Minneapolis, MN - OTA - Page 87 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2581 of 2596 Old 03-11-2015, 06:14 PM
Newbie
 
wildlifeartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another email from WCCO:

"I am not a member of the forum that you post to. Perhaps you could pass a message and let folks
know that there currently is no guide data for Decades and if there is going to be something you will
not see it until after May 25, 2015.


Kind regards,

Matthew Wick

WCCO-TV MINNEAPOLIS
Maintenance Technician"


Sounds like there will be no schedule from WCCO until then. I use the decades.com schedule (link at bottom of page).

***Milwaukee has a better schedule - http://www.cbs58.com/category/288751/programming (channel 58.4). Added it to my Titan TV listing.

Last edited by wildlifeartist; 03-12-2015 at 02:16 PM.
wildlifeartist is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2582 of 2596 Old 03-11-2015, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
agus0103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 21
For the record, Decades is active on KCCO 7.2 but hidden (no PSIP info) on KCCW. In other words, with KCCW, the channel is there, but ordinary receivers won't see anything.

Video on Decades is getting approximately 2.7 Mbps of bitrate. The main channel now displays video at a relatively steady 14.5-14.9 Mbps. Before Decades showed up, considerably more variable bitrates were the norm. It wasn't unusual at all to see the video bitrate jump around between 12 and 17 Mbps, and anywhere in between, depending on the complexity of the video being displayed.

Finally, on KCCO, the Decades audio is in MPEG format, rather than the usual AC-3 format. I suspect Decades on WCCO had been the same way, and that is why some receivers were having problems playing the audio.
jjeff and unclehonkey like this.
agus0103 is offline  
post #2583 of 2596 Old 03-13-2015, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,139
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 119
I sure hope Tivo/Tribune gets Decades added post haste, I mean they were quick to intact 9.5, when it wasn't even a valid channel From what I've seen Decades seems to be a pretty decent channel, for the older generation that can tolerate B&W anyway
Yes I've emailed them, as someone else said, the more the merrier!
unclehonkey likes this.
jjeff is online now  
post #2584 of 2596 Old 03-17-2015, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
wildlifeartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WCCO Decades Update:

"I thought you would like to know that we now have accurate guide data available on Decades.

Matthew Wick
WCCO-TV MINNEAPOLIS
Maintenance Technician"

Here is the link to their schedule:
http://minnesota.cbslocal.com/program-guide/

unclehonkey likes this.
wildlifeartist is online now  
post #2585 of 2596 Old 03-17-2015, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 26
now to get Tribune to update it so the Tivo does
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2586 of 2596 Old 03-18-2015, 06:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,139
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
now to get Tribune to update it so the Tivo does
I love my Tivo but IMO their company if full of a bunch of IDIOTS!
I mean ALL they have to do is provide guide data, thats their business, provide guide data for the channels in a particular market and on that front they can FAIL epically! I mean I've got 3 emails into Tivo and it's like they don't have a friggin' clue what I'm talking about, complete IDIOTS!
I keep opening up tickets and they keep closing them with gibberish that makes no sense.

My initial email:
First, I tried to report this in the correct area but keep getting FATAL Error!!! tried MANY times.
Please add guide info for the DECADES channel to WCCO 4.2 in my market of MSP. It's been on the air for several days but I only get NO GUIDE INFO.
FYI I tried the normal channel missing link but it would go no where, I couldn't proceed, no way to submit form.

Their response a day and half later:

Recently you requested assistance from our online TiVo Support center. We have addressed your issue and believe that we have answered your question. Below you will find a summary of your original question and our response.
If this issue is not resolved to your satisfaction, you may reopen it within the next 30 days.
Thank you for contacting TiVo Customer Support. I would be glad to help you with guide info.

In the antenna lineup selected on the TiVo, there is no channel 4.2.

The lineup looks like this----

4-1 41 K41IZD CBS Affiliate
5-1 30 K30FND ABC Affiliate

It appears that the signal is being sent, but the channel itself is not part of the lineup. If the channel is not part of the lineup, then there will be no information for the channel.

Then they had the gall to send me a customer satisfaction survey which I gave basically all 2 or 3s out of 10. Note the damn thing took 5+ minutes and was so irrelevant it wasn't funny.

Opened another ticket as they closed my first one immediately and I could not reopen it since they closed it as resolved
My new ticket:
Trying to report missing channel guide info for DECADES channel which was added a week ago for my market, I get the following error:


Fatal error: Call to a member function get() on a non-object in /cgi-bin/tivo.cfg/scripts/euf/application/production/optimized/views/headers/answers/detail.php on line 325

Their response:

Thank you for contacting TiVo Customer Support.

If receiving any errors in your web browser you would want to clear your cookies, cache, and history or try another web browser.

The reference number for this inquiry is 150315-000xxx. Please refer to this number if you choose to contact us again regarding this request. In order to reply to this email, please log into My Support at www.tivo.com/mysupport. Replies directly to this email will not be received.

Sincerely,
Megan

Well instead of messing with cookies I tried Chrome and was able to get the correct forum and submitted this:
A sub channel for over the air 4.1 WCCO was added a week ago, it comes in on 4.2 and is called DECADES, like 4.1 it's on physical channel 32 or frequency 581000 kHz
I tried to open a reference number, 150313-00xxx but I think it got to the wrong department as they knew nothing and spoke gibberish. Please add guide info for this channel so I can program it.

Browser Type : Netscape
Version : 5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/41.0.2272.89 Safari/537.36
To which they responded:
A TiVo Channel Lineup Specialist will work to resolve the issue as quickly as possible with our Program Guide Data provider. This typically takes five to seven business days. Most lineup changes are downloaded to your TiVo box automatically during a daily connection, so you won't need to change your Season Passes or other scheduled recordings.

Well at least no more customer satisfaction surveys.......what really burns me is basically everything they needed was in my first email, 3 emails later and still nothing is done. They seem to be able to change things like moving FOX 9.9 to 9.5 when it should NOT have even been done. I mean this DECADES thing has been in the works for months, they should have added it even BEFORE the change took place, not waiting weeks after it's on the air only to still have no guide data, frickin' morons!

Last edited by jjeff; 03-18-2015 at 06:28 AM.
jjeff is online now  
post #2587 of 2596 Old 03-18-2015, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
agus0103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Decades became visible on KCCW 12.2 today. However, the audio is still MPEG rather than AC-3, so some tuners are going to have problems.

Edit: As of March 20th, the audio is AC-3. All tuners should now have video and audio on KCCW-DT2.
unclehonkey likes this.

Last edited by agus0103; 03-20-2015 at 02:27 PM.
agus0103 is offline  
post #2588 of 2596 Old 03-21-2015, 08:44 AM
Member
 
cmotomn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Univision 17.1 (WUMN 1080i) appears to be gone or at least I can't receive it in Plymouth any longer. Anyone else?
cmotomn is offline  
post #2589 of 2596 Old 03-21-2015, 08:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmotomn View Post
Univision 17.1 (WUMN 1080i) appears to be gone or at least I can't receive it in Plymouth any longer. Anyone else?
gone here by Mistake Lake
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2590 of 2596 Old 03-21-2015, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Decades is now in the Tivo guide. Had to force an update just recently for it to show up. DIdnt show up when it did its normal update around noon.

Shows as WCCO-DT2
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2591 of 2596 Old 03-22-2015, 07:39 AM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Decades is now in the Tivo guide. Had to force an update just recently for it to show up. DIdnt show up when it did its normal update around noon.

Shows as WCCO-DT2
Which TiVo do you have? I'm not getting any guide data for channel 4.2. On my Premiere I got the message stating a new channel 4.2 has been added to your channel lineup, but I get no guide data. I've made a couple of connections to the TiVo service, and still no data.

EDIT:
I just checked my older S3 TiVo and it has the new guide data for channel 4.2. Seems there's a glitch for the Premiere's. There was another time when the Premiere wasn't getting the correct guide data when the other TiVo's were.

Time to send another line up problem to TiVo.

Last edited by worachj; 03-22-2015 at 07:48 AM.
worachj is offline  
post #2592 of 2596 Old 03-22-2015, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have a Roamio OTA and a Seried 3 (HD)
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2593 of 2596 Old 03-22-2015, 10:59 AM
Member
 
worachj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
I have a Roamio OTA and a Seried 3 (HD)
Thanks. I just got it for my Premiere. I modified my problem report to TiVo to include my Premiere problem earlier this morning. So maybe that had something to do with getting it corrected. Any way, its correct now.

Zap2it.com now has guide data for channel 4.2. It's my understanding that the daily updates to the program guide data is ready for download from TiVo servers after 4 PM.
unclehonkey likes this.
worachj is offline  
post #2594 of 2596 Old 03-22-2015, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 26
WUMN 17-1 is back
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2595 of 2596 Unread Today, 09:57 AM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that channel 10 KWCM is active on Directv in HD this morning.
robrob10 is offline  
post #2596 of 2596 Unread Today, 10:51 AM
Member
 
w0en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
KPXM 41 (RF 40) 3 year construction permit to move to Shoreview towers with WCCO & KSTP expires on 04/04/2015. I have not seen any more FCC filings to renew this. I wonder if they are not looking to do this anymore. I know they got this approved in 2012 and then had bankruptcy issues. Of course channel 40 would no longer be available if the FCC TV repack sells off more TV freqs to the cell companies.
w0en is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off