Phoenix, AZ - HDTV - Page 380 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2015, 10:20 PM
Senior Member
 
re_nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
That is the one [SB6141] I already have in my Wish List.
You will be pleased if my experience is like yours.

The ONLY thing that's even mildly negative (and I'm grasping here to find anything other than effusive praise) is that the front panel LEDs are a bit bright, to the extent that the downstream/upstream indicators wash out the adjacent power and connectivity LEDs. Those latter two are supposed to be green but they appear to be white due "light spillage" from the adjacent LEDs. I replaced the leased SBG6850 (more features than necessary for me along with the rental fee) with this cable modem and have been nothing but pleased...and it plays a dual role as a serviceable nightlight in the office!
re_nelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2015, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Hi All,
I'm ready to upgrade my modem and router for DOCSIS 3.0, so I'm wondering what folks are using with Cox Cable these days. My current speeds are 16.5 down/7 up
Regardless of HSI Tier I would only purchase at a minimum an 8 Channel Down Modem.
Arris SB6141 would be my absolute min.
If you have Cox Phone, you can get the Cisco DPQ3212 eMTA for free through Cox, That is what I did.

What HSI Tier are you paying for, look at your bill.
Preferred HSI - 100/10Mbps
Premiere HSI - 50/5Mbps
Essential HSI - 15/2Mbps

Router, I have an ASUS RT-N66U, and would recommend it.
or an ASUS RT-AC66U

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting

Last edited by Bryan_CoxPHX; 08-29-2015 at 06:17 PM.
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
Old 08-29-2015, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 10,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
Regardless of HSI Tier I would only purchase at a minimum an 8 Channel Down Modem.
Arris SB6141 would be my absolute min.
If you have Cox Phone, you can get the Cisco DPQ3212 eMTA for free through Cox, That is what I did.

What HSI Tier are you paying for, look at your bill.
Preferred HSI - 100/10Mbps
Premiere HSI - 50/5Mbps
Essential HSI - 15/2Mbps

Router, I have an ASUS RT-N66U, and would recommend it.
or an ASUS RT-AC66U
Bryan, I have no use for the phone and I'd prefer not to get a phone just to get a free modem.

FWIW, I'm leaning toward the Arris SB6183 @ $126, but wasn't sure if the higher price was worth it for Premier level service, though it is 16 channels vs 8 and I get 5% back on my purchases with my Amazon Store card.

When it comes to routers, I'm considering the ASUS-RT-AC66U for $150 (for white) w/Prime shipping or the AC68U for $203 w/free shipping. I think the 68 is overkill though for my needs, so I'm leaning toward the 66.

I suspect the 6183 and 66 would make a great combination.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is online now  
Old 08-29-2015, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Yes, I would go with the SB6183 with Premier HSI

The TP-LINK Archer C9 AC1900 has good reviews

But, I think I would stick w/ an ASUS AC router

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
Old 08-29-2015, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 10,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
The TP-LINK Archer C9 AC1900 has good reviews

But, I think I would stick w/ an ASUS AC router
It does and the 5-star to 1-star ratio is quite a bit better. I just know nothing about TP-Link and I don't like D-Link products.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is online now  
Old 08-29-2015, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by re_nelson View Post
You will be pleased if my experience is like yours.

The ONLY thing that's even mildly negative (and I'm grasping here to find anything other than effusive praise) is that the front panel LEDs are a bit bright, to the extent that the downstream/upstream indicators wash out the adjacent power and connectivity LEDs. Those latter two are supposed to be green but they appear to be white due "light spillage" from the adjacent LEDs. I replaced the leased SBG6850 (more features than necessary for me along with the rental fee) with this cable modem and have been nothing but pleased...and it plays a dual role as a serviceable nightlight in the office!
Agree with you on the SB6141 in general, and the LEDs in particular. Too bright. I put a small radio in front of the modem to save my eyesight.


I'm getting 60/7.5 on the 50/5 (Premiere) tier.
domino92024 is offline  
Old 08-29-2015, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post
I'm getting 60/7.5 on the 50/5 (Premiere) tier.
Premier HSI is 100/10Mbps, Preferred is 50/5

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
Old 08-29-2015, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post
Premier HSI is 100/10Mbps, Preferred is 50/5

That's what I get for blindly copying from your post 11372 made earlier tonight:


What HSI Tier are you paying for, look at your bill.
Preferred HSI - 100/10Mbps
Premiere HSI - 50/5Mbps
Essential HSI - 15/2Mbps
domino92024 is offline  
Old 08-30-2015, 01:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post
That's what I get for blindly copying from your post 11372 made earlier tonight:

What HSI Tier are you paying for, look at your bill.
Preferred HSI - 100/10Mbps
Premiere HSI - 50/5Mbps
Essential HSI - 15/2Mbps
Wow, my Bad

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
Old 08-30-2015, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 10,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post
I'm getting 60/7.5 on the 50/5 (Premiere) tier.
Thanks for the numbers. I also went by Bryan's post rather than look it up, so I have the "Preferred" tier too. Looks to me like Up speed won't increase, but the Down will, significantly. I guess I need to ask which router you're using, though maybe I should just order the modem and see what happens when it arrives? If I don't get those speeds with my Linksys WRT110, then I can order the new router.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is online now  
Old 08-30-2015, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
sytyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Goodyear, Az.
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Bryan, I have no use for the phone and I'd prefer not to get a phone just to get a free modem.

FWIW, I'm leaning toward the Arris SB6183 @ $126, but wasn't sure if the higher price was worth it for Premier level service, though it is 16 channels vs 8 and I get 5% back on my purchases with my Amazon Store card.

When it comes to routers, I'm considering the ASUS-RT-AC66U for $150 (for white) w/Prime shipping or the AC68U for $203 w/free shipping. I think the 68 is overkill though for my needs, so I'm leaning toward the 66.

I suspect the 6183 and 66 would make a great combination.
I have new in box, never opened a ASUS RT-N66U, wireless-n900 Gigabit Router for $50.00. I recently discovered that I had it.

Let me know,

Rich
sytyguy is offline  
Old 08-30-2015, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 10,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by sytyguy View Post
I have new in box, never opened a ASUS RT-N66U, wireless-n900 Gigabit Router for $50.00. I recently discovered that I had it.
Rich, that certainly makes the decision more difficult. Can I have a day to think about it? I'm not sure what I'll be missing by not going with the AC66U, but since I have no problems with my old WRT110, I'm not sure I'd really be missing anything, even when I add the Vizio M-series 70" TV I'm considering.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is online now  
Old 08-30-2015, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Hi All,

I'm ready to upgrade my modem and router for DOCSIS 3.0, so I'm wondering what folks are using with Cox Cable these days. My current speeds are 16.5 down/7 up and we have no problems with streaming, etc., though I will be adding a Smart TV to the TiVo/Mini/Roku/DVD Player mix before Christmas. I don't know if new equipment will make much of a difference, but the Surfboard and Linksys I have are pretty old, so I figured it's about time for a change. There are so many models to choose from though, both integrated and standalone, that it's hard to decide what is needed and what would be excess. I don't want to go cheap, but I also don't want to overspend. TIA
I've been using the SB6141 and a NetGear WNDR3700 wireless router for a little over two years, with COX Essential Internet, and have good, solid performance with all of the usual streaming applications. I did recently order the SBG6580 all in one for our place up north but don't have hands-on experience with it yet.

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Old 08-30-2015, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 10,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 131
I've decided to go with the 6183 for the modem (just because it's a newer model in the series) and will order it tomorrow, just in case someone chimes in before then with a reason not to.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is online now  
Old 08-30-2015, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
sytyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Goodyear, Az.
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Bryan, I have no use for the phone and I'd prefer not to get a phone just to get a free modem.

FWIW, I'm leaning toward the Arris SB6183 @ $126, but wasn't sure if the higher price was worth it for Premier level service, though it is 16 channels vs 8 and I get 5% back on my purchases with my Amazon Store card.

When it comes to routers, I'm considering the ASUS-RT-AC66U for $150 (for white) w/Prime shipping or the AC68U for $203 w/free shipping. I think the 68 is overkill though for my needs, so I'm leaning toward the 66.

I suspect the 6183 and 66 would make a great combination.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Rich, that certainly makes the decision more difficult. Can I have a day to think about it? I'm not sure what I'll be missing by not going with the AC66U, but since I have no problems with my old WRT110, I'm not sure I'd really be missing anything, even when I add the Vizio M-series 70" TV I'm considering.
Take your time, after all I didn't even remember having it.
sytyguy is offline  
Old 08-30-2015, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 10,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by sytyguy View Post
Take your time, after all I didn't even remember having it.
Thanks. Any idea how long you've had it? I'm wondering how much warranty is left. I've never had a failure, but it would be just my luck.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is online now  
Old 08-30-2015, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
sytyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Goodyear, Az.
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Thanks. Any idea how long you've had it? I'm wondering how much warranty is left. I've never had a failure, but it would be just my luck.
I purchased it in 2013, so no idea about warranty, however, if it doesn't work to your satisfaction I will return your money.

Rich
sytyguy is offline  
Old 08-30-2015, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 43
The ASUS RT-N66U (or RT-N66R, both identical) run the same firmware.

If you plan to use the stock ASUS firmware (not DD-WRT) the auto firmware update often does not work.
So you can download it here: http://support.asus.com/download.asp...VER.B1%29&os=8

I am running the latest ASUS US non-beta Version 3.0.0.4.376.3861

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
Old 08-30-2015, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
Thanks for the numbers. I also went by Bryan's post rather than look it up, so I have the "Preferred" tier too. Looks to me like Up speed won't increase, but the Down will, significantly. I guess I need to ask which router you're using, though maybe I should just order the modem and see what happens when it arrives? If I don't get those speeds with my Linksys WRT110, then I can order the new router.

No router. Coax into modem, Ethernet cable directly from modem to computer.
domino92024 is offline  
Old Today, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Cox-TiVo On Demand Press Release

It's now officially announced.

http://newsroom.cox.com/index.php?s=34171&item=122422

Quote:
Cox’s robust On DEMAND library of more than 18,000 movies and shows will now be seamlessly integrated with Cox TV channels and the popular streaming apps available through TiVo, allowing consumers to access, find and search for their favorite content all through one user experience. The offering will begin to roll out today via a software update, reaching the entirety of Cox’s digital footprint by the end of 2015. Customers with Advanced TV and Essential Internet or higher will have access to VOD content.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off