Norfolk, VA - OTA - Page 217 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6481 of 6673 Old 03-09-2011, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundguy315 View Post

OTA or via FiOS?

Both OTA and FiOS and on 2 different sound systems.

Last night during Wheel of Fortune (I never watch this, but had it on last night so can't compare to other nights), there was rear audio. I'm assuming that is because it was 2.0 (at least I'm assuming they aren't natively 5.1) and WVECs equipment converts to 5.1 and sends the signal that way.

Anything that originates in 5.1 (primetime programming, NBA games, etc) does not have rear audio.

I should mention that once they discovered that they were sending 5.0 and not 5.1 the audio became remarkably better, just w/o the rear ambient audio you get with all other locals.
kes601 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6482 of 6673 Old 03-09-2011, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
soundguy315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One last question, are you set to Dolby Digital mode on the receiver, not simulated/enhanced/etc surround? If I set a receiver to Dolby Digital I am noticing lower rear channel, but have not had a session with true 5.1 source, only stereo cross-converted to 5.1.
soundguy315 is offline  
post #6483 of 6673 Old 03-09-2011, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundguy315 View Post

One last question, are you set to Dolby Digital mode on the receiver, not simulated/enhanced/etc surround? If I set a receiver to Dolby Digital I am noticing lower rear channel, but have not had a session with true 5.1 source, only stereo cross-converted to 5.1.

Direct decoding, no enhancements, etc.
kes601 is offline  
post #6484 of 6673 Old 03-13-2011, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the record, no rear audio on WVECHD or SD during SEC finals today. I can flip to WTKRHD and SD and both have rear audio. I know the SD channels aren't 5.1, but odd that WTKR would have it and WVEC wouldn't.

And, I get rear audio during the commercials.

I wish I cold test another ABC station.
kes601 is offline  
post #6485 of 6673 Old 03-17-2011, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
soundguy315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WVEC rear channel issue is resolved.
soundguy315 is offline  
post #6486 of 6673 Old 03-19-2011, 04:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundguy315 View Post

WVEC rear channel issue is resolved.

Thanks, I'll check it out tonight. Much appreciated.

Edit: Just flipped over to the tennis match, and sure enough, there is rear audio.

Thanks again.
kes601 is offline  
post #6487 of 6673 Old 03-24-2011, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is anything wrong with WSKY's transmission? I normally get steady signal strength in the low 60s but for the past day I'm getting zero signal strength. Is this happening to anyone else?

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #6488 of 6673 Old 03-24-2011, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye911 View Post

Is anything wrong with WSKY's transmission? I normally get steady signal strength in the low 60s but for the past day I'm getting zero signal strength. Is this happening to anyone else?

Watching them now... 95% on DirecTV's meter and SNR of 27.5db (WTKR had 31.25) according to my Sammy TV...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6489 of 6673 Old 03-24-2011, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Watching them now... 95% on DirecTV's meter and SNR of 27.5db (WTKR had 31.25) according to my Sammy TV...

I must be getting some kind of interference. If I cut off the amp WSKY comes in fine but I can't get a steady signal on ION. I can't find a workable compromise so I'm just hoping it clears up soon. Thanks for the response, Robert.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #6490 of 6673 Old 03-27-2011, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
tojohnso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WTKR having equipment problems? I was watching it last night and again this AM on FIOS and noticed many commercials were in 4:3 SD. I switched to OTA and have seen the same thing. Some of the commercials look like they were filmed in 16:9 as they are squished.

HDTV.....or not......Is the HDTV picture quality we have come to love threatened? Will we look back at what we "used" to have? ........I hope not........
tojohnso is offline  
post #6491 of 6673 Old 03-27-2011, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
tojohnso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder who's at the controls of WTKRs studio right now......they just set a bunch of commercials right over the show. That, with the commercial issue I noted earlier, something seems to have gone awry over there.

HDTV.....or not......Is the HDTV picture quality we have come to love threatened? Will we look back at what we "used" to have? ........I hope not........
tojohnso is offline  
post #6492 of 6673 Old 04-13-2011, 05:38 PM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, can someone point me to some directions on how I can get:

1) WGBS "Retro TV" digital 7.1

2) "Antenna TV" digital subchannel 27.2 (which is apparently a digi subchannel of WGNT)

I live in the Salem Rd. area; I currently have a new Toshiba tv, and few older analog tvs, with Cox cable starter service.

I have no idea how to tune my my Toshiba to digital "subchannels."

I suspect I need to go OTA, but as of now I have no antenna of any kind, just the cable hooked up (although that does seem to act as a limited kind of antenna).

Thanks very much for any help!
zpf is offline  
post #6493 of 6673 Old 04-13-2011, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
^ Welcome to the forum, zpf. You are correct that you need an antenna to get WGBS and Antenna TV, they are not available on Cox Cable. To get these channels you need to connect an antenna and run a channel scan on your TV. Good luck with WGBS, hardly anyone can pull that one in, at least not with an indoor antenna. Antenna TV should be pretty easy to pick up.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #6494 of 6673 Old 04-14-2011, 04:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeye911 View Post

^ Welcome to the forum, zpf. You are correct that you need an antenna to get WGBS and Antenna TV, they are not available on Cox Cable. To get these channels you need to connect an antenna and run a channel scan on your TV. Good luck with WGBS, hardly anyone can pull that one in, at least not with an indoor antenna. Antenna TV should be pretty easy to pick up.

Agree... GBS will be hard. I'm a little farther east than Salem Rd with a CM4228 in my attic. I've never have gotten them...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6495 of 6673 Old 04-14-2011, 07:22 AM
Member
 
jccsup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: James City County, VA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

Hello, can someone point me to some directions on how I can get:

1) WGBS "Retro TV" digital 7.1

2) "Antenna TV" digital subchannel 27.2 (which is apparently a digi subchannel of WGNT)

I live in the Salem Rd. area; I currently have a new Toshiba tv, and few older analog tvs, with Cox cable starter service.

I have no idea how to tune my my Toshiba to digital "subchannels."

I suspect I need to go OTA, but as of now I have no antenna of any kind, just the cable hooked up (although that does seem to act as a limited kind of antenna).

Thanks very much for any help!

If you are a starter service customer you can save yourself $180 a year by getting an outside antenna and actually get more channels.
jccsup is offline  
post #6496 of 6673 Old 04-14-2011, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jccsup View Post

If you are a starter service customer you can save yourself $180 a year by getting an outside antenna and actually get more channels.

There are actually a lot of channels on the starter service that are not available OTA. These incluce UNC TV, TBS, Animal Planet, QVC, HSN, C-Span, WGN, TV Guide and three local government access channels.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #6497 of 6673 Old 04-14-2011, 02:16 PM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, thanks for all the great info everyone. I was going to try putting an antenna on the side of the house, but I guess I'll put that off for now and settle for Antenna and whatever else I can pull.

I've seen a couple maps online indicating I'm within the WGBS coverage area (I'm near the Amphitheater), but I guess it's not quite realistic.

Also is there a way to combine cable and antenna service via a splitter and a hardware switch or something, so I can switch from on to the other? I actually do get a lot of channels I do watch from my $15/mo. Cox service--not sure what the name of the package is; I've had it for several years.

Thanks again all.
zpf is offline  
post #6498 of 6673 Old 04-15-2011, 03:14 PM
Member
 
KC4JGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

I've seen a couple maps online indicating I'm within the WGBS coverage area (I'm near the Amphitheater), but I guess it's not quite realistic. p

It is hardly realistic. From my home just east of Ward's Corner My reception of WGBS is "streaky" at best. What I mean is, I can recieve that station for a few to several days, then will disappear for several days. I have a UHF only antenna, but RF ch 11 (where WGBS is physically located) is close enough in frequency I should have little problem, especially since I am about 7 miles from the transmitter in the West Norfolk section of Portsmouth. That has not been the case. Remember, this is a low power station, its ERP is only 300 watts.

Quote:


Also is there a way to combine cable and antenna service via a splitter and a hardware switch or something, so I can switch from one to the other?

You can buy an A/B switch. CATV could be coming in on the "A" port, an antenna on the "B" port for example, then the common would feed the antenna port on your TV.

Steve KC4JGC
KC4JGC is offline  
post #6499 of 6673 Old 04-16-2011, 12:58 PM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks KC4JGC for the info on the switch. Can anyone recommend a good local retailer for OTA gear? Thanks again everyone.
zpf is offline  
post #6500 of 6673 Old 06-19-2011, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why has WAVY-DTV had a big black bar across the bottom of the screen all day today? You'd think they would notice this and fix it...
Todd is offline  
post #6501 of 6673 Old 06-20-2011, 03:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

Why has WAVY-DTV had a big black bar across the bottom of the screen all day today? You'd think they would notice this and fix it...

Everytime someone posts this, it gets fixed!

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6502 of 6673 Old 09-16-2011, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
betterdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is something wrong with Sky4? I can't pick it up anymore in Portsmouth.
betterdan is offline  
post #6503 of 6673 Old 09-16-2011, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post

Is something wrong with Sky4? I can't pick it up anymore in Portsmouth.

I'm getting them OTA at 10:43A...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6504 of 6673 Old 09-16-2011, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This thread has just about died, hasn't it?
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #6505 of 6673 Old 09-16-2011, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post

This thread has just about died, hasn't it?

It's been quiet...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6506 of 6673 Old 09-16-2011, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post

This thread has just about died, hasn't it?

Well, it's been a good run. 217 pages but not much to say now.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #6507 of 6673 Old 09-17-2011, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think this is the 4th or 5th continuation of the thread. Back in the day :-) when HD was new to the area, the thread was archived monthly or so.
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #6508 of 6673 Old 09-17-2011, 06:17 PM
Newbie
 
SierraWood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since you guys don't want this thread to die I guess it is time for me to stop lurking and join so I can ask a question!

Has there been any word of Sky4 getting back on D*? I thought I read that must-carry applications were sent every 3 years so I am *hoping* that Sky4 gets back on DirecTV in January 2012. I just can't seem to consistently get it OTA and it drives me nuts during football and basketball season.
SierraWood is offline  
post #6509 of 6673 Old 09-18-2011, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by SierraWood View Post

Since you guys don't want this thread to die I guess it is time for me to stop lurking and join so I can ask a question!

Has there been any word of Sky4 getting back on D*? I thought I read that must-carry applications were sent every 3 years so I am *hoping* that Sky4 gets back on DirecTV in January 2012. I just can't seem to consistently get it OTA and it drives me nuts during football and basketball season.

WSKY in SD is VERY likely... HD? dunno...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6510 of 6673 Old 10-23-2011, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is it just me or is WVEC not broadcasting OTA today? All of my TVs are getting no signal off the antennas for channel 13.1 and 13.2 today.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off