Norfolk, VA - OTA - Page 222 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6631 of 6675 Old 07-22-2013, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Maybe the new owners will some spare in-studio HD cameras hanging around???
I'm still waiting to see if Gannett will do the same thing at WCNC in Charlotte. Their NBC affiliate is the last HD hold out for local news in the Charlotte market. Even the CW station WCCB has very impressive HD news broadcasts, and the new FOX-46 has HD news from WBTV, but is preparing to launch their own newscast next year.
tylerSC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6632 of 6675 Old 11-25-2013, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a medium directional antenna about 20' off the ground near Shore Drive in Va Beach. I pick up a lot of the local OTA stations but I can't seem to bring in WBVT channel 43.1. I get WAVY 10.1 just fine. Antennaweb.org shows both transmitters at 23 miles and 255 degrees azimuth. Is WAVY transmit antenna higher on the tower or higher output power or something? What else could be going on here?
Digitude is offline  
post #6633 of 6675 Old 11-25-2013, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitude View Post

I have a medium directional antenna about 20' off the ground near Shore Drive in Va Beach. I pick up a lot of the local OTA stations but I can't seem to bring in WBVT channel 43.1. I get WAVY 10.1 just fine. Antennaweb.org shows both transmitters at 23 miles and 255 degrees azimuth. Is WAVY transmit antenna higher on the tower or higher output power or something? What else could be going on here?
Is the antenna permanently attached to anything?

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6634 of 6675 Old 11-25-2013, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Is the antenna permanently attached to anything?
A twenty foot pole.
Digitude is offline  
post #6635 of 6675 Old 11-25-2013, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitude View Post

A twenty foot pole.
When I first had my antenna installed in my attic, it was attached to a PVC pipe. I noticed I could get all the stations fine except WAVY. Eventually, I figured out if I just moved the antenna a few feet over I had no issues. The antenna now sits on top of some boxes leaning against a rafter... Can the pole be easily moved?

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6636 of 6675 Old 11-25-2013, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Digitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The main issue is it is already close to the property line. As a structure it is probably a zoning violation where it sits. Compared to WAVY I'm not getting a weak signal....there is absolutely no signal at all from WBVT. I thought these two were transmitting from the same tower. I guess UHF has mysterious propagation or something.
Digitude is offline  
post #6637 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 04:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitude View Post

The main issue is it is already close to the property line. As a structure it is probably a zoning violation where it sits. Compared to WAVY I'm not getting a weak signal....there is absolutely no signal at all from WBVT. I thought these two were transmitting from the same tower. I guess UHF has mysterious propagation or something.
Yep... something is blocking/interfering with the WVBT signal to your antenna. IF you could move it...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6638 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Digitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Yep... something is blocking/interfering with the WVBT signal to your antenna. IF you could move it...
You're probably right. I had fewer problems when it was bolted to my house. I didn't want to punch holes in my new siding so I moved it to a pole attached to my fence. Speaking of blockage, how is it that your roof doesn't block a signal in your attic?
Digitude is offline  
post #6639 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitude View Post

Speaking of blockage, how is it that your roof doesn't block a signal in your attic?
It's my understanding that putting the antenna in the attic can block up to 50% of the signal. BUT, I'm only 30 miles away from the towers and have no issues with the locals. At times, I'm able to get the Richmond stations here in Virginia Beach...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6640 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Digitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had another ten feet of elevation when the antenna was attached to my house. I could add another ten feet of mast but it would likely sway so much I wouldn't get anything. I don't think my neighbor would appreciate guy wires either! Guess I need to rethink my location. The third floor attic would give me the elevation I need but I'd have a long, messy cable run. Maybe I'll just do without Fox. Its only a backup to Cox anyway.
Digitude is offline  
post #6641 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Try moving the antenna DOWN the mast in 1' increments to see if a change in elevation changes the signal patterns. For UHF, 6-12" in change is sometimes all it takes.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #6642 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post

Try moving the antenna DOWN the mast in 1' increments to see if a change in elevation changes the signal patterns. For UHF, 6-12" in change is sometimes all it takes.
Great idea! I was thinking left or right but not up or down. Worth the try!

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6643 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Digitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post

Try moving the antenna DOWN the mast in 1' increments to see if a change in elevation changes the signal patterns. For UHF, 6-12" in change is sometimes all it takes.
Worth a try. Easier said than done though. I don't think I can reach it with my step ladder. Otherwise I have to drop the mast and start over.
Digitude is offline  
post #6644 of 6675 Old 11-26-2013, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Lots of things in life are "easier said than done".

Unless lowering the antenna puts the antenna more deeply into a solid shadow-maker, a building, for example, you'll find the signal quality and strength will vary with height. If you're in a suburban area where there are trees but the lower branches have been trimmed, for example, an antenna "down low" might work better than one "up high".

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #6645 of 6675 Old 12-07-2013, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
OTA bandwidth usage around 11:45A on Saturday, December 7:

WTKR/3: 17.62 Mb/s (CBS)
WSKY/4: ~17 Mb/s (IND)
2 Mb/s (unknown)
WAVY/10: ~10 Mb/s (NBC)
5.3 Mb/s (Bounce TV)
WVEC/13: 11-14+ Mb/s (ABC) (reading was taken during football)
2-5+ Mb/s (Live Well Network)
~2 Mb/s (MeTV)
WHRO/15: ~13 Mb/s (PBS)
2.6 Mb/s (World)
1.85 Mb/s (Kids)
WTPC/21: 5.8 Mb/s (TBN)
4.1 Mb/s (The Church Channel)
3.25 Mb/s (JCTV)
2.9 Mb/s (Enlace)
2.1 Mb/s (Smile Of A Child)
WVAD/25: 12.8 Mb/s (Daystar)
6.09 Mb/s (unknown)
WGNT/27: 14.35 Mb/s (CW)
3.15 Mb/s (Antenna TV)
WTVZ/33: 13.2 Mb/s (MNT)
3.06 Mb/s (unknown)
2.33 Mb/s (Zeus Country)
WVBT/43: 14.65 Mb/s (FOX)
4 Mb/s (unknown)
WPXV/49: 8.8 Mb/s (ION)
2.4 Mb/s (Qubo)
2 Mb/s (ION Life)
1.75 Mb/s (ION SHOP)
1.2 Mb/s (QVC)
0.9 - 1 Mb/s (HSN)

Notes: The PQ on 49-6 (HSN) is BETTER than HSN's own digital translator on channel 14. WVEC: When college football "action" was being shown, the bandwidth shot up to around 14.65 Mb/s.
robertawillisjr likes this.

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6646 of 6675 Old 01-13-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kes601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach -- Lynnhaven
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just now seeing these stats, no wonder WAVY looks so bad compared to the other locals.....
kes601 is offline  
post #6647 of 6675 Old 01-13-2014, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I also meant to check during Sunday Night Football to see if they "change" the settings. Was surprised to see the main channel that low and Bounce being that high...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6648 of 6675 Old 02-07-2014, 05:06 PM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I got some help via this thread a few years ago (guess this is a long-lived thread). Back then I bought a small Toshiba flatscreen and a very cheap GE powered set of rabbit ears, and I've gotten great reception for all the local channels I'm interested in.

Recently however I've tried a larger flatscreen model by Sharp which didn't get many of the same channels, even with the same antenna, nor with a couple other indoor antennas I've tried. I recently got a Sony from Walmart, and it pulls a few more channels than the Sharp did, but still not as many as my older Toshiba, again with the same antenna.

So I'm assuming different brands/models vary in the quality of reception capability. (?) Should I just go with another Toshiba, or is still just a crapshoot according to the model? Or maybe larger TVs have a more difficult time with pulling stations out of the air? Is there a brand or model that is known to have better OTA reception capabilities?

Thanks for any help or advice.
zpf is offline  
post #6649 of 6675 Old 02-07-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

Hi all, I got some help via this thread a few years ago (guess this is a long-lived thread). Back then I bought a small Toshiba flatscreen and a very cheap GE powered set of rabbit ears, and I've gotten great reception for all the local channels I'm interested in.

Recently however I've tried a larger flatscreen model by Sharp which didn't get many of the same channels, even with the same antenna, nor with a couple other indoor antennas I've tried. I recently got a Sony from Walmart, and it pulls a few more channels than the Sharp did, but still not as many as my older Toshiba, again with the same antenna.

So I'm assuming different brands/models vary in the quality of reception capability. (?) Should I just go with another Toshiba, or is still just a crapshoot according to the model? Or maybe larger TVs have a more difficult time with pulling stations out of the air? Is there a brand or model that is known to have better OTA reception capabilities?

Thanks for any help or advice.
Can you get the main (big) channels (virtual #s)? 3, 10, 13, 15, 27, 33, 43 and 49? Next would be channels 4 and 21...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6650 of 6675 Old 02-08-2014, 02:47 PM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

Can you get the main (big) channels (virtual #s)? 3, 10, 13, 15, 27, 33, 43 and 49? Next would be channels 4 and 21...

Thanks for the response. Actually 13.1, 13.2, 13.3 were not getting picked up at all, even in the setup scan, and a lot of others were intermittent. Today I tried a Mofu Leaf "Ultimate" and getting everything pretty solid now, so I guess my problem is solved.

I'm still curious if there's a wide range of reception capability among brands of TVs though. I'm guessing many of them cut corners on the quality of these components since most people don't use OTA?
zpf is offline  
post #6651 of 6675 Old 02-09-2014, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

Thanks for the response. Actually 13.1, 13.2, 13.3 were not getting picked up at all, even in the setup scan, and a lot of others were intermittent. Today I tried a Mofu Leaf "Ultimate" and getting everything pretty solid now, so I guess my problem is solved.

Good to hear!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

I'm still curious if there's a wide range of reception capability among brands of TVs though. I'm guessing many of them cut corners on the quality of these components since most people don't use OTA?

We have Sammys throughout the house. I'm guessing they have pretty much the same tuner in each set.

Reception between brands/units is big. Found that out on the radio side. I gave up (gave away) a really good HD Radio radio for a much more inferior tuner in an expensive A/V unit.

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6652 of 6675 Old 02-16-2014, 11:43 AM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you feel like Samsungs are generally pretty decent in the reception dept.?
zpf is offline  
post #6653 of 6675 Old 02-16-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

Do you feel like Samsungs are generally pretty decent in the reception dept.?
I don't know... Have nothing else to compare them to...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6654 of 6675 Old 02-20-2014, 12:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

Do you feel like Samsungs are generally pretty decent in the reception dept.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post

I don't know... Have nothing else to compare them to...
Tuners sure do vary. I have a Panasonic plasma from 2006 that is pretty much useless for OTA without a lot of fiddling every time you want to change the channel. I have another Panny plasma from 2010 that has a very good tuner. I have a Vizio LED a few years old with an awesome tuner and a Westinghouse LED with a tuner just a little better than the older Panasonic. The Mohu Leaf Ultimate makes a great deal of difference on all the TV's, it seems to make up for the shortcomings of the tuners.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #6655 of 6675 Old 02-21-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 90
The newer Panasonic plasmas since around 2010 do indeed have very good tuners. And most Samsung TVs have good tuners also. But there is also an issue with how the layout of the TV panel and the main board is designed. If the power supply is too close to the tuner, then too much electrical noise may be generated and interfere with OTA reception. If the tuner is not well isolated from electrical noise, then the TV itself will create interference. I have this problem with one Samsung TV, but have never had this problem with several other Samsungs.
tylerSC is offline  
post #6656 of 6675 Old 03-03-2014, 04:53 PM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

The newer Panasonic plasmas since around 2010 do indeed have very good tuners. And most Samsung TVs have good tuners also. But there is also an issue with how the layout of the TV panel and the main board is designed. If the power supply is too close to the tuner, then too much electrical noise may be generated and interfere with OTA reception. If the tuner is not well isolated from electrical noise, then the TV itself will create interference. I have this problem with one Samsung TV, but have never had this problem with several other Samsungs.

Interesting. You'd think this would be a design consideration, but I guess not.
zpf is offline  
post #6657 of 6675 Old 03-03-2014, 04:58 PM
zpf
Newbie
 
zpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what other kinds of things interfere with OTA reception? I've noticed the quality of my reception can vary a lot--I can have all channels solid, then another time I will need to move the Leaf again, etc.
zpf is offline  
post #6658 of 6675 Old 03-05-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zpf View Post

So what other kinds of things interfere with OTA reception? I've noticed the quality of my reception can vary a lot--I can have all channels solid, then another time I will need to move the Leaf again, etc.

A trip through the archives of this thread will reveal that there are many things which could possibly cause interference. I have many trees and a bit of wind will trash some channels. Rain, snow, thermals, location, etc.

IIRC having a tall and good outside antenna helps a lot.
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #6659 of 6675 Old 04-13-2014, 10:36 AM
Member
 
KC4JGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digitude View Post

... I thought these two were transmitting from the same tower. I guess UHF has mysterious propagation or something.
They are on the same tower. there's at least 3 antennae on the very top. Actually WAVY and WVBT are both on UHF (WAVY is physically on channel 31; WVBT on 29. You might try changing antenna height/azimuth slightly to see if that helps.

Steve KC4JGC
KC4JGC is offline  
post #6660 of 6675 Old 04-13-2014, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC4JGC View Post

They are on the same tower. there's at least 3 antennae on the very top. Actually WAVY and WVBT are both on UHF (WAVY is physically on channel 31; WVBT on 29. You might try changing antenna height/azimuth slightly to see if that helps.
Great advice... even the slightest move either left or right, or up or down can be THE difference...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off