Phoenix, AZ - HDTV - Page 379 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11341 of 11367 Old 05-20-2015, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Re the video clip. I haven't noticed anything like that though I'm in Georgia at the moment, so I can check one of my recordings. I'll try to look for it once I get back home sometime next month.


Re the overages. I seem to recall a survey I took about that, but I don't recall seeing what you posted. I doubt it will affect me and that's all I'll say on the subject, don't want to start something.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11342 of 11367 Old 05-21-2015, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
pbenjamin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ 85003 (METRO: Encanto)
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Re the overages. I seem to recall a survey I took about that, but I don't recall seeing what you posted. I doubt it will affect me and that's all I'll say on the subject, don't want to start something.
I checked my "quota" against recent history. We are on Premier and do a fair amount of streaming (Netflix, Amazon, MLB.tv). The highest I got was March when I used about 1/3 of the quota, due to a lot of spring training games.

Paul
pbenjamin is offline  
post #11343 of 11367 Old 05-21-2015, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbenjamin View Post
I checked my "quota" against recent history. We are on Premier and do a fair amount of streaming (Netflix, Amazon, MLB.tv). The highest I got was March when I used about 1/3 of the quota, due to a lot of spring training games.

I hit about 240Gb in March, probably due to some new Netflix originals, other months were much lower.

Cheers, Dave

Last edited by DoubleDAZ; 05-22-2015 at 03:09 AM.
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #11344 of 11367 Old 05-21-2015, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
pbenjamin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ 85003 (METRO: Encanto)
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
I hit about 240Gb in March, probably due to some new Netflix originals, other months we much lower.
Looks like our busiest month was just over 200Gb.

Paul
pbenjamin is offline  
post #11345 of 11367 Old 05-25-2015, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Don't know when this is going to happen, but it'll be welcome when it does.


Via trusted sources, we’ve learned that TiVo is poised to launch Cox On Demand services… nearly five years after an announced partnership that most have assumed was dead. So while the various players dicker over the capabilities and implementation of a CableCARD successor, TiVo once again strikes a deal to build a custom solution. I’m not sure what’s in it for Cox, other than avoiding these last few years of TiVo’s Time Warp patent teeth. But we clearly know the value to TiVo — the company has previously indicated that retail sales and retention were higher within the Comcast footprint as Xfinity On Demand rolled out. (Granted, those regions had been bolstered by additional marketing.) Giving up “free” on demand content provided by one’s cable provider is often a sticking point before “going TiVo” – and Cox represents a sizable portion of TiVo’s addressable space as the 5th largest compatible cable operator. Trust me, a large percent of my peers with children rely on On Demand, making a TiVo a non-starter in many cases. It’s yet to be seen if the new TiVo Cox On Demand implementation retains the dated Xfinity approach or goes with a more modern HTML5 front-end. Regardless, given Cox’s continued reliance on Switched Digital Video and over aggressive copy protection, Verizon FiOS is still probably the better choice… assuming you have one.


http://zatznotfunny.com/2015-05/tivo-cox-on-demand/
Scott Oakley likes this.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #11346 of 11367 Old 05-26-2015, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Multichannel has confirmed Cox Nears VOD Launch on Retail TiVo Boxes

http://www.multichannel.com/news/nex...o-boxes/390884
"Cox Communications confirmed that it will soon begin to offer video-on-demand on certain TiVo retail DVR models over IP connections starting in Orange County in “early July,” followed by expansions into other markets."

"Cox spokesman Todd Smith said work is well underway for the MSO to deliver its VOD catalogue, including transactional VOD, subscription VOD, and free VOD, to digital TiVo customers who are subscribed to Cox’s video digital tier and its high-speed Internet “Essential” tier or higher. TiVo, he added, is targeting Cox VOD support on its Premiere and Roamio models (Series 4 and Series 5)."

"The VOD integration underway will have Cox support on-demand via IP (rather than via MPEG transport) using a digital rights management (DRM) from Verimatrix. Cox uses a similar approach to deliver VOD over IP to its “Contour” app for tablets."

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting

Last edited by Bryan_CoxPHX; 05-26-2015 at 03:50 PM.
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11347 of 11367 Old 06-09-2015, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
For Phoenix TiVo users, I received this in my email today and thought I'd pass it along. Hopefully, out-of-local-network streaming will come in the future........


So a variant of the web portal that TiVo had developed for their cable partners, like RCN, is now being made available to retail subscribers. And TiVo Online is looking pretty killer. Beyond the expected Season Pass OnePass configuration, recording management, and a highly polished guide, the tent pole feature is the ability to stream our DVR recordings and pseudo-live content à la Stream (replacing the tired and archaic TiVoToGo, if not the infinitely valuable kmttg). Sadly, to stay out of hot water, TiVo is only allowing in-home laptop or computer streaming. TiVo indicates all Roamio and Premiere models are supported… but I’ll go ahead and assume Premiere and lesser Roamios require purchase of the TiVo Stream accessory to make it happen, versus native Roamio Pro/Plus capabilities.


http://zatznotfunny.com/2015-06/tivo...o-web-browser/


http://online.tivo.com/start

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #11348 of 11367 Old 06-10-2015, 02:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
That is pretty cool, and unexpected. Too bad Cox aggressively uses CCI 0x02 copy protection, makes it so you cannot even use the web portal in the home for viewing anything other than locals, at least for now.

Many are starting to get Plex today also.
More cool stuff headed our way soon.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting

Last edited by Bryan_CoxPHX; 06-10-2015 at 02:59 AM.
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11349 of 11367 Old 06-10-2015, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
That is pretty cool, and unexpected. Too bad Cox aggressively uses CCI 0x02 copy protection, makes it so you cannot even use the web portal in the home for viewing anything other than locals, at least for now.

Many are starting to get Plex today also.
More cool stuff headed our way soon.
Yeah, I've never understood why Cox is so aggressive, they've been that way since day one. It's one of the reasons I always laugh when I see their TV ads, they are so far from being our friend in the digital age.


I've always supported Cox, but it gets harder every year, especially after I visit my daughter who now has Comcast. To be sure, there are a lot of things I don't like about Comcast when compared to Cox, but I noticed one cool feature last month. I was watching a recording that for some reason got interrupted before it was finished recording. When it reached the end, it asked if I wanted to finish watching the episode via OnDemand. Somehow it knew there was more. When I said Yes, it picked up where the recording left off.


I'm getting closer to replacing my 2003 Hitachi RPTV. I was at Costco yesterday and saw the 80" Vizio M-series for $3,900, what a monster, until you see the 85" for $6,000 they have on display. However, the 80" is a bit pricey compared to the 70" P-series for $2,000 and I'm still conflicted about Samsung, their 65" S-UHD for $3,000 sure looks nice. I'm trying my best to hold off until the holiday sales start in the fall.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #11350 of 11367 Old 06-10-2015, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Why is phoenix having to wait until december when we are supposed to have it june 1st?
pyramid20000 is offline  
post #11351 of 11367 Old 06-10-2015, 06:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Was referring to the buzzr tv network.
pyramid20000 is offline  
post #11352 of 11367 Old 06-24-2015, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
FYI....
TiVo Hot Summer Sale

Save BIG on TiVo Roamio series DVRs while supplies last!
TiVo-renewed units carry the exact same warranty as new, and all appear brand new.

New Roamio OTA ($50)
New Roamio Basic ($150)
Renewed Roamio Basic ($50)
Renewed Roamio Plus ($200)
Renewed Roamio Pro ($300)

Product Lifetime service $349.99 reg. $499.99

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11353 of 11367 Old 06-24-2015, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kingpcgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
FYI....
TiVo Hot Summer Sale

Save BIG on TiVo Roamio series DVRs while supplies last!
TiVo-renewed units carry the exact same warranty as new, and all appear brand new.

New Roamio OTA ($50)
New Roamio Basic ($150)
Renewed Roamio Basic ($50)
Renewed Roamio Plus ($200)
Renewed Roamio Pro ($300)

Product Lifetime service $349.99 reg. $499.99
Wow that is a deal! Last month I paid $40 for the the Spherular's eBay discount code to buy a Pro with Lifetime for $723. So a total of $763. $650 is a real nice price. Of course I would have been happy to not pay anything but Cox fried my Elite's tuner and refuses to do anything about it. Even TiVo has said that it was "most likely" that the work Cox did cause the tuner to go bad. Elite is working before Cox comes knocking on the door, it is not working after they leave. Coincidence? I think not.



TiVo Roamio Pro, TiVo Elite (Killed by Cox), TiVo 4, 8 TiVo Minis, Roku 3, Cox Cable, Sonos
kingpcgeek is offline  
post #11354 of 11367 Old 06-24-2015, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
It is a good deal, "renewed" Pros are going for $380 on Woot. But let's not forget that you got a "new" unit and the $763 includes tax. Still, it's a $95 discount overall with the same warranty, etc.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #11355 of 11367 Old 07-12-2015, 12:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Please Report the following errors that got made in today's guide listings.

Channel Line-Up Corrections to Zap2It (Tribune) and TiVo if applicable
contactus@zap2it.com
https://www.tivo.com/lineup.html

Zip Code: 85xxx - Phoenix, AZ
Cox Communications (Digital)

Channel 84 should be KUTPDT2 - MOVIES! not KGUNDT2 (Tucson)

Channel 85 should be KPHODT2 not KGUNDT3 (Tucson)

Channel 86 should be KTVKDT2 not KWBADT3 (Tucson)

Channel 88 should be KAETDT3 not KWBADT2 (Tucson)

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11356 of 11367 Old 07-13-2015, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
woertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We're tempted to try and cut the Cox Cable cord (and still get internet). We'd check out Sling TV and Hulu Plus. We all ready get Netflix and Amazon Prime...

My biggest step is trying to get local channels. We have 2 Xbox One systems that we'd like to keep running TV through, so I can either hook up a OTA Antenna and use that to feed a TV Tuner for Xboxes (60 bucks), or I can see if I still get the "free" channels over the cable from Cox and figure out some STB to get these channels easily available.

Any general tips? I'm 15 miles away from South Mountain towers, so could I just get away with a fairly inexpensive outdoor antenna? I know where my cable splitter box is, so I'd end up hooking that up so the rooms in the house currently with cable get that signal, and then I'd run a new coax for my cable modem from the Cox feed for internet.

Thanks for the advice, frustrating to us to see such a large cable bill for most of the stuff we really don't watch.
woertz is offline  
post #11357 of 11367 Old 07-14-2015, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Interesting developments and headaches for Cox CableCARD customers on new Fiber only installs.

In Cox new construction were only Fiber is being installed (no HFC infrastructure) using an RFoG "mini node" at the home, Cox is not supporting Retail CableCARD devices. Sources are saying the RFoG "mini node" is not compatible with OOB carrier frequencies, and only Cox Contour TV equipment using DOCSIS for 2-way communication will work.

Interesting discussion going on here:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r301...iber-deploymen

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11358 of 11367 Old 07-17-2015, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
Interesting developments and headaches for Cox CableCARD customers on new Fiber only installs.
Cox got this solved very quickly, and the OP now has a working TiVo w/ a working Tuning Adapter.
DoubleDAZ likes this.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11359 of 11367 Old 07-23-2015, 09:03 PM
ebo
Advanced Member
 
ebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Delmar NY
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by woertz View Post
We're tempted to try and cut the Cox Cable cord (and still get internet). We'd check out Sling TV and Hulu Plus. We all ready get Netflix and Amazon Prime...

My biggest step is trying to get local channels. We have 2 Xbox One systems that we'd like to keep running TV through, so I can either hook up a OTA Antenna and use that to feed a TV Tuner for Xboxes (60 bucks), or I can see if I still get the "free" channels over the cable from Cox and figure out some STB to get these channels easily available.
Cable companies are allowed to encrypt locals now after meeting some requirements and I've read that Cox is well on its way to doing that. So don't count on clear QAM locals whether you're paying for them or not. I've also heard that some companies are so eager to keep TV subscribers that they'll even charge less for Internet and TV than for Internet alone. When you call to drop TV they'll probably turn you over to a retention specialist that you might be able to bargain with. The folks on the Cord Killers podcast call it the Chicken Challenge.

Quote:
Originally Posted by woertz View Post
Any general tips? I'm 15 miles away from South Mountain towers, so could I just get away with a fairly inexpensive outdoor antenna?
Almost certainly, as long as there are no major obstructions in the way. Maybe even indoors, depending on the construction of your house. Stucco walls block TV signals very effectively (actually it's not the stucco as much as the chickenwire frame it's supported on). I'd try a $10 rabbit ears with loop first to see what your chances are. You have 3 high-VHF channels, 8 (PBS), 10 (Fox) and 12 (NBC) so a UHF-only antenna won't do well.

There are many ways to set up a DVR for OTA recording, most involving a computer. I like the HDHomeRun Dual tuners which connect to your network and can be used by other computers on the LAN. Windows Media Center works with them (and other tuners) to provide a viewing and DVR service with free program guide. There are other programs that either work without a guide (painful) or require a paid guide subscription.
ebo is offline  
post #11360 of 11367 Old 07-24-2015, 01:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebo View Post
Cable companies are allowed to encrypt locals now after meeting some requirements and I've read that Cox is well on its way to doing that. So don't count on clear QAM locals whether you're paying for them or not.
Speaking of this, Here is the tentative Cox All Digital switch over where all Analog and Clear QAM will be going away.

http://www.cox.com/aboutus/policies/alldigital.cox

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11361 of 11367 Old 08-05-2015, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Saw this about Comcast going MPeg-4 and wondered about Cox doing the same and how soon.

http://zatznotfunny.com/2015-08/tivo-comcast-mpeg4/

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #11362 of 11367 Old 08-05-2015, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Saw this about Comcast going MPeg-4 and wondered about Cox doing the same and how soon.

http://zatznotfunny.com/2015-08/tivo-comcast-mpeg4/

Cox has been using MPEG4 for many of its HD signals for a few years.
domino92024 is online now  
post #11363 of 11367 Old 08-05-2015, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Saw this about Comcast going MPeg-4 and wondered about Cox doing the same and how soon.

http://zatznotfunny.com/2015-08/tivo-comcast-mpeg4/
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post
Cox has been using MPEG4 for many of its HD signals for a few years.
Cox does not really need to go all MPEG4/H.264, because Cox uses SDV extensively, Comcast decided not to use any SDV.

Cox in Arizona uses MPEG4/H.264 for the following channels, (I may have missed a few, the Cox AZ channel listings are currently not listing the Contour HD channels correctly.)

1074 - Pop HD

1202 - HBO Signature HD
1203 - HBO Family HD
1205 - HBO Zone HD
1210 - HBO (East) HD
1211 - HBO2 (East) HD

1222 - ActionMAX HD
1223 - ThrillerMAX HD
1225 - Cinemax (East) HD
1226 - MoreMax (East) HD
1230 - 5 StarMAX HD

1242 - SHOWTIME SHOWCASE HD
1243 - SHOWTIME EXTREME HD

1262 - STARZ In Black HD
1263 - STARZ (East) HD
1264 - STARZ Kids & Family HD
1266 - STARZ Comedy HD

1316 - Outdoor Channel HD
1328 - Longhorn Network HD

1365 - ENCORE CLASSIC HD
1366 - ENCORE SUSPENSE HD

1378 - MLB Network Strike Zone HD
1381 - Outside Television HD
1382 - Cox Sports Television HD
1383 - Sportsman Channel HD
1384 - Universal Sports HD
1386 - World Fishing Network HD

1388 - IndiePlex HD
1389 - RetroPlex HD

1600's - MLS Direct Kick / NBA League Pass
1600's - MLB Extra Innings/NHL Center Ice
1692 - Fox Soccer Plus HD

1900 - MC Play HD

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11364 of 11367 Old 08-06-2015, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kingpcgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
Cox does not really need to go all MPEG4/H.264, because Cox uses SDV extensively, Comcast decided not to use any SDV.
But it would be nice it they did go all in on MPEG4 and get rid of SDV and the damn TAs



TiVo Roamio Pro, TiVo Elite (Killed by Cox), TiVo 4, 8 TiVo Minis, Roku 3, Cox Cable, Sonos
kingpcgeek is offline  
post #11365 of 11367 Old 08-06-2015, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingpcgeek View Post
But it would be nice it they did go all in on MPEG4 and get rid of SDV and the damn TAs
And that was my point, going ALL MPeg4 the way Comcast is and doing away TAs. (Nice try Domino. )

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #11366 of 11367 Old 08-13-2015, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 39
For anyone on the fence about getting a TiVo, you will most likely never see these prices again.
TiVo is rumored to be clearing out inventory of the base 4-Tuner Roamio and Roamio OTA for the launch of the TiVo Bolt replacements

https://www.tivo.com/shop/promo/supersavings

New base 4-Tuner Roamio OTA - $49.99 + $249.99 Lifetime = $299.98 total, while supplies last...
New base 4-Tuner Roamio (CableCARD or OTA) - $149.99 + $249.99 Lifetime = $399.98 total, while supplies last...
Factory Refurbished base 4-Tuner Roamio (CableCARD or OTA) - $49.99 + $249.99 Lifetime = $299.98 total, while supplies last...

FYI: the base Roamio comes with a 500GB HDD - 75Hrs HD, but, you can simply drop in a new Western Digital 3TB WD30EURX, before you even set it up and it will install the SW and you are upgraded.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting

Last edited by Bryan_CoxPHX; 08-13-2015 at 07:39 AM.
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #11367 of 11367 Unread Today, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 24
For those of you with Directv, the Pac 12 Network is in test mode on channel 612 and should be on in time for football kickoff next week. Not sure how the regional channels are going to work yet, if they're going to be full time or part time alternates. SWEET! Its about time.
TheRatPatrol is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off