
AFA KARE issues yesterday, I watched the horses yesterday afternoon(kind of in the background) with no noticeable issues. I was watching it live, not through my Tivo which is how I usually watch TV, I'm OTA.
jjeff is offline  
post #689 of 3166 Old 05-22-2010, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
TCDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's looking like tomorrow night may bring bad weather conditions for local Lost fans. With the possibility of strong storms in at least part of the viewing area being indicated in every forecast I've heard for tomorrow night, it may turn out that the eagerly awaited finale of Lost will be squished on the screen by at least one weather alert, or maybe even interrupted for live coverage of weather.

Now, I'm still hoping that this won't be the case, but if it turns out that we don't get to see Lost properly because KSTP has to alter or interrupt the airing tomorrow night, is it likely or even possible for them to re-air it in full HD/5.1 sound at a later date/time after the weather settles down? I know that next Saturday ABC will be re-airing an hour of the finale, but this is not the whole thing, and they usually edit those reruns down and of course add pop-up facts at the bottom of the screen...
TCDTV is offline  
post #690 of 3166 Old 05-22-2010, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,495
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Apparently, KSTC will be adding This TV on 45-2 starting in mid July.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off