Phoenix, AZ - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 11170 Old 03-29-2005, 12:05 PM
fkh
Newbie
 
fkh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched Las Vegas on HD TIVO. Recording was very choppy. Watched some live TV and it was choppy too. Signal strength is >70%. This is not happening on any other channel. Is anyone else getting a choppy signal from NBC 12.1?
fkh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 11170 Old 03-29-2005, 12:38 PM
fkh
Newbie
 
fkh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nevermind. I watched the signal over a longer period of time. Turns out that my signal is dropping out. Had to adjust antenna.
fkh is offline  
post #363 of 11170 Old 04-03-2005, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
Art1958's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am relocating to Phoenix along with my Channel Master 4221. How is the ota reception in the 4500 block of N 24th, just north of E Indian School Road?

Thanks.

Art
Art1958 is offline  
post #364 of 11170 Old 04-03-2005, 10:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundmaster10.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Glendale, 85305/Phoenix, 85016, AZ
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Art, give www.antennaweb.org a try. That is a good starting point.

"With the advent of high-definition television, home viewers will see actors with extreme clarity and detail. Thus they will demand the stars of "Sex and the City" change their names to "The Golden Girls." -Conan O'Brien, In The Year 2000: Ted Danson Edition-
Soundmaster10.2 is offline  
post #365 of 11170 Old 04-04-2005, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:


Originally posted by Art1958
I am relocating to Phoenix along with my Channel Master 4221. How is the ota reception in the 4500 block of N 24th, just north of E Indian School Road?

Unless there are some obstructions (tall buildings, trees, etc.) in the line of sight to South Mountain, you should have little problem receiving all the digital stations from that location. AntennaWeb appears to report that you only need a small UHF antenna and the 4221 certainly meets that criteria and then some. Of course, unless someone who lives in that specific area of Phoenix chimes in, you won't know for sure until you move in and get set up.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #366 of 11170 Old 04-04-2005, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Azlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today's Diamondbacks game is being shown on ESPN2-HD. Because Cox doesn't carry ESPN2-HD does anyone know if they are going to show it on 722, or another HD channel like they have with Suns games?
Azlen is offline  
post #367 of 11170 Old 04-04-2005, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I seriously doubt it as that would probably be a violation of some contract with ESPN. The only games that I know are sometimes simulcast on INHD2, channel 722, are the ones on FSN-AZ, channel 34, and I'm not sure how that really works. Of course, you can still watch the game in SD on ESPN2, channel 32. The only way to know for sure if it will be simulcast or not is to check channel 722 at 2pm.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #368 of 11170 Old 04-04-2005, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundmaster10.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Glendale, 85305/Phoenix, 85016, AZ
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ESPN-2HD owns the rights to todays Diamondbacks game. Here are some links to the HD schedules for ESPN-HD/ESPN-2HD and FSN-HD. Note that all FSN-AZ HD games will be carried on 722.

Links:

ESPN-HD/ESPN2HD:
http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/tvl...s/espnhd/index

FSN-HD:
http://msn.foxsports.com/name/HD

"With the advent of high-definition television, home viewers will see actors with extreme clarity and detail. Thus they will demand the stars of "Sex and the City" change their names to "The Golden Girls." -Conan O'Brien, In The Year 2000: Ted Danson Edition-
Soundmaster10.2 is offline  
post #369 of 11170 Old 04-04-2005, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Actually, the game is in SD on Channel 3, not ESPN2 like the IPG says. ESPN2 is carrying the Min/Sea gme.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #370 of 11170 Old 04-04-2005, 10:30 PM
Newbie
 
jgriffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Cox has any plans to carry ESPN2HD?
jgriffaz is offline  
post #371 of 11170 Old 04-06-2005, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dinger23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by jgriffaz
Does anyone know if Cox has any plans to carry ESPN2HD?

I think it would have to show up on Directv before Cox sign a deal for ESPN2HD. Adelphia is the only cable company with a deal in place right now and they are taking their time rolling it out

Check out Dinger's
Dinger23 is offline  
post #372 of 11170 Old 04-07-2005, 07:12 AM
 
PhdWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haven't posted in a while.

But I have noticed marked improvements for all OTA HD Channels in the Phoenix area.

ABC lost was just fine last night, with the exception of some 'green blocks', but the sound was fine. Where previously, there were so many break ups in the sound that it was unwatchable in HD.

FOX has been fine.

CBS and the NCAA Trouney was exceptional as far as reception is concerned.
Some minor compression issues, at least with my eyes, graininess, but that's about it.

The Local OTA HD channels have really improved over the last couple of months, thanks Local OTA HD Channels!

Now, if I could only get Battlestar Galactica in HD I'd be very very happy!

(this is with DirectTV equipment, and shoot, I forgot what type of HD Reciever I own)

Looking forward this month to Modest Mouse, Austin City Limits in HD.
Check out this band if you can, they are pretty darn good.
PhdWho is offline  
post #373 of 11170 Old 04-07-2005, 08:56 AM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It was good to watch 3 hrs of hd last night on ABC, but does anyone know what Eyes on ABC went to SD for the last 2 minutes of the show? I'm guessing that it's a local station issue.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #374 of 11170 Old 04-07-2005, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soundmaster10.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Glendale, 85305/Phoenix, 85016, AZ
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by PhdWho
Now, if I could only get Battlestar Galactica in HD I'd be very very happy!

It's coming to Universal-HD, channel 74 on DirecTV. Here is a link to the schedule of episodes:

http://www.universalhd.com/Schedule/...ar&start=today

"With the advent of high-definition television, home viewers will see actors with extreme clarity and detail. Thus they will demand the stars of "Sex and the City" change their names to "The Golden Girls." -Conan O'Brien, In The Year 2000: Ted Danson Edition-
Soundmaster10.2 is offline  
post #375 of 11170 Old 04-07-2005, 02:09 PM
 
PhdWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THANK YOU SOUNDMASTER!!!!

From what I understand it was filmed in HD as well. Could be wrong about that, but this should be good!!!

Thanks again!
PhdWho is offline  
post #376 of 11170 Old 04-07-2005, 11:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundmaster10.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Glendale, 85305/Phoenix, 85016, AZ
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Enjoy!

"With the advent of high-definition television, home viewers will see actors with extreme clarity and detail. Thus they will demand the stars of "Sex and the City" change their names to "The Golden Girls." -Conan O'Brien, In The Year 2000: Ted Danson Edition-
Soundmaster10.2 is offline  
post #377 of 11170 Old 04-09-2005, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Did channel 15 stop sending programming info the last couple of days?

I'm not getting any guide info for channel 15, so I'm trying to determine if it's just me.
Mac The Knife is offline  
post #378 of 11170 Old 04-09-2005, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
sytyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Goodyear, Az.
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am receiving the guide info. Just checked, just for you.

Sorry,

Rich
sytyguy is offline  
post #379 of 11170 Old 04-09-2005, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Shink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ - Shea east of 101
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hadn't either the last few days - haven't checked today.
Shink is offline  
post #380 of 11170 Old 04-11-2005, 06:14 AM
 
PhdWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched the Masters Yesterday, except for a Camera with a Bad Pixel and some other cameras with grain issues, I thought some of the shots were outstanding for HD.

Really gorgeous shots of Bridges, and Streams and Trees, real treat for the eyes. (luckily I am into sports so I get bonus HD coverage!)

NASCAR, didn't watch too much, but the HD looked pretty good on FOX.

ESPNHD, My white sox were on, HD again.

Now, Battlstar Galactica. HD quailty was passable, but not that good. I must have been wrong about them shooting in HD, Digital perhaps, but it didn't seem like HD in the slightest. While the PQ was decent, as opposed to watching it on SciFi in SD, nothing popped out too much. Still love the show and will watch all of them again in HD.


Very busy day of HD viewing, lots of couch sitting!
PhdWho is offline  
post #381 of 11170 Old 04-14-2005, 10:18 PM
Member
 
lombana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cross posted this on the Arizona HD forum and I know that a few read both but I'm curious to know if anyone can give me an answer on this...

With the pending Doom of Voom I picked up 3 SA8300HD units from the Chandler Cox office and was going to run Voom until April 30th, however. I opted to end Voom early. I re-worked my system today and hooked up 2 of the 3 8300's and only left 1 Voom box live to view it until the end.

Now this is where it gets interesting and I need the help of someone on this group that may be in the know.

I have 2 sets (3 cables each) of RG6 running component to my projector, set 1 is setup directly to the DVD player, set 2 is running through my Yamaha Receiver which switches the XBox in HD via component and the Voom (now 8300HD) so far...

When the Voom was hooked up this way, video was perfect, when I connected the 8300 in place of the Voom, the video was over driven, out of color and made me think that I killed one of my Monster component cables when I changed the equipment or worse the input to my AMP.

In the end I found that if I ran the 8300 directly to the projector it worked fine, but when running through my amp no joy. I re-worked all the connections, passthru's and remote programming and it's working most excellent now but I'm curiuos to know if anyone has a clue as to why the 8300 would not work via the AMP... really odd.

Any ideas?

Miguel
lombana is offline  
post #382 of 11170 Old 04-15-2005, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Shink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ - Shea east of 101
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having quite a few problems with ABC 15 OTA HD lately? I've noticed a few times that the sound has either gone out completely or has been badly distorted. During Alias this week I couldn't watch it because the sound was badly distorted.
Shink is offline  
post #383 of 11170 Old 04-15-2005, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
sytyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Goodyear, Az.
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No problems here, and it everything seemed fine during Alias.

Regards,

Rich
sytyguy is offline  
post #384 of 11170 Old 04-15-2005, 09:32 AM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Shink
Anyone else having quite a few problems with ABC 15 OTA HD lately? I've noticed a few times that the sound has either gone out completely or has been badly distorted. During Alias this week I couldn't watch it because the sound was badly distorted.

No haven't noticed. Alias was fine when I watched it OTA. I do notice that the sound goes out during commericals as they're getting ready to go back to a show. This has been a problem on ABC 15 since I've been watching, which has been Sept of 04.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #385 of 11170 Old 04-15-2005, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I watched a recording of Alias from Cox 715 and didn't notice any audio/video problems.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #386 of 11170 Old 04-15-2005, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Shink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scottsdale, AZ - Shea east of 101
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, must be my receiver then. I don't have problems with any stations other than ABC, and it's signal is just as strong as the rest. Oh well - thanks for the replies.
Shink is offline  
post #387 of 11170 Old 04-16-2005, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by lombana
...I have 2 sets (3 cables each) of RG6 running component to my projector, set 1 is setup directly to the DVD player, set 2 is running through my Yamaha Receiver which switches the XBox in HD via component and the Voom...

Component baseband video running through RG-6?

There's no place like 127.0.0.1
TomCat is offline  
post #388 of 11170 Old 04-17-2005, 09:54 PM
Member
 
lombana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by TomCat
Component baseband video running through RG-6?

you betcha, excellent quality with almost no loss, pop an RCA M from F M adapter on the end of the coax and plug it in.

my projector is fed by 7 lines that run up the wall, across the roof and then back down to the projector, running DVI is impossible since it's a good 50' run and a DVI cable for that run would have to be a DVI Fiber cable and last check had it at well over 800 dollars and remember I need 2!

I think that you'll find Rg6 is the preferred method with most high end installers, this method is also the way that I have my sub wired to the amp, again a couple of RCA adapters on each and and BOOM!

miguel
lombana is offline  
post #389 of 11170 Old 04-18-2005, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 48
On Wednesday, April 20th, Cox-Phoenix appears to be going to begin a digital simulcast of their analog channels 2-99. According to email quotes posted on the AZ HDTV Forum, what this means is that the current analog channels will no longer be available to any subscriber with a digital set-top box (including the 8300 and 3250). The analog channels will only be viewable via direct cable connection to a cable-ready TV. It also means that anyone who has a recording scheduled for a program on channels 2-99 may need to reschedule the recording for the new digital simulcast channel. Unfortunately, the new channel numbers are not yet available, though I suppose they could be the same 2-99, just a digital boradcast instead of an analog one. I guess we'll all find out Wednesday morning just what exactly is going to happen.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #390 of 11170 Old 04-18-2005, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soundmaster10.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Glendale, 85305/Phoenix, 85016, AZ
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's hope everything goes as planned.

"With the advent of high-definition television, home viewers will see actors with extreme clarity and detail. Thus they will demand the stars of "Sex and the City" change their names to "The Golden Girls." -Conan O'Brien, In The Year 2000: Ted Danson Edition-
Soundmaster10.2 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off