Houston, TX - OTA - Page 196 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 6141 Old 02-03-2011, 10:58 AM
AAF
AVS Special Member
 
AAF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Local News Anchor Misjudges Width Of HD, Flips Off Co-Worker On Air.

http://www.mediaite.com/tv/local-new...worker-on-air/

Maybe I should watch KPRC's news more, sounds entertaining?

When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.
AAF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 6141 Old 02-04-2011, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
That's awesome! Thanks for posting!

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #5853 of 6141 Old 02-05-2011, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AAF View Post

Local News Anchor Misjudges Width Of HD, Flips Off Co-Worker On Air.

http://www.mediaite.com/tv/local-new...worker-on-air/

Maybe I should watch KPRC's news more, sounds entertaining?

Maybe he was trying to give a "2" and forgot the extra digit
(of course doing a "35" would be tough to do with one hand)
BPTTV is offline  
post #5854 of 6141 Old 02-07-2011, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
RaymondGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can not tolerate this fool. A prime example of 'what ever happened to real news and real news broadcasters.' Easy to catch this bombastic fool roll his eyes of literally huff and puff showing disdain during news stories. Time to off this moron but sadly, don't expect much better.
RaymondGuy is offline  
post #5855 of 6141 Old 02-07-2011, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Mloot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaymondGuy View Post

I can not tolerate this fool. A prime example of 'what ever happened to real news and real news broadcasters.' Easy to catch this bombastic fool roll his eyes of literally huff and puff showing disdain during news stories. Time to off this moron but sadly, don't expect much better.

I can't disagree more. Owen is one of the reasons I watch the ch. 2 morning news before I go to work. I really enjoy catching his occasional, off-the-cuff comedic remarks.
Mloot is offline  
post #5856 of 6141 Old 02-14-2011, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
tx2994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good morning!

I have used the TV Fool and Antennaweb resources to figure out which OTA antenna I should use. Both tools/resources seem to conflict with each other as TV Fool says a standard tv-top antenna will work while antennaweb says a medium outdoor antenna is recommended.

I am near the Hwy 249 and Spring Cypress area and wondered if anyone near that location has any input.

With a new roku box for netflix and other media options, we will like to give Comcast the final boot by going OTA for local TV.

Thanks!

Chris
tx2994 is offline  
post #5857 of 6141 Old 02-14-2011, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
sptrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tx2994 View Post

Good morning!

I have used the TV Fool and Antennaweb resources to figure out which OTA antenna I should use. Both tools/resources seem to conflict with each other as TV Fool says a standard tv-top antenna will work while antennaweb says a medium outdoor antenna is recommended.

I am near the Hwy 249 and Spring Cypress area and wondered if anyone near that location has any input.

With a new roku box for netflix and other media options, we will like to give Comcast the final boot by going OTA for local TV.

Thanks!

Chris

I would think that an indoor TV-top antenna would be worthless in your area, too far from the transmitters and heavy trees. I live near I45 & Louetta (near Splashtown) and I have a very large outdoor antenna mounted about 15' AGL with a pre-amp system. I am not suggesting that level of system since it was originally designed to drive a combination of several (4-5) analog and digital TVs in our house.

You can always try a TV-top antenna; nothing to lose except the time required to return it to get your money back. Even if you are only going to connect one TV to your antenna, an outdoor antenna would be your best solution.
sptrout is offline  
post #5858 of 6141 Old 02-14-2011, 10:00 AM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings Chris, welcome to AVS :welcome:

Just off the top of my head, I'd say that it would be stretching things with an Indoor from your location. But, how about pasting your TVFool link into your next post, and we'll take a look, ok.

Have a good Day !
S.W.

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #5859 of 6141 Old 02-14-2011, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Paw Paw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tx2994 View Post

Good morning!

I have used the TV Fool and Antennaweb resources to figure out which OTA antenna I should use. Both tools/resources seem to conflict with each other as TV Fool says a standard tv-top antenna will work while antennaweb says a medium outdoor antenna is recommended.

I am near the Hwy 249 and Spring Cypress area and wondered if anyone near that location has any input.

With a new roku box for netflix and other media options, we will like to give Comcast the final boot by going OTA for local TV.

Thanks!

Chris

You will probably not be happy with a set top antenna. I am nearby and use an old, fairly high gain, antenna inside my attic (no radiant barrier) and can receive the major locals. However, attics can really reduce the signal strength and an outside antenna would be better. You are about 35 miles from the antenna farm and one of the newer (channel 7 - 69) antennas designed for that range should do the job. Since 3 locals are still on the high VHF band (channels 7-13) I would not recommend a UHF only antenna
Paw Paw is offline  
post #5860 of 6141 Old 02-14-2011, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
tx2994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks...I figured a tv top was a bit of a stretch being so far north.

Attached is the TV Fool results.

Chris

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWHouston View Post

Greetings Chris, welcome to AVS :welcome:

Just off the top of my head, I'd say that it would be stretching things with an Indoor from your location. But, how about pasting your TVFool link into your next post, and we'll take a look, ok.

Have a good Day !
S.W.


LL
tx2994 is offline  
post #5861 of 6141 Old 02-14-2011, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Tonight on KHOU at 11:35, Jeopardy starts the 3 day event with the IBM Supercomputer, Watson, as a contestant! PBS had a show about it last week (NOVA? Not sure but I think it was)...This week is the actual contest....Already saw 1st part today (on 4.1 Beaumont)...They have two of Jeopardy's top players compete with Watson......It is very interesting!!
BPTTV is offline  
post #5862 of 6141 Old 02-14-2011, 11:51 PM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

That's not a bad looking Chart at all... I've seen a lot worse !

I can see the possibility of you getting about 30 (or more) Channels with Subs, and the weakest one (IMHO) that you'll probably be interested in, is our ABC Channel 13 KTRK. Most of the channels which are below it in strength, are Low Power or Foreign Language.

So, as stated previously, you'll need a "Modified" Antenna, which receives Hi-VHF and UHF (Ch 7-69).

You apparently have a very direct view (that's what the LOS means) of the Antenna Farm at Missouri City. Your chart indicates that with the numerous channels available at an Azimuth of 170°. That means that you can receive those (approx) 30 channels, with a stationary setting. This "pointed just one direction", usually satisfies most, but, if you have an interest in a wider range of channels, you would need to consider installing a Rotator, and a larger Antenna than to just receive the Mo City group. Adding this feature, will increase the cost of installation at least $100+.

Assuming a single direction setting...
There are a BUNCH of Antennas which would work for you. I'm kinda old fashioned, and tend to recommend those of established Manufacturers, like Winegard or Channel Master, but that is your decision.

I noticed on your Chart, that you had not entered the Height of the installation. That being an Attic install, or Rooftop. If you're limited by any HOA regulations, an Attic install is possible, but, I assure you a Rooftop will get you a LOT better reception. I'm in a HOA myself, and there are Federal Regulations which permit you to install just about any antenna you want on your Roof. BUT, you got to get along with your neighbors, which is why I decided to go with an Attic install myself. Again, your choice.

So, given the location of of the installation, will "flex" the cost and type of parts necessary to get you going. So, let me sorta make a List of things, where you can do a search on the Internet, for related cost.

++++++++++++++++++
Antenna 1: Rooftop, smaller, 7-69, 50 mi range
Antenna 2: Attic, larger, 7-69, 70-100 mi range, to punch through shingles.
(both of these are actually Outdoor Antennas)

Mount, Rooftop, Tripod, Eaves, J-Pipe, depending on convenience.
Mount, Attic, can be hand made, or just hung from some Nylon Cord.

Balun, for either antenna, is a "transformer" from the antenna to Coaxial Cable.
(careful not all Antennas come with one of these, check to be sure)

Coaxial Cable, RJ-6, ?# ft, from Antenna to TV or first Splitter to System.

Splitter, ?# TV's.

Coaxial Cables, RJ-6, optional, ?# ft, Splitter to TV's, dependent on System requirements.

Wall Plate(s), depending on System requirements.
+++++++++++++++++++

Now, I'm assuming (which is dangerous ) that you already have newer Digital TV(s). But if not, then you will have to have "Converter" Box(s) to change the newer ATSC signal, to the old NTSC for your Analog Sets. If this is the case, there is other Cabling requirements to add those Boxs.

So, you need to decide if you're going with an Attic or Rooftop, then, furnish me with that information. Also tell me if your TV is Digital or Analog, and how many TV's you will eventually hook up.

I encourage you to start a "basic" search in the Internet for the above components. Look at the Pictures, and see (from the above Channel/Range information) which Antenna you like. Again, there are LOTS of antennas which will work, and if you wish, I can recommend a few, but as stated, I'll need the required information first.

Have a good Day !
S.W.

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #5863 of 6141 Old 02-19-2011, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
coug7669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: houston,tx,usa
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi there Bob. I see that Saturday's newscast had a slight audio glitch ( there was no audio) that manifested only on 39.1 and Dish Hd retransmission. About 11 minutes into the newscast, audio was restored. I would like to have a contact number so if this ever happens again I can contact the party that could rectify the problem ( There are older numbers on this thread but your station is not listed.) I prefer to watch 9pm newscast so that leaves your station and Fox for my news fix. And I might add I prefer not to watch Fox unless forced.
coug7669 is offline  
post #5864 of 6141 Old 02-20-2011, 02:30 PM
Member
 
TrnsplantBuckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond, Texas
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by coug7669 View Post

Hi there Bob. I see that Saturday's newscast had a slight audio glitch ( there was no audio) that manifested only on 39.1 and Dish Hd retransmission. About 11 minutes into the newscast, audio was restored. I would like to have a contact number so if this ever happens again I can contact the party that could rectify the problem ( There are older numbers on this thread but your station is not listed.) I prefer to watch 9pm newscast so that leaves your station and Fox for my news fix. And I might add I prefer not to watch Fox unless forced.

I think the Bob you are referring to is with KUHT - Ch-8 these days. Ch-39 has gone down in quality since he left.

Larry
TrnsplantBuckeye is offline  
post #5865 of 6141 Old 02-21-2011, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
coug7669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: houston,tx,usa
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes that was who I was referring to. I was not aware of his move. Thank you for the update.
coug7669 is offline  
post #5866 of 6141 Old 02-24-2011, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
comcastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: AVS post > 4000 since 2000
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone getting the TVGOS data stream from the KHOU OTA?
comcastardly is offline  
post #5867 of 6141 Old 02-24-2011, 03:46 PM
Member
 
andy416us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TVGOS is coming in fine for me.

Country Music Fans:

You might try tuning into channel 46 again - seems like they have a stonger signal now.
andy416us is offline  
post #5868 of 6141 Old 02-24-2011, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
comcastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: AVS post > 4000 since 2000
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy416us View Post

TVGOS is coming in fine for me.

Country Music Fans:

You might try tuning into channel 46 again - seems like they have a stonger signal now.

Andy,

What are you using to get TVGOS(TV, DVR, ?) and what channel is listed as your Host TVGOS channel? Is it 11.1?

Thanks.
comcastardly is offline  
post #5869 of 6141 Old 02-24-2011, 05:07 PM
Member
 
andy416us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Using a DTVPal DVR. I'm pretty sure 11.1/KHOU streams TVGOS data in Houston.
andy416us is offline  
post #5870 of 6141 Old 02-25-2011, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
comcastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: AVS post > 4000 since 2000
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy416us View Post

Using a DTVPal DVR. I'm pretty sure 11.1/KHOU streams TVGOS data in Houston.

Do you have DISH or are you using the DTVPal only for OTA?
And yes, KHOU is the place in Houston but for some reason my Sony DHG can't read/receive what KHOU is sending. (see edit below)

EDIT: discontinued Comcast, pulled their CableCard and shazam... a grid/guide appeared. Don't know why yet though....?
comcastardly is offline  
post #5871 of 6141 Old 02-25-2011, 09:50 AM
Member
 
andy416us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a DTVPal DVR for OTA only. Glad you got your guide working.
andy416us is offline  
post #5872 of 6141 Old 02-25-2011, 10:04 AM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fellas, if one of you might know...

I have a DTVPal DVR on my OTA, but, I have Comcast as well.
I've been using an older JVC DVR/Hard Drive on Comcast, and I'd like to replace it.
Do any of you know if there is a Unit available, that has a Hard Drive and QAM Tuner?

Have a good Day !
S.W.

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #5873 of 6141 Old 02-25-2011, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrylmc View Post

I live in Montgomery (West of Conroe, North of the Woodlands). I'm in the middle of tall pine trees and am able to get all the major channels. NBC, ABC, Fox, UPN, PBS, CBS. Ch. 39 is pixelated most of the time, but luckily I don't watch much on it.

What antenna and how high off the ground?

I'm in April Sound. TV Fool says it's marginal.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...c77a0f98142797

I'm wondering if the Antenna Direct DB8, amplified, on my one-story roof would work.

My elevation is maybe 30 or 40 feet above the lake. I'm near the top of a hill but on the north side of it. The one-story house south of me on the top of the hill is probably 20 feet higher than my place.
DBCooper is offline  
post #5874 of 6141 Old 02-25-2011, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Marty-KUHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DB8 is a UHF antenna. It might work pretty well for all except 8, 11, and 13.
Marty-KUHT is offline  
post #5875 of 6141 Old 02-25-2011, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
DBCooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty-KUHT View Post

The DB8 is a UHF antenna. It might work pretty well for all except 8, 11, and 13.

Thanks, I had missed that. What antenna would be best for VHF/UHF reception 57 miles (or so) from the Houston antenna farm?
DBCooper is offline  
post #5876 of 6141 Old 02-25-2011, 07:35 PM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DBC,
Might think about a...
Antennacraft HBU33 or
ChannelMaster 2020 or
Winegard HD7698P

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #5877 of 6141 Old 02-26-2011, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 60
On the high-VHF band, the DB8 fair on channel 13, poor on channel 11, and downright lousy by the time you get to channel 8.

I made some field measurements last spring from which I was able to guesstimate it to have about -15 dB gain on channel 12 and about -20-25 on channel 8. It also exhibited higher gain off the back than off the front on the VHF channels.

You might get away with (for VHF) if you have the available signal margin, but, since it's generally a "long-range" UHF antenna, it's generally not useful for VHF in those situations. A simple cut-to-band dipole will do dramatically better. Paired with a good high-VHF antenna, it does make a good half of a very effective combo that isn't 10-14' in length
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #5878 of 6141 Old 02-26-2011, 08:36 AM
Member
 
SWHouston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houston, Tx. U.S.A.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SHO,

So what you're saying is, don't use
a DB8 and a YA-6713 together, ghosting right ?
Or would a USVJ correct that.

Good Golf, Good HD'ing, and anything else that makes you happy ! :-)
SWHouston is offline  
post #5879 of 6141 Old 02-26-2011, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWHouston View Post

SHO,

So what you're saying is, don't use
a DB8 and a YA-6713 together, ghosting right ?
Or would a USVJ correct that.

Use a UVSJ plus an appropriate high-VHF antenna (with the DB8) for a alternative to a combo antenna for 7-69. Works well provided each antenna is appropriately selected.

The UVSJ is needed to prevent the antennas from contributing out-of-desired-band signals from the wrong antenna.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #5880 of 6141 Old 02-27-2011, 09:49 AM
Member
 
TrnsplantBuckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond, Texas
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWHouston View Post

SHO,

So what you're saying is, don't use
a DB8 and a YA-6713 together, ghosting right ?
Or would a USVJ correct that.

Ghosting on digital?

Larry
TrnsplantBuckeye is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off