LaCrosse / Wausau, WI - HDTV - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1558 Old 04-25-2012, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never had a problem pulling either one from Wis Rapids, but after the NBC change to 38 that is a different story for me.
lovebohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1558 Old 04-26-2012, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post

found this over at Northpine

Gray Television's WSAW/7 (Wausau) has increased its power from 16.9kW to 72kW. The station carries CBS on 7.1, My Network TV and syndicated programming on 7.2, and weather on 7.3. Meanwhile, Quincy Newspapers' ABC/CW affiliate WAOW/9 (Wausau), which also transmits on VHF High, has a construction permit to upgrade from 31.6kW to 63.2kW.

FINALLY!!! Moving to those kind of powers would actually give VHF-Hi the same kind of footprint it used to back in the analog days of 316kw ERP.
mattdp is online now  
post #1533 of 1558 Old 06-15-2012, 10:57 AM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something weird happened with W50DR in La Crosse this morning, at least as my tuner reacted to it. My tuner is a ChannelMaster CM-7000PAL DVR.

10.1 and 10.2 were both there, but it took my tuner a very long time to "resolve" them -- and when the picture did finally show up there was no sound.

Meanwhile my tuner found two new duplicate channels to these, mapping to 70.1 and 70.2, complete with sound.

As it turned out, deleting all four channels, then re-scanning for new channels, cleared everything up.

Whatever hiccup happened with W50DR maybe most tuners can handle more gracefully than mine, I don't know. Unless of course my DVR screwed up entirely on its own!
hunmanik is offline  
post #1534 of 1558 Old 06-20-2012, 04:05 PM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me what the new HD channel is for FOX in the La Crosse area (WLAX). I am using Charter, but could pull Fox HD over 17.1 or maybe it was 17.3, but neither are working. Maybe I'll give 25.1 a try. How does one stay on top of changes like this to the channels?
bonse is offline  
post #1535 of 1558 Old 07-03-2012, 09:57 PM
Newbie
 
bubbaspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks like it is ME-TV... http://metvnetwork.com/... titantv.com seems to keep up on changes quite well... also check out http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=158
bubbaspeed is offline  
post #1536 of 1558 Old 07-26-2012, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
Massey16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: West Salem, WI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried this:

http://www.amazon.com/Terk-Technology-HDTVi-Indoor-Antenna/dp/B0001FV36E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8

It picked up 10 channels, but only displayed two. Those two went in and out though. Maybe I'll try the antenna in a different location within the house. Any other suggestions?
Massey16 is offline  
post #1537 of 1558 Old 07-26-2012, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Continuing from the Rochester thread..

I looked and can't find any posts of yours with TVFool information. Could you post it again?
mattdp is online now  
post #1538 of 1558 Old 07-26-2012, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
Massey16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: West Salem, WI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Massey16 is offline  
post #1539 of 1558 Old 10-20-2012, 04:41 PM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a resource that tells me what Charter's QAM channels are for the La Crosse area? I lost my Fox 17.1 station about 4 months ago, and cannot find it. My other local stations still work fine. I am just using a new LCD TV that must have some sort of built-in attenna to pick these stations up? Not sure. Not an expert on this stuff at all. I just know I used to get 17.1 for FOX, but it no longer works. 79.1, 79.3, and 82.1 all work for the local stations in HD.

Nevermind. Found a site: http://www.silicondust.com/support/channels/ (just gotta change the drop down on the top left after going through the initial screen)
bonse is offline  
post #1540 of 1558 Old 10-21-2012, 09:49 AM
Member
 
mr.pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone experiencing drop outs on 48.1? My signal keeps going from 70's to below 50's. I'm in Somerset, WI and haven't had any issues like his in the last few years.
mr.pope is offline  
post #1541 of 1558 Old 01-23-2013, 10:38 AM
Member
 
DustoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockland, WI
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the word on WKBT? Sounds like they are having issues lately with dropouts. I work support for ACE Communications and we are getting a lot of calls for people complaining about it and our engineers say that it's not us. They are getting dropouts on the OTA antenna we use to grab the signal.
DustoMan is offline  
post #1542 of 1558 Old 02-07-2013, 08:16 PM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hadn't thought anything of it, but now that you mention it I suppose I've noticed the same thing with WKBT lately. Maybe no more than several times per half-hour, just very briefly each time?
hunmanik is offline  
post #1543 of 1558 Old 02-22-2013, 01:02 PM
Member
 
DustoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockland, WI
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our guys in engineering sent us an update that WKBT changed out some equipment on Feb 13. Since then our crickets monitoring the OTA signal have gone from seeing errors every 15 minutes to only seeing errors 5-8 times in a 24 hours period. It took customers complaining from all the major providers in our area to get some action finally taken. Way to run a station guys.
DustoMan is offline  
post #1544 of 1558 Old 09-27-2013, 11:15 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Antenna TV on WEAU?

Noticed that there is now a 13.3 on WEAU with the PSIP of ANT-TV.

Currently it is simulcasting 13.2 (Weather).
tachmn is offline  
post #1545 of 1558 Old 09-28-2013, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I thought it was already added?

Per northpine.com

WISCONSIN:
WEAU (Eau Claire) has added classic TV network Antenna TV on channel 13.3. The Gray Television station carries NBC on 13.1 and weather on 13.2. (9/14/2013)
unclehonkey is online now  
post #1546 of 1558 Old 10-02-2013, 02:59 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post

I thought it was already added?

Per northpine.com

WISCONSIN:
WEAU (Eau Claire) has added classic TV network Antenna TV on channel 13.3. The Gray Television station carries NBC on 13.1 and weather on 13.2. (9/14/2013)

I don't scan northpine often enough, so I missed that.

Anyway, yesterday (Tuesday) saw that Antenna TV was running on 13.3. SD but 16:9 format. Will have to see if they change that to 4:3 as I can't imagine any of the programs needing 16:9.
tachmn is offline  
post #1547 of 1558 Old 10-04-2013, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
here in Minneapolis they run MeTV, ThisTV and AntennaTV in 16:9. Its on the Independent station KSTC (sister station to KSTP ABC) and they (KSTP) run commercials in 16:9 (cross promote) for shows on KSTC45 and KSTP
unclehonkey is online now  
post #1548 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 05:57 AM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for an antenna...

Looks like this thread hasn't had activity in almost a year, so maybe posting this is moot, but anyways I am looking for advice on a good outdoor antenna. I have looked at several online, but how does a person really know which one will be best. I am looking for a modern style and not one that looks like a christmas tree on top of my house. I realize you probably sacrifice obtaining channels with the more modern style (or maybe not). I live in the Holmen, WI area. Any recommendations? It would be nice to get the main players channels (CBS, ABC, NBC, FOX). I believe I would need both UHF and VHF. Looking to splice this to 4 TV's throughout the house.

Anyways, I have looked online at the following...
Any recommendations would be great, thx!

Last edited by bonse; 08-28-2014 at 06:19 AM.
bonse is offline  
post #1549 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The best way to know what you're up against is if you can post your http://www.tvfool.com results to this thread.

It looks as if you're about 40 miles south of WEAU, but only ~8 miles from WKBT and ~14 from 19/25/31. 19/25/31 are almost 180 degrees from 38, which would actually make this setup pretty simple. I would put up a little 4 bay UHF antenna pointed directly at 38, which would then pick up 19/25/31. You may be able to get 8 perfect just like that. If you find out you that's not picking up 8 ok, you could add a VHF/UHF signal joiner and a small dedicated VHF-Hi antenna pointed right at 8. Both antennas could be put up in your attic provided that you don't have foil insulation or anything.

For the 4bay UHF, I'd consider something like an Xtreme Signal 4-bay ($45). For the VHF-Hi, I'd go with an Antennacraft Y5-7-13 ($23). To combine the antennas together into one lead, use a Pico Macom UVSJ ($6). These can be found at places like Amazon.com or Solidsignal.com. I think signal levels are strong enough that you could split to 4TVs with no issues. You could always throw in a small distribution amplifier later.

As a rule, I always use RG-6 or RG-6 Quad Shield cable with either pre-made ends or compression connectors (such as the Paladin Tools ones available from Menards). Crimp ends suck.

How can you tell which antenna is better than the other? It mostly has to do with the antenna's gain (measured in decibels over dipole dbD) - ability to gather signal. A polar plot will show you how sensitive the antenna is to signal coming in different directions. Some antennas have wide beams. Some have narrow beams. Most have some pickup off the back too. Better antenna companies will publish this information. Most little plastic antennas don't have publish specs. If you do enough poking around, sometimes you'll find somebody did a computer model of that antenna, such as these: http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/comparing.html
mattdp is online now  
post #1550 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 09:59 AM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! My tvfool is this (not much for channel selection but fine with me. Just want the main providers anyways): http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec2fdd443d29e7

As for the antenna, I was hoping for a very simple installation without having the need to buy multiple attennas and different boxes. I am leaning towards the MoHu Sky 60. Talked with them and they believe I will be able to get the channels I am wanting. I will probably mount this on the roof as the existing connections from an old satellite are all right there and go right into the basement.

bonse is offline  
post #1551 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd just go with the Xtreme Signal 4bay. I'm pretty sure you wouldn't need the separate VHF-Hi antenna. I'm trying to be as simple and cheap as possible here.

Plastic-encased antennas are a straight ripoff. No amount of marketing hype and prestige pricing can obscure the basic fact that you can only get so much gain from a hunk of sheet metal encased in plastic. They'll work ok for short range (<30mi), but so will just about any antenna. A basic $50 4-bay easily beats it and for 1/3d the price. But hey, it's your money.

Channel selection should be (http://rabbitears.info/market.php?re...wkbt#station):
8.1 CBS
8.2 MyNet

10.1 NBC (KTTC Rochester)
10.2 CW (Rochester)

13.1 NBC (WEAU Eau Clare)
13.2 AccuWeather
13.3 AntennaTV

19.1 ABC
19.2 CW
19.3 ThisTV

25.1 FOX
25.2 MeTV

31.1 PBS
31.2 Wisconsin Channel
31.3 Create

Last edited by mattdp; 08-28-2014 at 10:58 AM.
mattdp is online now  
post #1552 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 11:01 AM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
I'd just go with the Xtreme Signal 4bay. I'm pretty sure you wouldn't need the separate VHF-Hi antenna. I'm trying to be as simple and cheap as possible here.

Plastic-encased antennas are a straight ripoff. No amount of marketing hype and prestige pricing can obscure the basic fact that you can only get so much gain from a hunk of sheet metal encased in plastic. They'll work ok for short range (<30mi), but so will just about any antenna. A basic $50 4-bay easily beats it and for 1/3d the price. But hey, it's your money.

Channel selection should be (http://rabbitears.info/market.php?re...wkbt#station):
8.1 CBS
8.2 MyNet

10.1 NBC (KTTC Rochester)
10.2 CW (Rochester)

13.1 NBC (WEAU Eau Clare)
13.2 AccuWeather
13.3 AntennaTV

19.1 ABC
19.2 CW
19.3 ThisTV

25.1 FOX
25.2 MeTV

31.1 PBS
31.2 Wisconsin Channel
31.3 Create
OK thanks man!
bonse is offline  
post #1553 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 11:26 AM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about this Terk one? I would really really like to avoid an old school ugly looking antenna on my roof if at all possible. I know, I am probably crazy to think that. $80 at Best Buy.

http://www.terk.com/outdoor-tv-antennas/?sku=FDTVO
bonse is offline  
post #1554 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Again, junk.
mattdp is online now  
post #1555 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 12:06 PM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
Again, junk.
lol, ok man. Co-worker has this one. Maybe I can figure out how to put this in my garage attic

https://www.antennasdirect.com/store...-Complete.html
bonse is offline  
post #1556 of 1558 Old 08-28-2014, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A 4bay would be preferable but a cs2 could work too.
mattdp is online now  
post #1557 of 1558 Old 08-30-2014, 09:48 AM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have others found the WXOW signal strength to be highly variable and often cutting out briefly to zero in recent weeks? I see that on 19.x constantly these days. I can't seem to affect it with my antenna orientation. Also, W50DR for me is solid - and I understand the two are on the same tower.
hunmanik is offline  
post #1558 of 1558 Old 10-07-2014, 10:37 AM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ended up buying this and getting everything hooked up. Mounted it on the roof (even though the attic probably would have been fine). Have all three tv's connected and things are working great. I get 12 channels (the 4 major networks) in high def. Clear as can be. Dropped cable last week (that sure felt good) and setup a roku on each tv. Thanks for all the help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonse View Post
lol, ok man. Co-worker has this one. Maybe I can figure out how to put this in my garage attic

https://www.antennasdirect.com/store...-Complete.html

Last edited by bonse; 10-07-2014 at 12:26 PM.
bonse is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off