Norfolk, VA - OTA - Page 226 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6751 of 6766 Old 11-09-2016, 06:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, I paid $650 to have an outdoor antenna installed and hooked up to one tv - a Tivo Bolt DVR... I am getting channels like the PBS suite (15) much better than with the indoor antenna... BUT Channel 10 is pixelating every 5 minutes... I am in zip 23434 and literally 7 miles away from most of the towers. The antenna is an Antennas Direct DB8e and they installed the VHF Retrofit Kit that I bought for it on the mast... Any ideas on why Channel 10 is pixelating every 5 minutes? I really am bummed that I spent that much money and got these results...

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
VillaRegina is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6752 of 6766 Old 11-09-2016, 06:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastplace View Post
Sorry to only visit this forum with issues. I get constant 13.1 drop outs every 5 -30 seconds. I move the antenna stops for a while then back to drop outs. It's almost like the signal is loading up and resetting.

Update, pig sitting at my son's house watching Cox. Same 13 ABC drop outs during the OSU Penn game. Must be the channel not my antenna.
LOLOLOLOL! I pictured an actual pig sitting there watching TV!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
VillaRegina is offline  
post #6753 of 6766 Old 11-09-2016, 06:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by VillaRegina View Post
Well, I paid $650 to have an outdoor antenna installed and hooked up to one tv - a Tivo Bolt DVR... I am getting channels like the PBS suite (15) much better than with the indoor antenna... BUT Channel 10 is pixelating every 5 minutes... I am in zip 23434 and literally 7 miles away from most of the towers. The antenna is an Antennas Direct DB8e and they installed the VHF Retrofit Kit that I bought for it on the mast... Any ideas on why Channel 10 is pixelating every 5 minutes? I really am bummed that I spent that much money and got these results...

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
Wow... that's a "big" antenna for being just 7 miles away! That could be a problem. Also, your new antenna can be located in the "right" (wrong) spot for sporadic WAVY reception (is it possible to move/rotate the antenna a degree or two west or east?). Why did they install a VHF kit? I have an amped ChannelMaster 4228 (basically a UHF-only antenna) in our two story house attic that gets WVEC (13), WSKY (9) and WTPC (7) with no problems. We're about 28 miles to the SSE of Driver...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
 
post #6754 of 6766 Old 11-09-2016, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
Wow... that's a "big" antenna for being just 7 miles away! That could be a problem. Also, your new antenna can be located in the "right" (wrong) spot for sporadic WAVY reception (is it possible to move/rotate the antenna a degree or two west or east?). Why did they install a VHF kit? I have an amped ChannelMaster 4228 (basically a UHF-only antenna) in our two story house attic that gets WVEC (13), WSKY (9) and WTPC (7) with no problems. We're about 28 miles to the SSE of Driver...
The antenna wasn't my choice it was theirs. I have researched antennas up the wazoo... I still couldn't figure out what I needed... And the reviews I read on the VHF Retrofit Kit were mostly positive - so I figured that it couldn't hurt (especially since so many of the channels seem to be hi-V)... They did tweak the antenna several times but it changed good channels every time it got tweaked - so it never happened that ALL the channels came in great all together... I am going to keep watching all the different channels and take notes. It might help them tweak it better... I am just soooooo bummed... After trying 9 different indoor antennas and tweaking them for at least an hour each and spending all that money I really thought this one was going to be the answer!!!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
VillaRegina is offline  
post #6755 of 6766 Old 11-09-2016, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by VillaRegina View Post
The antenna wasn't my choice it was theirs. I have researched antennas up the wazoo... I still couldn't figure out what I needed... And the reviews I read on the VHF Retrofit Kit were mostly positive - so I figured that it couldn't hurt (especially since so many of the channels seem to be hi-V)... They did tweak the antenna several times but it changed good channels every time it got tweaked - so it never happened that ALL the channels came in great all together... I am going to keep watching all the different channels and take notes. It might help them tweak it better... I am just soooooo bummed... After trying 9 different indoor antennas and tweaking them for at least an hour each and spending all that money I really thought this one was going to be the answer!!!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
I'm no expert but that really does seem like too much of an antenna. I like my setup (antenna in the attic) because I was able to tweak it. Originally installed on a PVC pipe attached to a rafter, I took it off and just set it on top of some Rubbermaid containers. I couldn't reliably get 43 and 10 at the same time. Turn it one way and I was getting 10 but problems with 43, and vice versa. Though in the attic, I still get great numbers. The other morning I was getting ABC, CW and PBS out of Richmond!

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6756 of 6766 Old 11-09-2016, 10:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wow! RICHMOND! I did have a channel list that included a PBS suite starting on channel 20... But never really got reception (I thought it was the North Carolina PBS). I know my antenna is not amplified. I would have done the rotating thing but I use a Tivo Bolt DVR and want channels to record when I am not home. Maybe someone needs to invent a DVR that also controls a rotator based on what points you enter into the system!!!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
VillaRegina is offline  
post #6757 of 6766 Old 11-09-2016, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by VillaRegina View Post
Wow! RICHMOND! I did have a channel list that included a PBS suite starting on channel 20... But never really got reception (I thought it was the North Carolina PBS). I know my antenna is not amplified. I would have done the rotating thing but I use a Tivo Bolt DVR and want channels to record when I am not home. Maybe someone needs to invent a DVR that also controls a rotator based on what points you enter into the system!!!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
Where you're located, you definitely would NOT need an amp (unless you were sending the signal to multiple sets). Yeah, channel 20 is WUND in NE NC.

When you're home (and if you can), rotate the antenna a degree or two in either direction to see if you still have issues with WAVY...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6758 of 6766 Old 11-11-2016, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robertawillisjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
Where you're located, you definitely would NOT need an amp (unless you were sending the signal to multiple sets). Yeah, channel 20 is WUND in NE NC.

When you're home (and if you can), rotate the antenna a degree or two in either direction to see if you still have issues with WAVY...
IMO, your antenna is too directional for your location. You can either install a motor to move the antenna OR get an antenna that is less directional.
robertawillisjr is offline  
post #6759 of 6766 Old 12-07-2016, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Vartv, what brand amp are you using? I'm running 2 pig tails off of my 4228. One TV picks up 13.1 the other does not. I may try adding an amp.

I love this HD stuff!
lastplace is online now  
post #6760 of 6766 Old 12-07-2016, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertawillisjr View Post
IMO, your antenna is too directional for your location. You can either install a motor to move the antenna OR get an antenna that is less directional.
Looks just like a CM 4228, Big antenna for 7 miles away.

I love this HD stuff!
lastplace is online now  
post #6761 of 6766 Old 12-07-2016, 05:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by lastplace View Post
Vartv, what brand amp are you using? I'm running 2 pig tails off of my 4228. One TV picks up 13.1 the other does not. I may try adding an amp.
Channel Master 7777...

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #6762 of 6766 Old 12-11-2016, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm looking for a reasonable roof-mounted antenna for this address in Franklin, VA:

32188 Vicksville Road
Franklin, VA

TVFool link:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dfaf14d361d4f3

It looks like all the major networks are available at direction of around 85 degrees, with just one at 116, and are all in the green or yellow distances. I was thinking a single non-rotating antenna aimed correctly could cover those, and I wouldn't worry about the more distant stations in different directions.

Does that seem reasonable? If so, any suggestions for an easy to install antenna? I wouldn't be installing it; it's a Christmas gift, so ease of construction is important too.

Thanks!

Last edited by teachsac; 12-11-2016 at 10:34 AM.
Circus37 is offline  
post #6763 of 6766 Old 01-07-2017, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Currently :Queens, NYC From: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is it just me or is WVEC the only one with LIVE storm coverage online.


i went to WAVY (my preferred choice) and didn't see live streaming.
i also checked WTKR and only saw a blog.


i'm trying to watch storm coverage here in NYC.
(i tried my DirecTV app, my TV provider at 757 location) but it re directs based on my current location to NYC local channels then says not authorized.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries

Last edited by dtv757; 01-07-2017 at 08:29 AM.
dtv757 is offline  
post #6764 of 6766 Old 01-28-2017, 06:37 AM
Member
 
KC4JGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VillaRegina View Post
The antenna wasn't my choice it was theirs.... And the reviews I read on the VHF Retrofit Kit were mostly positive - so I figured that it couldn't hurt (especially since so many of the channels seem to be hi-V)... They did tweak the antenna several times but it changed good channels every time it got tweaked - so it never happened that ALL the channels came in great all together... I am going to keep watching all the different channels and take notes. It might help them tweak it better... I am just soooooo bummed... After trying 9 different indoor antennas and tweaking them for at least an hour each and spending all that money I really thought this one was going to be the answer!!!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
I just looked that antenna up; WOW! That is overkill for your location! One thing I like about it is the capability to point the 2 antennae in different directions so one can receive stations in different markets (i.e., point one side to Driver and point the other side toward Richmond if you wanted to do that). You really didn't need the vhf add-on installed. Here's why. You're close enough that the added vhf elements is really unnecessary. When I was living at a home in Norfolk, I used only used a 3' long UHF antenna pointed to Driver on a mast up about 25 feet. I had no trouble receiving any of the transmitters there. I was even able to receive WSKY after the station moved to channel 9 as long as there was no heavy rain between Norfolk and the WSKY tower near South Mills NC.

You said that many of the stations seemed to be on vhf. Not the case! Of the local full power stations, Only WTPC (ch 7/virtual ch 21), WVEC (ch 13) and WSKY (ch 9/virtual ch 4) are on vhf. Everyone else is on UHF.

Being that you should be in "the land of perfect TV reception", it's my belief your installation was "overengineered". I wouldn't be surprised if that 17.4 dBi gain that antenna is providing is, even with feedline losses, feeding too much signal to your television. That may be the reason for your frequent pixellation and dropouts. $650? I'm hoping you got more than the antenna, cable to one set and labor. Otherwise, I fear you were taken for a ride....

I would, for kicks and giggles, rotate the antennae 180 degrees (opposite direction from Driver) to see if the signal level drops enough that the pixellation and dropouts cease.

Steve KC4JGC

Last edited by KC4JGC; 01-28-2017 at 07:02 AM.
KC4JGC is offline  
post #6765 of 6766 Old 01-28-2017, 06:53 AM
Member
 
KC4JGC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus37 View Post
I'm looking for a reasonable roof-mounted antenna for this address in Franklin, VA:


It looks like all the major networks are available at direction of around 85 degrees, with just one at 116, and are all in the green or yellow distances. I was thinking a single non-rotating antenna aimed correctly could cover those, and I wouldn't worry about the more distant stations in different directions.

Does that seem reasonable? If so, any suggestions for an easy to install antenna? I wouldn't be installing it; it's a Christmas gift, so ease of construction is important too.

Thanks!
I hope you have that installed by now and are enjoying free TV! To answer your question, yes that is reasonable. That is as long you have no desire to receive WSKY, the tower at 116deg from your location. You may still be able to receive it except during heavy rains between you and the tower, which was my experience when I was living in Norfolk and had a UHF only antenna pointed to Driver.

Steve KC4JGC
KC4JGC is offline  
post #6766 of 6766 Old 01-28-2017, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC4JGC View Post
I just looked that antenna up; WOW! That is overkill for your location! One thing I like about it is the capability to point the 2 antennae in different directions so one can receive stations in different markets (i.e., point one side to Driver and point the other side toward Richmond if you wanted to do that). You really didn't need the vhf add-on installed. Here's why. You're close enough that the added vhf elements is really unnecessary. When I was living at a home in Norfolk, I used only used a 3' long UHF antenna pointed to Driver on a mast up about 25 feet. I had no trouble receiving any of the transmitters there. I was even able to receive WSKY after the station moved to channel 9 as long as there was no heavy rain between Norfolk and the WSKY tower near South Mills NC.

You said that many of the stations seemed to be on vhf. Not the case! Of the local full power stations, Only WTPC (ch 7/virtual ch 21), WVEC (ch 13) and WSKY (ch 9/virtual ch 4) are on vhf. Everyone else is on UHF.

Being that you should be in "the land of perfect TV reception", it's my belief your installation was "overengineered". I wouldn't be surprised if that 17.4 dBi gain that antenna is providing is, even with feedline losses, feeding too much signal to your television. That may be the reason for your frequent pixellation and dropouts. $650? I'm hoping you got more than the antenna, cable to one set and labor. Otherwise, I fear you were taken for a ride....
Ohhhhhhhh, believe me, I KNOOOOOW I was taken for a ride! But I only had 2 other choices in companies that I could find who installed them... One charged $675 for one room. The other company charged $699 for up to 3 rooms... Without a "honey do" I was screwed... The reception has gotten better (I am assuming it's because the leaves are off the trees). I will know that for sure next Summer. I will call them back and say that the antenna needs to go higher... I love my setup - Tivo, Samsung 50", great soundbar... But, of course, I wake up the other morning and there is a hot pink line going from the top of the screen down to the bottom of the screen!!! Costco Concierge Warranty service set me up for repairs this Wednesday. I was really surprised! Who fixes tvs anymore? Anyway, it's less than 6 months old and this happened... This project of mine has been one fiasco after another... But I really learned a lot!!! Thanks for sharing your ideas about this... As I said, my reception is great now. But if it goes back to what it was right after the installation and they don't want to make it right... God help them!!! Lololol!!!

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
VillaRegina is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off