Houston, TX - OTA - Page 205 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6121 of 6141 Old 09-08-2013, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
luxeperf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Technical question for the experts here.


MundoFox (34.1) launched in August 2012 and was in 1080i HD from the start, but two days ago it switched over to SD. There are three subchannels also, but those have always been standard definition.

I called the low-power station that transmits MundoFox out of Missouri City and a guy there said that the "boss" thought it was "too expensive to keep it in HD". Does this make any sense?

Going from low to high-power, yeah, that's costly.... but how is switching off the HD signal saving any money? Here's another thing: The SD broadcast of MundoFox is clearly a down-converted HD image squeezed into a 4:3 frame. So it's not even true SD... they still have the HD signal available to them.

Isn't it just a matter of switching it back to HD?

.
luxeperf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6122 of 6141 Old 09-09-2013, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OTAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: In the Groves
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My best guess, and someone can correct me if I am wrong, would be that the station had an encoder that failed and needed to be replaced. A HD encoder would cost considerably more than a SD encoder... Anyone else?

You never know where the LIMIT is until you EXCEED it... Dianne B. "Let's try that again... without the oops." (Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum in "Independence Day")
OTAhead is offline  
post #6123 of 6141 Old 09-18-2013, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
thegreatgumbino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nevermind. Figured it out.
thegreatgumbino is offline  
post #6124 of 6141 Old 11-06-2013, 11:16 PM
Newbie
 
minivanhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Qubo and ION Life off the air?

As of Oct 31, Qubo and Ion Life are MIA from the KPXB 49 (UHF 39) sub-channels. On Qubo's Facebook page they claim they're now on 46.2; at Ion Life’s they said they're now on 46.3 (Neither network has bothered to correct or update their websites with that info).

I understand them to mean KBPX-LD 46 (UHF 46) subchannels 2 and 3, respectively. But I wouldn't know: I cannot and have never received 46 at all. [It's apparently been TCN The Country Network since November 2010]. They've allegedly been broadcasting from the Missouri City antenna farm, but must be incredibly low power.

I wouldn't even care except that my kid likes to watch a couple of shows after 5PM after PBS quits their E/I programming.

Anyone else here able to pick up 46-1, -2, or -3?
minivanhalen is offline  
post #6125 of 6141 Old 11-07-2013, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm 6 miles from the towers in Pearland, and RF channel 46 doesn't show up on my list. They must be low power.
newsman is offline  
post #6126 of 6141 Old 01-20-2014, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Jack Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am in 77090 and get all the usuals and more which I delete to minimize the guide.

Recently, channel 11.1 started ONLY showing DTV Program for every half hour time slot. Going to stop watching that channel....

ON the good side, Fox 26 transmission of the playoiff game on Sunday had NO breakups at all.... if onhly they would do that during the night I'd actually dvr their shows.
Jack Morris is offline  
post #6127 of 6141 Old 01-20-2014, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Morris View Post

I am in 77090 and get all the usuals and more which I delete to minimize the guide.

Recently, channel 11.1 started ONLY showing DTV Program for every half hour time slot. Going to stop watching that channel....

ON the good side, Fox 26 transmission of the playoiff game on Sunday had NO breakups at all.... if onhly they would do that during the night I'd actually dvr their shows.
I don't ever have problems w/ KRIV. My issue is w/ channel 2. But, I know what the problem is, and I am too lazy to fix it (need to adjust the antenna in my attic.) What is your antenna set up?
newsman is offline  
post #6128 of 6141 Old 01-20-2014, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Jack Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am only able to use a small directional antenna and it fires through a building next door to reach the towers down south. I used antennaweb to aim the antenna and get almost all the locals at 75 or more strength... except for fox after dark. And except for the playoff game last night. Maybe they cut power at nightfall except when there is a nationallly watched item which then gets rebroadcast from their OTA?

More problemsome is that channel 11.1 has apparently stopped sending program guide material which is just gonna make me stop watching and recording their shows since I depend on my guide to see what is on that night.

No loss..... as Netflix and Sherlock on PBS easily and more capabily fills the space.
Channel 2 is weaker but doesn't break up near as much as Fox seemed to do in past days.
Jack Morris is offline  
post #6129 of 6141 Old 01-20-2014, 08:11 PM
Member
 
TrnsplantBuckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Richmond, Texas
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm near "George Ranch" in Richmond area and have no problem nor experience any problems.

Larry
TrnsplantBuckeye is offline  
post #6130 of 6141 Old 01-20-2014, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
newsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pearland
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Morris View Post

I am only able to use a small directional antenna and it fires through a building next door to reach the towers down south. I used antennaweb to aim the antenna and get almost all the locals at 75 or more strength... except for fox after dark. And except for the playoff game last night. Maybe they cut power at nightfall except when there is a nationallly watched item which then gets rebroadcast from their OTA?

More problemsome is that channel 11.1 has apparently stopped sending program guide material which is just gonna make me stop watching and recording their shows since I depend on my guide to see what is on that night.

No loss..... as Netflix and Sherlock on PBS easily and more capabily fills the space.
Channel 2 is weaker but doesn't break up near as much as Fox seemed to do in past days.
TV stations don't cut transmission power at night or anytime of the day. The only time they'll cut power is if they are performing maintenance on the tower/antenna. More likely, is you're experiencing changes that happen due to atmospheric conditions. That's my best guess. Even a nearby tree can make a difference - if it's in the way.
newsman is offline  
post #6131 of 6141 Old 02-02-2014, 08:12 AM
kwg
Member
 
kwg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston TX . . . . OTA only
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
67.2 getTV is finally on the air.

http://get.tv/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GetTV
kwg is offline  
post #6132 of 6141 Old 02-21-2014, 08:34 AM
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking at an HBU22 which covers channels 7-69. NBC is typically channel 2, but a few reception guides I see has it channel 35 digital. What does that mean? I plan on dropping Comcast and relying on OTA signal w/ possibly using an HD Homerun. Can I still watch NBC w/ this? Would I go to channel 35 or 2? What sort of device/antenna puts NBC on ch 2 and ch 35? Just want to make sure I'm understanding this right.
stevedawg85 is offline  
post #6133 of 6141 Old 02-21-2014, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OTAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: In the Groves
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevedawg85 View Post

I'm looking at an HBU22 which covers channels 7-69. NBC is typically channel 2, but a few reception guides I see has it channel 35 digital. What does that mean? I plan on dropping Comcast and relying on OTA signal w/ possibly using an HD Homerun. Can I still watch NBC w/ this? Would I go to channel 35 or 2? What sort of device/antenna puts NBC on ch 2 and ch 35? Just want to make sure I'm understanding this right.

Welcome to the world of "virtual" channels. KPRC is no longer on channel 2. They broadcast on UHF channel 35. The data stream they transmit, tells receivers to map it to channel 2.1 etc. Channels 8, 11, and 13 really are still on channels 8, 11, and 13 (all hi VHF). Low VHF (channels 2-6) used to be prime real estate in TV land. They are now considered the ghetto due to electrical interference like lightning or electrical impulse like an AC unit clicking on. Channel 39 is really on channel 38. 20, is on 19. 26 is still on 26. You get the idea. When you do a channel scan, whatevee the tuner picks up, will map to the channels you recognize... Just FYI... I despise virtual channel mapping... wink.gif

You never know where the LIMIT is until you EXCEED it... Dianne B. "Let's try that again... without the oops." (Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum in "Independence Day")
OTAhead is offline  
post #6134 of 6141 Old 02-21-2014, 09:35 AM
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTAhead View Post

Welcome to the world of "virtual" channels. KPRC is no longer on channel 2. They broadcast on UHF channel 35. The data stream they transmit, tells receivers to map it to channel 2.1 etc. Channels 8, 11, and 13 really are still on channels 8, 11, and 13 (all hi VHF). Low VHF (channels 2-6) used to be prime real estate in TV land. They are now considered the ghetto due to electrical interference like lightning or electrical impulse like an AC unit clicking on. Channel 39 is really on channel 38. 20, is on 19. 26 is still on 26. You get the idea. When you do a channel scan, whatevee the tuner picks up, will map to the channels you recognize... Just FYI... I despise virtual channel mapping... wink.gif

So this antenna that picks up ch 7-69 will correctly pick up ch 35 but map it to ch 2? So, I can watch NBC right.
stevedawg85 is offline  
post #6135 of 6141 Old 02-21-2014, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OTAhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: In the Groves
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes. But it would help to post your tvfool report to see your reception report... Go to tvfool.com

I found your tvfool report in the antenna and related hardware thread. You are looking good. I would ne hard pressed to think you would not get all the full power channels as well as a few of the low powers as well...

You never know where the LIMIT is until you EXCEED it... Dianne B. "Let's try that again... without the oops." (Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum in "Independence Day")
OTAhead is offline  
post #6136 of 6141 Old 03-05-2014, 08:47 PM
Member
 
pvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by minivanhalen View Post

Qubo and ION Life off the air?

As of Oct 31, Qubo and Ion Life are MIA from the KPXB 49 (UHF 39) sub-channels. On Qubo's Facebook page they claim they're now on 46.2; at Ion Life’s they said they're now on 46.3 (Neither network has bothered to correct or update their websites with that info).

I understand them to mean KBPX-LD 46 (UHF 46) subchannels 2 and 3, respectively. But I wouldn't know: I cannot and have never received 46 at all. [It's apparently been TCN The Country Network since November 2010]. They've allegedly been broadcasting from the Missouri City antenna farm, but must be incredibly low power.

I wouldn't even care except that my kid likes to watch a couple of shows after 5PM after PBS quits their E/I programming.

Anyone else here able to pick up 46-1, -2, or -3?

I'm in 77088 and I am able to get them. Lot's of pixilation, though. It's a shame as my kids really like qubo.

Using a really old indoor amplified antenna (Radio Shack 15-1838. 15dB gain)
pvman is offline  
post #6137 of 6141 Old 03-11-2014, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
vikmars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring, Texas (formerly Harlingen, Texas)
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Spring (really I'm in Klein but my address is listed as Spring).


I recently bought an old Atari 2600 and plugged it into my Mitsubishi 82740 via the coaxial port.

To my shock, the Atari actually pulled in KPRC and KETH. The signal wasn't half bad either. KTRK kept cutting in and out and KIAH might have worked if I played around with the Atari's positioning.


I'm in an apartment complex with a lot of trees surrounding me AND I'm on the first floor so I can only imagine what I could pull in if I was higher up or in a clearer area.


I know this brings pretty much nothing of value or importance to this thread, I just thought it was a neat little fact and this was the only place that might appreciate it.
vikmars is offline  
post #6138 of 6141 Old 03-24-2014, 08:53 AM
Member
 
brg606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hello, newb here. thinking of getting rid of dish and putting up antenna. here is my tvfool report:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d5b94e274e12780

could I get all the major Houston locals with a clearstream 2-v? how about a CM4228HD? these are the 2 I'm considering. preamp required? thanks for any input.
brg606 is offline  
post #6139 of 6141 Old 03-24-2014, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by brg606 View Post

hello, newb here. thinking of getting rid of dish and putting up antenna. here is my tvfool report:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d5b94e274e12780

could I get all the major Houston locals with a clearstream 2-v? how about a CM4228HD? these are the 2 I'm considering. preamp required? thanks for any input.

The C2V should work fine. You do not need any amps.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #6140 of 6141 Old 04-01-2014, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Does anyone experience constant stuttering on PBS (8.1) this evening? I am inside 610 by the Galleria.

Normally, both of my indoor antennas receive PBS without issues. This evening, the picture stutters constantly on both antennas.
I also tried moving one of the antennas, but it did not resolve the stuttering.

At this point, I am convinced that it is either an issue at PBS station, or there is some kind of interference in my area.

Thanks!
SwiftSweeper is offline  
post #6141 of 6141 Old 04-01-2014, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
SwiftSweeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Never mind... The stuttering issue went away.

How many HD channels do you guys/gals get?

Not counting Spanish channels, I get 10 following HD channels: NBC (2.1), PBS (8.1), CBS (11.1), ABC (13.1), LiveWell (13.2), MyNetwork (20.1), Fox (26.1), CW (39.1), ION (49.1), and KUBE (57.1).

Am I missing any other HD channels?
SwiftSweeper is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off