Minneapolis, MN - OTA - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2004, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sregener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southeast MN
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a brief summary of the OTA channels available in the Twin Cities, arranged by analog channel number (numbers less than 1000kw or directional are not full-powered unless otherwise noted):

KTCA (TPT2) - digital 34 - PBS HD 24x7 feed. 340kw directional.

WCCO (CBS) - digital 32 - fully HD compatible. 1000kw.

KSTP (ABC) - digital 50 - fully HD compatible. 1000kw.

KMSP (Fox) - digital 26 - fully HD compatible. 691kw (full power) directional.

KARE (NBC) -digital 35 - fully HD compatible. 1000kw.

KTCI (TPT17) - digital 16 - 5 PBS multicast. 50kw (full power).

KMWB (WB) - digital 22 - HD compatible. 20kw directional.

WFTC (UPN) - digital 21 - no HD. 1000kw (full powered) directional.

KPXM (Pax) - digital 40 - no HD. 1000kw (full powered) directional.

KSTC (Ind) - digital 44 - multicast analog 45 and HDNet. 205kw.



Local website devoted to Minneapolis/St.Paul HD programming/stations:
www.hdtvtwincities.com
sregener is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2004, 11:54 AM
Member
 
berg0449's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Small Note, all channels except PAX is from Shoreview. The PAX station is from Big Lake(??).
berg0449 is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
northofnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live within 2 miles of the antenna in Shoreview. I am able to pick up all of the channels with a regular tv antenna (the more expensive indoor antennas are too strong). The picture comes in great for all of the channels; however, I get no sound on 5.1 or 5.2. Any thoughts? Sound is fine on all of the other channels. I would like to get this corrected before the Vikes game on Monday. Thanks in advance.
northofnine is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sregener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southeast MN
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by northofnine
The picture comes in great for all of the channels; however, I get no sound on 5.1 or 5.2. Any thoughts?

If you haven't tried it yet, a rescan of your channels might help. KSTP keeps monkeying with their PSIP information to try to resolve problems like the one you've mentioned. If nothing else works, contact Dick Rice at KSTP. He's really good at helping individuals with their problems.
sregener is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
northofnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. I actually had been rescanning, but it turns out that I had been rescanning and adding to current channels instead of completely rescanning. Everything is fine now, just in time for the Vikes!
northofnine is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 04:34 PM
Member
 
siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any timetable to get UPN in HD in the Twin Cities?
siegler is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sregener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southeast MN
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by siegler
Is there any timetable to get UPN in HD in the Twin Cities?

See this thread on HDTVTwinCities.Com for more info:
http://hdtvtwincities.com/forumbb/viewtopic.php?t=468

Bottom line: No timetable. Probably requires the freezing of geographic areas associated with eternal damnation.
sregener is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 08:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeffthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN, USA
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to the Twins game. Even though this game was already available on ESPN, the local ABC affiliate chose to preempt all of the regular programming in favor of the game. Can you tell I'm not a baseball fan? Lost is just about the only reason that I watch ABC to begin with, and now I've been forced to miss this week's episode. So far, I don't see any alternate showing listed for this episode. Does anyone have any idea if KSTP will air a re-showing of this within the next week so that I can make sure the Tivo is ready?

Thanks,
jj
jeffthx is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are going to hate this:

http://hdtvtwincities.com/forumbb/vi...500217c5d632ab

"Some have the speed, and the right combinations, but if you can't take the punches, it don't mean a thing."
MnGuy is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 10:32 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:


Originally posted by MnGuy
You are going to hate this:

Why? Doesn't it say LOST was aired at it's normal time in HD?
CPanther95 is online now  
Old 10-06-2004, 10:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Syzygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


jeffthx said:
Does anyone have any idea if KSTP will air a re-showing of this within the next week so that I can make sure the Tivo is ready?

I you want to see it in HD, rotsa ruck. So far KSTP has never shown a delayed HD broadcast in HD. They may not have the proper equipment, and I think they don't care.

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package
Frank  TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
Syzygy is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 12:37 AM
Member
 
siegler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by sregener
See this thread on HDTVTwinCities.Com for more info:
http://hdtvtwincities.com/forumbb/viewtopic.php?t=468

Bottom line: No timetable. Probably requires the freezing of geographic areas associated with eternal damnation.

Certainly doesn't sound promising. Thanks for the link though. Interesting site.
siegler is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 03:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by CPanther95
Why? Doesn't it say LOST was aired at it's normal time in HD?

Yes, I said that because he did not know it, and posted after it aired.

"Some have the speed, and the right combinations, but if you can't take the punches, it don't mean a thing."
MnGuy is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeffthx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN, USA
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep--that's the problem...I had no idea about this until I went to sit down at about 8:15 to watch the show (which should have recorded at 7pm). I have Lost set up on both my HD Tivo and my SD Tivo, but neither one picked up the channel change.

If anyone is willing to hook me up with a recorded copy (VHS or DVD), I'd happily pay all expenses. Please let me know.

Thanks,
jj
jeffthx is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:35 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:


Originally posted by MnGuy
Yes, I said that because he did not know it, and posted after it aired.

Oh crap, that sucks. If it's any consolation, you can catch up on the LOST thread in Programming forum. Nothing in episode #3 came close to having the impact of this though:














CPanther95 is online now  
Old 10-11-2004, 01:48 PM
Member
 
dmcgovern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice! let's see what was I going to say? Oh yeah... here's the problem. Every week so far this year, MNF on my Sammy 151 OTA box in Rosemount comes in just fine, shows up 5.1 on my Yammie receiver, picture's great, no break-ups. However, the only dialog coming from my center channel is from the booth only. All the other dialog, cut-aways to the side line, interviews, etc. don't come out of the center channel. Is everyone else getting ALL the MNF dialog through their center channel (5.1 receiver) using the OTA signal ? Anyone ?
dmcgovern is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
Mac03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at the Terk TV-36 that Crutchfield offers. Has anyone used this antenna for the OTA HD Channels? I live in Brooklyn Park and can mount it on my roof. Thanks.
Mac03 is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 02:32 PM
Member
 
dmcgovern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Mac,

Don't waste your money on a Terk. A Radio Shack antenna will do the job just fine. I started out trying an in-door UHF with mixed results, then ended up with a regulat ol' roof-top from RS. Excellent reception and probably cost a total of 30 bucks.

DM
dmcgovern is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Fast351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the UHF only outdoor antenna from Radio Shack and that thing works great ($22, don't have the part number handy). Pulls in every channel with signal to spare, I've never had a reception problem I can attribute to the antenna. That said, I'm in about the most ideal spot to receive the signals from Shorewood. Although I'm roughly 20 miles away, I can actually see the towers from my deck at night.

I've heard from multiple people that the Terk antennas are overpriced junk. Also be aware of anyone claiming their antenna is "HD enhanced" or any marketing crap like that. Digital is on UHF, plain and simple. An antenna that works for UHF will work for digital and HDTV.
Fast351 is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
Mac03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks guys, good to know. Do I only need the UHF? I thought there were a few channels on the VHF as well, or is that just in the future? Thanks again for the info.
Mac03 is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Fast351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are currently no DTV channels on VHF (at least not in the Twin Cities, I think it's true for the entire US). Supposedly when the FCC shuts off analog transmission and the VHF stations are reclaimed, they could allocate those frequencies to DTV, but I don't see it happening. In any case it's years off. They keep pushing the shutoff date out. I wouldn't worry about it.
Fast351 is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Fast351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, the radio shack part number is 15-2160. They are discontinuing it on their web site, but is available in local stores (you might have to do some calling).

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5CD1&hp=search

-Mike
Fast351 is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sregener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southeast MN
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Fast351
There are currently no DTV channels on VHF (at least not in the Twin Cities, I think it's true for the entire US). Supposedly when the FCC shuts off analog transmission and the VHF stations are reclaimed, they could allocate those frequencies to DTV, but I don't see it happening. In any case it's years off. They keep pushing the shutoff date out. I wouldn't worry about it.

There *are* a lot of digital stations on VHF currently, and there will be more when the analog shutoff takes place.

Right now, the DTV "core" is defined as channels 2-51, meaning that any channel broadcasting outside of that range will need to relocate after the analog shutoff. It seems unlikely that major channels will want to use channels 2-6 because of reception issues that make those frequencies undesirable for digital signals. Still, the FCC will not be auctioning off VHF frequencies.

Best guess right now is that the analog shutoff will occur in 2009. The date seems reasonable, and attainable.
sregener is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
hiltsy855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a couple quick questions. Are the Minneapolis networks (CBS, NBC, ABC, & FOX) all O & O stations? If they are then I assume everyone in the area is eligible for HD feeds of CBS & NBC (and eventually FOX) via D*? If so, I'm think I might 'move' to your beautiful city. Thanks.

Mark
hiltsy855 is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
sregener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Southeast MN
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by hiltsy855
I have a couple quick questions. Are the Minneapolis networks (CBS, NBC, ABC, & FOX) all O & O stations? If they are then I assume everyone in the area is eligible for HD feeds of CBS & NBC (and eventually FOX) via D*? If so, I'm think I might 'move' to your beautiful city. Thanks.

CBS is O&O. Fox is O&O. NBC's affiliate is owned by Gannett, and ABC's by Hubbard.
sregener is offline  
Old 10-17-2004, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the Twin Cities area, all digital channels broadcast in the UHF Band. A VHF antenna is not needed. A UHF only antenna will do a fine job. I recommend the Channel Master 4221.
Runch Machine is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Syzygy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received a postcard denying all waivers requested on my behalf by D* about two weeks after the request. Looks like denial is totally automatic.

Of course I'll be allowed to see CBS-E (when D* doesn't screw up) and FOX-E (when Charlie's suit is settled).

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package
Frank  TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
Syzygy is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by Syzygy
I just received a postcard denying all waivers requested on my behalf by D* about two weeks after the request. Looks like denial is totally automatic.

I heard it's by zip code.
blitzen102 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
arby68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

I live in Mound, MN. According to Antennaweb, I live 28.4 miles from the towers in Shoreview. It states I need the "medium directional" antenna. Will RS antenna #15-2160 work well for me? It looks like they still have local stock, but I don't see where RS puts the similar Antennaweb marks on it's product. I am just interested in receiving the DTV signals out of Minneapolis/St Paul.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks again.
arby68 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Fast351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mound, that's Minnetonka area right? I wouldn't think you'd have too much trouble picking up the signals there. That antenna should work just fine for you. One thing to try (and I know FINDING this stuff is difficult is picking up UHF over the air. If you get 23 and 29 with decent reception with not a ton of snow, you shouldn't have any issues getting the digital signals.

Good Luck!
Fast351 is offline  
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off