Tulsa, OK - HDTV - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2011, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Smeeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did anyone else in tulsa with directv lose oeta-hd?
Smeeg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2011, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
stunpals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI - I finally got them to fix my issue. It was an issue with the line in the neighborhood.

Anyway, D* was ?advertising? all during the NFL games yesterday about Fox dispute and loss of channels.
stunpals is offline  
Old 10-24-2011, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Its the same dispute with Fox that Dish had with them last year over FX, NatGeo and all the Fox owned RSN's. It's Directv's turn now. They were off of Dish for about a month and it may happen to Directv too. Direct has already set a drop date of Nov 1. the contracts actually already expired and they using a contract extension now to keep them turned on. Basically Fox wants the same money that ESPN gets for all its RSN's
osu1991 is offline  
Old 11-03-2011, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
 
stunpals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess they kissed and made up.
stunpals is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 10:33 AM
Member
 
TheCleaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. First time ditching cable and it feels great. I'm in BA and the reception is great.

I figured I'd post here with the locals before venturing into the DVR area and being told to "go away and search".


So....

Besides Tivo, is there any set-top box or similar that has the following:
  • On-screen guide
  • Netflix
  • DVR capability

I'd even live without the DVR capability if I could get a guide and netflix on the same box.

I've looked at Channel Master and a few others, and it appears that Tivo might be my only bet. I have a PS3 currently hooked up for Netflix and could get a Roku, but really want the onscreen guide.


Other than that, we actually don't really miss cable at all. Maybe when netflix gets boring over time, but so far we have no complaints.

Thanks for the help.
TheCleaner is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tulsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCleaner View Post

Hey guys. First time ditching cable and it feels great. I'm in BA and the reception is great.

I figured I'd post here with the locals before venturing into the DVR area and being told to "go away and search".


So....

Besides Tivo, is there any set-top box or similar that has the following:
  • On-screen guide
  • Netflix
  • DVR capability

I'd even live without the DVR capability if I could get a guide and netflix on the same box.

I've looked at Channel Master and a few others, and it appears that Tivo might be my only bet. I have a PS3 currently hooked up for Netflix and could get a Roku, but really want the onscreen guide.


Other than that, we actually don't really miss cable at all. Maybe when netflix gets boring over time, but so far we have no complaints.

Thanks for the help.

I've tried most of them currently available and returned all but the Tivo Premier

Long time observer, always obsessed
Tulsa1 is online now  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:13 PM
Member
 
TheCleaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulsa1 View Post

I've tried most of them currently available and returned all but the Tivo Premier


Thanks!

And the Tivo Premier has an on-screen guide, right? I couldn't find a pic on their site of anything but the search feature.

Can it record a show and watch something else OTA? Or is the dual tuner feature only for cable?
TheCleaner is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tulsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCleaner View Post

Thanks!

And the Tivo Premier has an on-screen guide, right? I couldn't find a pic on their site of anything but the search feature.

Can it record a show and watch something else OTA? Or is the dual tuner feature only for cable?

I am using mine for OTA only. It has dual tuner that allow you to watch one and
record one, or record two and watch one already recorded.
Both tuners have a 30 minute buffer that you can toggle between.
Not bad for $99. If you need more storage you add an external harddrive.
The guide for OTA only works great.

Long time observer, always obsessed
Tulsa1 is online now  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:00 PM
Member
 
TheCleaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks....I'm frustrated I missed out on the $9.99/month special they were having last November.

On a side note...I was reading that Cox might broadcast clear qam channels. Is this true? I have internet only through them now, but was curious if I would get the same channels through the cable as I do OTA.
TheCleaner is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:39 AM
Member
 
TheCleaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted this elsewhere, and I'm sure crossposting is strongly discouraged, but figured you local guys wouldn't mind.



My TV Fool reception map:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...0b86c2a9b8e694




I purchased an RCA ANT1450BM, and it does a rather decent job overall, getting about 80-90 signal strength on most channels. The problem channel overall is the ABC affiliate operating on VHF I believe. What's funny is I think the NBC one is too but it has great reception.

In an effort to alleviate this, I bought an RCA ANT751R based on the reviews.

So far, it seems decent enough but really no better than the ANT1450BM, and at times worse. However, ABC does tend to come in better now.

The problem stems now from other channels pointed away from that primary tower SE of me.


SO, the real question:

Can I physically take the ANT1450BM apart and add it's omnidirectional antenna to the ANT751R somehow and have it create one "super antenna"? I know I can mess with splitters, jointennas, etc. My question is more of whether two antennas can be physically joined into one.


P.S. If someone has another antenna suggestion that will work instead of messing with all this, based on the pics and info, I'm all ears and would be happy to take back the others.
TheCleaner is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCleaner View Post

Thanks....I'm frustrated I missed out on the $9.99/month special they were having last November.

On a side note...I was reading that Cox might broadcast clear qam channels. Is this true? I have internet only through them now, but was curious if I would get the same channels through the cable as I do OTA.

If you have cable internet with Cox, then yes put a splitter on the line and connect it to your tv and scan for cable. The locals and a few other channels are ITC qam. I had Cox internet for the last 3-4 years until last month when I moved. I had 2,6,8,11,23,41 in HD along with the Cox channel. The rest of the locals were SD along with some of the subchannels.
osu1991 is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:55 PM
Member
 
TheCleaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by osu1991 View Post

If you have cable internet with Cox, then yes put a splitter on the line and connect it to your tv and scan for cable. The locals and a few other channels are ITC qam. I had Cox internet for the last 3-4 years until last month when I moved. I had 2,6,8,11,23,41 in HD along with the Cox channel. The rest of the locals were SD along with some of the subchannels.

Would doing so be illegal? I don't want to break any laws just to get improved reception.
TheCleaner is offline  
Old 03-02-2012, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No it is not illegal. They are mandated to broadcast the locals in the clear for all their customers at the moment, due to the digital transition. The cable companies are trying to get that changed now that the transition has been completed and people are slowly getting rid of their analog tube tv's.
osu1991 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 07:10 AM
Member
 
TheCleaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. Hooked it up, scanned. Sure enough. Got all of the channels in digital, and then got 703-711 in HD.
TheCleaner is offline  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
wierdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In case anyone needs a reference, here is the current list of clear QAM channels on Cox in Tulsa.
Code:
VC      Call    RF   Program
791     Univisi 13      1
793     KRSC HD 13      2
110     KRSC2   13      3
707     KQCW HD 71      1
704     KTPX HD 71      2
220     This TV 71      3
706     KOTV HD 79      1
705     KOKI HD 79      2
53      NewsNow 79      3
709     KJRH HD 80      1
708     KTUL HD 80      2
247     KTUL    80      3
222     LWN     80      4
131     Retro T 80      5
9       KJRH    86      1
6       KOTV    86      2
8       KTUL    86      3
17      KDOR    86      5
12      KQCW    86      6
109     KRSC    86      8
4       KTPX    86      10
7       KWHB    86      11
23      KGEB    86      12
5       KOKI    87      7
10      KMYT    87      9
961     KJRS St 97      61
962     KKCM Sp 97      62
964     KWEN K9 97      64
965     KRAV Mi 97      65
14      Univisi 99      4
122     Corners 99      5
117     Shop_NB 99      6
116     Jewelry 99      7
120     Leased  99      8
74      Wizebuy 99      9
119     ON TV 4 99      10
16      CSPAN   99      11
127     CSPAN 2 99      12
128     CSPAN 3 99      13
444     KXAP    107     4
130     Country 107     5
3       Cox 3   107     14
20      School  107     20
21      Tulsa C 107     21
20.2    BA Scho 108     73
24.2    BA City 108     75
710     KMYT HD 109     1
711     KOED HD 112     1
11      KOED    112     2
111     OETA    112     2
112     OETA PB 112     3
113     OETA PB 112     4
114     OETA PB 112     5
703     Cox 703 125     1
wierdo is offline  
Old 07-31-2012, 06:26 PM
Senior Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
FYI

KOKI 23.2 switched it affiliation to MeTv on July 30, 2012. Classic tv shows instead of the music videos that were on The Cool Tv. Tulsa just needs and AntennaTv affiliate now.
osu1991 is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:44 PM
Member
 
RJL1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also FYI:

KOKI and sister KMYT are two of the four stations that current owner Newport announced back on July 19 that it would sell to Cox Media Group. The other two Newport stations being sold to Cox are in Jacksonville, FL.
RJL1965 is offline  
Old 09-01-2012, 10:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tulsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Has anyone else with Dish Network DVRs been experiencing problems with OTA Channel 2 KJRH.?
I have a 722 and a 722K having big problems with the one hour buffer for OTA channel 2.
It's fine if I switch to KJRH from satellite.

Long time observer, always obsessed
Tulsa1 is online now  
Old 09-22-2012, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Little late to this, but I reported it to Dishquality and to KJRH. What ever KJRH was doing to the OTA data stream, they fixed , as it was working normally again on my 722 this past Sunday.
osu1991 is offline  
Old 11-17-2013, 06:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Can anyone confirm that OETA has added Create and Kids to the OTA lineup?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Old 01-15-2014, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Can anyone confirm that OETA has added Create and Kids to the OTA lineup?

- Trip


Yes they have added Create and Kids back to the OTA lineup along with Okla and the Main PBS channel.
osu1991 is offline  
Old 01-16-2014, 06:56 PM
Newbie
 
truckmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mannford, OK
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. Kind of a new guy here with a question. I live outside of Mannford and I'm having trouble getting channels 41.1 and 41.2. I get good signal (87%) on channel 23.1 but 41.1 won't show up at all. I have a Winegard HD 7080P High Definition VHF/UHF/FM Antenna mounted on the roof and a signal amp in the attic. I have gotten these channels before but it's been several months since I have completely lost them. I even tried contacting the station and they just say they haven't changed anything and their transmitter is working fine. Any ideas why I can't get the 41 channels would be appreciated.
truckmann is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 08:42 PM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
COZI TV is coming to KWHB:

http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/7...-eight-markets

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
Old 08-16-2014, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Grit and Escape are being added to 41.3 and 23.3 on Monday Aug 18th

Grit TV - male centric movies
http://www.grittv.com/

Escape TV - female centric movies and series
http://www.escapetv.com/

New Grit and Escape Networks Set For August 18 Launch


http://deadline.com/2014/08/new-grit...launch-817315/

Grit will focus on Western, war and action movies, while Escape will feature stories of crime, justice and mystery.
osu1991 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off