Phoenix, AZ - HDTV - Page 391 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 23Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11701 of 11710 Old 11-16-2016, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
erhurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Buckeye, Arizona (Phoenix); USA; Planet Earth
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhett View Post
A stucco house and an indoor antenna is usually a bad combination.... Before spending $50 on a fancy-looking antenna, you might do well to try a $10 set of rabbit ears. Just remember that VHF reception will be necessary for channels 8, 10 and 12.
I spent around an (additional) hour earlier today fine-tuning the position of my indoor antenna and managed to receive two more channels (current count totalling 43). Happy to report that I am receiving all of the PBS channels on channel 8. Channel 10 is also available but 12 is still a no-show.



Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Edwin R. Hurd
AVS Forums Lurker-In-Training!

My Tight-space A/V Setup
erhurd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11702 of 11710 Old 11-17-2016, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
erhurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Buckeye, Arizona (Phoenix); USA; Planet Earth
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I just installed another indoor antenna earlier this afternoon; this time in our master bedroom on the second floor of the house. The GE Pro Crystal HD Amplified Antenna delivered 74 digital channels, capturing VHF channels 8, 10, but not 12.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Edwin R. Hurd
AVS Forums Lurker-In-Training!

My Tight-space A/V Setup
erhurd is offline  
post #11703 of 11710 Old 11-18-2016, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by erhurd View Post
I just installed another indoor antenna earlier this afternoon; this time in our master bedroom on the second floor of the house. The GE Pro Crystal HD Amplified Antenna delivered 74 digital channels, capturing VHF channels 8, 10, but not 12.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

There might be an issue with your tuner. Try another TV or tuner to see if you can receive channel 12. Just a thought.
artisticimaging is offline  
post #11704 of 11710 Old 11-18-2016, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
erhurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Buckeye, Arizona (Phoenix); USA; Planet Earth
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Pleased to report that after purchasing and connecting a 50' coaxial cable to the antenna, which allowed me to relocate and aim it directly out of the living area window, my indoor antenna now delivers 65 channels. The total channel count has increased from 43 and now includes all three VHF channels (8, 10 and 12).

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Edwin R. Hurd
AVS Forums Lurker-In-Training!

My Tight-space A/V Setup

Last edited by erhurd; 11-18-2016 at 09:23 PM.
erhurd is offline  
post #11705 of 11710 Old 11-21-2016, 11:33 AM
Member
 
AZCoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Some observations from the low-power stations
  • All of K38IZ-D's subchannels have MAJOR macroblocking issues. Not just that, but the top-of-the-hour ID interrupts the middle of a movie on the ThisTV subchannel.
  • The audio got fixed on Comet TV 50.3, but the aspect ratio is back to "squeezed" (16:9 fitting in 4:3 setting).
AZCoyote is online now  
post #11706 of 11710 Old 11-22-2016, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZCoyote View Post
Some observations from the low-power stations
  • All of K38IZ-D's subchannels have MAJOR macroblocking issues. Not just that, but the top-of-the-hour ID interrupts the middle of a movie on the ThisTV subchannel.
  • The audio got fixed on Comet TV 50.3, but the aspect ratio is back to "squeezed" (16:9 fitting in 4:3 setting).
Broadcast TV use to be so Professional, What happened?
artisticimaging is offline  
post #11707 of 11710 Old 11-22-2016, 10:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 27
Posts: 15,166
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by artisticimaging View Post
Broadcast TV use to be so Professional, What happened?
When were LPTV stations ever professional?

- Trip
AZCoyote and artisticimaging like this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #11708 of 11710 Old 11-22-2016, 11:06 AM
Member
 
AZCoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by artisticimaging View Post
Broadcast TV use to be so Professional, What happened?
This is what happens when the "real stations" refuse to pick up/keep diginets so they can bring you repeats of newscasts and outdated weather information. KTVK must not be making much money off their subchannels, because I mainly see PSAs during commercial breaks. Certainly, Comet has some kind of agreement with them, or else this wouldn't have been posted on their website in September.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Comet Phoenix.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	1784025  
artisticimaging likes this.

Last edited by AZCoyote; 11-22-2016 at 11:12 AM.
AZCoyote is online now  
post #11709 of 11710 Old 11-22-2016, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Forty years ago I used a commodore 64 to make titles for videos, that’s what the This TV station I.D. looks like. A superimpose title of the I.D. during the Broadcast would at lease look professional.
artisticimaging is offline  
post #11710 of 11710 Old Today, 12:45 PM
Member
 
AZCoyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by artisticimaging View Post
Forty years ago I used a commodore 64 to make titles for videos, that’s what the This TV station I.D. looks like. A superimpose title of the I.D. during the Broadcast would at lease look professional.
That or they're using an circa 1987 Amiga with a Video Toaster.

This past Tuesday, during a movie, 50.3 all of a sudden throws up a "NewsMax" icon with a black background for ten seconds. They really don't know what they're doing over there.
AZCoyote is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off