Minneapolis, MN - OTA - Page 88 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 2628 Old 04-25-2015, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Anyone know why Tivo sent out a message saying 5.6 was moving to 5.4 It was sent out 4-23 and now all I get on 5.6's guide is "to be announced". 5.6 is THIS and 5.4 is AntennaTV which I'm getting guide info for.
Actually 5.6's(THIS) guide is showing up as another 5.4 line entry. That is I have a 5.6 line that says TBA while I have 2 5.4's, one showing whats on 5.4(antenna) and another one showing whats on 5.6
Did Tivo go and mess things up again! Nothing has changed in our market AFAIK so I don't know why they'd be messing around with the lineup

Last edited by jjeff; 04-25-2015 at 07:42 AM.
jjeff is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 2628 Old 04-25-2015, 07:46 AM
Newbie
 
Serial7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5.4 and 5.6 and TIVO

I've already contacted them about it, but who knows if that will take.
Serial7 is offline  
post #2613 of 2628 Old 04-26-2015, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Anyone know why Tivo sent out a message saying 5.6 was moving to 5.4 It was sent out 4-23 and now all I get on 5.6's guide is "to be announced". 5.6 is THIS and 5.4 is AntennaTV which I'm getting guide info for.
Actually 5.6's(THIS) guide is showing up as another 5.4 line entry. That is I have a 5.6 line that says TBA while I have 2 5.4's, one showing whats on 5.4(antenna) and another one showing whats on 5.6
Did Tivo go and mess things up again! Nothing has changed in our market AFAIK so I don't know why they'd be messing around with the lineup
so they jacked it up again for no reason yet I sent a e-mail to Tribune and submitted a ticket with Tivo to change the PSIP on K48IF (Brainerd) a month ago and they STILL havent touched it
(it shows as FOX 9-1 and Bounce 29-2. It should be FOX 26-1, My 26-2 and Movies! 26-3)
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2614 of 2628 Old 04-28-2015, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
zap2it fixed their fu**up. Now hopefully Tivo fixes it soon too (not as of an hour ago when the Tivo updated)
(this is in regards to the 5-4/5-6 issue, NOT my Brainerd issue)
worachj likes this.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2615 of 2628 Old 04-28-2015, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robrob10 View Post
I used Greenville SC (29601). This gives me 4.2 WYFF in my guide with the MOVIES channel guide. Greenville carries MOVIES on 4.2. I can get 9.3 MOVIES by using my Twin Cities zip code, but can't get correct guide as the database has 9.3 as KAWE a PBS station. This option puts the Movies guide in my DVR and puts channels 16.1-16.3 and 33.1-33.3 and 33.5 in my DVR, also. No way currently, to match any 4.2 channel to get the correct Decades guide on 4.2. Things sometimes change with the database, so you can get the correct guide in the future. 11.3 the Justice network can now be attained by using either Atlanta GA or Houston TX as a secondary zip, because they both carry the Justice network on 11.3 and are in D* database. By using Atlanta GA you will also get 17.1 in your DVR. An additional trick, if you don't mind running secondary zips. If you don't have 25.1 Telemundo and 25.2 DrTV already in your DVR, you can run Sacramento CA (94203) and get 25.1 CBS and 25.2 Decades in your guide. Sacramento carries Decades on 13.2 RF25 and it will put it in your DVR at 25.2 with the Decades guide on that channel.
Both a friend of mine and I had our guides for OTA channels lose the local channels and only show the out of town channels that we added to get 5.3, 11.3 and 23.3. Are you having any issues with your guide?
Runch Machine is offline  
post #2616 of 2628 Old 04-28-2015, 08:59 PM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runch Machine View Post
Both a friend of mine and I had our guides for OTA channels lose the local channels and only show the out of town channels that we added to get 5.3, 11.3 and 23.3. Are you having any issues with your guide?
No issues with my guide. If your DVR rebooted after a software update, you might have to rerun some zip codes. After a software update on a DVR. The DVR/AM21 will only get the channels from the 2 zip codes stored on the information screen at the time of the update. If you didn't have your main zip code, and had (for instance) 78520 and 72201 stored in the DVR. It would only acquire channels from those 2 zips and not your local zip. This can be problematic (sometimes) as some local channels will be picked up with the out of town zip, and then have the wrong guide.

Last edited by robrob10; 04-29-2015 at 07:49 AM.
robrob10 is offline  
post #2617 of 2628 Old 04-30-2015, 02:54 PM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0en View Post
KPXM 41 (RF 40) 3 year construction permit to move to Shoreview towers with WCCO & KSTP expires on 04/04/2015. I have not seen any more FCC filings to renew this. I wonder if they are not looking to do this anymore. I know they got this approved in 2012 and then had bankruptcy issues. Of course channel 40 would no longer be available if the FCC TV repack sells off more TV freqs to the cell companies.
From a thread on RadioDiscussions:

Quote:
The permit for the KPXM move expired earlier this month. They will not be moving any time soon.

- Trip
http://www.radiodiscussions.com/show...88#post6044788

This is similar to what happened with WJAL Hagerstown MD. Entravision wanted to move WJAL to Silver Spring so they could get Washington metro coverage. The FCC denied the move and cited the National Broadband Plan.

Quote:
...even if we were inclined to overlook the procedural irregularities of Entravision’s new proposal and waive the freeze on the filing of petitions for rulemaking by television stations to change their community of license, the Commission’s priorities no longer support such an action. Pursuant to the recommendations made in the National Broadband Plan, the Commission has initiated a rulemaking proceeding to consider voluntary incentive auctions, which could result in the reallocation of up to 120 MHz from the television broadcast band for mobile broadband use, as well as methodologies for repacking full-power television channels to increase efficiency. Allowing Entravision to move a digital station into a top ten television market runs counter to these policy goals.
https://apps.fcc.gov/edocs_public/at...A-12-363A1.pdf

Maybe the Broadband Plan was the reason KPXM didn't move to Shoreview.

One person's craziness is another person's reality. - Tim Burton
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #2618 of 2628 Old 04-30-2015, 03:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It wasn't. The permit was already granted, ION simply opted not to build it.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #2619 of 2628 Old 04-30-2015, 04:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Not sure why they'd really need it. Basically everyone in the MSP metro area, even people in the complete opposite side of town(SE) can get KPXM just fine, even with an indoor antenna. Maybe not Western WI but all of MSP.
jjeff is online now  
post #2620 of 2628 Old 04-30-2015, 05:42 PM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I remember feeling a bit uneasy back when I first heard they might move to Shoreview. In my Brooklyn Park apartment, I was on the west side of the building with Shoreview on the east. It was a bit of indoor antenna adjusting to find a spot where everything came in reliably with minimal disruption -- and that spot always changed in the spring or the fall. But Ion? Because I was facing west - the antenna could be anywhere (and I mean anywhere), and the signal would be rock-solid and blowtorch-strong. :-)
eherberg is offline  
post #2621 of 2628 Old 04-30-2015, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
zap2it fixed their fu**up. Now hopefully Tivo fixes it soon too (not as of an hour ago when the Tivo updated)
(this is in regards to the 5-4/5-6 issue, NOT my Brainerd issue)
fixed today with the update
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2622 of 2628 Old 04-30-2015, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Tivo FINALLY sent me an e-mail that they are looking at my "issue" with the locals in the Brainerd Lakes area
(no Decades listed on KCCW-DT2 yet they have it for KCCO-DT2 and the whole 9/26 PSIP issue for K48IF)
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2623 of 2628 Old 04-30-2015, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Not sure why they'd really need it. Basically everyone in the MSP metro area, even people in the complete opposite side of town(SE) can get KPXM just fine, even with an indoor antenna. Maybe not Western WI but all of MSP.
I pick it up fine on the far north end of Mille Lacs with a simple 2 bay antenna
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2624 of 2628 Old 05-02-2015, 06:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
fixed today with the update
What was fixed? I still get no guide info for 5.6(THIS) channel, even after a channel scan
Under my channel list for 5.6 I only have:
5-6 *KSTCDT4 (with the * meaning invalid channel) says digital freq 45
5-6 K44ADD4 says digital freq 44 Independent channel

Are you saying you now have guide for THIS channel?
jjeff is online now  
post #2625 of 2628 Old 05-02-2015, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Are you saying you now have guide for THIS channel?
yes
The other day it said channel update and moved KSTCDT4 from 5-4 to 5-6 and has guide info
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2626 of 2628 Old Yesterday, 05:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Interesting, I even did a channel scan but no guide info for THIS 5.6
The last message I have is from 4/23 telling me Moved: From 5-6 5-4 KSTCDT4
I just went in and enabled a second 5.4(KSTCDT4) which has the guide info for THIS. Of course I can't record from it but at least I can see whats on 5.6. I'll keep an eye out for a message and keep watching this thread for any info when they correct their f-up!

Last edited by jjeff; Yesterday at 06:01 AM.
jjeff is online now  
post #2627 of 2628 Old Yesterday, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
weird. The other day (4/30) I got a message saying they changed it from 5-4 back to 5-6 and the dummy 5-4 is gone
This was 55379 zip
unclehonkey is offline  
post #2628 of 2628 Old Today, 05:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
weird. The other day (4/30) I got a message saying they changed it from 5-4 back to 5-6 and the dummy 5-4 is gone
This was 55379 zip
It might be that we have different generation Tivos? I've read that each may access a different database I have an older Series 3 HD, finally hooked to the internet as I was starting to have issues hooked to my landline.
jjeff is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off