Minneapolis, MN - OTA - Page 85 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 2545 Old 02-20-2015, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by berg0449 View Post
Did anybody watch last man standing on channel 5? Was the sound ok thru entire show? I watched on Comcast and sound went out half way thru show.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
I watched it... it was fine OTA.
RTPVid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 2545 Old 02-21-2015, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
Flipping through the channels the other day and I found that 17.1 is now absolutely pristine 1080i. Yet, I can't get seem to get an audio signal. I tried all the audio program settings on my '07 Samsung. Nothing. Anyone else have the same problem?
I do not get sound on 17.1 on my 2004 Sony HDTV. Picture is great, just no sound. 17.1 is the only channel with this problem on this TV. My newer TVs do get sound on 17.1.
Runch Machine is offline  
post #2523 of 2545 Old 02-21-2015, 07:12 AM
Member
 
garymickd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by berg0449 View Post
Did anybody watch last man standing on channel 5? Was the sound ok thru entire show? I watched on Comcast and sound went out half way thru show.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
I had the same problem with my Comcast DVR recording. It lasted through the 1st 7 minutes of Cristela.
garymickd is offline  
post #2524 of 2545 Old 02-21-2015, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
picked me up a full (badass) antenna system at Radio Shack for under $15 in Shakopee (since its closing the antenna stuff is 90% off)

tripod for 3.50
5 foot mast for 1.50
AntennaCraft C490 antenna for 8.69 (only antenna they had left)..It has VHF Low elements
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2525 of 2545 Old 02-21-2015, 06:30 PM
Member
 
w0en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
picked me up a full (badass) antenna system at Radio Shack for under $15 in Shakopee (since its closing the antenna stuff is 90% off)

tripod for 3.50
5 foot mast for 1.50
AntennaCraft C490 antenna for 8.69 (only antenna they had left)..It has VHF Low elements
Now you can try to DX CH 5 in Des Moines and I think there are a couple Low-VHF in Rapid City too!
w0en is online now  
post #2526 of 2545 Old 02-22-2015, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0en View Post
Now you can try to DX CH 5 in Des Moines and I think there are a couple Low-VHF in Rapid City too!
well the only thing is I am in an apartment so that would be kinda tough as this thing is huge!
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2527 of 2545 Old 02-22-2015, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hope, MN
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went to four Radio Shack locations today, three of which were still open. Pretty picked over. I did see a few Antennacraft HBU-55s and a few assorted other antenna parts. All the stores I visited were in the 70-90% off bracket. I would assume they're going to be completely closed by the end of the week.
mattdp is online now  
post #2528 of 2545 Old 02-22-2015, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Minneapolis, MN - OTA

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
Went to four Radio Shack locations today, three of which were still open.....I would assume they're going to be completely closed by the end of the week.
Which Radio Shacks did you get to?
Jim1348 is offline  
post #2529 of 2545 Old 02-22-2015, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hope, MN
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
- Coon Rapids Northtown Mall: A handful of fixtures and bags of parts were the only things left in the store

- St. Anthony Village: Some stuff in the parts trays, two antennas (a HBU-55 and a full Lo/Hi/UHF model) and a bunch of phone cases.

- St. Paul Midway: two HBU-55s, rotors, some MAKE literature, parts, some phone accessories.

- Minneapolis 26th Ave: Closed.
mattdp is online now  
post #2530 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 06:41 AM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wrong Lineup change on TiVo

TiVo’s channel mapping for KMSP is now screwed up!

TiVo pushed a lineup change to my Premiere yesterday that changed the channel mapping for KMSP from channel 9.9 to 9.5. The problem is channel 9.5 is not broadcasting anything, so now the TiVo has bad guide data and will not record anything for KMSP.

Nothing should have change because KMSP is still mapped to channel 9.9.
worachj is offline  
post #2531 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 08:14 AM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
TiVo’s channel mapping for KMSP is now screwed up!

TiVo pushed a lineup change to my Premiere yesterday that changed the channel mapping for KMSP from channel 9.9 to 9.5. The problem is channel 9.5 is not broadcasting anything, so now the TiVo has bad guide data and will not record anything for KMSP.

Nothing should have change because KMSP is still mapped to channel 9.9.
I noticed on my AM21/HR24 setup that KMSP 9.9 has been deleted from my channel lineup. Doing subsequent reboots doesn't get it back. TV tuner still has 9.9. Must be something going on with the EPG and whoever provides the info for that channel. Maybe some shifting because of Bounce being dropped and buzzr TV being added in the near future?
robrob10 is online now  
post #2532 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 08:46 AM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by robrob10 View Post
I noticed on my AM21/HR24 setup that KMSP 9.9 has been deleted from my channel lineup. Doing subsequent reboots doesn't get it back. TV tuner still has 9.9. Must be something going on with the EPG and whoever provides the info for that channel. Maybe some shifting because of Bounce being dropped and buzzr TV being added in the near future?
I’m not sure what’s going on but the listings on zap2it.com shows the switch to channel 9.5. I can still get the TiVo to tune to channel 9.9, its just has no guide data. TiVo gets its guide data from the Tribune media services and for some reason they made the change.

I’m thinking you are right in that the future changes have screwed things up.
worachj is offline  
post #2533 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
TiVo’s channel mapping for KMSP is now screwed up!

TiVo pushed a lineup change to my Premiere yesterday that changed the channel mapping for KMSP from channel 9.9 to 9.5. The problem is channel 9.5 is not broadcasting anything, so now the TiVo has bad guide data and will not record anything for KMSP.

Nothing should have change because KMSP is still mapped to channel 9.9.
agreed! I mainly use 9-9 for Fox recordings so now I have to resort to 9-1
Might have to send a update to Tivo and Tribune to see if they will fix it
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2534 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by robrob10 View Post
I noticed on my AM21/HR24 setup that KMSP 9.9 has been deleted from my channel lineup. Doing subsequent reboots doesn't get it back. TV tuner still has 9.9. Must be something going on with the EPG and whoever provides the info for that channel. Maybe some shifting because of Bounce being dropped and buzzr TV being added in the near future?
From reports Buzzr will just replace Bounce on 9-4 but it doesnt launch til end of May
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2535 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
I can still get the TiVo to tune to channel 9.9, its just has no guide data.
same here
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2536 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
zap2it shows 9-9 as KMSP, not 9-5 for my zip (suburbs) and a few others in the Mpls area
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2537 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 02:30 PM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I sent a lineup problem report to TiVo. I've already got the can response back from them stating they believe they have a solution to the problem.

Zap2it.com has KMSP as channel 9.5 for my 55122 zip code. Seems strange that only some zip code where affected.
worachj is offline  
post #2538 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 02:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,093
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I got the Tivo message last night that the channel lineup had changed for my area, like others said it said 9.9 was moving to 9.5, only there ain't no 9.5
I have no idea why the heck Tribune would make a change when NO change was needed, NOTHING has changed!
I also have a couple SP's setup for 9.9 because I was having breakup issues on 9.1, now I have to change things again
Looks like Glee(not my SP) is showing to record to 9.5 tonight! Personally I record very very little from FOX, now that Sleepy Hallow is done for the season it's even less, still would like to get it fixed.
jjeff is online now  
post #2539 of 2545 Old Yesterday, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
Zap2it.com has KMSP as channel 9.5 for my 55122 zip code. Seems strange that only some zip code where affected.
zap2it shows 9.9 for 55122 right now. Earlier today I checked a few zips (56011 Belle Plaine, 55372 Prior Lake and 55402 Downtown Mpls) and all had 9.9 for Fox
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2540 of 2545 Old Today, 07:02 AM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
zap2it shows 9.9 for 55122 right now. Earlier today I checked a few zips (56011 Belle Plaine, 55372 Prior Lake and 55402 Downtown Mpls) and all had 9.9 for Fox
Strange… it still shows KMSP as 9.5 for me. Not sure why we are seeing differences. I also see KMSP as 9.5 for the other zip codes you listed.

I would think the listings would be the same.
http://www.zap2it.com/tvlistings/loc...zip=55122&mso=&store=1&lineupid=USA-OTA55122

Last edited by worachj; Today at 07:11 AM.
worachj is offline  
post #2541 of 2545 Old Today, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Twin Cities Metro Area Radio Shacks

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
Went to four Radio Shack locations today, three of which were still open. Pretty picked over. I did see a few Antennacraft HBU-55s and a few assorted other antenna parts. All the stores I visited were in the 70-90% off bracket. I would assume they're going to be completely closed by the end of the week.
I checked the Radio Shack Store Locator area of their website. It still shows the Mall Of America. So, just in case anybody is thinking of making a trip to look for deals, you may want to call ahead to make sure the store really is still open for business, because the Mall Of America store was closed yesterday when I stopped after work.

I did also notice that only a few of the stores near me list the Ship To Store option. I suspect that those are the ones that are planning on being around a bit longer than those that don't offer that option. Also, check carefully on the hours and days open. Most of the ones near me that are not showing the Ship To Store option, are listed as "Sat - Sun Closed"! And some/may of those are only open on Friday!

After sifting through the list a bit more, it looks like the following 6 stores are showing the Ship To Store option in the Twin Cities Metro area:

1200 ROBERT ST S STE 5
WEST SAINT PAUL, MN 55118
651-455-7899

RICHFIELD SHOPPES
RICHFIELD, MN 55423
612-861-4830

MINNEHAHA MALL
MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55406
612-729-7979

HIGHLAND PLAZA
MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55408
612-824-4700

7900 OLSON MEMORIAL HWY
GOLDEN VALLEY, MN 55427
763-546-7887

109 WILLOW BEND
CRYSTAL, MN 55428
763-533-0550

http://www.radioshack.com/store-locator
Jim1348 is offline  
post #2542 of 2545 Old Today, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hope, MN
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mattdp is online now  
post #2543 of 2545 Old Today, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by worachj View Post
Strange… it still shows KMSP as 9.5 for me. Not sure why we are seeing differences. I also see KMSP as 9.5 for the other zip codes you listed.

I would think the listings would be the same.
http://www.zap2it.com/tvlistings/loc...zip=55122&mso=&store=1&lineupid=USA-OTA55122
interesting

the "new" version it shows 9-5 for FOX but the "classic" version (which I prefer) shows 9-9
unclehonkey is online now  
post #2544 of 2545 Old Today, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Twin Cities Metro Area Radio Shacks

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
I stopped by the Richfield Radio Shack earlier. If you didn't know better, it seemed just like business as usual there!

I also signed up for the "Save $10 When You Sign Up For Our Emails" offer. In the past, I seem to recall it was $10 of a $40 purchase. Not much of an incentive from my perspective. However, now it is $10 off a $25 purchase. A bit more attractive to me.
Jim1348 is offline  
post #2545 of 2545 Unread Today, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
I stopped by the Richfield Radio Shack earlier. If you didn't know better, it seemed just like business as usual there!
Richfield is staying open.
When I visited the one in Chan they said Richfield, Crystal and Golden Valley are staying open and can take returns
unclehonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off