LaCrosse / Wausau, WI - HDTV - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1547 Old 04-25-2012, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never had a problem pulling either one from Wis Rapids, but after the NBC change to 38 that is a different story for me.
lovebohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1547 Old 04-26-2012, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post

found this over at Northpine

Gray Television's WSAW/7 (Wausau) has increased its power from 16.9kW to 72kW. The station carries CBS on 7.1, My Network TV and syndicated programming on 7.2, and weather on 7.3. Meanwhile, Quincy Newspapers' ABC/CW affiliate WAOW/9 (Wausau), which also transmits on VHF High, has a construction permit to upgrade from 31.6kW to 63.2kW.

FINALLY!!! Moving to those kind of powers would actually give VHF-Hi the same kind of footprint it used to back in the analog days of 316kw ERP.

http://rochestermnhd.blogspot.com/ - Tech 55901. Tech news for Rochester. Authored by mattdp and gjvrieze.
http://tvfmantennas.a.wiki-site.com/index.php/Hardware
mattdp is offline  
post #1533 of 1547 Old 06-15-2012, 10:57 AM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something weird happened with W50DR in La Crosse this morning, at least as my tuner reacted to it. My tuner is a ChannelMaster CM-7000PAL DVR.

10.1 and 10.2 were both there, but it took my tuner a very long time to "resolve" them -- and when the picture did finally show up there was no sound.

Meanwhile my tuner found two new duplicate channels to these, mapping to 70.1 and 70.2, complete with sound.

As it turned out, deleting all four channels, then re-scanning for new channels, cleared everything up.

Whatever hiccup happened with W50DR maybe most tuners can handle more gracefully than mine, I don't know. Unless of course my DVR screwed up entirely on its own!
hunmanik is offline  
post #1534 of 1547 Old 06-20-2012, 04:05 PM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me what the new HD channel is for FOX in the La Crosse area (WLAX). I am using Charter, but could pull Fox HD over 17.1 or maybe it was 17.3, but neither are working. Maybe I'll give 25.1 a try. How does one stay on top of changes like this to the channels?
bonse is offline  
post #1535 of 1547 Old 07-03-2012, 09:57 PM
Newbie
 
bubbaspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks like it is ME-TV... http://metvnetwork.com/... titantv.com seems to keep up on changes quite well... also check out http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=158
bubbaspeed is offline  
post #1536 of 1547 Old 07-26-2012, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
Massey16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: West Salem, WI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried this:

http://www.amazon.com/Terk-Technology-HDTVi-Indoor-Antenna/dp/B0001FV36E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8

It picked up 10 channels, but only displayed two. Those two went in and out though. Maybe I'll try the antenna in a different location within the house. Any other suggestions?
Massey16 is offline  
post #1537 of 1547 Old 07-26-2012, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Continuing from the Rochester thread..

I looked and can't find any posts of yours with TVFool information. Could you post it again?

http://rochestermnhd.blogspot.com/ - Tech 55901. Tech news for Rochester. Authored by mattdp and gjvrieze.
http://tvfmantennas.a.wiki-site.com/index.php/Hardware
mattdp is offline  
post #1538 of 1547 Old 07-26-2012, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
Massey16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: West Salem, WI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Massey16 is offline  
post #1539 of 1547 Old 10-20-2012, 04:41 PM
Member
 
bonse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a resource that tells me what Charter's QAM channels are for the La Crosse area? I lost my Fox 17.1 station about 4 months ago, and cannot find it. My other local stations still work fine. I am just using a new LCD TV that must have some sort of built-in attenna to pick these stations up? Not sure. Not an expert on this stuff at all. I just know I used to get 17.1 for FOX, but it no longer works. 79.1, 79.3, and 82.1 all work for the local stations in HD.

Nevermind. Found a site: http://www.silicondust.com/support/channels/ (just gotta change the drop down on the top left after going through the initial screen)
bonse is offline  
post #1540 of 1547 Old 10-21-2012, 09:49 AM
Member
 
mr.pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is anyone experiencing drop outs on 48.1? My signal keeps going from 70's to below 50's. I'm in Somerset, WI and haven't had any issues like his in the last few years.
mr.pope is offline  
post #1541 of 1547 Old 01-23-2013, 10:38 AM
Member
 
DustoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockland, WI
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the word on WKBT? Sounds like they are having issues lately with dropouts. I work support for ACE Communications and we are getting a lot of calls for people complaining about it and our engineers say that it's not us. They are getting dropouts on the OTA antenna we use to grab the signal.
DustoMan is offline  
post #1542 of 1547 Old 02-07-2013, 08:16 PM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hadn't thought anything of it, but now that you mention it I suppose I've noticed the same thing with WKBT lately. Maybe no more than several times per half-hour, just very briefly each time?
hunmanik is offline  
post #1543 of 1547 Old 02-22-2013, 01:02 PM
Member
 
DustoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rockland, WI
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our guys in engineering sent us an update that WKBT changed out some equipment on Feb 13. Since then our crickets monitoring the OTA signal have gone from seeing errors every 15 minutes to only seeing errors 5-8 times in a 24 hours period. It took customers complaining from all the major providers in our area to get some action finally taken. Way to run a station guys.
DustoMan is offline  
post #1544 of 1547 Old 09-27-2013, 11:15 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Antenna TV on WEAU?

Noticed that there is now a 13.3 on WEAU with the PSIP of ANT-TV.

Currently it is simulcasting 13.2 (Weather).
tachmn is offline  
post #1545 of 1547 Old 09-28-2013, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I thought it was already added?

Per northpine.com

WISCONSIN:
WEAU (Eau Claire) has added classic TV network Antenna TV on channel 13.3. The Gray Television station carries NBC on 13.1 and weather on 13.2. (9/14/2013)
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1546 of 1547 Old 10-02-2013, 02:59 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post

I thought it was already added?

Per northpine.com

WISCONSIN:
WEAU (Eau Claire) has added classic TV network Antenna TV on channel 13.3. The Gray Television station carries NBC on 13.1 and weather on 13.2. (9/14/2013)

I don't scan northpine often enough, so I missed that.

Anyway, yesterday (Tuesday) saw that Antenna TV was running on 13.3. SD but 16:9 format. Will have to see if they change that to 4:3 as I can't imagine any of the programs needing 16:9.
tachmn is offline  
post #1547 of 1547 Old 10-04-2013, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
here in Minneapolis they run MeTV, ThisTV and AntennaTV in 16:9. Its on the Independent station KSTC (sister station to KSTP ABC) and they (KSTP) run commercials in 16:9 (cross promote) for shows on KSTC45 and KSTP
unclehonkey is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off