Detroit, MI - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 11863 Old 10-17-2004, 06:06 PM
Member
 
fischerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone having issues with audio? I have an OTA antenna and I have suddenly lost all sound. I tried switching back to the cable feed and I'm still unable to get any audio. Just to make sure I'm not nuts, I tried getting the audio via the TV and not my stereo receiver (for both analog and digital channels). I can get get analog sound via my receiver or TV but I can't get digital TV sound either way. Weird. Any suggestions?

I have a Mitsu 65" with the built-in tuner and route all audio through my receiver... I'd like to hope my receiver is shot so I can buy a new one but I'd think I'd have no sound at all using it, rather than an analog/digital issue.
fischerj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 11863 Old 10-17-2004, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rreini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Westland, MI, USA
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've got the ALCS on via OTA, and while I have heard the audio levels drop a couple of times, I've not heard them cut out completely (this with a DTC-100).

Roger in DTW
rreini is offline  
post #33 of 11863 Old 10-17-2004, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rreini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Westland, MI, USA
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can anyone confirm what I thought I saw on WJBK-DT Friday night: a prominent Fox2 bug in the far lower right corner of the picture? This was during the movie that Fox aired due to the rainout in Boston. If there was a bug there, I'd complain about it as a promoter of display burn-in.

Roger in DTW
rreini is offline  
post #34 of 11863 Old 10-18-2004, 05:05 PM
Member
 
MJburt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rreini
Can anyone confirm what I thought I saw on WJBK-DT Friday night: a prominent Fox2 bug in the far lower right corner of the picture? This was during the movie that Fox aired due to the rainout in Boston. If there was a bug there, I'd complain about it as a promoter of display burn-in.

That's been there since the splicer came online. I don't watch many of the fox 4:3 programs so it doesn't bother me too much, but I certainly would rather it not be there.
MJburt is online now  
post #35 of 11863 Old 10-20-2004, 02:55 AM
Member
 
bradshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a message on my Moto 6208 this morning. New Comcast IPG being rolled out tomorrow (10/21) here in Ann Arbor.

- Brad
bradshortt is offline  
post #36 of 11863 Old 10-20-2004, 04:13 PM
Newbie
 
ricv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi... Newbie to the forum so bare with....

OK.. I have DirectTV wich I will never part with and was considering going HD, as soon as their HD Tivo unit was in my price range. I currently use a Samsung OTA reciver for HD content and live in the Farmington area... OK.. my signal is average, and occasionally drops Fox... so I've been thinking about knocking down a tree to help. Anyways.. The local Bright House rep just came knocking and has this deal for 30 bucks and I get their HD hookup, and then another 7 for ESPN HD and such. Can I get some opinions on Bright House's HD signal, equipment.. so on...

I hated them when they were Time Warner, and their customer service is generally terrible, but I would really like to watch NFL on fox and ESPN in HD without the signal dropping or freezing.

OK.. just looking for opinions or suggestions. Thanks!
ricv is offline  
post #37 of 11863 Old 10-20-2004, 08:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WWJ-DT CBS is now broadcasting PSIP program titles and information.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #38 of 11863 Old 10-21-2004, 07:53 AM
Newbie
 
eemeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed last night that WOW finally added CBS-HD 201. About time!
eemeyers is offline  
post #39 of 11863 Old 10-21-2004, 10:19 AM
Newbie
 
surfingnetatwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ferndale, MI
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are these pistons games broadcast on channel 20 truly in HDTV? I don't think so based on my eyes. I have the two channel 20's coming in OTA - channel 20 in hdtv and channel 20 in 480. I could not see much difference flipping back on forth on my television. that will be too bad if they are broadcasting in HDTV but not utilizing the resources.
surfingnetatwork is offline  
post #40 of 11863 Old 10-21-2004, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I'm fairly sure they are not HD, too much money for HD cameras. WB20 doesn't have the money for a decent video recorder, did anyone notice how bad Smallville looked last night when they rebroadcast it at 10 PM? I was hoping they had the capability to time shift in HD since they got these games but I was wrong. If they were smart they'd just wait until 11 PM and use the west coast feed.
Matt L is offline  
post #41 of 11863 Old 10-21-2004, 01:29 PM
Member
 
wilkinsjme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ricv
Can I get some opinions on Bright House's HD signal, equipment.. so on...
OK.. just looking for opinions or suggestions. Thanks!

Brighthouse uses the Motorola 5100 HD box and the 6208 for HD-PVR. I have no complaints with their picture quality for HD channels. The HD pack has ESPN-HD, IN-HD 1&2, HD-net, and HD-movies. Other HD channels are CBS, FOX, NBC, ABC, PBS, and TNT

They are currently rolling out the VOD service. It seems to be a multi-phased deployment. Right now it's just movies. But HBO, Showtime, etc are due soon. As are other channels I would suspect.

No word on the NFL channel.

In my opinion, the biggest complaint with Brighthouse locally is we always get stuff after the surrounding Comcast areas get it. For example...Cable modems, digital cable, HD, 3 Mbps cable modem downstream, HD-PVRS, ESPN-HD, VOD. We eventually get the service. But comcast has consistently introduced a service anywhere from 5 months to 2 years before Brighthouse offered the same service. Brighthouse is now on the clock with the NFL network and NFL networks VOD.

More info on Brighthouse's offerings can be found here... http://michigan.mybrighthouse.com/
wilkinsjme is offline  
post #42 of 11863 Old 10-21-2004, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I did call WB 20 and after having a lengthy discussion with the receptionist about who I exactly wanted to talk to and exactly why, was put through to the programming directors office. Of course i got her voice mail but I suggested on nights when they run the Pistons they just use the west coast feed of WB. Those of us with HD would be able to get the HD feed and those without would not have to suffer with the VHS quality of WB's recordings.
Matt L is offline  
post #43 of 11863 Old 10-25-2004, 10:47 AM
Member
 
bradshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen the new iguide rollout to Comcast STB's? I had a message saying it was going to be 10/21, but my 6208 never updated. My co-worker with a 6200 on the other side of A2 was updated over the weekend.

Anyone else in the Detroit area see the new iguide yet?

- Brad
bradshortt is offline  
post #44 of 11863 Old 10-25-2004, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
rollerfink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't get it on the east side yet (I have a 6208).

I'm also eagerly awaiting the release of the 6412 -- anyone heard a date for detroit yet?
rollerfink is offline  
post #45 of 11863 Old 10-25-2004, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
gammite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what's funny about the iguide is that my analog box w got the update but my 6208 has not got it yet.

i wonder what's up????
gammite is offline  
post #46 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rreini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Westland, MI, USA
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Both my regular digital box and my HD box received the updates last week -- haven't experienced any problems.

Roger in DTW
rreini is offline  
post #47 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Renagade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Metro Detroit Area
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gammite what area are you in? I'm on the westside and havn't received anything yet.

HD ON THE BRAIN!!
Renagade is offline  
post #48 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
rf22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WDIV-DT 45 is now running 2 sub-channels again. 14Mbps just isn't enough, look for the HD quality to decline again. For you OTA viewers the last time I checked the Toledo NBC station wasn't doing any multicasting. Channel 49 for those interested. Guess which NBC station I'll be watching.

Also, WKBD-DT 14 is now broadcasting PSIP program titles and information. They actually started a day before WWJ but their listings have been off and on. The time is also incorrect.

Just my observations from the OTA world.

Rick
rf22 is offline  
post #49 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Mark4Mich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Northeast Ann Arbor here. My regular digital box got the update. My 6208 didn't. I called Comcast, she had me unplug the box, while she "sent" the update. It didn't work. Now told I have to make an appt. to have the box swapped out with 1 with the update. I told them to just wait. I'll keep the old software and just wait until the 6412 comes out to get a new box. Was told that is coming out in the middle of November. We'll see.
Mark4Mich is offline  
post #50 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbb1226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The O.C., MI
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rf22
WDIV-DT 45 is now running 2 sub-channels again. 14Mbps just isn't enough, look for the HD quality to decline again.

Are you certain they were running higher bit rates when they only had 1 subchannel? I've not been terribly impressed with the HD on WDIV in the entire two years I've been watching...

Quote:


Also, WKBD-DT 14 is now broadcasting PSIP program titles and information. They actually started a day before WWJ but their listings have been off and on. The time is also incorrect.

How can you see whether PSIP is there or not? I think the DirecTV receiver(s) I have used overwrite anything that might come with the OTA broadcast with the APG data. Is this so, or am I misunderstanding what PSIP is?
tbb1226 is offline  
post #51 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 02:54 PM
Member
 
bradshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called Comcast on the lack of iGuide update on my 6208. I got the "your the first person who hasn't gotten the new guide" comment from the CSR. However, she then stumbled across a note in her system that the DVR's weren't getting the new iGuide. No indication if this was on purpose, or by accident. No timing either.

So for those of you with the updated 6200.....what's the iGuide like?

- Brad
bradshortt is offline  
post #52 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
gammite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
renagade, i live in wayne, mi.
gammite is offline  
post #53 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
gammite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rreini, do you have a 5100, a 6200 or a 6208?
gammite is offline  
post #54 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 05:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Originally posted by bradshortt
However, she then stumbled across a note in her system that the DVR's weren't getting the new iGuide. No indication if this was on purpose, or by accident. No timing either.

The best features of the iguide are going to be for DVR users. It makes no sense that they would not update the 6208's that are already deployed.

I called Comcast and spoke to CSR Ann. She said that all subscribers in the area will have the new guide by 11/22.

She said all users with all boxes were getting it too. I specifically asked if that applied to HD users with the 6208 and she said yes.

I'm sure If I made this same call three more times I could get as many repsonses. So who knows.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #55 of 11863 Old 10-26-2004, 07:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There are a few issues with the new IPG for the 6208.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #56 of 11863 Old 10-27-2004, 03:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
does that mean it will be released at later date or not at all?
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #57 of 11863 Old 10-27-2004, 11:50 AM
Member
 
bigkev4123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anybody in this thread know of any home theater stores in the detroit area that sells projectors....any help would be spectacular
bigkev4123 is offline  
post #58 of 11863 Old 10-27-2004, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
krs7272's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: clawson,mi usa
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a few.

Gramophone
33535 Woodward Ave
Birmingham, MI 48009
(248) 642-9777

AUDIO DIMENSIONS
31968 WOODWARD AVE, ROYAL OAK, MI 48073
Phone: (248) 549-7320

Pecar Home Theater
3522 Rochester Road
Troy, MI 48033
248-743-07555
krs7272 is offline  
post #59 of 11863 Old 10-27-2004, 07:39 PM
Member
 
navinoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Motor City,USA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Troy and receive Comcast service.I get drop-outs almost every five minutes in StarzHD,InHD and HBO-HD.The cable box reports a SNR of 36 to 36.5 dB and AGC 51%.I am sick of the Comcast CSRs-as usual they are clueless about what's going on and they give the cliched answers.
Can somebody please tell me if a visit by a tech would help in anyway or if this is the norm.
navinoo is offline  
post #60 of 11863 Old 10-28-2004, 04:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
rf22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tbb1226
Are you certain they were running higher bit rates when they only had 1 subchannel? I've not been terribly impressed with the HD on WDIV in the entire two years I've been watching...

Yes, with one sub-channel they were running at 16Mbps. I've been watching them since Jan. 2002. When they turned off the sub-channels for the Olympics and left it like that the picture quality was much better. Also, some of your disappointments might not be related to the bit-rate reduction but the the fact that the HD transfers from NBC aren't as good as CBS.

Quote:
Originally posted by tbb1226
How can you see whether PSIP is there or not? I think the DirecTV receiver(s) I have used overwrite anything that might come with the OTA broadcast with the APG data. Is this so, or am I misunderstanding what PSIP is? [/b]

Maybe some else can help you here, I'm an OTA only viewer now using the Samsung 165 and two HiPix cards to record.

Rick
rf22 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off